Customer Reviews for Blendtec® Total Blender

Blendtec® Total Blender

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
(out of 55 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
46 of 55(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blendtec® Total Blender
Review 1 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, On
Date:March 6, 2013

Well worth the price

Pros: velvety smooth results, incredibly easy to clean, easy pre-sets
Cons: noisy - especially if you live in small spaces, noise a problem if you want to use in the morning, noise does not wake others up in my 2 story home
"I used to be one of those people who would roll my eyes at any blender priced over $100, however, I stand corrected.
This blender is worth every penny and is an investment to your health. Unless you can eat a whole bag of spinach for breakfast without hesitation, you should invest in a powerful blender to give yourself a boost in vitamins and minerals and get your fix of greens!
What sold me on the Blendec over the Vitamix was Puff's comment in mid January 2013. He compared the Vitamix to the Blendec and mentioned that it was untrue that the Blendec did not have manual functions. I found that the Blendec performed wonderfully, and made my green juices and smoothies perfectly velvety and smooth. It has the same outcome as the Vitamix and has a better warranty.
My only problem was that no one knew what a Blendec was, so I kept calling it a Vitamix around my friends, but, in all honesty, I don't think a brand name is worth an additional $100. If the name is a selling point for you, by all means spend the extra money.
I love my Blendec and use it almost everyday. I also have a Hurom juicer and find I reach more often for the Blendec because 1. it keeps the fiber in the smoothie, and 2. it takes longer to juice with a slow juicer and time is of the essence for me in the mornings. I still use my juicer, however, if you have to choose between this sort of blender and a juicer, I'd recommend the blender because you will get more use out of it.
It is important to note I do use my juicer and would buy it again if I had a choice. It's just important to point out the practicality of a blender over a juicer."
Review 2 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia
Date:April 1, 2013

Seriously? Seriously...

Pros: easy to use easy to clean lives up to claims
Cons: pricey but worth it
"My husband and I have been doing whole juice and smoothies now for about a year and we've been through a number of "blenders" and "extractors" that, while tolerable, provided a rather lumpy, thick mixture.
This morning, I made our smoothies with the usual seeds, nuts, whole fruits and frozen purees, in the "extractor" that was supposed to do it all. Half way through our drinks, the delivery truck arrived with this blender that I had ordered just last week and had already arrived. We both eyed it, looked at our lumpy unfinished smoothies and decided to give this machine its first try out.
Okay, I didn't read the manual and it took me a second to spot the "On" button on the back. I poured our drinks into the carafe, hit the "Smoothie" button and the machine did its thing - speeding up, slowing down, counting down and when it got to Zero, it turned itself off. I split the juice between our two glasses and my husband and I took our first Blendtec sip together.
The consistency was ALARMINGLY smoother than what we had been tolerating, to the extent that, while looking at each other, our eyes popped, which made us start giggling, which almost made us spit up our wonderful smoothie, which was smoothier than anything we'd had before. No grit from the nuts, no particles from the seeds - all wonderfully pureed and ready for biologic accessibility.
Oh yeah, I'd recommend this product. After one use, it's already impressed me, and I figure it only gets better from here."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:March 7, 2014

Better than Vitamix (for me at least)

"I purchased the Blendtec Total and the 2-speed Vitamix. For smoothies (and quite possibly in general), this is the better blender without question. The Vitamix was so poor, that I thought I had a defective unit (read my review). Then I found out that a co-worker had the variable speed Vitamix (that he and his family love by the way) and let me borrow it to see if it was any better. It was better, but not by much. I still got the burning motor smell, but was able to get a full blend without going into overload protection mode.
Anyways, back to the Blendtec - 3 years more warranty, an extra jar and a more powerful motor. Also, at the time I purchased, the Blendtec was $10 cheaper. It blended my smoothie with relative ease that the Vitamix has difficulties with. The wildside jar is better for smoothies than the fourside jar, is easier to clean and I haven't yet needed the use of a tamper or any sort of stirring assistance. I have only made smoothies, so take this review for what it's worth.
The Blendtec does sometimes dance around the countertop because of it's lighter weight, but keep your hand on the top and the problem is solved. Also, the blend counter is kind of silly because as soon as the motor is stopped, it registers 1 more count even if you just run it for 1 second.
Most people would probably give this a 5-star rating, but to me, 5 stars equals perfect and it's not quite there, but I am definitely a happy Blendtec owner."
Review 4 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bay, ON
Date:March 21, 2013

Everything it says it is.

Pros: incredible performance., actually crushes ice., 8 year warranty., large capacity jar., did i mention it's amazing?
Cons: a little noisy (but not terrible)
"This Blender is simply incredible. There is little I can add here that has not been said so far, so I will just say this: BUY IT. You will not be sorry you did.
I learned one important thing from using appliances all my life. It's not that important for the appliance to be easy to use. It has to be easy to CLEAN.
Cleaning this is so easy it really does get used everyday. It takes me under 30 seconds to clean the jar and I have made amazing shakes so far and looking forward to making my own soups and peanut butters.
I have had my blender for less than a month yet my count on it (it keeps track of how many times you have used it on the front display) is already at 37.
I use it daily and I love it.
Perhaps the ONLY negative I can possibly find, is that it is indeed quite loud. I live in an appartment building so I prep all my stuff before I throw it in, in order to keep the noise concentrated to one time of the day and all at once. You can buy a thermos wide mouth container to store shakes for a whole day btw.
If you find it too loud, you can always get some ear muffs, or walk away from it while it's working. Most people will find this is a ridiculous proposition but some people do have very sensitive ears.
To recap: this blender is changing my life. Buy this now."
Review 5 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:January 3, 2014

Awesome

Pros: - no chunks ever !, - easy to clean, - instantly increases your healthy eating habbits
Cons: - loud (wakes up the kids in the morning)
"Got this for Xmas from my loving wife. I absolutely love it. Price seems extreme for a kitchen appliance, but I figure even if the initial love-it phase wears out, and we just use it moderately (say 3 times / week for 8 years) in the future it comes out to about $.25/smoothie over the 8 year warranty. So far, after 2 weeks we have used it 52 times, mostly for smoothies, and a few other recipes.
You can make awesome smoothies using nearly unlimited combinations of ingredients in seconds. Just keep a variety of fresh/frozen produce in the house, and you'll quickly notice how much more fruits and veggies you are consuming with this thing. We've had it for 2 weeks now and have make 52 smoothies so far (family of 5).
This morning I had
- 1/4 fresh pineapple
- 1/2 banana
- 1/2 large carrot
- 1 cup frozen strawberries
- 1 cup coconut milk.
No chunks whatsoever.
Yesterday, I had
- 1/2 english cucumber
- 1 leaf kale
- 1 sq inch fresh ginger
- 1 cup frozen pineapple
- ice
The kids favourite (Chocolate Peanut Butter Non Fat Milkshake)
- 1 cup milk
- 1 tbsp peanut butter
- 1 tsp cocoa powder
- 1 banana
- 1/2 cut quick oats
- Ice
The combinations are endless.
Hope you Enjoy as much as our family does !"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2013

So good I bought one for home

Pros: programs, dull-blade, very efficient, healthy recipes with whole foods
Cons: noisy, expensive
"I originally purchased the Blendtec for the breakfast program I run at a school. I make smoothies 3 times a week for about forty 10-13 year-olds. I use milk, yogurt, frozen fruit, ice, kale or carrots, juice, oatmeal, and plain greek yogurt - and they love them. Everything is perfectly pureed and of a texture that even the pickiest eater will enjoy. The wild-side jug is great for making big batches, and the dull blades allow students to help with clean-up. It is a bit noisy, but that's OK. Last week, I picked up another Blendtec for home use. In one week, I have made 64 smoothies and 2 soups. For our family of 6! I was concerned that the large jug would be a problem in making single servings, but it is fine. Sometimes, I might have to use the pulse or non-programmable buttons to get it perfect, if the serving is very small, or you forget to layer the ingredients properly (liquid, fresh, frozen - in that order). Otherwise, I love that you can put in the ingredients, select the appropriate button, and do something else while the machine makes your breakfast. I purchased these machines in store where they are priced lower and only have the one jug."
Review 7 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Catharines, ON
Date:July 11, 2013

Green Smoothies

Pros: excellent for green smoothies, warranty
Cons: cost
"The blendtec blender is an amazing product. Before I purchased this, I tried the Nutrabullet and a Ninja blender. Both left green smoothies chunky and you had to chew them.
With the blendtec blender, using kale (with stems), spinach (with stems) and avocado, the final result is a a SMOOTH smoothie!!
In addition, the blender is very easy to clean. Just add 1 cup of hot water, a drop of soap and pulse for 5-10 seconds...Blades are clean and you can check as well because the bottom of the jar is see-through.
Another big plus for me is that it's made in USA and the warranty through Costco.ca is 8 years!! Complete coverage.
Here is a quote from Blendtec site:
http://www.blendtec.com/blog/2013/03/27/blendtecs-7-year-warranty-what-you-need-to-know/
"Hi Matt,
This is a great question. Our warranty terms for blenders sold at Costco are the same as all of our blender warranty terms. The 8 year warranty covers your blender from the tip of the cord to the top of the jar. We pay shipping both ways and it covers parts and labor. The warranty does not cover normal wear and/or cosmetic blemishes."
Overall a great product and worth the money!!"
Review 8 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CBS NL
Date:January 18, 2013

I finaly have a blender that blends!

Pros: excellent quality, easy to clean, blends as it is suppose to!
Cons: none yet
"I've gotten into making smoothies and I keep burning up blenders. I wanted to get a good blender but my wife was hesitant on the cost. My last one was a Ninga with a 1000W motor. It burned up. I’ve know about the Blendtec for several years through their “Will It Blend” infomercials on the Web. There quiet funny but do show the sturdiness of the unit. From what I read on the net it comes down to the Vitamix or the Blendtec, both perform equally well. The only negative comment I saw on the blendtech was the lack o f manual speed control which is not true. You can step the speed, maybe the Vitamix can vary more precisely I’m not sure. I like the look and the size of the Blendtec, comes with two jars and yes may be I’ve been swayed by the infomercials. Anyway I’ve had this unit only a week now and I love it so far. The blenders I had in the past did not come close to blending as this unit, I now get a smoothie. Before I would get bits of fruit or seeds from berries but no more of that! So I can tell you it works. How long it last is another thing, I’ll have to get back to you. It does have an 8 year warranty which covers everything"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Interior, British Columbia
Date:June 22, 2013

Love my Blendtec!

Pros: easy to use and clean. excellent warranty.
"I bought my daughter and her boyfriend a Blendtec for Christmas from Costco. I decided on the Blendtec after comparing it to the Vita mix and reading a lot of reviews on both blenders. I liked the idea that the Blendtec had pre programmable buttons on it and the warranty was excellent!
My daughter and her boyfriend absolutely love theirs and have used it everyday since Christmas 2012. I decided to buy one for myself, but unfortunately, Costco did not have them for sale online. I happened to be in Vancouver in May and went into the downtown Costco. I was thrilled to see that they had the Blendtecs with the Wildside jar. I immediately bought it and have used it everyday since!
I love how it blends smoothies with the touch of a button.
I love that there is nothing to take apart. The blade stays inside the wildside jar. Cleaning it is really simple. Warm water and a drop of dishwashing liquid. It sits on my counter and to date I have made 62 smoothies according to the counter on it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC
Date:December 27, 2013

Best blender I have ever purchased

Pros: easy clean up, powerful motor, blends so well nothing is stuck to the container, large container, great warranty
"I love to make smoothies with frozen fruit, ice, veggies, etc. And I have had some powerful blenders in the past, but my biggest complaints have always been the difficulty in cleaning them and food sticking to the sides and not fully mixing.
I saw the setup in Costco but I didn't actually see the blender working. I tasted the sample smoothie. The lady went on about it's features but I quickly noticed that there weren't a lot of gaskets and parts to clean. Add to this the powerful motor and I wanted to give it a try.
My first smoothie with protein powder, smoothie mix and fruit, ice and NOTHING was stuck to the side. And I LOVE the smoothie button. Starts slow to mix it up, faster and then faster. Then it's all done.
Cleanup is a breeze. A quick rinse with a bit of soap and let it dry. Ready for my next shake.
Large wildside jar gives plenty of room for lots of ingredients.
And if there is a problem, it's Costco. I know they will take care of me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:February 16, 2014

Really, Really Powerful

Pros: powerful, pre-programmed buttons, easy to clean
Cons: as loud as everyone said it would be
"I admit it: every time I use my Blendtec I laugh. It's unbelievably powerful and using it feels more like using a power tool than a small kitchen appliance. It's almost ridiculously powerful, to be honest.
This was a really good purchase and I have absolutely no regrets. In addition to all the random uses one has for a blender (I do a lot of baking and cooking), I use it every single day to make my breakfast smoothie. I love that it has preprogrammed buttons - so I can hit "whole juice", for example, and it does the job without me trying to figure out what 'speed' I need or hovering over it. (It DOES have speed buttons in case I need to step outside of the preprogrammed selections, so it's not limiting my use of it in any way.)
I would recommend this to a friend or a stranger - anyone who asked whether it was worth the price. I already have. It is NOT in the same realm as a blender you buy at a department store - the Blendtec is amazingly powerful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:White Rock, BC
Date:September 15, 2013

Top 3 purchases of all time

Pros: easy to clean and store, pre-programmed keys for ease of use, has made our family healthier
Cons: none after 5 months of daily use
"If you are contemplating your first purchase for a blender of this price and quality, do it.
My wife and I used a food processor quite often - weekly. We never used our regular run of the mill $100 blender much (5x per year). We have not pulled out our Kitchen Aide food processor since we bought this thing.
We have a 2 year old and I can honestly tell you that we use the thing DAILY! My wife is all over smoothies, hummus, sorbet, soups .... whatever you can think of.
I chose this model over the Vitamix due to the preprogrammed options and it is a shorter machine making storage easier.
This machine has made all 3 of us healthier It's really quite simple, this style of machine (Vitamix included) will change your life - sounds corny but it has for us.
If you are still undecided ... Costco has a fantastic return policy!! This is a risk free trial. And, as Costco wisely suspects, you will most likely NOT return this machine!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rural, ON
Date:February 3, 2014

Makes healthy eating fun!

Pros: great looking machine, easy to clean, easy to use, dull blades, not very loud
Cons: four side jar doesn't fit on the machine base well
"After a year of debating whether to get this one or the vitamix I finally decided on the Blendtec. It's super easy to use with the presets, way easier to clean than my old Oster and good looking (served us very well for twenty years and still works - has just been moved to the cottage).
The only reason I didn't give a five star rating, is that the four side jar doesn't fit as snug as the wild side jar. As a result, after each use, there is metal debris on the machine base.
I waited until the package went on sale before I purchased it online, because yes, it is a lot to pay for a small kitchen appliance. I definitely think it's worth the money so far though, considering it really is a bunch of appliances in one.
Costco backing this product as was mentioned by an in store rep was the final deciding factor to purchase.
I would've liked to get it in red, but didn't see it available as an option at time of purchase.
"
Review 14 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:October 11, 2012

Fantastic Product!!

Pros: everything - love the preprogrammed buttons, easy to use and quick clean up
Cons: may seem pricey - but worth every penny
"If you want a serious blender, this is the one for you! I have owned both the Vitamix and Blendtec blenders, and the Blentec is the best hands down. The Vitamix container has a cone shaped bottom under the blade making it a little difficult to get out the contents and when blending hard ingredients, you need to use the provided plunger to keep working the ingredients into the blade. The Blendtec container has a flat square bottom and NO plunger (the ingredients are sucked into the blade by the force of the machine). You put everything you want into the container, hit the button and can walk away. It's fabulous! I make a lot of smoothies with hard ingredients (beets, carrots, frozen fruits, etc) and they come out perfectly every time. When I had an issue with my Blendtec blender, I received some of the best customer service that I have ever had. Very friendly, very helpful and very quick service from Blendtec."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford BC
Date:March 8, 2013

Very impressive blender...

Pros: powerful, easy to clean
Cons: jar doesn't have a pour 'spout', black rubber feet mark up my light gray countertop
"Best blender I have ever used. It arrived on National Margarita Day, so we got to try it out with lots of ice on the first day! Does an amazing job and it fits nicely under the cabinets on my counter.
We have been using the blender every day for veg/fruit smoothies. It pulverizes greens beautifully, and gives a nice smooth textured smoothie no matter what you put into it.
I did a ton of research between this and Vitamix before purchasing. Very glad we went with Blendtec, as it is more compact, lighter, and has preset blend cycles. I also like that it does it's job without the need for a tamper.
My only complaints are no pour spout on the jars, so sometimes the contents dribble down the side a bit when pouring.
Also, the black rubber feet tend to mark up my light colored counter. Solved this problem by cutting a piece of thin, flexible clear cutting board to fit underneath.
Still, highly recommended!
"
Review 16 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON
Date:September 28, 2013

not what i expected

Pros: price was good in store
Cons: need additional jars for thick recipes/nut butters, didn't fully blend on pre-set cycles
"One of the main reasons I wanted a high powered blender was the ability to make nut butters more easily than with my processor, along with smoothies and banana "ice cream". I bought the in-store version ($100 cheaper than online because it only comes with the wild side container).
First use I attempted a banana ice cream. Compared to my food processor it needed a lot more liquid to thin it out, so I wasn't overly impressed right off the bat.
When I was reading through the recipe book a lot of the recipes kept talking about twisting the lid counter clockwise... I was confused until I realized there is a separate "twister" jar (available online for another $125 at time of review) for thicker recipes since the Blendtec doesn't come with a tamper like the Vitamix. For the additional cost I returned it and will buy a Vitamix... then I don't need to store additional jars.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:February 2, 2013

Great Buy

Pros: compact, easy to clean
Cons: a little noisy in comparison to the vita mix
"Have had this blender for a while now and must say it does everything it is advertised to do and then some. Was tossed between this and the Vita Mix and had the chance to compare both. The only thing the Vita Mix has on the Blendtec is it is quieter. They are both great machines but the smaller shorter Blendtec actually fits in a standard kitchen and is so much easier to store. The electronic controls are easier to clean and the wider base of the Pitcher make getting food out much easier than the narrow based Vita Mix. By far the better buy of the 2 price wise as it is already $60 cheaper but comes with an extra pitcher which costs $100 which is not included in the Vita Mix. Warranty is 8 years where the VM is 7 but I doubt you will need to use it on either machine. The fantsatic Costco return policy makes this a no brainer if you are not quite sure."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:August 26, 2013

Frustrated

Pros: when it worked it was great, looks good fits under the counter
Cons: stopped working at 90 "gentle" uses, end up being inconvenienced & have to return it
"Bought the Blendtec at Costco (in store) about three months ago. Have used it to make smoothies and grind coffee beans so far (90 uses). Worked well for both until this morning. Went to blend 1 cup mango, 1 banana, 2 tablespoons of yogurt, 2 cups water and some protein powder, definitely not overloaded - the same recipe I have used previously. None of the buttons worked. Message said "Overloaded". Unplugged, turned off several times - nothing worked. Emptied it and put just water in it. Still no luck, still "Overloaded." Blendtec brags that it has ground/blended all sorts of items to test these blenders - my fruit smoothie should not break this thing. Returning it to the store tonight, hope there is no hassle. Not sure whether to get a new one - maybe this was a "one off" or a "Friday" blender. Others have used theirs for years without issue..."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hamilton
Date:October 3, 2012

Should have bought a Vitamix instead

Pros: preprogrammed electronics
Cons: preprogrammed electronics.....they are both&con
"Purchased a couple of days ago, its decently built but simply not as 'tough' or heavy feeling as the Vitamix machines they sell at Costco stores sometimes for nearly the same price.
It cannot make juice from carrots, its electronics are cool but they limit what you can do, the Vitamix machine has this dial in the middle that allows you to have it run at any speed, thereby allowing for more viarety of processing.
The preprogrammed setting is neat but I worry about the heat from the motor effecting those controls and they are not covered (I dont think) under their warranty.
When I went online and checked out the Vitamix warranty it covers everything, they even pay for shipping....both ways.
I will be returning and investing in the one I should have in the first place.
Over all, good machine, but the Vitamix seems far superior to me."
10 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Blendtec® Total Blender
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 21, 2013

Regret

Pros: dull blades are safer, programme modes, power
Cons: noisy, jar is not snug to base, extremely difficult to keep clean, lid can over flow easily
"Well, I've had this item for a few months now, and as much as I love the preprogemmed modes, I can't help but give this a negative review for 2 reasons.
1. It is near impossible to keep clean. I don't know what it is with the polycarbonate jar, but it clearly exists to make my life miserable when it comes to cleaning it.
2. The Wild Side Jar does not make a snug fit to the base of the blender. There is probably a millimeter of space between the jar and base, and because of this, the jar vibrates like a maniac when in use. The only way to HELP it out, is to forcefully hold the jar down to the base, so that it doesn't vibrate AS MUCH. I think this could be mitigated if there were some kind of rubber coating between the base and the jar.
I am most likely going to return this for another blender in this price class."
1 2 3 next>>