Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle

Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle

Average Customer Rating:
3.624 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
(out of 109 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
20
79 of 109(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Review 41 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 18, 2012

Ooma - Great Product

"I have had my Ooma Telo for just over a month now and I have nothing but good things to say about it. Right out of the box the Ooma looked and felt like a sturdy piece of hardware. I only had one minor problem during the set up because I was unable to complete it from the online web page. After a quick call to the support line, the friendly staff helped me set up my phone in about 15 minutes. A minor hiccup to say the least as I was up and running in a very short period of time.
Having installed VOIP phones at work with a few problems, I decided to pick a new phone number instead of transferring my existing land line for now. After making several local and long distance calls, I have been very happy with the voice quality of the Ooma phone.
Since everyone in the family has a mobile phone, the only reason I had for maintaining a land line was for the 911 emergency. During the set up you are asked for your address so that if a 911 call should be made from your Ooma, they will know from which house the call was made from. It’s been about 5 weeks and I can’t see a reason not to switch over completely to the Ooma.
I will need to call my land line provider to see what is required to switch over to only the Ooma phone. I have a DLS internet line and I am not sure if there is a minimum charge just to have the phone line coming to the house.
Even the monthly charge from Ooma is very good for the quality of the service. I will look forward to not paying a premium for “Touch tone” service from my current land line company, if that rings a BELL with anyone!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pickering, ON
Date:June 9, 2012

Great Product

Pros: easy set up, excellent sound quality, good value
Cons: none yet!
"The set up was very simple and I had it up and running in 10 mins. The voice quality is very good, much better than I expected and in fact better if not the same as other VOIP providers that charge a lot more (Primus, Vonage & Comwave)
I was a bit skeptical at first and wanted to test it for a month before I ported my landline number. I was convinced this was the product for me within a week and have put in the port request.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Toronto Area
Date:May 9, 2012

Solid Product with Savings

Pros: great cost performance, many features, prompt customer service
Cons: none to date
"Replaced landline for at 1/2 the previous cost. Breakeven is 7 months but many more features. Using premier service brings blocking feature so now down to almost no telemarketing calls. Provides free NA calling. The transfering my old phone number to Ooma was well executed."
Review 44 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:April 30, 2012

Great system

Pros: call blocking features, free calling to anywhere in canada and the us, voice-mail, easy set-up
"I have had this running for the last 6 weeks and they system has be nothing but fantastic! It took about 3-4 weeks to port my existing phone, and calls are free to anywhere in Canada and the US. I went with the premium package, but still only cost me $13.98/month. Love the phone number blocking features, Voice-mails features!
I absolutely love this system and will recommend it to others."
Review 45 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 27, 2012

Easy and delivers everything promised

"Easy to set-up ... follow directions though especially the guys. Quality is excellent ... I was surprised that my phone operates in every way it did prior to converting to Ooma. I would strongly endorse this product."
Review 46 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:March 12, 2012

Best choice for Canadians

Pros: incredible feature list, low monthly cost, highly polished online interface
Cons: high cost of telo unit, faxing is an issue for some
"We bought the Ooma Telo mid January 2012 and ported our number from Bell on February 13. It's been a great purchase to date. Sound quality is excellent. You cannot tell the difference between Ooma and POTS (Plain Old Telephone Service). I considered netTalk, but they don't allow Canadians to port their phone numbers at this time. They also have a limit of 3000 minutes per month, versus the 5000 minutes per month limit of Ooma. I don't think we'll ever hit the Ooma limit, but it's possible that we would hit the netTalk limit, so that combined with no number porting made it a no go for us. I really like how the Telo gives you controls to access voicemail and screen calls and manage messages right from the base, not just from handsets or online. It made Ooma an easier transition for a family because it's not so different from what we're used to. Ooma is also planning to have a lot more capabilities than it has today, but devices like netTalk don't have expandability.
I would recommend anyone who's thinking of purchasing that you make sure your internet service is sufficient first. The Ooma Canada website has a good tool to help you do a basic and quite accurate ROI and also check your internet service. It's more than just upload and download speed that's important when you switch to VoIP.
For the most problem free installation, I would also recommend that the Ooma Telo is placed after a router, not in between the modem and router like Ooma suggests. You need a modem that has QoS (Quality of Service). Normally the Telo handles that when it's installed after the modem, but before your router. If you follow my recommendation (as well as the recommendation of many users on the Ooma forums), and place the Ooma Telo after the router, you must setup QoS in your router or you will have problems. Register and visit the Ooma user forum before you make your decision. There's a wealth of information there and many dedicated users that will be very helpful and answer any questions you have. Most important, buy the Telo from Costco so you are protected, should this turn out to not be the right choice for you."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London,on
Date:February 12, 2012

Best purchase ever

"I have tried many voip product before using this unit.The quality of this unit is better then any for voice quality !Have use this system on a 3G rocket hub it performs awesome over this tough enviroment ,when other units failed and the voice quality was hard for me to hear the speech, this unit is clear as a bell.Yes this unit has a few things as to the 1 800 numbers in canada ,but they will fix this problem with it.Overall this unit is the best unit on the market for sound quality,priceand service! I have use 6 other services before this one so I know quality when I see It!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitby. Ont.
Date:January 8, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: free canada wide calling, low monthly bills
Cons: wish i did it sooner !, wish it included the usa for free calls
"We love it ! Managed to hook up so all the phones in the house are on the OOMA Telo
We even managed to program our monitoring system for the home alarm to dial out , although it is not supported . The international long distance is very reasonable best of all you prepay so no surprises !
Now all my calls in Canada are free ! Voice mail and call answer all included .
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:January 1, 2012

Bye bye home line hello ooma

Pros: canada wide calling included, super low monthly fees, land line voice quality, internet call log and voice messages
Cons: none yet
"Had this up and running for one week now and it works perfectly so far as advertised. After seven months it will have paid for itself. If you have reliable high speed Internet this is a no brainier, just go for it. It won't work during a power outage since it uses the modem (unless you have a battery back up system). Since we already have cell phone this is not an issue during power outage."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:September 12, 2014

Wireless issue resolved

Pros: save a lot of money
"I had the frustrating wireless issues that others had experienced and had 2 adapters sent out to me to replace the "defective" ones. I got lucky on one of my service calls and the tech told me that if I fix my 2.4GHz wireless router to channel 11 it would resolve the issue. Since doing so I haven't had a loss of wireless functionality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria BC
Date:August 21, 2014

Works great

Pros: quick set up easy port of old number.
"Quick set up, straight out of the box. Did not bother to go wireless even with the provided adapter, set it up (hardwired) near my modem, I can do all of the things I need to from my phone handset, answer, messages, call display. For me, all of my "equipment" is located upstairs, out of sight."
Review 52 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:August 7, 2014

So far, really good!

Pros: fast setup
Cons: the power cord for the telo is a little short.
"I bought the Telo and Wireless bundle in May of 2014. I tried it out for a good month and a half before deciding to port my phone number over. Great clarity and no real issues. I was hesitant about the number porting as they say the whole porting procedure and service itself works best on a cable connection. I was not sure how my provider's service might work as it is DSL. But it is up and running with my number ported over and you would really never know we changed from regular phone service."
Review 53 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:May 30, 2014

Good value overall

Pros: excellent value
Cons: some delay with speaking during calls at times
"You can't beat the cost of this system, especially if you don't use your home phone all that often. As well, if you are tired of many telemarketer calls, you can change your number - which we did. Sure, you have to remember a new number, but you can pick the one you like out of many available. The only issue is that there is a bit of a delay. Not a huge deal, you just learn to wait a second before you speak - this also seems to be dependent on how busy the internet is I guess. But to pay over 90% less per month for the home phone, a little delay is no big deal. No problems with dropped calls, unless another person on the other end picks up another phone (i.e. 3 callers on the line), then it may drop. Didn't get the premium service - don't need it. Nice to check voice mail if you choose to have it sent to you via text or email, so you don't have to be at home to retrieve it. Free long distance a big plus. If you use your cell a lot and just want a home phone for extra calls, great value/ system."
Review 54 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:May 29, 2014

READ. Exceeded expectations. Great product.

Pros: exceptionally cost effective, great performance, great features, easy set-up nearly plug and play
Cons: wifi is useless, number porting takes too long
"It was time for our family to start trimming expenses and the "home" phone we were infrequently using was on the hit list. At $3.98mo for service that exceeded the features of Shaw's Digital home phone plan it was a no brainer.
We've had the Ooma system for nearly two years now and it's been totally transparent and equal in performance to the Shaw phone we had prior. However, there were some teething problems. First, don't bother with the wifi. I had problems with call quality, consistency, lost connections, and overall poor performance. And this was with a top tier broadband internet package and a high end router. All of these problems disappeared once I went to a wired connection directly off the router. The time I spent researching the system online met with the same opinion; lose the wifi.
I had enough confidence in the system to port over our home phone number. It was a painless process, but I found the time it took to complete the port was much too long. 10 days. In the past I've ported my home phone (telus to shaw) and multiple cellular ports, in literally minutes. It's not a big problem, since your number still works on the old phone system until the port is complete, so people will be able to contact you normally.
If you're not technically inclined, DON'T WORRY. It's very simple to set up. Read your instructions, relax, it's nearly plug and play. If you need help there's a great online support guide and forums to ask questions and search for answers. You can do it.
I strongly recommend you check out this product. With Costco's awesome return policy; what do you have to lose?"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodstock, ON
Date:April 10, 2014

Works well, but potentially a tricky WiFi set up

Pros: price per month, sound quality of calls was excellent on wifi.
Cons: porting your current number., setting up qos in my router
"FYI: I only used the WiFi setup.
The physical install of the unit takes about 2 minutes. Delving into the router settings: another 15 minutes or more.
I discovered an issue with my router that I didn't know existed: it dropped connections, sometimes 6x a day. At first I thought it was an Ooma issue, until I Googled my router make & model. Solution: I switched the Ooma to my other router (yes, I have 2) and it worked great: solid/stable. Calls were clear; no issues at all. I had zero dropped calls after I switched routers & no reboots. It had the same call quality as my service through my cable company.
The tough part was going into the routers' settings and giving Ooma QoS (priority traffic over everything else) and setting up a reserved IP address for Ooma at the same time. That took me about 15 minutes to sort out.
Give yourself about an hour to set it up via WiFi.
I returned it for one reason: Ooma was not able to port my current telephone number and that was the deal breaker. I did not see the small section on their webpage which allows you to check before hand if they can port your number. I concentrated on setting it up, rather than asking: can I port over my number? I discovered this after I bought Ooma Premier Service and tried to port. Ooma was excellent to deal with, even for cancelling.
Bottom line: I will continue to check the Ooma site and check on number porting. I plan to buy again once they sort it out. Otherwise, Ooma was rock solid stable."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chelsea, Quebec
Date:March 18, 2014

Disappointed.

Pros: good product, helpful ooma customer service
Cons: not able to port over existing landline #, seems they have a shortage of #'s in some areas
"I live in Chelsea QC and was looking forward to getting rid of my landline & associated cost by using Ooma.....however :
a) Ooma could not port over my exisiting land line #
b) Ooma could not give me a new telephone # that would not be a long distance call for my family, friends who live in the same area ? They tried about 3 different #'s with no luck.
Thank you Costco for making returns so easy !
"
Review 57 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014

you need a good router, then it works fine

"at first, the wifi connection didn't work well. There was lag during conversations. I had an old router that was still working fine for every other device, so I tought that the problem was the wireless receiver. Finally, I tried a new router more powerfull and everything works ok since then. If you want to use the wifi connection make sure you have a good router."
Review 58 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:November 30, 2013

Wi-fi adaptor is junk

Pros: price still beats conventional telephone anyday
Cons: wi-fi not reliable major con
"Encountered problems with dial-tone and reception whenever connected via wi-fi. Once I connected directly to the Ooma base minus the wi-fi, problem solved."
Review 59 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Killarney, MB
Date:August 17, 2013

Research Porting ability first...

"Device seems to work really well but there isnt number porting available for most smaller communities and the numbers they want to assign are only for major cities. Rural users beware! Had to return unfortuneatly but Costco of course had no problems with this."
Review 60 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:June 17, 2013

Decent product

Pros: easy to reach live internet or phone cust. service, easy to setup, voice quality, product build
Cons: some/a lot of 800 numbers not supported, porting process takes a while
"Switched over to Ooma from Rogers, the attractive price of $4 monthly was a main deciding factor.
I've had 2 of the 800/877/888 numbers not connected due to Ooma claiming that it's due to a local area code conflict. I was instructed to contact the institution to obtain their local area code. A little of a nuisance, however, for the monthly cost, I'm willing to deal with it.
The only other thing is that the porting process claims to take 4-6 weeks to port over, that results in an overlap where you will be paying for both services until the porting process has been completed.
Final note is to ensure you have a decent internet connection, I've read issues with people who live in the outskirts of the town who would experience issues with this product.
It does take a while for my Ooma to connect 1-2 mins after a reboot, be paitient."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>