Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle

Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle

Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
(out of 93 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
18
69 of 93(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Review 41 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB
Date:December 30, 2013

Great hardwired, horrible wireless.

Pros: cheap monthly rate, voice quality seems similar to that of a homophone, hardwire preformance was excellent
Cons: wireless was worthless
"Overall I'm impressed it's basically the same a regular phone, voice quality is clear, no noticeable lag. and it costs less than 4$/month for this? nice. sorry telus, 30$/month is pointless.
only problem was wireless, it is horrible. 1-3 second lag. slow connection etc. maybe others have 200+ dollar routers that work ok, but a regular one doesn't.
I'm still very happy, as I got the unit with the wireless cheaper than the wired one off ooma's site, just unplug the wireless and hardwire it, don't buy this if you need the wireless to work."
Review 42 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 8, 2014

Love My Ooma

Pros: great value, fantastic features, sending voicemail files to my email account, personal and community blocked calls lists
Cons: rogers made porting and everything else difficult
"This is a fantastic product. I had some challenges getting the number ported from Rogers - but this is because of Rogers, not Ooma. Rogers was a complete nightmare to deal with which is why I switched in the first place. I ended up ditching Rogers completely and getting a dry loop with Bell so that I could get Ooma working. I'll never have Rogers service of any sort in my house again.
I absolutely love my Ooma. The best things about it:
1. The price - can you beat it? It's fantastic value.
2. Ooma sends my voicemails to my email account - which is great, because I can listen to voicemails when I'm not at home. This was useful in the recent ice storm. It also means I have a permanent record of calls from family members which can be very nice to replay.
3. Ooma calls my home number and cell concurrently with incoming calls - so I rarely miss a call.
4. Ooma lets me block the "you've won a cruise!" or relentless gutter cleaner robocalls on my personal block list. Love that feature.
I've told so many of my friends and family about Ooma and walked them through the set up process. It's a great product on its own, but being able to get rid of Rogers is what appeals to most people."
Review 43 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:April 30, 2012

Great system

Pros: call blocking features, free calling to anywhere in canada and the us, voice-mail, easy set-up
"I have had this running for the last 6 weeks and they system has be nothing but fantastic! It took about 3-4 weeks to port my existing phone, and calls are free to anywhere in Canada and the US. I went with the premium package, but still only cost me $13.98/month. Love the phone number blocking features, Voice-mails features!
I absolutely love this system and will recommend it to others."
Review 44 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:February 10, 2014

Great alternative to conventional phone

Pros: call quality, customer service, online call logging
Cons: very slight delay in response from caller
"I purchased this system to cut my existing phone bill and to test the technology. OOMA customer support is quite good. The WiFi USB adapter works well, however it did come up with a moderate signal strength from my wireless router rather then a strong signal, but the set-up was easy and the call quality was great. It will even work with an OOMA Bluetooth adapter in the same USB port using an USB hub. After requesting to port my number over from my original provider, the provider offered me a deal I could not refuse. The porting of the number was going to take 2 weeks which was fine. The de-activation of the system was seamless and with no hassle from OOMA for deactivating the system. I am not returning the OOMA device however, because I see myself using the device again in 6 months when my original provider puts their price back up again. Besides for $4 a month how can a person go wrong, you can use your number any place there is an internet connection. I believe that this device has the best call quality on the market as an alternative to a conventional phone system."
Review 45 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:January 10, 2014

More Features Less Cost...Great Product!

Pros: blocks telemarketer calls, emails voicemails to multiple email addresses
Cons: none so far!
"Purchased OOMA b/c I was sick of paying a lot for a phone with no features. The option was kill the land line or get OOMA. I went with OOMA and purchased the Premier service due to the free porting option. However, I will be purchasing Premier in future years as it is better than I anticipated and it is still cheaper than Other cable companies basic phone packages.
The internet connection does not slow due to this phone and I find that emailing voicemails to multiple email addresses is something my wife and I love. The call blocking feature is fun and I don't receive calls from telemarketers anymore.
Porting is what you expect as OOMA indicates that it can take up to 4 weeks and requires accurate details of your previous provider (remember that your previous provider is involved in the porting process and can make it difficult for OOMA as well). I was pretty worried about the hassle after reading some reviews, but my porting only took 2 weeks to complete and no issues."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB
Date:September 4, 2012

Love My Ooma!

Pros: great sound quality, much cheaper than paying big telco prices, great features on premiere service, keep your existing phone number (for a fee), use existing cordless phones
Cons: big initial investment
"I had been looking for a reliable VOIP phone system for a while. When I saw Costco had this I had to buy it. Knowing Costco's easy return policy, if I didn't like it I'd simply return it.
Setup was straight forward and I love the wireless adapter. The sound quality initially was fairly good, but after resetting my internet router the sound quality is now excellent!
I signed up for the premiere service and chose to take the free number port and nearly 1 month to the day my old land line number is now ported over. With the $3.98 regular 911 fee plus the $9.99 premiere fee I'm still saving $30.00 a month and have way more features than I ever had. Take that big telco company!
I'm currently running a 5 handset Panasonic cordless phone system and I'm very pleased with the sound quality.
I've got fiberop internet 30/30 (MBps) and have up to 12 wireless devices connected and everything works flawlessly.
The worst part was waiting for my existing home number to get ported but Ooma said it would take up to 4 weeks."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC
Date:January 25, 2012

Good Product

Pros: call quality, customer service
Cons: monthly fees, calls to u.s. are not free.
"I purchased this product last week, and installed it. All is well.
I was leaning towards MagicJackPlus, but I steered away because of lack of support. I am getting good calling quality, and customer service that responds within very few minutes by phone(!)
To commit to this product, you have to realize that (1) you may not port your current phone number, (2) Calls are free only within Canada, (3) know the monthly fees and verify 911 support, and (4) you are connecting to the Internet Service provider.
With backup cell phone, you realize that land-lines are not as important as they used to be. It makes sense to use this VOIP adapter and save money in the long run."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:March 5, 2012

For early adopters who want to save a lot of money

Pros: substantial savings
Cons: 1-8xx may have problems
"Ooma, like some other VOIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) suppliers has a problem connecting their customers to 1-8xx numbers. About 10% of them are blocked by the carrier of the company using the number so the VOIP suppliers cannot link you to them. Ooma customer care will either fix the problem or find you alternative numbers if you make a request, usually quite quickly. As their footprint in Canada grows, this issue will diminish.
As of this date, Ooma does not have the internal ability to provide freebie hardware devices that are offered as part of their sign up for annual Premier Service.
They will send you email advertisements to tempt you to buy their Premier Service, as opposed to the Basic Service. Those offers have links that will lead you to a page where they offer you several different freebies - Ooma Telo handset, blue tooth adapter, and wireless adapter, among them.
When you call to sign up for Premier, Ooma will refuse to send Canadians any hardware device. They will offer you intangibles like free porting of your existing number or an extended warranty, but no hardware, in spite of the offer they just sent you after you made your Ooma purchase
In conversation, they revealed that they do not have a distribution facility for this in Canada as of this date.
You will also find their Canadian web pages link to American ones and it is hard to tell where you are. They seem to be intertwined in spite of the fact they have differentiated offers.
In all other ways, the device is excellent and the customer service is simply great too. Once they fix these problems, it will be a great system. The savings is nothing short of fantastic.
Porting my existing phone number took 9 days."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:April 26, 2012

Stronger than Nettalk/magic jack

Pros: better quality call than magic jack/nettalk, good features on call filtering
Cons: somewhat lower quality call than big telcos
"Voip providers generally have reduced call quality, however I like the Ooma call quality better than magic jack/nettalk /callcentric, which I have tried over past year. Cost for NorthAmerica calling ($9-$10 per month) still saves over big telcos."
Review 50 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:August 29, 2012

Great deal

Pros: price, line quality
Cons: cannot hang the base on a wall no mounting holes
"I have used the unit for about a week. At first glance it seems to work very well, I have not ported my former number yet, I intend to do that shortly."
Review 51 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edm, AB
Date:November 3, 2012

Great Product & Price

Pros: helpfull service and support
Cons: long porting time
"Can't beat Costco for value. The Ooma phone was easy to install, but needed to call Tech support to get the Wireless adaptor connected (actually needed to use a different computer). The phone works fine but I found porting a LONG process. Note: do not cut your original service till porting is complete!"
Review 52 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronot, ON
Date:December 16, 2012

Great value for the money saved

Pros: advanced features, huge savings, number porting, vm via email
Cons: wireless set up not that straight forwad
"Although the voice quality is not the same as landline phones but it is worth the savings once you get used to it. Use wired connection instead of wireless for improved quality of voice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 23, 2013

A good alternative to land line

Pros: cheap monthly fee and easy to set up
Cons: not good for fax, reliability
"The system is easy to setup. The sound quality is good though not as good as the land line. The calling party will not see much difference but the receiving party can tell.
The biggest problem of this system is that it does not support FAX function easily. I tried HP 2840 and Brother 9840 and am not able to make them work. I can only make it work in a Samsung machine. This is the reason, that I cannot give 5 stars for this product.
The reliability is another concern. The adapter failed just after three days. The warranty service considered fast. However, I got a used/re-furbished unit as replacement though I was told it will be a new one. In that case, I would rather to return the product to Costco and get a brand new one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:March 15, 2013

Mostly all good

Pros: cheap to use., easy to set up, no delay with our connection (not very fast)
Cons: cannot dial out when there is a message holding, no phone when the power goes out
"Telus was not available for the first year so we bought this system to get us by.
We now have a land line and I have chosen to keep this as our second line.
"
Review 55 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON
Date:May 3, 2013

Inexpensive Phone Service

Pros: inexpensive, reliable
"I fired my phone company in Jan and went with Ooma. I am so happy. It was easy to set up, is easy to use and has some great features. I subscribe to Premier service and I love that I can have my mobile and house phone ring at the same time. I run a home based business and Ooma helped me be more responsive to my customers calls. We call to England every other week and talk for 30-40 minutes each time. It has only costs us 4 dollars in total for those calls so far. No long distance fees for USA or Canada calls. It took about a week to port my number. I have also downloaded the ooma mobile app (iphone/ipod) and love it. I use the app while out of the country to call back home.
I have encountered a few minor problems with the inability to dial some numbers. But I give customer service a call and they resolve the problem quickly. Customer service is very polite and listens to your problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 11, 2013

Great Alternative to the Big Guys

Pros: cheap, easy setup, fast customer service
Cons: call quality is not perfect
"We've been using the Ooma Telo for over two months now, and it's a more than capable substitute for the Big Cable Company's home phone service.
The cost cannot be beat, the setup was simple, and there are more features than I know what to do with. The biggest downside is that the call quality is not quite as good as that from my previous phone provider: there is slightly more delay, and usually a bit of an echo, but it's still much much clearer than your average cell phone. Overall, the slight decline in call quality is more than compensated for by the cheaper price.
After trying out the device for a month with the given number, we then decided to port our existing home phone number to the Ooma. Customer service was clear about the entire process, and despite originally being told that the port would take 3-4 weeks, the whole thing was done in 10 days."
Review 57 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:June 17, 2013

Decent product

Pros: easy to reach live internet or phone cust. service, easy to setup, voice quality, product build
Cons: some/a lot of 800 numbers not supported, porting process takes a while
"Switched over to Ooma from Rogers, the attractive price of $4 monthly was a main deciding factor.
I've had 2 of the 800/877/888 numbers not connected due to Ooma claiming that it's due to a local area code conflict. I was instructed to contact the institution to obtain their local area code. A little of a nuisance, however, for the monthly cost, I'm willing to deal with it.
The only other thing is that the porting process claims to take 4-6 weeks to port over, that results in an overlap where you will be paying for both services until the porting process has been completed.
Final note is to ensure you have a decent internet connection, I've read issues with people who live in the outskirts of the town who would experience issues with this product.
It does take a while for my Ooma to connect 1-2 mins after a reboot, be paitient."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Killarney, MB
Date:August 17, 2013

Research Porting ability first...

"Device seems to work really well but there isnt number porting available for most smaller communities and the numbers they want to assign are only for major cities. Rural users beware! Had to return unfortuneatly but Costco of course had no problems with this."
Review 59 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:November 30, 2013

Wi-fi adaptor is junk

Pros: price still beats conventional telephone anyday
Cons: wi-fi not reliable major con
"Encountered problems with dial-tone and reception whenever connected via wi-fi. Once I connected directly to the Ooma base minus the wi-fi, problem solved."
Review 60 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014

you need a good router, then it works fine

"at first, the wifi connection didn't work well. There was lag during conversations. I had an old router that was still working fine for every other device, so I tought that the problem was the wireless receiver. Finally, I tried a new router more powerfull and everything works ok since then. If you want to use the wifi connection make sure you have a good router."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>