Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle

Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle

Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
(out of 93 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
18
69 of 93(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Review 41 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:April 30, 2012

Great system

Pros: call blocking features, free calling to anywhere in canada and the us, voice-mail, easy set-up
"I have had this running for the last 6 weeks and they system has be nothing but fantastic! It took about 3-4 weeks to port my existing phone, and calls are free to anywhere in Canada and the US. I went with the premium package, but still only cost me $13.98/month. Love the phone number blocking features, Voice-mails features!
I absolutely love this system and will recommend it to others."
Review 42 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 27, 2012

Easy and delivers everything promised

"Easy to set-up ... follow directions though especially the guys. Quality is excellent ... I was surprised that my phone operates in every way it did prior to converting to Ooma. I would strongly endorse this product."
Review 43 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:March 12, 2012

Best choice for Canadians

Pros: incredible feature list, low monthly cost, highly polished online interface
Cons: high cost of telo unit, faxing is an issue for some
"We bought the Ooma Telo mid January 2012 and ported our number from Bell on February 13. It's been a great purchase to date. Sound quality is excellent. You cannot tell the difference between Ooma and POTS (Plain Old Telephone Service). I considered netTalk, but they don't allow Canadians to port their phone numbers at this time. They also have a limit of 3000 minutes per month, versus the 5000 minutes per month limit of Ooma. I don't think we'll ever hit the Ooma limit, but it's possible that we would hit the netTalk limit, so that combined with no number porting made it a no go for us. I really like how the Telo gives you controls to access voicemail and screen calls and manage messages right from the base, not just from handsets or online. It made Ooma an easier transition for a family because it's not so different from what we're used to. Ooma is also planning to have a lot more capabilities than it has today, but devices like netTalk don't have expandability.
I would recommend anyone who's thinking of purchasing that you make sure your internet service is sufficient first. The Ooma Canada website has a good tool to help you do a basic and quite accurate ROI and also check your internet service. It's more than just upload and download speed that's important when you switch to VoIP.
For the most problem free installation, I would also recommend that the Ooma Telo is placed after a router, not in between the modem and router like Ooma suggests. You need a modem that has QoS (Quality of Service). Normally the Telo handles that when it's installed after the modem, but before your router. If you follow my recommendation (as well as the recommendation of many users on the Ooma forums), and place the Ooma Telo after the router, you must setup QoS in your router or you will have problems. Register and visit the Ooma user forum before you make your decision. There's a wealth of information there and many dedicated users that will be very helpful and answer any questions you have. Most important, buy the Telo from Costco so you are protected, should this turn out to not be the right choice for you."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London,on
Date:February 12, 2012

Best purchase ever

"I have tried many voip product before using this unit.The quality of this unit is better then any for voice quality !Have use this system on a 3G rocket hub it performs awesome over this tough enviroment ,when other units failed and the voice quality was hard for me to hear the speech, this unit is clear as a bell.Yes this unit has a few things as to the 1 800 numbers in canada ,but they will fix this problem with it.Overall this unit is the best unit on the market for sound quality,priceand service! I have use 6 other services before this one so I know quality when I see It!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitby. Ont.
Date:January 8, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: free canada wide calling, low monthly bills
Cons: wish i did it sooner !, wish it included the usa for free calls
"We love it ! Managed to hook up so all the phones in the house are on the OOMA Telo
We even managed to program our monitoring system for the home alarm to dial out , although it is not supported . The international long distance is very reasonable best of all you prepay so no surprises !
Now all my calls in Canada are free ! Voice mail and call answer all included .
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:January 1, 2012

Bye bye home line hello ooma

Pros: canada wide calling included, super low monthly fees, land line voice quality, internet call log and voice messages
Cons: none yet
"Had this up and running for one week now and it works perfectly so far as advertised. After seven months it will have paid for itself. If you have reliable high speed Internet this is a no brainier, just go for it. It won't work during a power outage since it uses the modem (unless you have a battery back up system). Since we already have cell phone this is not an issue during power outage."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodstock, ON
Date:April 10, 2014

Works well, but potentially a tricky WiFi set up

Pros: price per month, sound quality of calls was excellent on wifi.
Cons: porting your current number., setting up qos in my router
"FYI: I only used the WiFi setup.
The physical install of the unit takes about 2 minutes. Delving into the router settings: another 15 minutes or more.
I discovered an issue with my router that I didn't know existed: it dropped connections, sometimes 6x a day. At first I thought it was an Ooma issue, until I Googled my router make & model. Solution: I switched the Ooma to my other router (yes, I have 2) and it worked great: solid/stable. Calls were clear; no issues at all. I had zero dropped calls after I switched routers & no reboots. It had the same call quality as my service through my cable company.
The tough part was going into the routers' settings and giving Ooma QoS (priority traffic over everything else) and setting up a reserved IP address for Ooma at the same time. That took me about 15 minutes to sort out.
Give yourself about an hour to set it up via WiFi.
I returned it for one reason: Ooma was not able to port my current telephone number and that was the deal breaker. I did not see the small section on their webpage which allows you to check before hand if they can port your number. I concentrated on setting it up, rather than asking: can I port over my number? I discovered this after I bought Ooma Premier Service and tried to port. Ooma was excellent to deal with, even for cancelling.
Bottom line: I will continue to check the Ooma site and check on number porting. I plan to buy again once they sort it out. Otherwise, Ooma was rock solid stable."
Review 48 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chelsea, Quebec
Date:March 18, 2014

Disappointed.

Pros: good product, helpful ooma customer service
Cons: not able to port over existing landline #, seems they have a shortage of #'s in some areas
"I live in Chelsea QC and was looking forward to getting rid of my landline & associated cost by using Ooma.....however :
a) Ooma could not port over my exisiting land line #
b) Ooma could not give me a new telephone # that would not be a long distance call for my family, friends who live in the same area ? They tried about 3 different #'s with no luck.
Thank you Costco for making returns so easy !
"
Review 49 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014

you need a good router, then it works fine

"at first, the wifi connection didn't work well. There was lag during conversations. I had an old router that was still working fine for every other device, so I tought that the problem was the wireless receiver. Finally, I tried a new router more powerfull and everything works ok since then. If you want to use the wifi connection make sure you have a good router."
Review 50 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:November 30, 2013

Wi-fi adaptor is junk

Pros: price still beats conventional telephone anyday
Cons: wi-fi not reliable major con
"Encountered problems with dial-tone and reception whenever connected via wi-fi. Once I connected directly to the Ooma base minus the wi-fi, problem solved."
Review 51 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Killarney, MB
Date:August 17, 2013

Research Porting ability first...

"Device seems to work really well but there isnt number porting available for most smaller communities and the numbers they want to assign are only for major cities. Rural users beware! Had to return unfortuneatly but Costco of course had no problems with this."
Review 52 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:June 17, 2013

Decent product

Pros: easy to reach live internet or phone cust. service, easy to setup, voice quality, product build
Cons: some/a lot of 800 numbers not supported, porting process takes a while
"Switched over to Ooma from Rogers, the attractive price of $4 monthly was a main deciding factor.
I've had 2 of the 800/877/888 numbers not connected due to Ooma claiming that it's due to a local area code conflict. I was instructed to contact the institution to obtain their local area code. A little of a nuisance, however, for the monthly cost, I'm willing to deal with it.
The only other thing is that the porting process claims to take 4-6 weeks to port over, that results in an overlap where you will be paying for both services until the porting process has been completed.
Final note is to ensure you have a decent internet connection, I've read issues with people who live in the outskirts of the town who would experience issues with this product.
It does take a while for my Ooma to connect 1-2 mins after a reboot, be paitient."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 11, 2013

Great Alternative to the Big Guys

Pros: cheap, easy setup, fast customer service
Cons: call quality is not perfect
"We've been using the Ooma Telo for over two months now, and it's a more than capable substitute for the Big Cable Company's home phone service.
The cost cannot be beat, the setup was simple, and there are more features than I know what to do with. The biggest downside is that the call quality is not quite as good as that from my previous phone provider: there is slightly more delay, and usually a bit of an echo, but it's still much much clearer than your average cell phone. Overall, the slight decline in call quality is more than compensated for by the cheaper price.
After trying out the device for a month with the given number, we then decided to port our existing home phone number to the Ooma. Customer service was clear about the entire process, and despite originally being told that the port would take 3-4 weeks, the whole thing was done in 10 days."
Review 54 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON
Date:May 3, 2013

Inexpensive Phone Service

Pros: inexpensive, reliable
"I fired my phone company in Jan and went with Ooma. I am so happy. It was easy to set up, is easy to use and has some great features. I subscribe to Premier service and I love that I can have my mobile and house phone ring at the same time. I run a home based business and Ooma helped me be more responsive to my customers calls. We call to England every other week and talk for 30-40 minutes each time. It has only costs us 4 dollars in total for those calls so far. No long distance fees for USA or Canada calls. It took about a week to port my number. I have also downloaded the ooma mobile app (iphone/ipod) and love it. I use the app while out of the country to call back home.
I have encountered a few minor problems with the inability to dial some numbers. But I give customer service a call and they resolve the problem quickly. Customer service is very polite and listens to your problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:March 15, 2013

Mostly all good

Pros: cheap to use., easy to set up, no delay with our connection (not very fast)
Cons: cannot dial out when there is a message holding, no phone when the power goes out
"Telus was not available for the first year so we bought this system to get us by.
We now have a land line and I have chosen to keep this as our second line.
"
Review 56 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 23, 2013

A good alternative to land line

Pros: cheap monthly fee and easy to set up
Cons: not good for fax, reliability
"The system is easy to setup. The sound quality is good though not as good as the land line. The calling party will not see much difference but the receiving party can tell.
The biggest problem of this system is that it does not support FAX function easily. I tried HP 2840 and Brother 9840 and am not able to make them work. I can only make it work in a Samsung machine. This is the reason, that I cannot give 5 stars for this product.
The reliability is another concern. The adapter failed just after three days. The warranty service considered fast. However, I got a used/re-furbished unit as replacement though I was told it will be a new one. In that case, I would rather to return the product to Costco and get a brand new one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronot, ON
Date:December 16, 2012

Great value for the money saved

Pros: advanced features, huge savings, number porting, vm via email
Cons: wireless set up not that straight forwad
"Although the voice quality is not the same as landline phones but it is worth the savings once you get used to it. Use wired connection instead of wireless for improved quality of voice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edm, AB
Date:November 3, 2012

Great Product & Price

Pros: helpfull service and support
Cons: long porting time
"Can't beat Costco for value. The Ooma phone was easy to install, but needed to call Tech support to get the Wireless adaptor connected (actually needed to use a different computer). The phone works fine but I found porting a LONG process. Note: do not cut your original service till porting is complete!"
Review 59 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:August 29, 2012

Great deal

Pros: price, line quality
Cons: cannot hang the base on a wall no mounting holes
"I have used the unit for about a week. At first glance it seems to work very well, I have not ported my former number yet, I intend to do that shortly."
Review 60 for Ooma Telo Air Wireless VoIP Home Phone Service Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:April 26, 2012

Stronger than Nettalk/magic jack

Pros: better quality call than magic jack/nettalk, good features on call filtering
Cons: somewhat lower quality call than big telcos
"Voip providers generally have reduced call quality, however I like the Ooma call quality better than magic jack/nettalk /callcentric, which I have tried over past year. Cost for NorthAmerica calling ($9-$10 per month) still saves over big telcos."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>