Customer Reviews for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap

Enjoy the outdoors more often with a Dynatrap® insect trap. It attracts and kills mosquitoes without harmful chemicals.  Effectively reduce mosquitoes, biting flies, Asian beetles, wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, moths, stink bugs and other flying insects from your indoor/outdoor living spaces!    Features:   Indoor / outdoor   Smokeless, pesticides and odour-free   Durable in all weather construction   Operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week   Quietly works without added chemicals or pesticides   Lightweight and easy to install   Whisper quiet Kit Includes:   2-UV fluorescent replaceable light bulbs, approximately 3,000 hour (4 months) life expectancy   Cleaning brush   Detachable basket 3 m (10 ft.) cord (115 VAC) Dimensions (L x W x H) and Weights: 34 cm x 34 cm x 37 cm (13 in. x 13 in. x 14 in.), 5.5 kg (10 lb.) Warranty:   1 year Model: DT2000XL
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
5 of 9(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Review 1 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rural, ON
Date:July 20, 2014

Not a great introduction to the brand.

Pros: speedy delivery, lights are attractive at night
Cons: lights blew at four week mark, catches mostly june bugs and moths, tricky to empty, put far from house since it attracts to trap
"The first surprise upon speedy arrival was that this machine is HUGE. I must not have read the specs section prior to purchase.
The first thumbs down for us was the fact that it attracts and catches so many beautiful moths.
The same is noted four June bugs. We purchased it to reduce the mosquito and blackfly population on our acreage, but the machine has not made a significant difference.
I find emptying it to be very tricky.
My son calls it the Torture Chamber and thinks the system cruel.
The second big thumbs down is that four weeks after we received it the lights blew. The machine is touted as being weatherproof, however the lights blew during the first big rainfall of the season.
Now I am wondering if we got a bad batch or if the replacement lights will do the same.
"
Review 2 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB
Date:July 12, 2014

Works as described

Pros: well priced and cheap to run
Cons: 1 bulb burned after 4 weeks
"This is my first insect trap that I bought. It works very well. Checked the holding basket after a few days and I was surprised to see how many moskitos that were already trapped. This is the first year in a long time that I can sit on my deck outside and not be carried off by moskitos."
Review 3 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:June 22, 2014

amazing cleared my yard worked too well!

Pros: catches bugs!!!
Cons: challenging to empty
"Had this for over a year. It cleared my yard of all biting insects. Mesh is small enough to catch no see ums too. Caught an amazing amount to of insects. Difficult to clean as it catches mounds of bugs so that is a challenge as many may still be alive. Ours had the lights die after a year and we are replacing it. Still giving it 5 stars for working so well. Tried their lesser model from Costco and it is no good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB
Date:May 29, 2014

Seems to work but....

Pros: catches bugs, it's quiet
Cons: both lights burned out after 2 weeks
"I had this unit for 2 weeks and even though the warmers days have just started it has caught a few flying bugs. I would say not as many mosquitoes as the other bugs. Only complain is that in 2 weeks it has burned both of the original lights. It does come with 2 replacements bulbs, but they say it should last 5000 hours (6 months) and I maybe got 500 hours. If the replacement lights burn out in less then 3 months, I'll be returning it."
Review 5 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sydney, NS
Date:June 29, 2013

Disappointed

Pros: lightweight
Cons: doesn't work for mosquitoes or blackflies
"I purchased 2 of these units and hoped that they would tackle the black flies and mosquitoes. I liked the idea that they didn't use propane and therefore could be used closer to people. I placed the units at varying heights and locations over a couple of weeks and checked the unit every couple of days only to find that a lot of moths and June bugs were trapped but little (2) to no mosquitoes or black flies. The propane mosquito trap was still trapping hundreds. I returned both units."
Review 6 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia
Date:June 17, 2013

Not good for mosquito control

Pros: quiet light weight easy to install
Cons: does not catch mosquito
"If you are buying this for mosquito control do not all it attracted was June Bugs, Moths and Flies which it got plenty of just no mosquitos or blackflies"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sundre, AB
Date:May 17, 2013

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: they work - what can i say?
Cons: none so far.
"I bought two of these units to put on both the front and back decks to see if they would eliminate or at least cut down on all the flies that are attracted to the white decks and siding. Well, lo and behold, they're doing the job. For me, it was well worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:July 30, 2012

Awesome!

"SO i purchased the DT1100 and just opened the package on Friday, i plugged it in at home and left for the weekend. I returned Sunday evening and the trap had a huge catch. i called my neighbors over to show them. They will order one as well. if it caught that much in two days i cant wait to see in one month!
Wish i could post a picture of the mosquitoes and bugs it caught!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynatrap® DT2000XL Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northwest territories
Date:July 12, 2012

Not impressed yet....

Cons: not a great description
"Not too sure about how it works yet, but my first complaint is there is no metal stand. Other then that I guess we will see......"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By Buyer27July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Our website erroneously indicated that this item came with a metal stand. The only Dynatrap sku that comes with a metal pole is item # 322686 - Dynatrap® DT1200 Indoor/Outdoor Insect Trap. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.