Customer Reviews for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum

It cleans your home, even when you’re not at home. Push a button, not a vacuum. Let Neato clean every inch of your floors, smartly seeing and avoiding furniture, and your house will always be ready for guests. It’s smart. The RPS, Room Positioning System, is the proprietary technology that makes Neato as smart as a human housekeeper. It’s powerful. Whether it’s dust, dirt or pet hair, the high-performance vacuum inside your robot works in a precise back-and-forth path, picking up even tiny specks. It’s simple. Just charge it up, press the Start button, and watch it work. Once it’s finished in one room, it will begin working in the next one. Features:   Control center: Simply program in your desired schedule, it will clean daily, weekly or as often as you want   One-button operation: Just press the start button to begin or stop the cleaning process   Status light: Green light means it's ready to go to work and amber light means it may require additional charging or simple attention   Easy-to-empty and clean dirt bin   Home charging base: Store your robot at its base, so it will always be charged up   Boundary markers: Keep your XV-14 cleaning only those areas you want it to clean   Rectangular floor design allows vacuuming close to walls and into corners   Low profile allows cleaning under furniture   Sees 360 degrees, maps out your room, and then methodically vacuums in straight lines, carefully avoiding any furniture, obstacles and stairs Automatic doorway recognition assures that it completely cleans one room, before moving onto the next   Automatically return to its base for recharging and resume cleaning where it left   Works on all floor types: Carpet, rugs, hardwood, laminate, and tile UL listed What’s Included:   Neato XV-14 vacuum robot   Charging base   Power supply   Boundary makers   4 Filters   6 Replacement Blades   1 Replacement Squeegee   User Guide   Quick Start Card Specifications:   Dimensions (L x W x H): 31.8 cm x 33 cm x 10.2 cm; (12.5 in. x 13 in. x 4 in.) Weight: 8.1 kg (18 lb.) Warranty: 1 year Model: XV-14
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
18 of 28(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Review 1 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL
Date:February 17, 2013

Low quality

Pros: learned the room and does a good job.
Cons: poor quality and only lasted six weeks
"Work only six weeks before a wheel got stiff and gave an error message.
When returning to store another person was returning four units out of five purchased as Christmas gifts. It would appear that they have a major problem."
Review 2 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:February 8, 2013

My family loves this Neato robot!

Pros: efficient never have problems
"We just love this Neato robot, our first robotic helper in the house. I babysat Neato for its first run, just my curiosity see how does it work and want to make sure my big dog is ok with his new company. It turned out really well! Facts are, Neato ran about 50 mins per charge, and returned to its base no problem at all (even we didn't put the charging base in an open and obvious spot, in a corner behind the xmas trees, have chairs, dinning table on its way back, but Neato had no problem to find its home, looked very smart. After the charge, Neato kept on his job, the outcome met our satisfaction. The noise we found as expected, since this is the solution we want to have when we're not at home. So the noise, you can say pretty loud though if you're around, but we don't really concern about it.
Then, we have it run a few times when family out for dinner or shopping. Eventhough, I planned some "setup", left some debris on purpose, around the corner, or close to wall, or somewhere I want to test whether the robot does a good "visit". I gotta say, Neato always do a great job. It passed all my "test" and makes all my family happy.
Although we still use our central vac for a bi-weekly deep vacume clean. Neato is our daily "maintenance" guy.
A few notes: the mag strip works really well for us and works very effective. Neato never have problems back to its base nor stuck on its wheel as of yet. We have it for about 2 months now, it has completed almost 30 mission. My big dog gets along with Neato and always gives the way to Neato when needed.
"
Review 3 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:January 31, 2013

Not so neat o

Cons: wheel stuck
"After one week and 4 cleans, the left wheel stuck message appeared. If the robot is returned to its base for charging, it will work fine for about 10 minutes, before the message returns. I bought this product to run while I am at work...not to babysit it.
I have had a Roomba in the past - and went almost three years without any problems - and only had to replace it after my daughter thought it would be fun to take a ride on it - and scratch the sensors underneath.
I am not happy with this purchase and am returning it. I will be getting another Roomba.
"
Review 4 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton
Date:December 31, 2012

Best robotic vacuum on market today

Pros: real navigation, strong suction like an upright, large lcd screen, wastebin keeps dirt inside, price, customer support
Cons: would be nice to have an "edger" like european ver
"Title says everything...
This robotic vacuum is a smart robot unlike the i-robot roomba...roomba randomly drives around aimlessly for up to an hour in the same room the Neato can do in 20 minutes.
The vacuum on the Neato is about 4x as powerful making it a real alternative to an upright where the roomba (all models) are more like a dry swiffer.
Yes, it will not get every crumb or piece of hair around a corner or a table, but nor will your normal upright without actually having to use a crevice tool...I cannot fault it for that.
The main fault would be along the edges it will miss some dust as there is not a side brush but so far this hasn't been a big deal.
Dustbin is a big improvement over the Roomba in that you will not have to vaccum the floor once you try and empty it due to the design
Look on youtube for comparison videos between the roomba and neato...The neato destroys the roomba for less money.
Customer service is also top notch from Neato (or Costco for that matter)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, Ontario
Date:December 12, 2012

What a great product

Pros: spot cleans on demand, it's quiet, very thorough., compact, love the schedule. my house is done every day, eliminates dust as well.
Cons: doesn't do corners not a big deal., does get stuck occasionaly under low furniture., i have to pick up around my house - lol, i wish it did stairs that'd be amazing
"I wasn't expecting this to work as well as it did. There's no assembly required. Out of the box, you can tell it to clean your house and of it'll go. Just make sure you pick up anything that might block or entangle the vacuum. And it's very thorough. Most people vacuum the middle of the floor. This robot makes sure it vacuums anything it can get to. Neato is very generous with the magnetic tape that you can use to block off area you don't want the robot going into (let's say a closet or under the Christmas tree). The combined laser and touch sensors are brilliant."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:December 9, 2012

Love this Robot but keeps breaking down

Pros: really does a good job
Cons: second unit to have the wheel stuck error.
"I love this robot. It is one of the best purchases I have ever made and it is one of the worst.
It does an amazing job for a couple of weeks and then it gets an error regarding the wheel being stuck. This is my second unit that I need to return. I love this vaccum as it is nice to come home and know the floors have been done so when it breaks. :( Not sure if I will try again with this brand. There are lots of people with this same issue if you look online.
"
Review 7 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville
Date:November 23, 2012

Netato Poor quality

Pros: rps schedule price
Cons: poor build.
"It seem that wheel stuck issue is chronic on the units and going through the second one does not build confidence. Will be returning the units back and going for Roomba."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary,AB
Date:November 20, 2012

Left wheel stucker

Pros: dust clean smart clean path
Cons: stuck under sofa sometimes common wheel issue.
"Have bought this one less a month ago and used 8 times. It ends up an annoying "Left wheel stuck" issue without anything actually stuck in there. It appears that the left wheel is much heavier than the right one when I manually rotated it by hand. Well have to return it and call back costco.ca to order another one. I am still satisfied with the job done, just feel frustrate to do baby sitting on the robot. So thinking to give it one more chance to prove the build quality."
Review 9 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, AB
Date:November 18, 2012

GARBAGE

Pros: none
Cons: everything about the machine is garbage.
"Turn on & it wants to climb its base. Take it off base & it goes around in circles. Scans room again, freezes says move item in the way.Nothing is in front of it for over 5 feet.Press start scans room again bumps into things on the scan.Starts to clean & it climbs the items it has bumped into. Ran for 30 min battery half dead already & hasnt even cleaned a room 10 by 10, says fan has stopped turning. Nothing in bin filter fairly clean. What a joke & waste of time."
Review 10 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:November 17, 2012

Extremely Poor Build

Pros: great on carpet with powerful suction, magnetic strips as barrier
Cons: poor quality, too many buttons, does not clean along wall baseboard.
"I have 2 iRobot Roombas (both from Costco), on one of them the wheels died so thought maybe give Neato a try. Anyhow, the Neato has very powerful suction and the schedule function is great. I have it run every other day and it is unbelievable how much dust it picks up. You think your house is clean until you open the dust container. It does a great job on our large kitchen area rug that is always filled with debris. By far the best feature is the magnetic strip. I cut it up to place at threshold of rooms I don't want cleaned (computer room with lots of electrical wires). Roomba requires virtual walls that need to be manually turned on and need batteries. Neato does not bump into furniture, but it also does not clean along the walls(baseboard) very well like the Roomba does with its spinning brush.
Neato does not navigate around chairs very well, and usually gets stuck if the elevation change is too high (base of bar stool). The Roomba is very fast moving, but is random, so some areas will be missed. The Roomba is quick and easy, press once and let it go. Neato requires 2 button presses and sometimes more if it is stuck and needs to restart. The menu is cumbersome (too many buttons). Anyhow, final verdict is that although the product is great at cleaning the room ( I usually have Roomba and Neato running at the same time, a-la-Robot-Wars, and the kids love it!), the build quality is extremely cheap. The left wheel is dead after only 27 days of use. Neato says the wheel is stuck and needs cleaning, but actually it is dead since there is no debris at all. The Roomba lasted 5 years before the wheels died.
Positive to this story is that Costco is the best, returned it in store with no hassle. I will get a new Roomba with scheduling from Costco again. Maybe in the future when Neato improves, will try again.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam, BC
Date:November 16, 2012

Dissapointing performance

Pros: vacuums the dust
Cons: gets lost under beds stuck in tight corners loud
"I purchased NEATO couple weeks ago. I am going to return the product. The few times I have used it, NEATO got stuck (lost) and didn't return to the base station. NEATO usually gets lost under the beds or tight corners. It takes me longer to prep the house for NEATO, than to vacuum it myself. Very dissapointing product."
Review 12 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, On
Date:November 13, 2012

I wish I could change my past review...

Pros: gets rid of dust!
Cons: breaks too often!
"Purchased the Neato twice and had to return twice. It worked fine for a couple of weeks and that is it! There was error readings for both and was told by customer service to return the Neato both times. Laser problems I was told. So, I purchased the in-store irobot pet series. The irobot pet 565 pet series works differently but gets the job done and is MUCH more quiet! Thank you Costco for such a great return policy!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherbrooke, QC
Date:October 11, 2012

Surpasses expectations

Pros: very intelligent scanning routine
Cons: got lost on the way back 2 times
"Have been using it for 10 days straight. Could not be more impressed. The fact that it scans the room and then does a straight line back and fourth pattern just makes so much sense. I can't beleive that other brands just go in a random fashion bumping into things.
After the first day, where I found a completely full dirt bin, it has been running daily, and every day it picks up the same amount of dirt and compacted fluff. Ican't beleive that my house environment generates som much dust every day, which justifies running it daily for me.
Only hope that the batteries and other wear components hold up well in time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, On
Date:September 27, 2012

It's great!

Pros: picks everything up!
Cons: noisy!
"Love it! I have dark hardwood floors and i used to vacuum everyday. This saves me an hour of housework per day. It keeps my dark hardwood free of dust! I used to hate getting up and seeing the sun shine on the hardwood floors. It showed everthing! This is no longer an issue. Neato is expensive but so worth it! Now if only we can get it to empty it's own dust pan lol. It is loud but I would rather hear a bit of noise than have to do it myself. I have two really small dogs and they don't seemed bothered by it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St. John's , NL
Date:September 21, 2012

Did not work for us

Pros: a boon for seniors or people with back problems, so cool to have your personal robot!
Cons: too noisy for night use, couldn't make transition to high-pile rug, needs a lot of prep to clear floor, time consuming
"Encouraged by all the positive reviews, I was excited to use the Neato! It has a very high cool factor and enthralled our geeky family.
But for our family with two preschoolers- it didn't really save me much time or effort. Our floors are strewn with toys and such, and the furniture is often disorganized, it took me a lot of time to get the floor neato-ready. It also took far too long to finish cleaning and I had impatient children waiting to get back to play! It is a persistent little thing though, I observed it make twenty passes around one dining chair!
We found it to be too noisy for use at night.
We have a high-pile rug on the main floor (also from Costco) Neato was unable to navigate that. Quite a few times we got back to find the poor thing beeping for help, stuck trying to make the transition from laminate to rug.
Maybe I will be ready for it in a few years, when I have uncluttered floors and linearly arranged furniture. Until then, it's back to manual labor for me :)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:September 6, 2012

Excellent little helper

"Best purchase ever. Vacuums a 3400 sq ft house very well. Yes, we need to do stairs and corners etc. But with 2 cats and one dog, it does a great job. First one delivered had a LCD display problem, but Costco sent me another one right away. Great Product and a real time saver in keeping the house tidy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:August 28, 2012

Neato!!!

Pros: cleans well, easy setup, does both hard surfaces and carpets, great at getting 'unstuck', great price
Cons: slow unless you watch it it doesn't matter
"I wanted to share my great experience with this product.
Let me get the obvious out of the way... The order and shipment of the item was done flawlessly through Costco's great website...
The product is easy to use, easy to program and set a schedule to suit your needs. But most of all, the product isn't all that noisy as many people state. I think it is quietter than my regular vaccum. It does clean extremely well and vaccums very well. It has great sensors, it dealt with getting stuck very well, it dealt with stairs very well. Everything about this product is a 5 star rating. It is very easy to empty the receptacle, and needs to be emptied every 2 or 3 cycle. It does both hard floors and carpets well."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:August 21, 2012

Amazing. Remarkable. Very impressed

Pros: see above.
Cons: the unit we bought for the office had broken lcd
"I bought two, one for home and one for our small business office.
The one at home works great, can't say enough good things about it. Only negative is it is noisy. Not as noisy as a normal vacuum cleaner, but because it takes longer than a normal vacuum it is more objectionable. But that is a very small and necessary price to pay for the amazing job it does.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delta B.C.
Date:August 16, 2012

I might buy another one for upstairs!

Pros: doesn't bump into things to navigate.
Cons: doesn't get right up to the edge of the wall.
"My Wife and I are very pleased. I chose the Neato over the Roomba and I Chose well. It might not do the edges of room as well as the Roomba, but there again I don't have to endure it constantly bumping in to everything just to navigate. I like that ."
Review 20 for Neato XV14® Robotic Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:August 8, 2012

Not for me!

"Comparing with my iRobot B575 from Costco as well, Neato is way too noisy and easier to get stucked. Sorry Neato, I'll buy another Roomba for my family today."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>