Customer Reviews for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™

Not available for delivery in the province of Quebec For Quebec residents, please see item #399472 This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Make and receive landline and cellular calls throughout your home. The DS6472-6 allows you to pair up to 8 Bluetooth® cell phones and/or headsets to the base. Two of the 8 paired devices can be connected to the base and enabled to make and receive calls. This allows you to use your cell phone plans with the ease and comfort of your home phone system. Features: 5 x DECT 6.0 Handsets 1 x DECT 6.0 Headset Connect-to-Cell™ Bluetooth enabled for connection to cell phones and headsets 5-handset system: Requires only 1 jack Digital answering system: 11 minutes of recording time Caller ID/call waiting stores 50 calls HD Audio Voice announced caller ID Push-to-talk intercom Handset speakerphones Intercom/conference call/transfer between handsets 50 name and number phonebook directory Last 10 number redial Voicemail/missed call/new call indicators Blue backlit keypad and display WiFI friendly Warranty: 1 year Model: DS6472-6
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
7 of 12(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Review 1 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alert Bay, BC
Date:August 31, 2012

Fantastic Phone Deal Loaded with Goodies

Pros: great bluetooth feature and wireless headset, voice id announcement
Cons: none
"Crystal clear voices. Listen to voice mail, clear off messages, control ringers, check ID etc. from any phone. Great colors and nice section of ring tones. We decided to stay with Vtec again and are really happy we did as the sound is considerbly clearer and cleaner than another brand that a family member bought. Our old VTec phones are over eight years old, worked great but the new features in this phone are superior."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax, ON
Date:December 23, 2012

overall nice, small issues

Pros: sound, headset, bluetooth, caller id announce
Cons: backlight not adjustable, blue and red phone very hard to read keys
"Phone sound is more than acceptable. The headset is a nice working device, but, trying to get it to stay on the charger is bit annoying at times, the magnet only works at certain angles.
Bluetooth works well for me. It even supports reading text messages through the handset. It will import your contact list from your cell to the handsets as well.
The backlight needs to be adjustable. Older people (like me) will have a hard time seeing the numbers in a room that is not brightly lit. Trying to pick a button to get the backlight on that does do something else at the same time (like redial the last number instead of just turning the backlight on) is a real pain. The coloured phones are even worse to try and see what the keys do without backlight. Would be nice to be able to set the backlight to stay on for however long I want. Should be my choice, not some design guy that most likely does not even use this phone."
Review 3 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:November 8, 2012

Decent Phones

Pros: decent reception, fair price, easy setup, listen to voicemail from any of the headsets!
Cons: vtech customer service is lousy., vtech customer service is lousy!, vtech customer service is lousy!!
"Bought the first set of phones and found 2 of the 5 phones had a screechy, high-pitched noise when using the headsets. Had to buy a second set of phones from Costco, and then un-pair and re-pair 2 of the new phones to the first system, and vice-versa. Finally got 5 working handsets and 1 bluetooth headset.
Someone wrote a review and said these phones don't have bluetooth. Well they do! I have 2 cellphones (different numbers) hooked up (no hitches). I can make and received cell calls right from one of the 5 handsets/headset. Another nice feature of these phones is you can use 1 or more handsets at the same time (while on the same call, of course.)
The caller announce is a bit cheesy, and at times is very difficult to understand. Would be nice if there was a way to change the voice. You can listen to voicemail from ANY of the phones, and not just at the base (answering machine).
"
Review 4 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2012
Pros: nice coulor
Cons: bad connections
"the colour of the phones where a nice change to the standard silver or black but once we started using them our calls were cutting in and our while we were on the phone and it didn't matter if we changed phones not good when you are on an important call. Also a few times the phone would cut out completely while still having full battery."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia
Date:August 11, 2012

Love the Voice announced caller ID

Pros: voice announced caller id, bluetooth headset can be added to any handset, intercom can call any handset, it comes with a bluetooth headset
Cons: none
"The sound is crystal clear, with no random crackling noises.
After the first ring, all handsets announce the caller ID name, which is a really good feature.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2012

Good Phones

Pros: pairs with 2 cell phones, wireless headset recharges easily, handset & headset battery life good for long calls
Cons: menus are not very intuitive, keypad backlight should be motion sensitive
"Phones work well. We use them for long teleconferences when working at home and they work great. Sound quality is better than average. Bluetooth pairing with phones works well for iPhone4 but not as well for LG (might be a bluetooth signal strength issue with that phone). With bluetooth cell connection, can initiate and answer cell calls from home phones. Also allows multiple calls at once (using the cell phones as additional lines). Haven't used the answering machine.
Other reviewers complaining about poor sound quality, dropped calls, or only one Bluetooth phone must have a different vtech model or might be pairing with other devices of poor quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland
Date:September 26, 2012

do not buy

Pros: the idea of the bluetooth integration and headset
Cons: sound quality, uncomfortable headset, single bluetooth connectivity
"We bought this phone set to upgrade our existing wireless phones. We liked this set due to the bluetooth integration and the bluetooth headset which would be useful as I spend most of my days on the phone. We tried the phones out for a week and returned them to Costco. The sound quality is horrible, even with the bluetooth headset - there is a cheap, tinny sound that comes from them. Our current wireless set has much better sound quality is is much older. In addition, the bluetooth is limited... if you have the bluetooth headset enabled, you mobile phone integration will be disabled - as you can only have 1 active bluetooth connection at a time. We are currently looking for another wireless phone set."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2012

Connection problems

Pros: nice looking set, lightweight, lots of handsets
Cons: connection issues
"Used this phone set for 3 days before it started losing connection with the base set intermittently. Once it starts doing this, it wont connect with the handset even if it is placed next to the base unit. I will be returning this set on the weekend.
Even though the set looks great, the menu is non-intuitive (something I could probably manage if the connection problem did not exist).
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:January 4, 2013

Flaw in headset design

Pros: different colors, ability to name phones, connect to cell feature
Cons: cell phones must be to base station for clarity, headset does not work with cells, cheap plastic teeth on headset snap off
"Good product have been using it for a few months now; however, the headset does not take cell phone calls via bluetooth, and has a design flaw in the connector piece that physically connects the headset to the ear loop or head band. Small plastic teeth connect the headset to the loop or band. These teeth are made from cheap plastic and are prone to snapping off after normal use and no longer hold the headset piece to the loop or band which makes it unusable. Under the 1 year warranty Vtech will replace the headset with the same model, but that doesn't really address the design flaw or prevent the problem from happening again. I would keep this product otherwise, but will sadly have to return it."
Review 10 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2012
Pros: costco return policy
Cons: let me see... everything about this phone is junk
"Sure it's eye candy. But nothing works. There's no web support at Vtech. The model appears to be discontinued. 100 page manual is provided for some light reading. No blue tooth connectivity. Impossible to see the digits on the keys.. especially the blue phone. Annoying verbal announcements with incoming calls.
Better off with an old rotary dial phone or tin can,
This lasted 30 mins and is being returned tomorrow"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VTech DS6472-6 DECT 6.0 Cordless Phone System with Connect-to-Cell™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:November 28, 2012

Works for me...

Pros: simplifies phone system + cell phone
Cons: sound quality could be better.
"I was looking for a phone system that could answer both a regular phone line and cell phone. Had some initial issues getting headset to work (took 24+ hours to charge) but now it seems to work fine. However, headset doesn't work with cell phone which would have been nice.
Overall the sound quality leaves something to be desired but overall it does a good job.
"