Customer Reviews for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Experience the flavour of Kamado style cooking. The Kamado replicates wood oven cooking and provides flexibility to sear, grill and smoke meats and vegetables as well as bake pizzas and bread. The grill is constructed of high grade ceramic and delivers 0.38 square meter (596 square inches) of cooking surface with 2-tiered stainless steel flip grates. The Kamado comes complete with 2 solid surface drop-down shelves, a stainless steel calibrated top vent, a cart with locking rollers for easy mobility and a heavy duty vinyl cover. Features:   Colour: black matte and charcoal grey Ceramic construction eliminates exterior contact burn risk and allows for year-round grilling Thick ceramic construction and design delivers a convection cooking environment for even cooking, superior temperature control and heat retention No rust and non-stick stainless-steel cooking grate Wooden side shelves Stainless steel calibrated top vent Integrated thermometer Anti-tip stainless-steel cart with locking rollers Specifications: Dimensions (H x W x D): Height: 119.4 cm (47 in.); Width: 124.5 cm (49 in.) (shelves up); Width: 50.8 cm (20 in.) (shelves dropped down); Depth: 76.2 cm (30 in.) Weight: 103.7 kg (228.6 lb.) Model: VGKSS-CC2
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Review 1 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:September 4, 2012

Beyond Extremely Happy

Pros: very well built, great customer service
Cons: top level grate lighter gauge than bottom grate, gasket seperated at seam
"I bought this at the end of May 2012. I wasn't a big fan of BBQing on gas grills and didn't do it very often. But I have always loved smoked and grilled food that was prepared in wood ovens and charcoal grills in restaurants. I decided to give this a go after a lot of research in to its competition. I also have some friends that use competing products: BGE and Weber charcoal grills. When I went shopping for a kamado grill, I got the "look" from my wife when the salesperson told me the all-in cost of a XL BGE. And then I saw this in a Cosco store. Now it is on my deck!
I cook on it almost everyday. To the point that my daughter is getting tired of BBQ'd food...like that is even possible. I've made slow smoked beans, ribs, pork loins, grilled chicken, burgers, chicken drumsticks my kids can't get enough of with an awesome spice rub, seared thick 1.5" steaks, baked pizza and bread. All of it has been amazing. I mainly use the charcoal Costco sells which is a sugar maple. I smoke with various chips wrapped up in tinfoil tossed in the bottom, but I go easy on the chips. It's easy to over flavour.
The grill is one solid piece of hardware. The dual level grill rack is solid, I just wish the top level was the same gauge of steel as the lower level. The ceramic is thick. The hardware is heavy duty. The cover that is included is the heaviest BBQ cover I've ever seen. I use a ceramic pizza stone as a diffuser (not from Pampered Chef!) on the bottom grill when I smoke stuff on the top level. There is a learning curve for setting the temperature, but I can now light it, adjust it and hold a perfect 225 smoking temperature within 30 minutes. I smoked baked beans for 7 hours, I got the temperature to 225 and it held it solid the full time. The final setting is top vent a hair open, bottom vent is at 5. That is not what the manual says.
The customer service is way beyond excellent. I had a couple of issues at the beginning with the thermometer which is dead accurate. Some moisture got in the thermometer, so I sent an email to that as well as what I thought was the heavy plastic handle on the top vent separating. They immediately shipped me a new top vent and thermometer, no cost. In the end, the moisture disappears on it's own and the handle hasn't broken, it's just like the day I got it. But now I have replacement parts for down the road. I am planning on ordering the cast iron top vent when they put it up for sale on their website in the not too distant future according to their customer service agent. The gasket separated 1mm at a seam after two months, but they sent me new gaskets. 1mm you say? It lets smoke out and oxygen in which is counter to controlling the smoking process.
I can't wait to smoke/grill the Thanksgiving turkey this fall. It will be amazing.
This thing is awesome. Real estate on the grill is less than you would have on big gas grills. The two level grates are nice but it can be awkward using the bottom level with stuff on the top level.
I told my wife I want to get a second one next year to increase the cooking space and so I can smoke on two or smoke on one and grill on the other at the same time. I got the "look". I have eight months to work on that..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: low & slow ribs, high temp sear ribeye
Cons: cover fits too tight, no diffuser included
"Was interested in BGE; This was just too good of a deal to pass. Costco's warranty sealed the deal. Have cooked hamburgers, steaks, beercan chicken & Ribs (smoked low & slow) A little bit of a learning curve, but very impressed! Get it before it's gone!
ps- Costco meat is second to none ( try it & never look back)
"
Review 3 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:EDMONTON , AB
Date:June 3, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

"The grill has exceeded my expectations and it is a great value based on other brands who charge for every extra option available. I am still in the learning curve on how to use the grill and regulate the temperature effectively, but I am making progress."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:June 1, 2012

it's just ok

Pros: ceramic
Cons: poor quality hardware
"I've used this product and the BGE. This product is a nice copy of the BGE and the price reflects it. Quality of product and food is second rate to the BGE and many other high end Kamado Grills. I would definitely save my money and purchase a high quality Kamado instead of this unit."
1 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince George
Date:May 18, 2012

Excellent Deal

Pros: great price, performs as well as far higher priced grills.
Cons: quality of lower vent a bit suspect
"I purchased the Kamado Grill last weekend and I think this will be the start of an amazing barbequing summer. I picked it up at the Costco in Prince George. First thing to note is this thing is very heavy. On the specs it says 228 pounds. Also, when you get the grill, the main piece and the lid are together. As this accounts for most of the weight, you will probably need help in putting it together (and moving it if you have to go over any steps. Once you have the metal base together, you can carefully role the grill to where you need it.
The grill took more time than I expect to put together. Some of the holes in the metal base did not line up, so I had to drill larger holes to get them to line up (in the non-threaded side). The metal quite hard, so it took longer than I expected to drill the holes (I suspect I destroyed a couple of drill bits as they became very hot). It probably took two of us 1 ½ hours to put the grill together working at a casual pace. I was also unable to get the top vent to seat all the way down (it probably sits ½ cm higher than it should). I don’t think this will have any effect on the operation.
Overall, the grill seems well constructed. For the price, I think this is a great buy. However, you do have some concessions with this gill over its far higher priced competition. The bottom vent is a bit flimsy - although I don’t expect this to detract from the use of the grill. I have found that even when the grill is very hot inside, the bottom vent stays relatively cool. The top vent, while is seems to be of reasonably high quality is not as nice the cast iron type top vents of the Big Green Egg grills. Also, the top grill rack is difficult to take off and put on (so difficult that I doubt I would try to put it on when the grill is hot). The side boards (tables) don’t appear to fold down, so you need to take them off to put the cover on.
Thus far I have only cooked three chickens on the grill. They came out amazingly moist. However, I don’t think I finished the cooking off at a high enough temperature, as the skin didn’t get crisp. I am planning on trying pizza this weekend. I’m expecting yummy results."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:May 1, 2012

Great Value!

Pros: temperature control, fuel (charcoal) efficiency, easy to assemble
Cons: lack of accessories in canada; e.g. grilling stone
"I have been looking for a ceramic BBQ for a while and after talking to a couple friends that bought this unit, I was convinced it was a good choice.
I've been using it every day for a week now. It takes a bit of practice to set the temperature you want, but once you do, it will keep that for hours. It is very efficient. I smoked a lamb leg over 4 hours without adding any charcoal.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON
Date:April 26, 2012

Excellent Product

Pros: easy setup, achieves high temps
"I purchased this product on-line at costco.ca after I missed the BGEs in store. The delivery arrived as expected and setup was very easy.
My first try to light the BBQ went well as I followed may of the directions found on the web for these type of ceramic cookers. Getting the temp to stay at 225-250 for smoking does take some time and practice. A stone for indirect cooking would be a great accessory, so I decided to pickup a cheap pizza stone to try out.
Overall I'm very happy with the purchase and includes many accessories that would need to be purchased if you go with the BGE. I would suggest this product as the cooker adds the smoke flavour that is often difficult to achieve on gas grill.
As one reviewer mentioned, I did use 100% lump charcoal and added a chunk of hickory for smoke. Would highly recommend this product if trying to achieve authentic jerk chicken and BBQ brisket."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:April 26, 2012

Steak!!!!

"Packaging was very good, easy to assemble and initial use of product is very positive.
First cooked the potato dish for about 45 min at 400, then adjusted the airflow and it
Heated up to over 700 degrees - cooked 8 steaks for 2.5 min on each side and viola steak perfection.
Then for fun lowered the temp to 300 and heated the apple pie we had for desert.
Was $100 cheaper in the store than online"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:April 21, 2012

Awesome grill!

Cons: no heat diffuser plate.
"I picked up this grill a week ago at the Mississauga South store and I can say without a doubt that it is awesome! I've only had enough time to grill some chops and steaks and the results were extraordinary. The meats were moist and flavourful! The grill does not come with a heat diffuser so I picked up the Broil King Keg Diffuser Kit and it's a perfect fit. I also picked up a 15 inch pizza stone. The quality of this grill is equal to or better than the BGE without the hefty price tag. This is definitely worth the price."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:April 21, 2012

great Kamado grill for great price

Pros: great price easy setup quality product
Cons: lack of recipes
"First saw this grill down in Fort Myers and bemoaned the fact that I had never seen it in a Canadian Costco store. Was very happy to find it on Costco.CA and hear it will be a available in some (this is a bother) stores.
Ordered online and received it very quickly. Setup was very easy. Have used it 6 times in the last 2 weeks and have been very happy with the results. Starting the coals (its important to use lump charcoal) is very simple with a chimney (buy one). Maintaining an even termperature takes a bit of practice but is pretty simple. And best of all the food taste great. A friend with a BGE thinks this Vision grill is as good as his for far less. We like the looks and have taken to calling it the Kamado Avocado (its black and resembles a ripe avocado)
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vision Grills Kamado Ceramic Charcoal BBQ
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:March 29, 2012

Love it!

Pros: easy to light, easy to maintain temperature, cooks beautifully
"We only bought this last week at our local store and we love it! It lights very easily (we use a chimney lighter) and reaches temperature very quickly. It holds the heat very well and the temperature stabilizes nicely to give you ideal conditions for searing, grilling or smoking.
It uses a minimal amount of fuel (lump charcoal), as the whole grill is ceramic, it loses very little heat. You can touch the outer surface even when the internal temperature is above 500 degrees F.
We've eaten the best tasting BBQ'd chicken ever from this grill!
This is an impressive piece of kit of high quality, which is comparable to the Big Green Egg, but at a fraction of the price.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.