Customer Reviews for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum

Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price.   The WindTunnel® Air™ bagless upright features patented Hoover® WindTunnel® technology that removes embedded dirt and minimizes blowback or scatter on carpet. While extremely lightweight at only 12 pounds, this vacuum offers all the power needed to get floors truly clean, and is perfect for small spaces. This vacuum is multi-cyclonic for no loss of suction. The low profile power head with On/Off brush roll can get under beds and lots of household furniture.   Features: Only 5.4 kg (12 lb) –the lightest Hoover® full-size bagless upright available – easy to use with thorough cleaning power with no loss of suction   WindTunnel® Technology – removes embedded dirt and minimizes blowback or scatter on carpet   Quick Fit™ Hose – one-touch releases handle for easy attachment to hose so you can clean hard-to-reach areas   Telescopic D-Grip Handle – easily adjust height of ergonomic handle   Intuitive Power Controls – conveniently positioned where they should be, right at your fingertips   Brushroll Shut-Off – automatically turns off when vacuum is put in upright position   Fabulous Filtration – multi-cyclonic filtration system, rinsable filter and a high-quality filter made with HEPA media HEPA media traps 99.97% of dirt, dust and pollens down to 0.3 microns   Carry Handle – on top of dirt cup so you can easily lift the lightweight vacuum for moving up or down stairs   9.1 m (30 ft.) Power Cord – vacuum a large room without re-plugging   Clear Nozzle with No Scuff Bumper – protects furniture and baseboards from scuffing, and allows you to see Hoover® WindTunnel® technology in action deep recline handle – lets machine recline flat to clean under furniture Included: P.A.W.S.™ Pet Approved WindTunnel® System   Air-Powered Pet Hand Tool – rubber wipers collect hair and powerful suction carries it away, reducing need to clean wipers   Pet Upholstery Tool – rubber wipers pull stubborn pet hair away from upholstery   3-in-1 Combination Tool: 30.5 cm (12 in.) Extension Wand – extends reach of the hose Crevice Tool – helps clean nooks and crannies Upholstery/Dusting Brush – helps get furniture clean   Stair Hose – attaches to the Quick Fit™ hose for 3.7 m (12 ft.) of cleaning reach on stairs without carrying your vacuum Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 30.5 cm x 30.5 cm x 110.5 cm: (12 in. x 12 in. x 43.5 in.)   Weight: 5.4 kg (12 lb.) Warranty: 2 years   Model: UH70400BCA
Average Customer Rating:
3.257 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
8
19 of 35(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC
Date:September 8, 2012

Well it lasted

"Worked great while it lasted, however the clutch is broken after 2 years, can not be fixed - local repair stores can not help due to lack of parts. So after 2 years going in the garbage, would not buy again."
Review 2 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:nova scotia
Date:January 8, 2013

worst purchase ever!

"read the other reviews before buying this thing and i have put them all off because i thought it might have been just a random problem that the vacuum have! but the freaking thing broke after just 5 days that we bought it! and to top it all off, using my daughters toy vaccum is more efficient to use than this!, stay away from this vacuum!!!!!!............."
Review 3 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Date:February 2, 2013

Great for a short time

Pros: powerful suction, no bag
Cons: faulty, breaks after 1 use, needs more or better glue
"We bought this vacuum and love the power (it could probably suck the paint off walls). The price was good and there are great attachments, especially the pet hair added attachment.
But, the first one we bought- the hose came apart (It seemed as if there wasn’t enough glue to hold the hose to the base,) so we thought one faulty one won’t matter. We took it back, every appreciative for the easy returns at Costco, and got a credit and went and got another. So we have been very impressed with the way it cleans then unhappy with the hose separated *4* times now! It’s so annoying as to be ridiculously funny. We keep thinking “Ok, so 2 can’t both be faulty…”, and so on. Well it seems that 4 can have the same fault.
We want to charge Hoover mileage.
It works so well, temporarily, that we even tried to see if we can glue it but the design(?) makes it very difficult and we also thought that Costco might not take it back if they noticed tampering.
The returns people, they know us by name now, have said they have other returns of this vacuum for the same reason.
It’s too bad bc it cleans well but we’ll look for another brand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:February 11, 2013

Cheap Plastic easy to break

"The first time when the connector between the hose and the hand tool broke I thought it was me using it wrong. Went to Costco and exchange to a new one. Same thing again on the first use. My husband checked and said it's the design and the cheap material that cause the brokage. Won't buy it again."
Review 5 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Langford, BC
Date:February 24, 2013

:(

Pros: great suction
Cons: cheaply made
"Was easy to put together and had great suction but it broke after only a couple of uses. The hose came apart/ glue let go. We returned it and got a second one in case it was a lemon but the second one broke too. Too bad because it is very lightweight and the suction was great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerSmall AppliancesMay 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct: You should be able to use the hose on your vacuum without fear of it snapping off. The vendor took the issue directly to their engineers and quality teams, and they’re taking care of it. The vendor will be more than happy to send a replacement part which they've tested , to fix the problem with your Hoover. Please contact the vendor at 1-800-944-9200, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. EST. to resolve the issue. Also, do not hesitate to contact Costco.ca for any questions.
Review 6 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:May 27, 2013

ABSOLUTE GARBAGE

Cons: falls apart
"This vacuum is so poorly manufactured that it comes apart at ever connection. The hose has been loosely glued to its connectors and simply does not hold. The whole thing fell apart after 2 or 3 uses."
Review 7 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON
Date:December 1, 2013

Very flimsy

Pros: suction
Cons: very poor construction - cheap plastic
"Very flimsy product. Has strong suction but the body is not capable to handle the pressure. After using for a couple of months things are falling off. Returning to store."
Review 8 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:February 18, 2014

Very flimsy, messy to empty

Pros: lightweight very strong suction long chord.
Cons: messy to empty no suction control cheap parts.
"This vacuum has great suction, so great that it lifts the carpet (there is no suction control). The handle is flimsy and even after it snaps into place, it pops out unexpectedly. There are more cleaning instructions in the manual than there are user instructions, and there lies the big problem. Cleaning it is clumsy and dirty.
The bottom opening allows the dust to fall into a garbage can (good), but most of the hair gets caught on the top so you have to stick your hand it to loosen it out. This covers your hand with more dust and then gets in your face. After one use the small canister was full. The attachments are awkward to assemble and all the parts feel very cheap. I would not recommend this vacuum..
"
Review 9 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:February 8, 2013

Had the same problem

Pros: powerfull, no bags
Cons: broke at 2 places, have to carry it when using attachments
"I also had the same problem reported by others. The hose did come off from the bottom, BUT you can screw it back in (just like a lightbulb). On the second try another part broke, the small plastic where you spin the cord around fell to the ground,the vacuum did not fall or was it previously. Also I'm 6 feet tall, when using the hose with the attachments you need to carry the vacuum with the other arm why because you need to remove the handle to use the attachments. I'm returning it and now decided to buy a Hoover backpack vacuum, you carry it on your back and just vacuum without pulling or carrying something. Costco can you please sell a backpack vacuum. Thanks!"
Review 10 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill
Date:February 14, 2013

Think twice before you buy this

Pros: price is reasonable, powerful
Cons: heavy, noisy
"I bought this vacuum only a week, like other reviews, I started having the problem of breaking hose. It broke in 2 places, the hose connects to the brush and the hose connects to the wand.
I have returned it and thought that I want to give it a 2nd trial; but, thanks for no thanks after I've read the reviews.
"
Review 11 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:March 24, 2013

Wish it lasted

"Same problem as several other reviewers - the glue on the hose ends fails, and the connectors come off of the hose.
It happened first on the extension hose, then on both ends of the main hose (three out of four hose ends failed on a unit that's only a couple of months old).
Too bad since the vacuum is quite good while it is working."
Review 12 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:edmonton
Date:November 23, 2013

Brush motor went after 6 months

Pros: suction
Cons: cheap construction faulty motor
"This vacuum is very light weight and has powerful suction. Switching to the handheld accessories is very inconvenient with all the unplugging and refitting of hoses. Overall I was still happy with it until the motor on the brush head went for no reason in the middle of vacuuming. Nothing caught, no reason. Turned it off to go up the stairs, turned it back on and motor dead."
Review 13 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:markham on
Date:December 9, 2013

it makes me sad

Pros: suction light weight
Cons: cheap and poor hose handle
"I purchased this vacuum last week and used just one time. Today handle was pulled out from handle adjuster. I tried to insert into vacuum base for a long time but I couldn't. The other problem is smell something burning. I guess it is motor!
suction is good but too much noise.
"
Review 14 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:February 23, 2014

Works well before it breaks!

Pros: lightweight, great cleaning power, easy to empty
Cons: cheaply made, breaks easily
"I have owned two of these vacuums over the past 3 years. The first one died within a few months- the belt broke and the beater brush stopped working. I really liked the design of it, so I got a replacement when I returned it. After a few months of use the replacement unit broke too. This time it was the suction hose that broke off of the main unit when I was using one of the attachments to vacuum my car. I've duct taped it to keep it working for a while longer, as the suction is good and the size is perfect for me. It works well, but my experience tells me that this is not a high quality product- if you buy one, keep your receipt in case in falls apart!"
Review 15 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver
Date:March 23, 2014

brush bar stopped spinning after 2 years

Pros: light and easy to use
Cons: not reliable
"was decent while it worked. light/easy to use.
brushbar just stopped working after 2 years of really light use (twice a month on a 900 sq ft apartment)"
Review 16 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rich Valley, AB
Date:January 16, 2014

Wonderful suction but...

"I have 3800 square feet of hard floor. My Bissel does a good job but doesn't have an electronic floor brush for our large area rugs. It works wonderful on the rugs. So much suction the effort becomes exhausting! The heavy upright ergonomics of this unit makes the hard floor cleaning long and labour inducing. The attachments are awkward as you have to unhook and hook hoses. Using the hard floor brush attached to the accessory hose was ridiculous. I'm thinking of keeping this unit for the sole use of vacuuming our rugs, but I was hoping for a more hard floor- friendly model."
Review 17 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Quebec
Date:January 29, 2014

Good while it lasts

Pros: light
Cons: didn't last long
"It has great suction , it's light and easy to use/clean. But it broke down after 7 months of use. I guess it's cheaply made?"
Review 18 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:bc
Date:May 7, 2012

pleased

Pros: like the see through dirt cup
"definately good suction, easy to manuvere, not sure where the 12lbs comes in, seems heavier than that, fairly quiet, not as easy to get under furniture as the powerhead on built in vac but worth the convience of not dealing with hose or cannister, overall works great"
Review 19 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Frankford, ON
Date:June 24, 2012

Very Good Product

Pros: strong suction, extremely effective cleaning, light weight and easily manoeuvrable
Cons: power broom is not height-adjustable
"Have had this vacuum cleaner for about 2 months and have been very pleased. It is relatively lightweight, and does an excellent job on all but lightweight rugs - which it wants to devour. The suction is the strongest I have experienced in any vacuum. With a cat in the house, and a generally dusty environment (we're in the country), this vacuum extracts dirt that others consistently miss.
The pet attachments work exceptionally well - very pleased.
Only negative comment is that the power broom part of the vacuum is not height-adjustable, and therefore slows down a great deal in deeper-pile carpets, and for some lighter (weight) rugs - like hallway runners - it actually sucks the rug up into the nozzle making it impossible to vacuum properly. For lighter rugs, I use one of the hose attachments, which is slower but functions OK.
The dirt canister is an effective device, but it will trap fine dust particles in the tightest places and I find that I must not only regularly empty it, but every second or third emptying, I also disassemble it and thoroughly clean it so that the filter holes are kept clear and to ensure maximum suction. This is not a negative thing, but rather a routine maintenance act that will improve the performance and likely the lifetime of this machine.
Overall a really effective product at an excellent price.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover® Windtunnel® Air™ Bagless Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:September 5, 2012

Impressive

"-very impressed, small and light machine that is very powerful. It was bought to replace a Kenmore canister vacuum. The upright design is much more convenient to use and the vacuum is very quiet.
Checked pricing and with the extra pet and bare floor attachments, no one in Canada can touch Costco's price.
Quick delivery, 3 business days.
My only concern is that the hoses seem flimsy and won't stand up to the long haul."
1 2 next>>