Customer Reviews for Sojag Preston Winter Covers

Sojag Preston Winter Covers

The Preston winter cover is the perfect accessory to protect your Preston sun shelter during the harsh winter. This accessory is made of durable polyethylene that allows you not only to convert it to instant practical backyard storage for your BBQ and patio furniture, it enables you to increase the life of your sun shelter by protecting the roof panels from the winter elements. Features: Sizes available: 10 ft. x 10 ft., 10 ft. x 12 ft., 10 ft. x 14 ft. 12 ft. x 12 ft. or 12 ft. x 16 ft. Color: Brown Compatible with Preston sun shelter Made of polyethylene 200g/m² Bands at each end to attach to the pole 1 door and 2 windows to allow for proper ventilation Water resistant Warranty: 1 year Model: 135-3147636 / 135-3147377 / 135-3147643 / 135-3147650 / 135-3147667
Average Customer Rating:
2.812 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
10 of 16(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Review 1 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:October 16, 2012

Waste of Money

"I bought this cover, put it up on Saturday. Sunday night was windy and Monday 2 eyelets ripped right out. Biggest waste of money ever."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2012

Gazebo winter cover

"Bought this 2 weeks before Hurricane Sandy winds hit the Montreal area and it survived the extremely strong winds. No rips, no problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2012

DO NOT RECOMMEND

"My cover ripped after 2 days of use. It was windy but I expect a winter cover to last through a bit of wind. Very disappointed in the product"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia
Date:November 7, 2013

How do I install?

Pros: installed easily with 2 people
Cons: no instructions came with the item
"This is our first year for using this cover. No instructions came with the winter cover? What is the best way to secure this so that we can use it for another year?"
Review 5 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Catharines
Date:November 26, 2013

So far so good

Pros: we have a 12x16 and are able to store a lot of, furniture.
"After reading other reviews I padded the corners and sharp edges and as we have a wood deck I screwed the bottom to the deck using wood washers.
We had some severe winds in the past couple of weeks and looks good so far.
"
Review 6 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:November 29, 2012

Good Purchase

"So far so good. It survived snow and wind, good and cheap way to store outside furniture for the winter. Take your time and install it properly, especially at the bottom so the wind does not get to it. I was alone to install this product, being 2 people would be easier."
Review 7 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:March 1, 2013

Not Worth the $$$$

Pros: none
Cons: overall quality
"Installed cover on Saturday - Sunday evening we ran from our house to catch it in the air as it was about to fly away. Every grommet was ripped out and all top corners now have holes. We have duct taped and managed with ours however we are very disappointed in the quality of this product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montréal, QC
Date:October 18, 2013

So far...great!

Pros: fit perfectly with costa verde
"I loved when I'm able to read a review, so this time I decide to leave one as well. First, the picture of this cover is worth then in reality. Second, we bought it for a Costa Verde and I can say that fit perfectly. We just add cement blocks on the side and also we gone add two windsecure....and hopefully, everything it'll just fine. I'll gone do an update during the winter!"
Review 9 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North of Newmarket, Ontario
Date:March 27, 2013

Very good Product

Pros: very strong
Cons: tricky to put on
"Bought this shelter and secured it to our wood deck using rope and eyelets through the grommets. Then the winds from Hurricane Sandy came through and not a rip or pull. The Gazebo is open to the severe westerly winds on our property and everything was intact. In the last windstorm the rope I had anchoring it down broke and the cover blew off. I put it back on and secured with heavier rope. NO rips or tears-Great quality"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bay, Ontario
Date:March 29, 2013

Great Purchase

Pros: excellent price great value
Cons: not enough grommets to anchor, no rope with purchase
"We used our winter cover to shelter our hot tub during the winter. It was very enjoyable during any weather conditions without any issues. No ice build up inside and there was plenty of ventilation with only one window and door being open. Recommend you add extra weight to secure the cover down. We used bricks around the bottom of the cover to help secure it. By taking these simple little extra steps the shelter is a great buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, On
Date:November 18, 2013

Save your money

Cons: weak material
"I'm sad to say this cover lasted us a whole 2 weeks. The first day we put it up, it blew right off, so we screwed it to the deck using the grommets provided. During last night's wind storm, we woke up to find our gazebo only partly covered and the cover ripped apart. We are not impressed with the quality of the cover. It should be strengthened to withstand strong winds. I'm not sure what we'll do at this point. We'll be lucky if the gazebo holds up...but that's another story."
Review 12 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls, Ontario
Date:December 4, 2013

Sojag Preston Winter Covers Excellent

Pros: strong heavy gauge appealing
Cons: no ties - ropes
"Right out of the box, I was impressed by the quality and gauge. Zippers are strong and fits well. I think that others that have reviewed this item and complained about it tearing, must have it in a wide open erea. From my experience almost any tarp will tend to tear under cold heavy winds. I have it in a typical fenced in back yard and so far so good since this fall. I can only suggest that you wrap the sides with a rope to stop the flapping noise assoaciated with tarps in a windy area. It will greatly reduce the chance of any disasters. This is why I gave it a 4 out of 5 as I think similar ties supplied with the purchase is a must."
Review 13 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Windsor, Ontario
Date:September 12, 2013

Do some additional work before using this

Pros: perfect fit
Cons: needs to be reinforced on the bottom and corners
"I used this cover last winter and it ripped just as the person before me said. I took it back to Costco and they refunded me - no questions asked! I purchased another one but this time I am going to reinforce the corners with padding and going to put 2x4's down around the perimeter bottom so I can anchor the cover to the base. I am going to add more gromets to the bottom as there are not enough of them to keep the sides from lifting. I am also going to rope it down across the top so it cannot lift during wind storms. It is really handy for storing all your summer articles (chairs, tables, ornaments etc.) and they stay relatively dry throughout the winter."
Review 14 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON
Date:June 29, 2013

Great Idea--needs some improvement

Pros: might work well in an area with not much wind., is great for storing patio furniture over winter
Cons: corners need reinforcement, tie down system needs improvement
"Like many others, we bought this cover to create an outdoor area to store our patio furniture over the winter. We installed the cover (there were no bands in our package or instructions), put ten 30-lb. sand bags and 11 cement blocks around the base of cover. Within a month the upper corners were tearing from the wind (the air could still get under the cover), and by the third month, the cover had ripped in half and fallen to the ground. We love the idea of the cover, but it needs some reinforcement on the corners where it rubs the metal of the gazebo. It also needs improvements to the tie-down process. We did return the cover to Costco, and as always they were very accommodating and returned our cost. Love Costco!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:April 30, 2013

Good, but Not Ideal

Pros: created a great shed for patio furniture, protected the roof from freezing rain.
Cons: many eyelets broke leaving no easy way to secure, all four corners ripped in wind storms.
"We used this cover (12x16) for this entire winter in Ottawa and I love the idea, but only like the execution.
As others have mentioned the few eyelets for tying the cover down ripped after the first few wind storms. Once those were ripped I tried other ways of securing the cover but they would always fail with the next big storm. By the end of winter all 4 corners were ripped, one corner was ripped half way down the side.
The cover still did a great job of creating a shed for storage of patio furniture, etc. as well as protecting the plastic roof panels from any snow or freezing rain damage so I'm very happy with that part. (This is still the reason I'd recommend the cover, but the two stars reflect the fact that it only lasted one winter.)
I'll try patching it up, and I plan to wrap tape all the way around the sides, like a belt, to secure it for this coming winter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sojag Preston Winter Covers
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lorette, MB
Date:December 6, 2012

Disappointed in Product

Pros: great idea if it worked.
Cons: everything
"I thought that this would be the perfect addition to my Gazebo, a great winter storage space for our outdoor furniture. As we were setting this thing up, I noted a number of pin holes throughout, this should have set the alarm bells off and I should have returned the item immeidately. We proceeded to put it up on Saturday and along came a wind the following Monday and low a behold, a number of grommets were torn out and the lower flaps ripped off. I sewed up the rips and replaced the grommets so that I could still use the cover as winter snow was forecasted over the next couple of days. I contacted the supplier and they indicated that I needed to return the product to Costco and then re-order. I tried to plead my case asking that they replace before I return the product as the whole purpose of purchasing this in the first place was to protect my outdoor furniture. After trading numerous emails they refused. I am stuck with a patched up cover, with tears and rips at every lower seam and where the roof members meet the edges. Also, the add claims that bands come with it to attach to the support legs of the gazebo, my package, no bands and no instructions."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.