Customer Reviews for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike

WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike

The WeeRide™ Co-Pilot is a great way to get children enthusiastic about riding a bike. The Co-Pilot easily attaches onto the seat post of most adult bikes. The universal hitch easily removes for single adult riding. The Co-Pilot helps train children in the concept of riding a bike independently. It is a shared experience with the adult. It enables the child to assist the adult in powering the bike and share the balance. It is held firmly in the upright position and hinges so that cornering is a breeze. The child can use the pedals to push forward but coast when pedals are held stationary or pedaled backwards. Features: Colour: White   Frame: Heavy-duty steel   Wheels: 51 cm (20 in.)   Easy hitch design   High-quality seat   Front splash guard   Quick folding hinge for easy assembly, transportation and storage   Quick connect hinge bracket fits onto the adult seat post   Quick connect hinge stabilizes the Co-Pilot in the upright position   Quick release system for easy detachment   Attachment to most adult bikes   Child can pedal or coast independent from adult   Padded adjustable handlebars   Holds up to a 34 kg (75 lb.) rider   Recommended for ages 4 to 9   Safety flag included   Minor assembly required   Always wear a helmet Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 157 cm x 56 cm x 97 cm; (62 in. x 22 in. x 38 in.)   Weight: 10.9 kg (24 lb.) Warranty: Frame: For as long as the original purchaser owns the product   Parts: 90 days For more information about this product, call the Stoneridge Cycle Customer Service Centre at 1-888-220-5604 ext. 110 or email service@stoneridgecycle.com . Standard business hours are Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Eastern Standard Time. Model : 96455
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Review 1 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:April 23, 2014
Pros: great for kids not ready to lose training wheels
Cons: probably only usable for 1-2 years
"We bought this for our 4 (almost 5) year old daughter. It was easy to assemble and is easy to attach/remove from my bike. My daughter is about 43" tall. She is able to complete a full petal rotation if the seat is at its lowest and she points her toes. In my opinion, 41-42" is probably the minimum height requirement. My daughter is also quite light, about 38 pounds, however, if she starts wiggling too much or turns to look behind her, it really affects my balance. I am by no means an advanced cyclist, but I am quite confident on my own. We have had the co-pilot for 2 weeks and have almost had 3 or 4 spills. That being said, we thoroughly love this product. It allows us to go for family bike rides without waiting for those little 12" training bike wheels to catch up! My daughter is great about pedalling along and I think feeling the bike lean as we take corners and come to a stop will help her develop a feel for balancing on a bike when its time to take off the training wheels on her own bike. I agree with other posts that indicated that larger children might make it harder to balance, especially compare to the adults body weight. I am 120 and can't balance with my 50 pound son, but my husband, 190, can. I do believe that within 1-2 years my daughter will have outgrown the need for the co-pilot, and by this time she might be to big for me to haul anyway."
Review 2 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:January 21, 2014

Very happy with this product

Pros: price, kid loves it, adjustable
Cons: a little heavy, pretty basic compared to pricier models
"I bought this product last winter and enjoyed a full season of riding with it in 2013 with my 4-year old. As has been noted elsewhere, it is a bit heavy, but for "weekend warrior" types like me, this is not an issue. My child is able to pedal and take a break when needed, and it's easy to remove when I've wanted to go for a ride on my own. The price is right and it's worked really well."
Review 3 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Catharines
Date:October 14, 2013

Beginner starting point

Pros: built sturdy, folds up compact
Cons: a little heavy
"I purchased this unit in hopes that my 7 year old would learn to balance without the need for training wheels. He finds it easy to pedal but the effectiveness will be when he goes back to the single bike with no trainers. The unit is well build, folds up compact, a little heavy but it guarantees he is following me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:October 8, 2012

Trailer Bike

Pros: easy to assemble, affordable
Cons: heavy
"This is a very good ride along bike for the price. It took my 4 yr. and me about 1/2 an hour to assemble.
If you want something lighter then it will probably cost you nearly double.
"
Review 5 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener/Waterloo, ON
Date:August 25, 2012

Great for biking with Children

Pros: you can bike longer distances with little ones, no stopping to wait for their little 14" tire to, catch up, sturdy
Cons: as child gets heavier it becomes more difficult to, balance
"We borrowed a wee ride from a friend and have since bought our own, it is fabulous. My 6 year old loves helping propell the bike but when she gets tired she can rest. I also have the front mount seat and so in PEI I had the 2 kids (1 behind, 1 infront) and it was so much easier than pulling a trailer. I did try using it with an older child and found it was a bit more unsteady when they shifted their weight (once they get to be more than 1/2 your weight I would say). Otherwise it was fantastic!"
Review 6 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, Ab
Date:August 18, 2012

Love it

Pros: price easy to use
"We LOVE our WeeRide co-pilot. Our 3 year old daughter can finally come for bike rides! It's super easy to hook on and take off, takes only a few seconds. I am not sure it would be appropriate for kids over 7 or 8 though. Our 7 year old is too big for it and would prefer to ride her own bike anyway.
It is really nice to be able to go for longer bike rides and not have tired kids!"
Review 7 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB.
Date:June 23, 2012

I hate to disagree...

"I'm at a loss to see how this bike got 5 star reviews. Very poor quality, cheaply made, heavy. The parts are flimsy and poorly manufactured. The seat post adapter was crossed threaded at the factory and unusable. We returned it and paid more for an Adams Trail-a-bike."
Review 8 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:May 8, 2012

Perfect

Pros: easy assembly
Cons: the mud guard makes noise - remove it
"Assembly took virtually no time, most of the bike was just folded up. My 5 year old boy was afraid to get on it until my 3 year old girl climbed on.
I use it for my 3 year old girl so the whole family can ride. She can barely touch the pedals (it's ideally made for a 4-5 year old) but she hangs on tight and loves the ride.
I would recommend this bike to a friend and am sure I will make at least half my money back when I sell it a few years from now. I saw the same product on another website for twice as much money."
Review 9 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Okotoks, AB
Date:May 4, 2012

Shouldve bought it earlier!

"Best purchase ever made! My 5 yr old is begging for us to take her out where before she was scared/nervous of bikes. The faster we go, the happier she is! This has definitely changed her attitude towards biking!
One thing to note is that due to the large wheel, my daughter can reach the pedals and pedal around, but she can not touch the ground when we stop. I don't think this can be prevented though as the wheel/frame has to be large enough to hook up on the adults bike. The booklet advises to have the parent straddling the bike before the child mounts/dismounts the bike which makes it stable for hopping off.
Difficult to find extra attachments to switch the copilot between bikes although the manufacturer sells them and will ship
"
Review 10 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niagra Peninsula. ON
Date:April 29, 2012
Pros: very good quality and what a great idea
Cons: none
"I bought this product for my son and his four year old daughter.
My son loves to cycle and so does Taylor his daughter.
They now are able to go for long bike rides and Taylor loves to peddle when Daddy says we are going up a hill, pedddle, peddle, she glows thinking how she helpt him.
It is the beste product ever when you love cycling and likes to share it with your children.
It is very sturdy built, and my son and I would highly recommend this.
"
Review 11 for WeeRide™ Co-Pilot Trailer Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Airdrie, AB
Date:April 23, 2012

Wonderful!

Pros: well built, easy to assemble
Cons: a bit too big for a 4 year old
"Love this bike. We can finally go on a family bike ride without having to stop every 10 meters to wait for my 4 year old to catch up and she loves to ride it! If something happened to this one I would buy another in an instant :)
Only drawback is the bike is a bit too big for my 4 year old. Her feet can rest on the pedals, but her legs are not long enough to actually pedal the bike."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.