Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner

Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
27 of 29(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tiny, ON
Date:January 20, 2012

Roomba 572 Pet Series Robot Vacuum is the best!

Pros: gets in all the nooks and crannies..., effortless housework!
Cons: you have to take it apart regularly to clean.
"This is my 3rd iRobot. I've used them for years. I have 3 dogs - 2 of which have a horrendous shedding program! I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone - and I have! My best friend loves hers and never fails to remind me of the fact - that she couldn't do without it. I got one because I hate vacuuming. Anything to make housework easier I say! It gets in places that you would never imagine....the brushes even get in that tiny space between the bottom of your baseboard and the start of the hardwood floor. Talk about thorough! When I empty it (every day) I cannot believe the hair and dander that spills out. It is quite revolting and a huge eye-opener. You just have to remember to take the bottom plate off and pull out the front wheel to clean out the hair that collects under it, and also take out the brush housing and clean underneath that too. Dust and carpet fibers like to collect in there. All in all a wonderful product that I would never be without....ever!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:British Columbia
Date:January 31, 2012

So impressed

"This was such a great purchase and I can't imagine being without Roomba. I have a Golden Retriever and the hair in the house was sickening, so I decided to give Roomba a try. I am shocked with the amount of hair that it picks up, but more than that it picks up a ton of dirt and crumbs. I still pull out my regular vacuum once in a while but my house feels clean all the time.
I have Roomba set to clean everyday while we are at work. The first several days were a learning curve, as there were several items I have to remove from the floor each morning (dog toys and socks jam the machine) and it locked itself in the bathroom once.
Especially with a shedding dog I have to clean Roomba everyday, or the hair plugs up the machine and it will stop. Roomba is definitely made for ease of cleaning; all the brushes pop out very easily and even the wheel comes apart easily.
I highly recommend this to anyone. Although you do need to clean it everyday, it only takes five minutes or less... definitely worth having a clean house.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richardson, Sask.
Date:March 12, 2012

Lots of good points, only 1 bad one????

Cons: will not do any of our carpets!
"My girlfriend bought a Roomba at another store, a similar model (560). She has a dog too, and loves hers. So I bought one. Mine will NOT do carpets, so I sent the first one back, thinking obviously there is something wrong with a setting somewhere. I ordered a second one, SAME THING! She brought hers over, to see if it is just my carpet, but NO, hers hopped up on the carpet and did them all, several differant lengths of pile. Mine treats the carpets as an edge if it does go on them, and just spins in circles, by mostly just avoids them all together, like it was bumping a wall. So I am confused that my vacumm does not "Vacumm carpets", but decided to keep it because what it does do, it does well, and even if I have to do the carpets, it still cuts my job in half. If you have a dog or cat, you know you have the little blobs of hair that float around the walls and end up behind doors etc. Well my Roomba takes care of that, and I love that it keeps all the dust bunnies out from under our bed as well."
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:parksville bc
Date:April 14, 2012

roomba - neato comparison

Pros: quieter than the neato, 1/2" shorter than the neato
Cons: needs brush cleaning every use, sometime doesnt find charge station
"house size: 3700 sq.ft - floor type: mostly travertine tile - pets: black lab and a cat
roomba is 4" tall - neato is 4.5" tall
Roomba will clean 1 or 2 carpeted rooms then need recharging.
Neato will clean 2 or 3 before recharging.
Both go a long time on the tile floor.
Roomba goes around thick pile shaggy rugs because it cant get up on them.
Neato struggles but gets up on them and cleans.
Roombas spinning side brush gets the pet hair in the corners just a little better than the neato
Both vacuums are too loud to have bouncing around while trying to have a conversation but the roomba is the quietest.
Roomba has a couple infrared room barriers so you can have it clean one area efficiently instead of just randomly going until it dies.
Roomba moves faster but it takes twice as long to clean a room because it needs to randomly hit every part 2 or 3 times to clean it good enough.
After a year, one side of the brush rollers teflon bearing ovalled out a bit... it still worked great and may have for many more years, but we took it back because it shouldn't be showing signs of wear that quick... if they havent already, the roomba company should put a real metal bearing there.
The neato vacuum is only a week old now so wear and tear is not a fair comparison... it could wear out too... we'll see.
The neato is loud but more efficient and "most of the time" knows where stuff is before hitting it.
The roomba bumps into things to find out its there.
Both are good about not falling off the top of stairs... we even used the roomba to clean the kids trampouline and in the dark crawl space... we just let it bump around there for a dozen cycles... saved my back. It was actually worth buying just for the one use of cleaning up the crawl space.
Although they are called vacuums, they are both really just sweepers... deep cleaning is the job for a full sized vacuum.
I had a cleaning routine though thats not mentioned in any books and you must do it after "every use".
1- dump and shake the bin out.
2- flip out the lower roller holder and remove both rollers.
3- remove the yellow plastic rings and the little white end bearings on the brush.
4- most importantly, take a toothpick and get out any hair jammed under the white bearings and pick out the other easy to access hair here and there.
5- use the round red supplied cleaner on the brush roller and reassemble.
6- check the little black and white ball roller to be sure it spins nice... if not then just pull it out and do the toothpick thing to it as well.
This sound like a pain but you get good at it... total time for cleaning is less than 2 minutes... if it was a race i could do it in 45 seconds :)
The roomba is great... I recommend it!
... BUT so far i like the neato better because its brush doesnt require any cleaning and its smarter.
It is louder though "but only because its more powerful"... if thats a big concern then get the roomba.
I love both of them they are both called "my little buddy"
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lighthouse Cove, ON
Date:June 11, 2012

The cats and I love it

Pros: deals with uneven surfaces well eg tile to carpet
Cons: leaves thin line of "remaindirt" at carpet edges, bit noisy & eats some cat toys like pipecleaners
"I am enjoying this purchase almost as much as the fur machine (euphemistically called a cat- which we inherited from our daughter) is enjoying it. The Roomba does a decent job of vacuuming up most of the cat hair generated by the aforementioned long haired cat as well as our own Calico. A previous reviewer gave an excellent description of the routine needed to clean the Roomba after each session with all the pet hair. This only takes minutes, however, and it is fascinating to see how much is picked up (even right after the housecleaners have been), so I don't mind cleaning it. Comes with lots of attachments and is very competitively priced (I shopped around online). As a bonus, it endlessly entertains the cat. I have also a very creative (read messy) husband as chef in the kitchen and this little machine has done much for marital harmony given I'm usually the one on KP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:August 8, 2012

A big timesaver

"My hubby and I bought this Roomba approx. two weeks ago and it has already made a huge impact at home!
We have a dog that sheds profusely, dark hardwood floors and a toddler. I could literally sweep or vacuum every night and our floors would still drive me crazy. They show everything!
We have our Roomba 572 set to run M/W/F and wow, what a huge difference! We have area rugs, hardwood floors and ceramic tile and it cleans all three with no problems.
Having the Roomba set for 3x/week saves me almost 3 hrs/week.
We do have to clean out the tray each time as it's quite full (did I mention our dog sheds profusely?) but I will gladly do this if it keeps our Roomba working long into the future.
It's not as loud as I thought it might be which is great.
I am so glad we invested in this vacuum and would recommend it to anyone. (In fact two of my family members are going to get one too!)"
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kingston, NB
Date:November 14, 2011

I love my roomba

Pros: transitions between hardwood and carpet
"Seriously, the easiest way to keep up with dust and hair. I put it on every day before i leave for work and it does a room or two. Best roomba I have owned yet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc.
Date:January 26, 2012
"I bought my Roomba at Costco after reviewing the prices at other stores, waiting for a sale but these do not seem to go on sale. I do not own a pet but figured that if it can handle pet hair, why not go for the extra power that it must have. I have owned it now for 2 weeks and I love it. I leave it in a room for about half an hour, go back and the hardwood floors are shining. It is amazing under the beds. I indulged and am very glad that I did!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC
Date:May 2, 2012

I would recommend this product

"I bought this vacuum because we have a dog and two cats and I was tired of seeing my wife vacuum. This is the best purchase I have ever made.
once the vacuum was done on the first floor, I emptied it and I suprised to see all that was picked up. I am sure that other vacuum does not do a better job and this one does all the work by itself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:March 16, 2012

Roomba My Sanity!!

Pros: easy to take apart to clean, coming home to a clean home, easy scheduling and ease of use
Cons: for what you pay nothing!
"Like most of the reviews below - I have dogs! 1 Husky, 2 Rotties, 1 Amstaff and a tiny Frenchie.
My cleaning before Roomba - was non existent almost - why vacuum when in a day - there will be fluff balls everywhere?
My brother who is dogless spoke highly of his Roomba - and he is a clean freak - so I finally decided after 2 years that I would try it out - especially since this one says "pet series".
After reading all the great reviews - I thought - how can I go wrong?
Shipping was quick once again - typical awesome Costco service and I got my Roomba within the week. I opened it immediately and we used it upstairs - about 900 sq.ft. of hardwood.
After the quick learning curve to use it - we had to have the Roomba clean the upstairs 4 times to get it all clean!
So after having the Roomba for a week - all I do is press the button as I leave for work and I come back home and the upstairs is all clean!
One day it ran over a charger wire and stopped - but other than that, if you keep it's area clean of wires and clutter - it will clean your rooms (3 rooms) perfectly!
I also schedule the cleanings which is easy to do as well. I would recommend doing it when you aren't around as it does ram into the walls, doors and drive you a little crazy. Plus it is always a surprise to come home too. If not, you sit there somehow starting to talk to the Roomba and asking it why it misses this spot, that spot yada yada.. but no worries, it will eventually get there.
Only complain I have is of course the small container for the dog hair I have. I need to empty it daily - but I think that is fine!! It picked up so much of my hair from who knows where - so I had to clean the brushes after the 3rd day and it was so easy to take the pieces apart to clean!
Once we finish renovations, we are excited to buy one for the main floor too! Now all I have to do is do a clean with my vacuum every other week and we are set! I think the Roomba is sooo worth it having our home clean, dog hair all gone etc. Being we have hardwood throughout our home - this review is based on that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:March 27, 2012

Broke after 2 months

"If I had reviewed the roomba after 2 weeks or a month I would have given it at least 4 stars, it was great for keeping the mess from my dog and cat under control in between weekly regular vacuuming. However, last week after running it every second day for two months my roomba broke. It had become increasingly loud when running, making a distinct thumping noise as the brushes turned and needed to be "rescued" frequently as it became stuck in areas that it had previously navigated no problem . I would often return home to find my roomba had stopped working and barely covered any area at all. I finally gave up on it after it repeatedly stopped due to "error: clean roomba's brushes" even though I cleaned the brushes several times and finally replaced all the brushes and filters, only to have this error continue.
All this despite cleaning the roomba according to the instructions after every use and minimizing obstacles before starting the roomba. Very frustrating considering the price!
After sharing this story with a coworker who also has the same model and a small condo with no pets, he told me he exchanged his roomba after about 6 months of use for the same reasons.
Needless to say, I returned my roomba to costco this week. The customer service was great, and they refunded me with no questions asked!
"
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan
Date:March 29, 2012

AM IN LOVE!

"I am so in love with my Roomba that I catch myself daydreaming about it. Only thing better would be two roombas. One for upstairs and one for down. I have hardwood floor, linoleum and grouted tiles. Cleans everything perfectly! I also notice my floors are not dirty at all when washing them because all the dust and debri is gone . I run it twice a week while I am gone. Clean the canister each time and make sure the filter is clean and reattached properly. Sometimes the roomba pushes the bathroom door closed and dies in there until I rescue it. I have had no problems at all. I love it and think everyone should have one!"
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Windsor, NS
Date:November 9, 2011

can't wait to get it!!

Pros: help keeping up with the pet hair and dust:)
Cons: haven't actually tried it yet;)
"After reading multiple reviews and perusing several sites, We decided that costco has the best deal for the highest level roomba. I was especially interested in the pet series as most of the people I have talked to and the reviews I have read mention about the inability to keep up with shedding animals. But I have a friend who recommended the pet series as it is designed for shedding pets, and since we have 2 Weimaraners, we definately needed the extra capacity... can't wait to get it, just ordered today. Will keep you all updated :)"
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Lawrencetown, NS
Date:January 22, 2012

EXCELLENT!

Pros: saves me time.
Cons: the dock needs stabilizing.
"The Roomba 572 is excellent, my husband bought it for me after I was complaining about all of my time being spent on cleaning the house. This vacuum is the answer, it works with me, it is such a thrill to hear "her" going in another room while I am doing something more important. The virtual wall feature makes a big difference, when I want to confine it to the kitchen for instance, since I have an open concept. I can't believe how much dirt and fluff it picks up, the few carpets I have, are brighter and cleaner than with my regular built in vacuum. I am very pleased with this machine."
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:March 18, 2012

Scratched my floors !!!

"I was very happy with it until I discovered that it scratched my floors badly. I used it 5 times,after which I cleaned it as the hair got in the little wheel and obstruct it.
Next time I used the roomba , I discovered many scratches , straight ones and circulars.
I cannot figure out how this happened but most likely a small stone got stuck in the wheel.
Other than that I had no complains but I cannot afford to totally destroy my floors ...
With a big dog in the house I had no floor scratches until the Roomba.
"
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:December 28, 2011

So worth the price

"I just purchased this online and have ran it 4x manually (I haven't set the schedule up yet and the remote to help manuevor it is useful). Picks up cat hair and cat litter with ease and does a great job over hard wood and carpet. Does a far better sweeping job than me and no effort on my part. No noiser/less noiser than a regular vaccuum and very easy to clean/maintain after each use. Isn't the largest dust holder so you may fill up quickly the first time anyway."
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2012

Couldnt live without it!

"I love this thing! I use it once a day, sometimes more or should I say I turn it on....it takes itself back to the docking station when it starts to run low which is in about an hour. The bin is always full, even after vacuuming with a normal vac....this thing just gets all the dust bunnies and stray hairs. With 2 dogs and 2 cats there used to always be hair.
This vacuum has made my life so much easier and the house cleaner. Love it!
"
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012

Love it!!

Pros: does as advertised
Cons: little bit noisy quiter then a conventional vac
"Gave it 2 months of ownership before doing a review.
With ten to 15 min of maintenance you have a vacuumed house every day of the week!! amazing, effortless, works exactly like its advertised!!
Hint - use the cleaning tools it gives you, works great!!
Truthfully we have a Dyson my wife uses once a week and is great, but this thing picks up whats left over and built up during the week - we are dirtier then we thought"
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:April 5, 2012

Great Unit

Pros: easy to set-up and program
"Had the unit for a few weeks, works great, try to minimize hidden spots to allow access to iRobot. Great for keeping the pet hair visibility down between weekly major cleanings. Need to purchase a couple more light houses to restrict unit to rooms for better cleaning performance. Must remember to clean after each use as per instructions."
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 572 Pet Series Robotic Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:January 1, 2012

Amazing!

"This is one of the best things I have ever bought for myself. I love it!! It's amazing how much dirt & cat hair (3 indoor cats) this little vacuum picks up and when its all done, it takes itself back to its' docking station. It's also very quiet and automatically knows to stay away from stairs. Can't think of anything I don't like about it."
1 2 next>>