Customer Reviews for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack

Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack

This rack can be installed using wall studs or can be hung off a Proslat 1.2-m (4-ft.) or 2.4-m (8-ft.) wall panel kit (items 271311 and 271285). Please call Proslat at 1 888 691-2944 to order a free wall panel bracket to mount this rack on your Proslat wall panel. The Proslat tire storage rack is well engineered solution to help organize your extra tires and rims. This convenient and safe storage wall-mount tire rack is constructed with heavy-duty steel and has been load tested to handle weights up to 136.1 kg (300 lb.) Features:   Holds up to 4 standard tires   136.1-kg (300-lb.) rack capacity   Heavy-duty steel construction   Corrosion-resistant baked paint with hammered finish   Maximize space in your garage, basement or shed   Some assembly required   Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 127 cm x 15.2 cm x 8.9 cm (50 in. x 6 in. x 3.5 in.)   Weight: 9.5 kg (21 lb.)   Warranty:   5-year limited Model: 10026
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Review 1 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chestermere, AB
Date:October 16, 2014

Great Quality Product

"As other people have mentioned, this product does not come with the Proslat wall bracket, it only comes with the direct mount bracket (and I needed the Proslat Bracket for my garage). However, this is intentionally done by Proslat and is not an oversight. I received my tire rack, noticed that the bracket I needed was missing so I called Proslat (the phone number is on the front of the instruction sheet). The guy I spoke to was extremely nice and explained they are trying to save on metal and do not include the Proslat bracket anymore for Costco, they only include the direct mount bracket. He said he would ship one immediately. He explained that they are trying to get Costco to include an option to choose the correct bracket on the website so this does not continue to happen. For me this was no big deal, just an extra couple day delay.
Other than this minor issue, this is an extremely nice rack for the price. I am about to order a second one."
Review 2 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC
Date:October 3, 2014

Great Product

"Easily fit 4 tires. Needs 2 people for installation."
Review 3 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:September 14, 2014

Misleading Advertising

Pros: excellent product. strong and well built., good price
Cons: bad customer services from proslat
"Note that this "Proslat" tire rack is not for the Proslat wall panels. The description that Costco has used is incorrect. This unit can ONLY be installed on wall studs, as the piece that would be used for the Proslat panel kit does NOT come in the box.
Costco may have an old batch of these tire racks, since Proslat no longer sells wall units separate from Proslat units."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:September 3, 2014

Very sturdy, works brilliantly with Proslat panels

Pros: very sturdy, works really well with proslat wall panels, cheapest in costco plus the usual costco service
Cons: could do with better instructions
"On a whim I tried the Proslat wall panels and was impressed so much that I covered the entire insides of a 22x26 garage. The rack itself is well made and quite easy to put together, which makes up a little for the rather basic instructions. It is quite heavy and holds up its intended load very well. It has 4 SUV tyres on Proslat wall panels (it also comes with all the hardware to install onto studs directly). I would definitely recommend this product especially if you have the Proslat panels, which I cannot recommend enough!! I will be getting one more to hold the car's spare tyres."
Review 5 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, On
Date:July 25, 2014

Good Product

"Assembly was straightforward - easier with two people. Second one went a lot faster than the first. Product seems extremely sturdy. Each of our two packages was missing the Proslat piece - since we were hanging it on the studs and not a Proslat system it wasn't an issue but it would have been for someone using the Proslat wall."
Review 6 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:June 26, 2014

Great Value

Pros: easy assembly., nice appearance., very low maintenance., inexpensive.
"I read the reviews and was a little hesitant - but am glad I went ahead and bought it. The instructions were fine - no worse than any other "some assembly required" product (ie. BBQ; shelving racks; office furniture;, etc....) - and believe me, I am NOT a handyman at all!!
It is a great addition to my garage, and a fantastic space saver. Very strong and nice powder coat finish.
"
Review 7 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Prince George, BC
Date:February 5, 2014

Good value for the money

Pros: good value for the money glad it was on sale.
Cons: instructions are useless for this item!
"Just put the rack together, mounted it and put the tires on it. It is a good buy for what you pay for it. However the instructions must of been copied 10,000 times as they where mainly just a black blob! So if you are not a very good DYI'er or mechanically inclined, this product isn't for you."
Review 8 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:January 19, 2014

Good Product - Horrible Instructions

Pros: good quality
Cons: poor instructions
"The product is of overall good quality. However a lot can be said about the way the instructions ruin the experience. I disagree with some of the comments as all parts fit together perfectly, however you do have to figure it out yourself as the instructions are more or less non existent"
Review 9 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vernon, BC
Date:October 16, 2013

Great Product

Pros: strong, looks great
Cons: shorted 1 screw
"Great product if you have the Proslat wall system. Very strong and looks great. Only negative is we were shorted 1 screw and instead given one with a rounded head that was impossible to tighten. Made it work, but it would have been nice to have all the right pieces."
Review 10 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, AB
Date:May 30, 2013

Good quality racks

Pros: good quality nice coating
Cons: brual instructions!!
"Racks are good quality, nice finish on them, great price on sale. Brutal instructions! If you don't have Proslat mounting rails installed you are going to throw out a nice piece of steel bracing for an ugly mounting brace."
Review 11 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:December 22, 2012

Sturdy and solid

Pros: strong!, heavy duty
Cons: directions, weight
"Went together well. Directions were a little vague in places, but together with the picture I was able to figure it out. The final product is sturdy and strong, and I have no doubts that it could handle the 300plus lbs weight rating. I mounted to the wall without the proslat panels, so I had to drill some additional holes in the rack to mount it to the studs in my garage. The provided lag bolts were good, but I ended up using construction screws so I didn't have to pre-drill the holes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:December 15, 2012

Great Purchase at a Great Price

Pros: well made; well finished
"Instruction diagram needs some work--avoid problems--lay it out in advance to ensure brackets are placed correctly before securing. Remember, if NOT using Proslat wall system to hang, piece #8 is NOT needed. Once laid out CORRECTLY, easily bolts together."
Review 13 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina, Sk
Date:October 23, 2012

Look for other options

"I intended to mount on wall and not with ProSlat system, just for reference as it changes what wall mounting bracket you will use (#7). Instructions are vague even though there are only 10 bolts and just a few pieces. The schematic included shows no detail and has been copied too many times and both are hard to read and follow.Tabs on support brackets(#3) were bent wrong. Would not fit over bottom support brackets (#1 and2) without bending. Also as mentioned by someone else the angle support brackets(#6) not fabricated correctly. There are 8 physical ways to mount the two brackets. In my case none of the 8 ways work. Either modify the brackets by removing material which weakens the design or take it back to Costco. Also did not include 4 wood screws (#11) as it indicates. My bag was sealed and had not been opened before so it wasn't like it had been returned once. Also discrepancy about weight this can handle. On the box under the picture ProSlat clearly indicates that the rack is rated for 350 pounds. However in the warranty included in the package indicates nothing over 300lbs. No big deal for me but this may indicate that the weight discrepancy from Proslat combined with all the issues I had with the tire rack kit reflects on their overall offer to a consumer."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Annan, On
Date:August 11, 2012

Great Product

Pros: lots of room for even those oversize tires, easy to assemble
Cons: you need extra ceiling height, may require two people to get it mounted
"I checked out other available options before deciding on the Proslat and found it to be the best one available for the price when you take shipping into consideration. We have two sets of tires and they were always taking up valuable room on the floor, not to mention always being in the way, this gets the tires off the floor and neatly stored untill the nest season."
Review 15 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Date:May 23, 2012

Great buy but a few glitches...

Pros: does the job without being an eyesore!
Cons: poor directions and diagram. :(
"The instructions could have been clearer as we had to reverse how the side support arms were attached because it was impossible to put them on the way the diagram showed. Also, labeling the parts would have saved a lot of time for assembly. It would be great if you could adjust the width to make it smaller to accomodate 4 regular tires without rims or expand it to accept 8 tires without rims. As it is we have 6 of our 8 minivan winter tires on one rack and had to return the 2nd rack we'd ordered unopened as the studs in our garage weren't compatible with putting the 2nd rack up. This is not something we could check until we'd ordered and opened the unit. Not using the Pro Slat system we are stuck with the Pro Slat part that we didn't use which is quite heavy. All in all an excellent product and the price is definitely right but the instructions were definitely a pain thus the 4 out of 5 stars. So glad that Costco got it back in stock as I'd been wanting to order the racks since December 2011and when we were finally ready to order mid April of 2012, Costco was out of stock. I kept checking and thankfully they were back in stock by May 7th. Lesson learned. Order right away! LOL!"
Review 16 for Proslat 121.9-cm (48-in.) Wall-mount Tire Storage Rack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:I live in Airdrie Alberta
Date:March 16, 2012

Quality exceeded my expectations

Pros: quality and finish, price, delivery service
"I received my Proslat wall mount tire rack and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rack. All components are steel and coated with enamel. I'd certainly not hesitate to recommend this rack to anyone looking to get their seasonal tires off the garage floor. ."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.