Customer Reviews for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter

Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter

Use a power calculator to determine the right size of inverter generator for your needs. Powerhouse® inverter generator combines quality, performance and great features for an unbeatable value. A remote start gives you the convenience of starting your generator from up to 22.8 m (75 ft.). Powerhouse®’s inverter technology takes the raw power produced by the generator and converts it into clean power, safe enough for all your sensitive electronics. An added benefit is the ability of these generators to produce 120 V 60 Hz current at various engine speeds. This saves fuel at slower speeds and low load conditions but with the power for full speed and output when needed. Quiet and portable, the PH2100PRi is an excellent choice for the RV or cottage owner.The lightweight generator can even be put in parallel by attaching a cable (Costco item # 292663) to another unit for increased power. Features: Peak watts: 2100   Run watts: 2000   Remote electric start to 22.8 m (75 ft.), key start, or recoil start   Can be paralleled with any Powerhouse® parallel-ready generators   4.35 HP, 125 cc OCV 4-stroke gasoline engine   Gas tank capacity: 4.9 L (1.3 gal.)   Run time: 7.5 hours at 25% load   One A5-20R 20 A duplex outlet   12 V external charging system   Single-phase inverter supplies clean power for sensitive electronics   Noise level at 7 m (23 ft.): 65 dB at full load   Overload reset switch   Low-oil emergency shut-off   Fuel primer bulb   Automatic choke   External and internal breaker protection   Built-in textured handle incorporated into fully enclosed casing   EPA, CARB, and CSA compliant   Included Accessories: Oil jug   12 V charge cable   Spare spark plug   Spark plug wrench and handle   Manual   Keys and remote   Oil drain extension   Spare 10 A glass tube fuse   Battery Battery Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 55.9 cm x 27.9 cm x 48.3 cm (22 in. x 11 in. x 19 in.)   Weight: 33.1 kg (73 lb.)   Warranty: 2 years for residential use   1 year for commercial use For more information about this product, call the Powerhouse Customer Service Centre at 1-877-544-4449. Model: 69271
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
11 of 14(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Review 1 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC
Date:February 7, 2014

Excellent Generator

Pros: remote start is genius, fairly quiet, runs my rv air conditioner
Cons: could offer an optional cart to move it
"Bought this after reading reviews on generators until I was blue in the face. Love the Hondas but theyre just too much $$ so I thought i'd give this one a try, especially given Costco's easy return policy.
The box arrived in two days and I opened it like a kid at Christmas. Charged the battery as per instructions and added oil and fuel. Took it outside (primed it with the bulb) and it fired right up with the remote. In eco mode its fairly quiet. As others have mentioned its not quite as quiet as the Honda but WAY quieter than other regular generators. I bought this for our RV, and although it is stated that this won't run the air conditioner, it runs mine with no problems (NOT in eco mode). I have a new 18 foot travel trailer with the coleman Mach air conditioner, which ive heard is very efficient. FYI I tried the Honda Eu2000 with it and it also ran my AC. When we're camping I just leave it in remote mode the whole time and when I get up in the morning I just click the remote and proceed to make my coffee and toast and microwave my wife's Chai Latte. If it's chilly we run our small space heater with it as well. For the money, nothing else touches this generator. It's too bad some others have had bad luck with them being banged up on arrival but I wouldn't hesitate to buy this brand again.
"
Review 2 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:GVRD BC
Date:January 25, 2014

bad surgeing and misfireing at idle

Pros: nice package plenty of power
Cons: engine misfires and surges badly, remote does not work
"box look great Genset look very good . filled with oil and fresh fuel started pretty easy . Even after warm it misfires and surges constantly horrible to listen to with a light load,when it has a heavier load it works well sometimes the engine revs up even though the load is contant at 1000w but at other higher load (1500w) rpm is pretty stable .. one key fob remote does not work and the other only works from short range. I need to take it to a warranty center to get it looked at but don't know where one is? .I do not want to return for refund and then have to order another one."
Review 3 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL
Date:January 18, 2014

Great generator. Very happy.

Pros: easy use electric start looks great. portable!
Cons: lighter would make it even better.
"We've been experiencing rolling blackouts lately and I needed a generator that could run a space heater for when it goes out. Read the manual on the Powerhouse website before it arrived so I was ready. Took it out today, added oil, filled with gas, connected the battery and it fired up first turn of the key. Connected a 1500 watt heater and ran it for two hours. No issues at all. The economy mode works well. Time will tell how it stands up over more use but I'm very satisfied for now. The comparable Honda is $1400 and that's outside the budget."
Review 4 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:December 7, 2013

At 0 C it's not man's best friend!!!

Pros: remote start., handles 10 amp circulat saw easily.
Cons: won't start in cold temperature. 0 degrees c, a dissapointment it's not all weather dependable.
"After reading the manual I thought I had the perfect generator. Out of the box, added winter oil at $12,00 per liter, premium fuel and connected battery and it would not start. Found the auto-choke stuck in the closed position. Machine refused to start at approx. 0 C. Great summer machine but not for late season hunters. Returned to the store."
Review 5 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Torbay, NL
Date:September 17, 2013

Returned for Refund :-(

Pros: quiet, great price
Cons: many - see review..., did not operate well
"Nice product on paper but did not operate well. Remote starter was only good for 10'-15' range. Battery drained quickly when the remote starter switch was on, and battery was completely dead and would not charge after a couple of uses (not to mention that the product did not have the ability to self charge its battery?!). On several occasions the unit completely shut off with mid load (ie:~1000W). Once the unit stopped providing output but stayed running. After shutting down for an hour or so it operated normal again. I'm probably being a little generous with 2 stars :-/"
Review 6 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elliot Lake, On
Date:August 27, 2013

Good generator

Pros: remote control starter
Cons: occasionally runs rough on economy mode
"Recently purchased this generator online and it was delivered in a record time of 2 days, incredible.
Used it one weekend with my RV, and it started on the first pull . Remote and electric start also worked fine.
Occasionally run rough on the economy mode. I am happy so far with this generator. Will post again if issues comes up after longer usage.
"
Review 7 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:white city sk
Date:April 4, 2013

proven

Pros: remote start!!!!!!
Cons: none really
"Built house last year lived in camper with new born baby, from may 2012 - oct 2012. This unit started every day and ran at least 10 hrs everyday in that time period. Couple times it started hard, i just cleaned the carberautor and did basic maintenance it still running strong.
the greatest thing about this unit is lying in bed on chilly oct morning hitting remote switch and coffee is made without going outside to start it.
"
Review 8 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON
Date:April 4, 2013

Good Generators Once Started

Pros: economy mode saves gas and reduces noise., lots of power and useful plugs, parallel kit is rv friendly., battery start & remote start., starts easily in warm weather., fits under tonneau cover of pick-up truck., fits in rv storage bay., fast shipping., reasonably quiet (particularly in economy mode)
Cons: extremely difficult to start in cold weather, missing parts when shipped (charge cable)., heavy compared to other generators., can't run in economy mode with parallel kit.
"Bought two generators and the parallel kit. When they arrived, I filled them with the prescribed oil (for summer weather) and gas and charged the 12V internal battery. Once started, the generators run for hours like a charm. However, these generators are VERY difficult to start in cold weather (as a matter of fact, one would NOT start at all in cold weather near 0 degrees C and I had to bring it indoors to warm up before re-trying).
I bought the generators for my RV trailer - both for camping and for off-site servicing. They fit neatly under the tonneau cover of my pick-up and will fit into the storage bay of my RV trailer. Don't forget to invest in RV power adapter plugs (both 30A and 15A household plugs) if you're using for this purpose.
These generators are also fairly quiet compared to other generators. Not as quiet as Honda, but certainly quieter than other generators on the market, particularly when running in economy mode. I can't hear the generator inside the trailer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Prince George B.C.
Date:March 9, 2013

Disappointed

Cons: very poor starting, no warranty support, parallel kit unreliable
"I purchased two of these units and a parallel kit to operate RV air conditioner. They have been difficult to start from day one, parallel kit unit did not work right away had to fiddle with connector to get it to work. Used the units for 1 week vacation August 2012. Had difficulty starting on September long weekend.I have since been unable to start. I was using premium gas and stabilizer. Took it to shop for warranty work due to no starting, was informed there were specks of material in carbs likely from manufacture. When I recieved the units there were loose screws in cover and access panels, one battery cable had become disconnected. Bottom line I had to pay to have the fuel system flushed and have little confidence these will serve my intended use of supply power to my RV. P.S. these are stored in a heated garage."
Review 10 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grande Prairie, AB
Date:July 22, 2012

It Is What It Is...

Pros: remote start, eco-mode, suitcase design over 2000w, powerful enough for most everyone.
Cons: heavy for a suitcase design, occasionally rough eco-mode idle, requires "diesel" grade oil, oil change requires taking apart the outer plastic, cheap spark plugs from factory
"Purchased because of it's suitcase design in a higher wattage offering. Packaging was good and showed up in 3 days via on-line order. I found it odd that it required 15W40 oil, usually reserved for diesel engines. Got it oiled, fuelled with Supreme and it fired up quite easy with the pull start. Once the battery was charged, it started very easily via the electric start. Took a little to figure out the on/off pattern on the remote, but it works well. This unit has been able to run everything I have connected to it, including the A/C on my 30' Travel Trailer (on low, with everything else shut off). Just a tip... Do yourself a favour and buy some good quality spark plugs and keep them with you. Have gone through 3 since I bought it this spring due to the 15W40 diesel oil fouling them up after about a weekend or two of use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack BC
Date:July 19, 2012

Does exactly what it says

Pros: actually produces 2000watts, easy electric start, no choke
Cons: a little on the heavy side 80lb+, can't use in rain/wet (must be covered)
"I purchased this via the internet having originally purchased the Champion 2000w inverter from my local store. (Unable to review that product). The Champion actually only produces 1600w, and even then was unable to power my trailer microwave at 1500w, it kept tripping out. (altitude of 50' above sea level)
The Powerhouse so far is living up to my expectations. The remote works well and with ease. It's nice not to have to deal with a choke. It's a little on the heavy side but is manageable, and lighter than the 4000w producing generators. It is ideal for me and my trailer use. I recommend it.
"
Review 12 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitby, ON
Date:June 25, 2012

2 out of 3, hold on what was that noise?

Pros: price
Cons: quality you get what you pay for i guess!
"I purchased three of these units, two for myself and one for a friend. Packaging was good. I lifted the first unit out of box to find the front control panel hanging on by two screws. Also the plastic casing was separated in three spots! I put this one right back in the box. I opened the second unit it was much better, filled it with oil and put some gas in it and did a test run on it. Remote worked and key worked and it also pulled over fine. Tried the remote a few more times. Brought this unit my RV and tried to run my 13500 BTU A/C tripped on overload, and the remote and key switch stopped working. This one ended up back in the box with a fully charged battery. The third unit was filled with oil and gas for a test run, I started it with the remote, and heard a big clunking noise! Turned it off and packaged all three back up in boxes and returned to the store. Didn't get a chance to try the parallel kit. I went out and bought the EU3000is, spent more but worth it for the dependability!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerHardwareJuly 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our vendor takes pride in their packaging and carefully packs each individual generator to avoid damages during shipment as much as possible. However, there are certain cases where the product can be mishandled during shipment. This is unfortunate and out of our control. As for running an RV air conditioner, we recommend our 3100W Powerhouse generator. As per the power calculator on this item's webpage, in order to run a standard 13,500 BTU A/C a minimum of 3000 watts is recommended. In the case of our 2100W generator, it is not suitable to run a A/C of this size. We appreciate your feedback and interest in our Powerhouse Inverter Generators.
Review 13 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Date:May 11, 2012

Good value for the price

"Generator works good, have not ran a complete tank of gas yet, portable enough you can carry it short distances, Eco mode is ok but tends to be inconsistent with a steady load applied. Cons - need to build a small shelter if you want to leave it run when it rains, otherwise If your looking for a cheap source of power this is a good buy."
Review 14 for Powerhouse® PH2100PRi Inverter Generator with Remote Starter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edm. AB
Date:February 14, 2012

great value!

"Remote start works great. 2000 running watts works well for most tools and appliances. Loud compared to 3000 watt models but comparable to most suit case models. Only con is the low idle feature which causes the gen. to rev up and down. Bought this for commercial use. So far no issues."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.