Customer Reviews for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**

features Ultra Clear Panel™ includes Wi-fi adaptor
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Review 1 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:December 14, 2011

Not Impressed

"The quality of the picture has problems. When the screen is supposed to be totally black, there are 4 areas (about 5 inches round) that show faint but very noticeable lighting - as if they are lights shining on a black curtain. Probably a quality control issue.
The Smart TV side was okay, but most applications do not work if you are in Canada. Some applications are just strange; of example, the "My Videos" show a bunch of videos to select from and there is lots of background information on the movie and actors, but there is no way to actually view the movie. My main complaint though is that it will only play videos that are no locally connected (USB) drives and not on my network. I keep many videos on a network drive (NAS runing SMB/CIFS) and can be accessed from LG and Western Digital media addapters, as well as a regular PC, but the Samsung isn't smart enough to support that.
I think it is better to buy a dumb TV for $200 less, and buy a separate media adapter for $90."
Review 2 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rural area of Barrie ON
Date:December 3, 2011

Excellent product

Pros: works great
Cons: the tv has done nothing to improve telivision prog
"I love this TV, the picture is perfect, colors crisp & natural. Installation is strait forward, the TV is light enough to enable one person to easily lift and maneuver it into position. I have found the interface with external components to work flawlessly, including the wireless connection to my Bell-Canada wireless Hub.
This is an excellent product and I wouldn't hesitate for a moment recommending it to others.
"
Review 3 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland
Date:October 7, 2011

Terrible Wi-Fi connectivity

"This TV has a nice picture and good sound. However, part of the draw was the included wireless LAN. The Wi-Fi connectivity is terrible unless the router is right next to or connected (wired) to the TV. I upgraded my router for this TV but it is no better. DO NOT buy this product if you want to wirelessly connect to the Internet on a regular basis - it is an exercise in frustration! I am considering a return of the TV based on this issue."
Review 4 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:September 28, 2011

Nice TV overall, but some drawbacks

Pros: lightweight / easy to install, useful apps, clear picture
Cons: wifi cuts out randomly while streaming movies, doesn't detect all usb sticks - only some
"Some of my observations listed in the pros and cons section, after setting this TV up 4 days ago..."
Review 5 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga.
Date:September 25, 2011

Great product

"Easy to set up, light and can be done by one person. Clear picture, easy access to the internet and the network setup was easy. I have no cable or satellite and yet the hd from my antenna is excellent, and quite a few free channels both Canadian and US are really clear.
Cons: the jacks at the back are too much to the middle of the tv, so after mounting it flat on the wall, it is impossible to make or change any connections. I had to make all the connections and then mount it on the wall.
Overall a great product. I am a beginner and have yet to explore all its capability.
"
Review 6 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Date:September 21, 2011

Great TV

Pros: cristal clead hd image, much better than before non hd image
Cons: wifi tends to drop-out from time to time
"Picture is really good!
Sound is better than expected>
The Smart TV feature is also really cool and work well.Gave it a 4 star because the WiFi tends to drop-off
"
Review 7 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nanoose Bay, BC
Date:September 20, 2011

Very good picture!

Cons: remote control alternatives.
"Great TV except that my Shaw HD cable box remote cannot control all the functions of the TV. The major problem is that you cannot move the cursor to the left and you cannot select your choice on the Smart TV screen.
The Shaw Web page and the manufacturer of the remote do not have a listing for this new TV.
"
Review 8 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:September 11, 2011
Pros: decent smart tv
Cons: apps need improvement
"It's a very good TV, and setting it up to connect to internet is simple. The smart TV experience is really exciting, but I hope it could be smarter with better apps for Canadians. The apparent drawback is the missing web browser, then the apps we get here are less useful than what are available in US. I want to quickly check stock futures with the smart TV in the morning but so far found it not an easy task because of lack of web browser and financial apps. Since the TV can be updated like a computer, I hope it gets improved over time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2011

Great

Pros: price picture features
Cons: none
"Make long story short,
Great price, great quality, Full 1080 HD is cristal clear,Thin and light makes it easy to move it any where you like, nice features easy to use, with this tv you can stream your: movies, pictures, photos from your PC thanks to Wi'Fi adaptor,
Delivery was quick only 2 days
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung® UN40D6050 40-in. 1080p 120 Clear Motion Rate LED LCD HDTV**
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON
Date:September 9, 2011

Fantastic

"Its best TV in market today!!! You cant ask for more with this price!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.