Customer Reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System

FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System

Average Customer Rating:
2.688 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
6 of 16(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brockville ON
Date:October 21, 2013

Junk

Pros: compact design, marinating feature
Cons: lots of waste making bags, poor quality causes premature failure, noisy, overheats quickly
"I wish I could write a glowing review but in my experience so far, these things are poorly designed junk. The one good thing is that I bought it at Costco, so as they break they are replaced with no hassles.
After about 10 months the first machine started to seal only one side of the bag so I returned it. Now the replacement machine is sometimes sealing the bag before vacuuming out the air! The bag material is expensive so the waste is coming out of my pocket.
Along the same lines, I can't understand why they don't have a function to seal one end of the bag without applying the vacuum and also wasting nearly an inch of material. Just dumb design.
Lastly, you can only make and seal a half dozen bags before the unit is too hot to continue and you have to give it cool down time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:December 11, 2012

Great until seals go, then its garbage

Pros: none
Cons: poor lifespan
"Great sealer, worked for about ~200 seals, then upper gasket went...no biggie right? wrong, $40+ with S&H to order 2 gasket, glue & a solvent $15, 1-2 hours to remove and clean out old gasket, 1-2 hours to find out its near impossible to glue a new gasket into the unit. They say replace every year, good luck with that.... these are novelty toys, use till seal goes throw in garbage... very poor lifespan. Did I save anything on food costs overall? definitely not.....I just use zip lock sand bags, penny each vs foodsavers 20-40 cents each, trust me forget these machines."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:October 31, 2011

disappointed

Pros: good marinate feature
Cons: doesn't vacuum very well, very slow, can't over-ride automatic features
"I had a very simple FoodSaver for 4 years, but the heat sealer started failing so I thought the new ones would be that much better. Wrong! The new machine never come even close to getting a good vacuum, but the seal was good. There were alway visible air pockets after the vacuum. And there is no mechanical over-ride, so the machine make noises of vacuum which can go on for minutes, but doesn't actually work.
So in review...expensive, large, very poor vacuum...not a winning combination!!
The good news is I returned it with no questions asked.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:March 10, 2013

Great for food storage

Pros: saves money on wasted food, rolls of bags can be made into any size, doesn't take a lot of counter space
Cons: loud
"Probably the best purchase I made for living in an isolated area. We buy large amounts of meat and seal in individual meal portions. Never had any meat come out freezer burnt (even after being in the deep freeze for many months). Great for keeping cheese in the fridge and not having to worry about mold before the expiry date. I used to have to throw out blocks of cheese due to mold and now with the vacuum sealer cheese lasts a lot longer.
We have had this until for almost 2 years now and it has been used lots with no problems!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Windsor Ontario
Date:February 1, 2014

Heats up & vacuum stops

Pros: food lasts a long time in the fridge and freezer
Cons: overheats, bag waste which means money waste
"I bought this to replace another machine. I buy in bulk once a month so I freeze alot of food. I Just bought it yesterday and tried to use it today. Worked great for the first 6 bags and then overheated and wouldn't vacuum out the air until I let it cool down. Also had to use a new bag as it wouldn't work on the original bag I made. A total waste of bag material with the cost of the rolls. I should have looked at the reviews before buying. I will be returning this tomorrow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON
Date:April 1, 2014

Not worth it!!!

Pros: great when it works
Cons: most of the time it doesn't work
"Machine looks as it is build solid, but operation is pretty weak. First one we got lasted maybe for 40 sealed bags than it stopped pulling all the air out. After getting it replaced with new one(thank you Costco), well that lasted not even 15 good bags and equal amount of bad ones. Same problem, it just wouldn't create good vacuum, sealed really well though. Too much waste when looking how many scrapped bags and at what cost. Didn't save any money, actually spent more. :("
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON
Date:November 8, 2011

Great Saver

Pros: good quality item over other brands., once you've mastered the process...easy to use
Cons: not the cheapest but you get what you paid for.
"This item is excellent! Does everything it's supposed to do. It's a FoodSaver and MoneySaver all in one, especially for those who buy in bulk such as at Costco. Buy those larger packages of meat, then divide up your portions and vacuum seal them for your freezer to store them. No more freezer burn! Plus an extended freezer life when vacuum sealing, over regular store packaging. If you follow the instructions, you won't be disappointed!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:November 5, 2011

Absolutley the best

Pros: great seal no air pockets.
Cons: kinda loud stainless steel is plastic
"I waited for this item to go on sale and it was well worth the wait. It sucks all the air out very well in very little time although it is rather loud, there have been no air pockets in my bags. The seal reminds me of a commercial seal that you would get from a packaged item from the grocery store. It looks great on my kitchen counter although the stainless steel is only plastic. Very easy to use right from the box."
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC
Date:March 25, 2014

Great for bulk meats...

Pros: easy to use, seals meat perfectly
Cons: uses a lot of bag to get a good seal
"We are always buying bulk meat, from Costco, so I needed a vacuum sealer so the meat wouldn't get freezer burn. This machine does the job, I am always using it, after a meat run from Costco. Seals the meat perfectly and none have ever gone bad. The marinator was ok but then turn dial broke off after a few uses, so that is now a piece of junk, other than that, very happy with this machine."
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lac La Biche, Alberta
Date:January 3, 2014

junk product

Pros: lesson learned
Cons: bought two
"This is not a quality product nor are the others in the series. When it works, it does its job fine. There are too many issues such as chronic overheating, locking in place, waste of bagging, and noise. Going to a commercial supply company to purchase a quality product. Don't buy it if you intend to actually use it on a regular basis. I've tried two of these and one other."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:October 2, 2012

Almost Great

Pros: seals well when working
Cons: wastes bags stopped sealing consistently.
"I recently bought this machine. It worked great for 2 rolls of bags. Then it started to seal fine, but not remove the air. I will return/replace it. I am hoping that I just got a dud as it worked well when it did. Depending on the replacement I will rewrite the review higher, or lower depending on the outcome."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mississauga
Date:November 9, 2011

It works. Just not as well as the earlier models

Pros: nothing special
Cons: over priced and supplies are hard to find
"It is finicky, also, it uses much more plastic to make a bag of a given capacity than earlier models. It has more features, most of which you will never need or use. It does what the manufacturer says it will do, but it takes practice to get it right. Much less user friendly than earlier models."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Longueuil, QC.
Date:March 9, 2013

Don't touch it except...

"Just return mine this week. This is only good if you don't seal more then 3-4 bag, then it start to seal without vacuuming and you have to wait 15 minutes to let it cool off and resume. Not a great thing when you make 12 individual portion."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:November 9, 2011

Great Buy

Pros: easy to use, seals well for longer keep times, marinading feature is quite useful.
Cons: not much to complain about for the price.
"I've always wanted one of these for all the bulk food purchases bought from Costco. Before this more times than not the food would spoil. This is great for all types of foods whether it be wet or dry. I fully recommend it."
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, Ontario
Date:December 29, 2013

Didn't Make it through the first roll of plastic

Pros: it worked ok for a while
Cons: it didn't work for very long
"Worked great until last Friday. The suction pump didn't work. After 4-additional attempts including re-reading the instructions to see if anything had changed. The only that changed is it stopped vacuum sealing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:December 27, 2011

Love it!!

"I got this for Christmas and used it tonight for the first time. It worked so well that I wanted to vacuum seal everything in my kitchen. If you grocery shop at Costco, then owning this is a must."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.