Customer Reviews for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light

Warning Frequent-use outdoor all-weather 12 gauge extension cord is required (refer to owner's manual) - not included The Snow Joe MAX electric snow thrower is very powerful, designed to move over 294.8 kg (650 lb.) of snow a minute yet it weighs only 15 kg (33 lb.)! The powerful 13.5 A motor easily cuts a path 45.7 cm (18 in.) wide and up to 25.4 cm (10 in.) deep. It is easy to start, no pulling on a handle, quiet, and best of all, no gas, oil, or tune-ups to bother with. The chute is 180 degrees adjustable and throws snow up to 6.1 m (20 ft.) away. A soft coated handle makes it easy to grip and move effortlessly. During dawn, dusk, or diminished light, the powerful 20 W halogen lamp guides the way for safe accurate plowing. Convenient, compact, requires no tools for assembly right out of the box. Features:   Instant start   Easy push-button switch   180-degree adjustable chute   Chute deflector controls height of snow stream   20-W halogen light   Scraper clears to the pavement   13.5 A motor moves up to 294.8 kg (650 lb.) of snow per minute   4 steel-blade rotor throws snow up to 6.1 m (20 ft.)   Cuts up to 45.7 cm (18 in.) wide and 25.4 cm (10 in.) deep in one pass   Convenient, compact shape   Compact wheels for easy maneuverability   Maintenance free   Frequent-use outdoor all-weather extension cord with the appropriate wire gauge is required (refer to owner's manual) Specifications:   Dimensions (L x W x H): 114.3 cm x 48.3 cm x 91.2 cm (45 in. x 19 in. x 38 in.)   Weight: 15.1 kg (33.3 lb.)   Warranty:   2 years
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Review 1 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince George, BC
Date:December 21, 2012

Snow Joe vs Backyard rink

Pros: does what it is designed to do and then some!
Cons: none yet
"Used this little beast for the first time tonight to clear my backyard rink (32'x80'). Blasted away 10" of snow in about 45 min (normally a 3-hour, 2-person, back-breaking job with that much snow)! Was a bit skeptical but this little machine really did the job! Even managed to throw the snow over my 4 foot high boards! Simply an animal!!"
Review 2 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salmon Arm, B. C.
Date:December 17, 2012

so happy I made this purchase

Pros: no more sore back
Cons: there are no cons
"We have a long, steep driveway and I was able to clear off a heavy snowfall in twenty minutes. No more shoveling for me. I am a 55 year old female and I had absolutely no trouble handling this machine at all. It was so easy to adjust the shoot as I changed direction. We needed to buy and 100 ft. cord to add to one we already had and we found the best price was at the Costco warehouse in Kamloops. I have been happily bragging about this snow blower to all my shoveling friends. The price is excellent as well."
Review 3 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:December 7, 2012

Luv it!

Pros: lite weight portable no gas mess
Cons: extension cord
"Edmonton, Alberta...we just had a good 6 - 8 inches of fresh snow the other day. Hooked this baby up and cleared my double car driveway and my neighbour's in no time. This is my first snow blower and its super easy to get good at. Then I folded up the handles, put in the trunk of my Mazda 3, drove it to my mom's and cleared her driveway and 2 of her neighbours as well for the fun. And I'm the guy that hates shovelling snow.
I always had an electric lawn mower so managing an extension cord is second nature however with that said, those who haven't in the past, please be mindful of this.
Again, 5 driveways in a matter of minutes. I luv it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton,AB
Date:December 7, 2012

Good Little Blower

Pros: light, throws snow a good ways
Cons: hate the cord but knew it had one
"When this thing arrived and weighed nothing I was skeptical. Does a great job on my cul de sac driveway."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB
Date:November 15, 2012

Great purchase

Pros: easy to use and assemble
Cons: getting used to the cord but not a huge deal
"Was tired of shoveling snow and the back ache afterward, I read the reviews and bought this machine after our first snow fall. After the second snowfall, assembled the machine and cleaned my driveway and sidewalks. What normally took me over an hour took 20 minutes included getting used to the machine....Love Love Love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, Sk.
Date:November 12, 2012

Best Investment in a long time!

Pros: light and easy to handle, very little assembly required
Cons: needing to be aware of not running over cord
"I bought this snow-blower because a large gas one that we own with my daughter and husband is hard to transport back and forth, and is hard for me to handle. My back doesn't do well if I do a lot of shoveling. This unit is light, easy to handle and did a great job. I used it yesterday for the first time after a large snowfall. It took me a long time, but was a LOT less effort than shoveling."
Review 7 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge Alberta
Date:November 9, 2012

Snow Joe Max 13.5 Electric Snow Thrower

Pros: light weight and easy to move around., it was easy to set up right out of the box, it runs quietly
Cons: getting used to dragging an extention cord around, in the snow
"Wow, it really does work. I used this little machine for the first time this morning. We had 20 centimeters of snow and my driveway is 50x15 ft.
As I am a small woman this was so easy for me to use and the snow was cleared off in no time. It took a bit of getting used to manuvering around my car, but still way easier than using the shovel. I love this little machine, it was money well spent.
"
Review 8 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laval Qc
Date:October 1, 2012

does what it's suppose to do

Pros: no maintenance
Cons: get a good outdoor electric cord
"I've had one for 3 years now and I love it. We contract for our double driveway but they leave a couple of feet near the garage, under some trees and I have to do the sidewalk to the front door. Doesn't seem like much but it's still of lot of shoveling.
My husband is mostly away so it's my job to do. This little blower is all I needed and more. The first year I was afraid to break it with ice and stuff but no more. It's tough. We live in the Montreal area and get a lot of snow at time but it does the job.
The only con I have and it's not part of the snowblower is the electric cord. At first I had a good one but not an outdoor one. It would get really stiff in the snow and made the job much harder. Now I have one that stays soft in the cold and it's a breeze to clean the driveway."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON
Date:January 12, 2012

It's Love!

"Delivery was super quick and the product arrived at my house in 2 days. Assembly was a breeze with just a few screws to tighten by hand. The product is light and easy to use which was important to me as a smaller woman. I had my driveway done (12ftx80ft) done in record time. I could not be happier with this purchase and can't believe I even debated buying a snowblower in the first place."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:December 26, 2011

EXCELLENT VALUE

Pros: no tune-up, no gas, no oil, no spark plugs, no rust, lightwight - 33lbs
Cons: i'm worried the plastic might crack if i hit ice
"this item arrived at my door a few weeks ago. I did my research and this had some good reviews on the consumer reports website.
first: this electric model will not perform as well compared to a gas model. But it will throw snow 20 feet as claimed. In wet snow it's strggles a bit but i love that it weighs only 33 lbs. It's hangs on a hook in my garage and costs only pennies to operate.
No Tune ups
no gas
no oil
no spark plugs
no rust (blades are metal but body is made of plastic)
i'm in montreal and i've used it twice so far so good. It was fun using it. I have an electric lawn mower so the cord is not an issue for me.
with this electric model it might take a bit longer to blow my driveway but it does not bother me at all. It's easy to manoever and fun to operate. But please don't compare to a gas model.
"
Review 11 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:December 4, 2011

Excellent Product

Pros: light easy to move around powerful and quiet.
Cons: none
"I have a fairly large driveway which provides access to three garages. It is not huge but when you shovel it in winter you know you have worked. I decided this year to try and put up the shovel and go easier on myself. I really dislike gas powered tools so after reading the reviews for the Joe Snow Max decided to give it a try.
My first surprise was the packing in the box. Very clever and the unit arrives essentially put together. The unit unfolds out of the box. Extremely good packaging.
The second surprise and maybe an alarm is that the unit is made of plastic. It is light but everything else I looked at was metal. As a result I was understandably dubious as to it being able to do the job. (maybe manhood just dictates tools should be metal and sharp as hades)
After buying the designated extension cord (don't cheap out) I waited for snow. I didn't have to wait long and had my first, second and third goes with this little monster.
The first was a learning experience. A few don'ts about snow throwing. Don't use leather mitts. Don't throw against the wind .Really a bad mistake. Don't think that you will never have to pick up a shovel again. I came in after an hour looking like the abominable snowman, wet, and cold. It did the job but the lousy operator (me) wasted a lot of time. I think I heard Snow Joe mutter under its breath about my skill but I couldn't be sure.
It was a night of snow so I got another chance about three hours later. This time I used the shovel to clear half of the driveway. No effort at all. And then pulled out my trusty new friend and it did from the middle to over the edge. We were done in jigger time and the job was great.
It says that it throws the snow 20 ft. and it does. I have read reviews that if the snow is wet it can't lift the snow that far and that makes sense. This machine is powerful. It is quiet. And it is light and easy to move.
My only negative and it isn't a negative at all is that you are constantly readjusting the power cord but after a couple of times you spend less time doing it.
I thought I would trip a breaker with this thing but it just goes and goes.
Does it make shovelling more fun. Only a sadist likes shovelling so fun no. But it does make it easier. Keep in mind that this unit is not huge so you can't let a lot of snow accumulate before you get it out. It says 8" and I think that would be max.
All in all a very surprisingly excellent snow thrower.."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Kelowna, BC
Date:November 30, 2011

Snow Joe is Fabulous

"I took the advice of the previous reviews and purchased the appropriate extension cord. The device worked perfectly. I was able to power through the snow without any difficulty. I love the light weight which makes handling very easy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:December 20, 2012

A good purchase

Pros: light weight easy to use
Cons: it needs more power for ice/snow mix
"I bought this machine and used it three times during the last snowfalls in Montreal. Buy this if; 1- you have 1-4 cars driveway 2-not much storage space for a bigger snowblower 3- have a deck and want to be able to remove snow 4- if on limited budget. Good things i found about this, was its easy start and its light weight. Also, it removes snow down to the ground and does not leave much, so while companies with big machines would leave some 1-2 cm of snow, this little one removes everything. My only negative is that if there is ice/snow mix, or if the snow is more that 25 cm you may need to go back and forth multiple times on a spot. Do not forget to use an outdoor extension cord if possible a coiled one."
Review 14 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bradford, ON
Date:December 18, 2012

best price snow buddy

Pros: good price and good quality
Cons: cheap material make on non major components
"I bought machine while living in a house, in a bad day, he can do the job but not the best but consider this price and quality, I give high marks because I mean bad day is 4 feet snow and keep on coming, so best deal with good price.
BUT its wheels isn't the best design, it works but I feel it will come off soon, need to tight some nuts..."
Review 15 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Mcmurray AB
Date:December 17, 2012

Works Well

Pros: light, manruverable
Cons: the cord, could be a bit wider, the control system does not work well with mitts
"I was very skeptical about the snow joe at first . I watched a few videos online before I ordered it. It works very well in up to 1 foot of snow. It is very light and maneuverable."
Review 16 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kanata, On
Date:December 27, 2011

Easy to Use

"It was delivered within 2 days to my home. It came out of the box put together, just tightened a few screws. It really works well, even with heavy snow. Just don't let it get too deep."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:December 26, 2011

So far so good

Pros: easy set up right out of the box
"We bought this in November of this year. it sat in the box until this am as it finally snowed enough to use it and will get a workout over the next while here in Ottawa.
Firstly, it was easy to set up and as previously noted, well packaged. I agree with the fact the heavier the snow the performance does drop, but that is expected. All in all, I would say an excellent product for the money!
"
Review 18 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central Alberta
Date:December 4, 2011

Handy little machine

"It is very good for blowing snow over glass panel railing on deck and is easy to maneuver. No more lifting! As long as you gently push this into the snow with the appropriate force it will go through quite well and blow a lot of snow. I use a good quality 25 ft 14 AWG outdoor rated, very flexible extension cord; also use 100ft 12 AWG cord."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia
Date:October 11, 2011

Decent electric blower

Pros: light & easy enough for most to use, could use on deck with no damage, comes with a headlamp for night use
Cons: not powerful enough for heavy wet snow, screw auger
"I have to qualify the above rating. It is a 4-star as electric snow shovels go. Don't expect this to compete against gas powered units though.
Handles light snow as well as you could expect from an electric. Snow that is a couple of inches, and fairly "dry" is moved quite capably. However, this is no match for heavy, wet Maritime snow. I used it several times last year, and found that as soon as the snow was more than a couple of inches deep, was very wet, or if the temperature had swung from cold to warm to cold again (creating hard packed ice/snow), a gas powered unit was a must."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snow Joe MAX 13.5 A Electric Snow Thrower With On-board Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa ON
Date:October 7, 2011

Great for small areas.

Pros: good in light snow
Cons: bogs down a bit in heavy wet snow
"Have used it one winter and worked well. Used Heavy 12 G wire and never tripped a breaker. Great with lighter snow but would not recommend it for deep wet snow."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>