Customer Reviews for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device

Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device

Developed in Europe, the Cefaly® is a medical device that relieves migraine pain without the use of drugs and medication. It uses TENS technology to stimulate the pain centre of the brain telling it to produce more endorphins to relieve the migraine. When used on a regular basis, studies have shown that it may reduce the frequency of migraine occurrence. How does this work? Cefaly® uses electric impulses to act on the Trigeminal nerve that runs up the forehead (only 2 types of cells respond to electrical stimulus: muscle and nerve). The Cefaly® device attaches to a self-adhesive electrode placed on the forehead, and is worn like a pair of glasses. The power button is pressed to begin a 20-minute session of treatment.   Features and Benefits: Provides a prevention treatment program to increase the production of endorphins and raise the trigger threshold of the pain for a result of less frequent migraines.   Can replace or reduce the consumption of medication.   Has an “attack” program to block present pain & provide relief during a migraine.   Weight of actual device  45.4 g (0.1 lb.)   Includes: Cefaly® device   Cefaly® electrode   Skin-cleansing wipe   Storage case   Instruction manual   For more information about this product, visit our website at www.cefaly.ca, call Roxon at 1-800-361-6991, or email sales@roxon.ca Model: STX10113-C
Average Customer Rating:
4.521 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
(out of 48 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
42 of 48(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Review 1 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON
Date:April 9, 2015

Finally- some relief from migraines!

" I have not written a review for anything before but feel compelled to do so because of the significant improvements in the frequency and severity of my migraines. I am a 40 year old woman and I have suffered from debilitating migraines since I was 22. As anyone with migraines knows, having chronic migraines severly impacts life- its hard to work, affects relationships and makes parenting challenging. I have 3 boys, the youngest being 18 months old, and there have been days when I simply cannot function, relying on my family to care for my children. I have tried different medications, both acute and preventative, acupuncture, chiropractic, massage, changing my diet, yoga, botox and probably other things over the years. The side effects of my acute meds (Imitrex most recently) were awful and only helped for a handful of hours. My brother saw an interview on the news about Cefaly and after some research, I decided to order it. I have used it daily since February 24 for 20 min
s just before bed. I have had 2 mild migraine days since starting. One was about 2 weeks into it, and the other was about a month after starting. I used the device on the acute #1 setting during migraines and it felt great. my head felt fine the following day- usually migraines last for me for at least 3 days.
It is true that it takes some time to adjust to the sensations. Pins and needles feeling along what I imagine is my trigemnal nerve. after the first five mins I usually stop the increasing intensity by pushing the button once. Lately, it puts me into a very deep sleep. I am so grateful to have found this treatment. If you aren't sure about it, I say try it! You have nothing to lose and the possibilty of having some control over chronic pain affecting your life is worth the $300!
Best of luck to all of you.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto,ON
Date:April 3, 2015

Thank's for Costco !!!!

" Very helpfully. Less pills. I have used it for month.
I glad I bot it.
"
Review 3 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Ab
Date:March 24, 2015

Must Have for EVERY home!

Pros: -takes away not only migraines but other types of, headaches., - suggnificantly reduces the amount of medication, you need to take or eliminates the need to take, medication all together.
Cons: - may need to do two or three treatments in a row., - causes a bit of pressure on the forehead under, the electrode but it's not too uncomfortable.
" This product has been God Sent for our family. My dad suffers sever migraines and was going through a pack (6 pills) of Immitrex a day (which is allot),and the Neurologist said he needs to try other things to get the amount and intensity of the migraines down, however he has tried every medication and even Botox injections to treat them, nothing has worked. Now he can put the Cefaly on and is down to 1 on the odd occasion 2 pills a day and they are no longer debiatating when he gets them. They are also great for tension headaches etc. I get headaches brought on by nerves due to an auto immune disease and bad headaches from muscles in my neck and back from a car accident, it gets rid of my headaches as well.
A couple TIPS:
1) You can use your electrodes numerous times, make sure to clean your forehead first so they keep their stick.
2) Although you can use the wipes multiple times if you keep the packageing to keep it moist Cefaly do not have replacement wipes for sale anywhere. We called Cefaly, just use alcohol wipes or eye makeup remover. If you have sensitive skin, Mary Kay has an amazing (oil free) one.
"
Review 4 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey BC
Date:March 11, 2015

definite improvment

" It hasn't gotten rid of my headaches %100, but major improvement.
The complaint about the electrodes are accurate, but you can improve their life span by cleaning them with rubbing alcohol and a cloth or buy a can of spray adhesive from a crafts store...... you'll get many more uses from this.
I have had my Cefaly for three months now, and am still using the same 3 electrodes, but have ordered another package.... I would imagine that the first three have limited uses left.
Hope this help some of you.
"
Review 5 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dorval, QC
Date:March 6, 2015

Still Hopeful

Pros: worth a try when you've run out of options, is helping when nothing else has helped
Cons: be prepared for intense pressure at first, take it slow until you can tolerate it
" I have only had the device for one week, so more time is needed to see full benefit. I had read that some people have a hard time handling the sensation at first, and I have to admit it was real intense for me. I didn't expect the extreme pressure sensation. But like others said, it does get better with time and after only a week, I am able to tolerate it so much better. I am determined to use it on #2 for 20 min a day for two months to see the full benefit. I have been suffering from migraines for 25 years and I have a migraine almost every day. I am able to find relief with Zomig, but I know I am experiencing rebound headaches from the Zomig, so I really want to find a way to reduce my migraines so I can stop taking Zomig daily. In the first week of using Cefaly, I can definitely say that the intensity of my migraines has decreased and I had two days with no migraines at all. I usually only have 2 migraine-free days per month, so I see this as real progress. I am very hopeful that as I continue my daily use of the Cefaly device, my results will be even better. "
Review 6 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Slave lake, AB
Date:January 21, 2015

Worth the purchase!

Pros: some relief as well as relaxing
Cons: electrode pads become expensive
" I suffer from daily headaches. Although the headband does not give instant relief from a headache , it does help! I personally really enjoy using the headband !!!! I find the electrode massages very relaxing on top of helping with the headache. Sometimes I will do the headband 2 or 3 times in a row, just because it is very relaxing for me! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto area, ON
Date:December 28, 2014

Less Headaches for sure

Pros: easy to use, worth the price, keep the forehead clean and it lasts longer, a lot less meds to take so healthier on my body
Cons: to save the wipes i use cheap alcohol swabs, i think you have to be gentle with the device
" I don't want to speak too highly, or perhaps too soon .... but .. after 2 months of using this device I have to say I HAVE a LOT LESS HEADACHES. This can not be a coincidence. All my life I have been getting various types of headaches from Stress, Tension, Environmental (perfumes, bad air) and Migraines when things go too far and long. 2 months of using Cefaly as a preventative tool, or when I get a small headache, works, as best as I can tell. Things are not perfect, eg cannot say no more headaches but there are a lot less, so only once a week instead of 3 or 4 times. Go for it when you can afford it and if it doesn't work bring it back within the warranty period Costco gives us. A doctor told me that the medical world work with electronic waves, if I can call it that, to help people learn faster, read faster, memorize etc .. so this is on track with the scientific world. Also, this is an amazing feeling like a head massage or small shocks which you can control the intensity. Good Luck ... "
Review 8 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:December 15, 2014

Worth trying

Pros: you can return this if you think it doesnt work
Cons: you have to really give this a chance use everyday
" I am 42 I have had migraines since I was 14. I have between 15 and 28 a month. I bought this device a month and a half ago. I use it every day as suggested. I have had 3 migraines this month so far. For me? that is unheard of. The only relief I have normally is taking Zomig. I won't bother listing the dozens and dozens of things I have tried over the past thirty years. Anyone who has chronic pain like this knows. So far I am very happy. This device did not work for my husband who also suffers from migraines - only two or three a month, if that. His trigger is certain foods. My tigger is uknown. His migraines are back of his head and across the whole front. Mine are cluster migraines on the right side that focus in my right eye and cause vomiting. I hope this helps if you are thinking about investing in this product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:December 9, 2014

Cefaly was NOT for me!

Pros: it is $50 less at costco and you can return it!
Cons: add the cost of the electrodes to it.
" Cefaly was cautiously recommended to me by my Dr. I have tried it for only one week. I have to say that I have not used it on a permanent basis, and have to say that I have chronic migraine (kind of every day). It's plan 1 claims to be for when you are under a migraine attack. I tried it twice when I had migraine and in both occasions my migraine went from bad to much worse. I'm afraid I have to pack it and return it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa,ON
Date:December 5, 2014

Best invention ever

" Since I stated using it , I didn't take any drug or medication to relieve my migraine pain. I first saw it in Costco web site than I decided to buy it for try.I was not convinced it will work well. After use, I prescribed it for many friends and family members who suffer from migraine they found it wonderful . Now I do not travel without taking it in my bag . "
Review 11 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:September 3, 2014

Not much effect

Pros: costco's return policy
" I was hopeful based on the reviews and gave the device a few tries when migraines were building. I didn't mind the slight discomfort of the electrodes as I thought that was a good sign that it could do something. However, there was no improvement to my migraines. Mine are triggered by hormones and I've since discovered that taking chasteberry and using natural progesterone cream really help to prevent migraines. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 22, 2014

Cefaly, where have you been all my life?!

Pros: easy to use, really works, multiple cleansing wipes included, battery included
" I suffer from terrible seasonal migraines during the spring & fall seasons - and the pain has become increasingly worse these past few years. The only thing that would help was prescription medication, which was terribly expensive - x12 pills for the same price as the Cefaly. I was becoming more & more dependant on the medication for migraine relief, which made me wonder: "How long until my body builds a tolerance to the meds & I start to suffer again?"
A friend of mine told me about the Cefaly about a year ago, and I'll admit, I was really skeptical. I mean, let's be honest, at first glance the Cefaly looks like a tiara created by Gene Roddenberry! I knew it was expensive, but also knew that if I wasn't satisfied, I could return it with no issue, but was still hesitant. My partner knew I was suffering terribly this past fall, and knew that this spring wouldn't be easy, so he bought me one as a Christmas gift - and I'm SO happy he did! I still do use my medication from time to time, but now it's only when I'm at work or out & about. I've even use my Cefaly as a preventative measure - if I anticipate that the barometric pressure changing & the weather warming up in the next day or so, I'll use my Cefaly on the second/medium setting before I go to bed.
My only regret - not purchasing my 'Gene Roddenberry migraine-tiara' when my friend told me about it a year ago - thanks Cefaly!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Millarville, Alberta
Date:March 13, 2014

Cephaly Migraine Relief

Pros: great head massage
Cons: electrodes don't last long enough
" I've only had the cephaly for one week and used it four times. I suffer from very severe migraines and have to take excessive amounts of prescription medications to combat them. Since using the Cephaly, The more I use it, the more I enjoy it. It is like the most intense scalp massage you can have. I am always asking my husband for a massage when I'm in the middle of one of my monster migraines and this provides that type of stimulus. At first it is almost painful above the left eyebrow but that disappears within a minute or two and if you can tough it out it becomes really pleasurable. Does it stave off migraines? I can't say yet. But I've used it during one and it certainly helped. The gummy electrode pad you put on your forehead doesn't last very long though. They need to come up with a better solution to that issue. It's definitely worth a try if you are a severe migrainer. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 9, 2014

Best purchase yet

Pros: easy to use, can wear it to your next comicon
Cons: eletrodes seem pricey.
" So far I've used this thing about 6 times. It's prevented 2 potential migraine attacks. We'll see how it goes for longer term, but, so far, it's worked amazing. One less migraine which can last several days is already worth it for me.
Electrodes seem a bit pricey. Search for electrode gel. I'm going to buy the gel and just paste it on the original electrode and see if it works before buying the refills. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ponoka, ab
Date:February 5, 2014

works wonders

" M y migraines have all but disappeared. I haven't had a migraine for 3 weeks,aura and all they are usually the worst ones!! but the Immitrex Med worked quickly AND NO rebound headaches. I put it on once a day or more often if I cant stay away from a migraine trigger. If you know some one who suffers migraine this may help. Oh, My migraines were so bad from Nov to mid December like 5 days out of seven! "
Review 16 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:February 3, 2014

A game changer

Pros: very good cost effective therapy
Cons: the electrodes should last longer or be cheaper
" I have chronic migraines with a diagnosis of intractible headache. All the usual meds were far short of helpful enough. Upon giving up on me, my neurologist recommended the cefaly, claiming that several of her patients had good results. It smelled like another placebo remedy. However, all the other real remedies were only marginally helpful. I tried it since there were no options left. It worked! It really worked. I still have too many headaches. However, they are usually much less severe and no longer daily. Money well spent. I even use less medication. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC
Date:January 16, 2014

So glad I bought it

Pros: take less medicine, reasonably priced, relaxing even without headaches, could be used as part of your star trek costume
Cons: must buy electrode refills
" This has really been a game-changer for me. My sister, mom and I all get terrible tension headaches, and the occasional (but all-too-frequent) migraine.
I have to admit, I thought my sister looked like a nut the first time I saw her using it, but seeing as how she swore by it, I tried it. Was intrigued but not convinced after first try, but once I let it get to full power, it really truly made a big difference. I have used this device both for getting rid of headaches and for preventing them.
It works better to prevent than to eliminate headaches, I must admit. If you use it semi-regularly, you will definitely notice a decrease in the frequency of your headaches. Plus, it's a nice escape!
Once you have a killer headache, for me it takes at least 2 rounds to lessen the headache to 'manageable', and 3+ to get rid of it... the thing is, I rarely get that far - I fall asleep before it fixes it, and I wake up feeling SO much better. It is very very relaxing, and works much faster than drugs.
Take good care of the electrodes, or they will dry quickly.
I have recommended this to anyone who'll listen. Go for it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON
Date:January 13, 2014

Migraine BE GONE!

Pros: destroys migraines!, reduces the frequency of migraine attacks., using one always relaxes me and i get a good nap., improved my quality of life.
Cons: can't wear it in public., only comes in one color.
" I've been getting migraines since I was 6 years old...At a pace of about 1 or 2 every two weeks. And I get the serious kind; crazy auras, nausea, vomiting, sensitivity to sound and light, the feeling that someone is trying to nail a large spike through my eye...Just terrible, terrible suffering and pain.
I bought the Cefaly on the recommendation of a friend who knows someone that has one. I initially looked it up to see what it was and thought he was crazy...BUT...As I am willing to try anything once, I bought one. And I've tried it all...all the drugs...all the natural remedies...i've been to neurologists...i've done everything possible to avoid having migraines, changed my diet, sleeping habits, etc...and nothing has helped. NOTHING!
Until now...
The Cefaly arrived and 2 days later I got one of my very familiar pre-migraine auras...The kind that starts as a pin-point of light in the middle of my vision and grows outward into a hundred multi-colored, bright, vibrating lines. I hooked up the Celfay, lay down on my bed, pressed the start button, and waited.
I woke up 20 minutes later and my migraine was gone...GONE!!! I couldn't believe it! Since then, I've had 3 more migraines that I've been able to get rid of within 20 minutes of using the Cefaly. That was 7 months ago...And even the migraines that I do get now are weaker and easier to get rid of. I don't do the daily program so I don't know if it gets rid of them completely, but what I do know is that I have way less migraines and they are not as strong as they used to be.
Now, I never go anywhere without taking it with me. I'm thinking of buying a second one to leave at work just in case I ever forget to bring it with me from home.
So, believe me when I say that the Cefaly has worked for me. Just make sure you read the instructions carefully and use the program best suited to you.
Good luck! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:December 27, 2013

Helpful Tool For Headache Management

Pros: small, easy to use, portability-can use while doing other things, price
Cons: only one electrode included
" I saw this product on Dragon's Den and immediately was intrigued. I am a long time sufferer of migraines & tension headaches and am willing to try anything! The unit is somewhat of a tens machine, but engineered to specifically treat your head. It is very helpful during a headache episode, but also good for prevention-I would sometimes use mine for an hour at a time. My only complaint is that it came with just one electrode. You might as well order the additional ones now, as they only last for 15 uses. I shopped around, the unit and additional electrodes are the best price at Costco.ca. Tip-When storing electrodes, keep it airtight to preserve gel. Also, the wipes are very large, use them several times by just folding over to a clean spot (keep airtight as well). "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:December 25, 2013

Enormous Relief

Pros: portable quick results no side effects
" I love this device. During a migraine, using it provides welcome relief from the pain and I usually doze off for the 20 minutes cycle. Afterwards, the pain is lessened if not completely gone and I am refreshed. (If I have the time, I enjoy using it 2 or 3 times in succession) I much prefer this to taking medications that knock me out for an entire day. I also use the device if I wake in the night and have trouble sleeping as it relaxes me and puts me into a deep rest. I ordered extra electrodes along with the unit, and I'm glad I did because I do use it often. My migraines seem to have lessened in frequency. I wouldn't want to part with it now. Highly recommend trying it. I am glad I did. "
1 2 3 next>>