Customer Reviews for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device

Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device

Developed in Europe, the Cefaly® is a medical device that relieves migraine pain without the use of drugs and medication. It uses TENS technology to stimulate the pain centre of the brain telling it to produce more endorphins to relieve the migraine. When used on a regular basis, studies have shown that it may reduce the frequency of migraine occurrence. How does this work? Cefaly® uses electric impulses to act on the Trigeminal nerve that runs up the forehead (only 2 types of cells respond to electrical stimulus: muscle and nerve). The Cefaly® device attaches to a self-adhesive electrode placed on the forehead, and is worn like a pair of glasses. The power button is pressed to begin a 20-minute session of treatment.   Features and Benefits: Provides a prevention treatment program to increase the production of endorphins and raise the trigger threshold of the pain for a result of less frequent migraines.   Can replace or reduce the consumption of medication.   Has an “attack” program to block present pain & provide relief during a migraine.   Weight of actual device  45.4 g (0.1 lb.)   Includes: Cefaly® device   Cefaly® electrode   Skin-cleansing wipe   Storage case   Instruction manual   For more information about this product, visit our website at www.cefaly.ca, call Roxon at 1-800-361-6991, or email sales@roxon.ca Model: STX10113-C
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
27 of 32(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Review 1 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:September 3, 2014

Not much effect

Pros: costco's return policy
"I was hopeful based on the reviews and gave the device a few tries when migraines were building. I didn't mind the slight discomfort of the electrodes as I thought that was a good sign that it could do something. However, there was no improvement to my migraines. Mine are triggered by hormones and I've since discovered that taking chasteberry and using natural progesterone cream really help to prevent migraines."
Review 2 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 22, 2014

Cefaly, where have you been all my life?!

Pros: easy to use, really works, multiple cleansing wipes included, battery included
"I suffer from terrible seasonal migraines during the spring & fall seasons - and the pain has become increasingly worse these past few years. The only thing that would help was prescription medication, which was terribly expensive - x12 pills for the same price as the Cefaly. I was becoming more & more dependant on the medication for migraine relief, which made me wonder: "How long until my body builds a tolerance to the meds & I start to suffer again?"
A friend of mine told me about the Cefaly about a year ago, and I'll admit, I was really skeptical. I mean, let's be honest, at first glance the Cefaly looks like a tiara created by Gene Roddenberry! I knew it was expensive, but also knew that if I wasn't satisfied, I could return it with no issue, but was still hesitant. My partner knew I was suffering terribly this past fall, and knew that this spring wouldn't be easy, so he bought me one as a Christmas gift - and I'm SO happy he did! I still do use my medication from time to time, but now it's only when I'm at work or out & about. I've even use my Cefaly as a preventative measure - if I anticipate that the barometric pressure changing & the weather warming up in the next day or so, I'll use my Cefaly on the second/medium setting before I go to bed.
My only regret - not purchasing my 'Gene Roddenberry migraine-tiara' when my friend told me about it a year ago - thanks Cefaly!!"
Review 3 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Millarville, Alberta
Date:March 13, 2014

Cephaly Migraine Relief

Pros: great head massage
Cons: electrodes don't last long enough
"I've only had the cephaly for one week and used it four times. I suffer from very severe migraines and have to take excessive amounts of prescription medications to combat them. Since using the Cephaly, The more I use it, the more I enjoy it. It is like the most intense scalp massage you can have. I am always asking my husband for a massage when I'm in the middle of one of my monster migraines and this provides that type of stimulus. At first it is almost painful above the left eyebrow but that disappears within a minute or two and if you can tough it out it becomes really pleasurable. Does it stave off migraines? I can't say yet. But I've used it during one and it certainly helped. The gummy electrode pad you put on your forehead doesn't last very long though. They need to come up with a better solution to that issue. It's definitely worth a try if you are a severe migrainer."
Review 4 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 9, 2014

Best purchase yet

Pros: easy to use, can wear it to your next comicon
Cons: eletrodes seem pricey.
"So far I've used this thing about 6 times. It's prevented 2 potential migraine attacks. We'll see how it goes for longer term, but, so far, it's worked amazing. One less migraine which can last several days is already worth it for me.
Electrodes seem a bit pricey. Search for electrode gel. I'm going to buy the gel and just paste it on the original electrode and see if it works before buying the refills."
Review 5 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ponoka, ab
Date:February 5, 2014

works wonders

"M y migraines have all but disappeared. I haven't had a migraine for 3 weeks,aura and all they are usually the worst ones!! but the Immitrex Med worked quickly AND NO rebound headaches. I put it on once a day or more often if I cant stay away from a migraine trigger. If you know some one who suffers migraine this may help. Oh, My migraines were so bad from Nov to mid December like 5 days out of seven!"
Review 6 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:February 3, 2014

A game changer

Pros: very good cost effective therapy
Cons: the electrodes should last longer or be cheaper
"I have chronic migraines with a diagnosis of intractible headache. All the usual meds were far short of helpful enough. Upon giving up on me, my neurologist recommended the cefaly, claiming that several of her patients had good results. It smelled like another placebo remedy. However, all the other real remedies were only marginally helpful. I tried it since there were no options left. It worked! It really worked. I still have too many headaches. However, they are usually much less severe and no longer daily. Money well spent. I even use less medication."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC
Date:January 16, 2014

So glad I bought it

Pros: take less medicine, reasonably priced, relaxing even without headaches, could be used as part of your star trek costume
Cons: must buy electrode refills
"This has really been a game-changer for me. My sister, mom and I all get terrible tension headaches, and the occasional (but all-too-frequent) migraine.
I have to admit, I thought my sister looked like a nut the first time I saw her using it, but seeing as how she swore by it, I tried it. Was intrigued but not convinced after first try, but once I let it get to full power, it really truly made a big difference. I have used this device both for getting rid of headaches and for preventing them.
It works better to prevent than to eliminate headaches, I must admit. If you use it semi-regularly, you will definitely notice a decrease in the frequency of your headaches. Plus, it's a nice escape!
Once you have a killer headache, for me it takes at least 2 rounds to lessen the headache to 'manageable', and 3+ to get rid of it... the thing is, I rarely get that far - I fall asleep before it fixes it, and I wake up feeling SO much better. It is very very relaxing, and works much faster than drugs.
Take good care of the electrodes, or they will dry quickly.
I have recommended this to anyone who'll listen. Go for it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON
Date:January 13, 2014

Migraine BE GONE!

Pros: destroys migraines!, reduces the frequency of migraine attacks., using one always relaxes me and i get a good nap., improved my quality of life.
Cons: can't wear it in public., only comes in one color.
"I've been getting migraines since I was 6 years old...At a pace of about 1 or 2 every two weeks. And I get the serious kind; crazy auras, nausea, vomiting, sensitivity to sound and light, the feeling that someone is trying to nail a large spike through my eye...Just terrible, terrible suffering and pain.
I bought the Cefaly on the recommendation of a friend who knows someone that has one. I initially looked it up to see what it was and thought he was crazy...BUT...As I am willing to try anything once, I bought one. And I've tried it all...all the drugs...all the natural remedies...i've been to neurologists...i've done everything possible to avoid having migraines, changed my diet, sleeping habits, etc...and nothing has helped. NOTHING!
Until now...
The Cefaly arrived and 2 days later I got one of my very familiar pre-migraine auras...The kind that starts as a pin-point of light in the middle of my vision and grows outward into a hundred multi-colored, bright, vibrating lines. I hooked up the Celfay, lay down on my bed, pressed the start button, and waited.
I woke up 20 minutes later and my migraine was gone...GONE!!! I couldn't believe it! Since then, I've had 3 more migraines that I've been able to get rid of within 20 minutes of using the Cefaly. That was 7 months ago...And even the migraines that I do get now are weaker and easier to get rid of. I don't do the daily program so I don't know if it gets rid of them completely, but what I do know is that I have way less migraines and they are not as strong as they used to be.
Now, I never go anywhere without taking it with me. I'm thinking of buying a second one to leave at work just in case I ever forget to bring it with me from home.
So, believe me when I say that the Cefaly has worked for me. Just make sure you read the instructions carefully and use the program best suited to you.
Good luck!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:December 27, 2013

Helpful Tool For Headache Management

Pros: small, easy to use, portability-can use while doing other things, price
Cons: only one electrode included
"I saw this product on Dragon's Den and immediately was intrigued. I am a long time sufferer of migraines & tension headaches and am willing to try anything! The unit is somewhat of a tens machine, but engineered to specifically treat your head. It is very helpful during a headache episode, but also good for prevention-I would sometimes use mine for an hour at a time. My only complaint is that it came with just one electrode. You might as well order the additional ones now, as they only last for 15 uses. I shopped around, the unit and additional electrodes are the best price at Costco.ca. Tip-When storing electrodes, keep it airtight to preserve gel. Also, the wipes are very large, use them several times by just folding over to a clean spot (keep airtight as well)."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:December 25, 2013

Enormous Relief

Pros: portable quick results no side effects
"I love this device. During a migraine, using it provides welcome relief from the pain and I usually doze off for the 20 minutes cycle. Afterwards, the pain is lessened if not completely gone and I am refreshed. (If I have the time, I enjoy using it 2 or 3 times in succession) I much prefer this to taking medications that knock me out for an entire day. I also use the device if I wake in the night and have trouble sleeping as it relaxes me and puts me into a deep rest. I ordered extra electrodes along with the unit, and I'm glad I did because I do use it often. My migraines seem to have lessened in frequency. I wouldn't want to part with it now. Highly recommend trying it. I am glad I did."
Review 11 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2013

Awesome Device - wish I had it years ago.

Pros: consistently eliminates an early migraine
Cons: only comes with one electrode
"I was not expecting much from this product but would have been happy with a modest benefit in addition to other treatments. The first time I used the unit I had a full on migraine with nausea, and used the treatment setting twice, it felt so good to push the migraine pain to the back of my head. But it did not result in removal of the headache. I have used it prophylactically, and I didn't get a headache on those stormy days, but who knows whether or not I would have gotten one anyway. I am most excited about using the unit to treat an early migraine. Consistently I have used it in treatment mode and totally eliminated the headache. I haven't taken an analgesic in days - unheard of. Other than colleagues at work looking at me sideways out of the corners of their eyes, things are great with this machine, and I can see that it will be important in my life . It should come with more electrodes since they will be well used."
Review 12 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:March 15, 2013

Unbelieveable results

Pros: portable
Cons: none!!
"I was so skeptical when I bought this, but it was Costco's return policy that allowed me the courage to try it. I am so glad I did. I have migraines, without aura,sinus and tension headaches, etc. I was getting them every 10 days or so and they would last 4-5 days each time. I purchased this in November and was going to return it but after 6 weeks, I noticed that i had only had one migraine. It feels like needles poking you at first and you have to bare with it. Over time you can tolerate more and it becomes pleasant. After using it for 3 1/2 months I have only had 2 migraines! (While eating chocolate and drinking red wine!) For me that is an amazing result. I have noticed that it works to prevent migraines if you use it on the highest setting when you feel one coming on. My "electrode" is only now wearing out and I am ordering more. Make sure you clean your skin before applying it and it will last 4 months like mine! I also no longer have that constant low grade headache. Wonderful product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brantford Ontario
Date:February 15, 2013

So far-So AWEsome

Pros: compact can use anytime anywhere!
Cons: having to keep buying the electrodes
"Just recently purchaced this awsome machine! I suffer from frequent headaches almost daily, and weather related migraines, and have been on so many different meds! I cant give a full review at present because I have had it only for a month, but I love this!!! I stopped the heavy drugs and am taking some stronger over the counter stuff, once or twice a week! And this is not just for migraine sufferers, what a great relief after a stressfull day, totally relaxes, what a sensation!! I even told my Doctor about it and he is going to check it out!! LOVE so far- some have said that it doesnt get rid of migraines, but even if a temporary escape, it is well worth it!! Would love to review once again at a later date!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laval, QC
Date:February 7, 2013

A genuine miracle!!

Pros: easy to use & the darn thing works!!!, also great for intense relaxation!
Cons: costly replacement electrodes but worth it.
"My wife has suffered from migraines for some 35 years. She gets some relief from powerful medication but, that's habit forming etc. Enters Cefaly demo on Dragon's Den. Bought a unit and OH MIRACLE! Migraines DO disappear when unit is used correctly. Thank you for a great invention."
Review 15 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Date:January 31, 2013

Worth the investment!

"I have suffered from migraines for a number of years. I have tried various medications and consulted numerous doctors and specialists. After having seen the product on Dragon’s Den, I figured I had nothing to lose. The Cefaly has proven to improve the intensity of my migraines and has enabled me to be more active rather than feel debilitated during a migraine. I am pleased with the positive effects the device has provided. The device also offers a relaxation switch. After a stressful day at the office, I look forward to going home to my Cefaly. The Cefaly device is worth the investment. I can’t validate that the device would benefit everyone in the same way but it is definitely worth trying."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 25, 2013

Made my headache worse

Pros: none
Cons: worsened condition
"I've been suffering from tension headache accompanied by dizziness. I was desperate for the remedy for my headache after none of the medical tests found the cause. When I found Cefaly and read about the positive reviews, I was very happy and purchased it right away.
Since I started Cefaly, my head muscle contraction got worse. The contraction became very intense to the level that I've never experienced before, so I discontinued Cefaly and it took me a few days for the intense contraction to disappear.
Since I stopped Cefaly, such a strong muscle contraction never came back, so it is obvious that Cefaly caused the strong contraction.
I don't know about other types of headache, but at least I won't recommend it for people with tension headache."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia
Date:December 11, 2012

works when in use

Pros: relieves migraine while in use, relaxes body
Cons: expensive, headache returns when session is finished, did not reduce frequency of migraines
"Had high hopes for this product after extensive research and trying anything and everything to reduce the severity of migraines. Wouldn't it be great to not have to take anymore medication?!
My husband has been a sufferer of aura migraines for 15 years. They are quite severe. According to him this product feels absolutely wonderful when it's in use during an attack, however, once the session is over, the pain returns as if it never left. Unfortunately you can't seem to stop doing sessions because it feels so good. This would be great if the electrodes didn't wear out after about 7 sessions and they weren't so expensive to replace. Unless you can afford to use this product, I wouldn't recommend. His doctor didn't advise him to use or not use the product, but did say that your body is full of electricity and you shouldn't mess with it's natural rythym.
"
Review 18 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2012

Couldn't be happier!

Cons: a bit pricey but well worth it!
"Quick delivery to begin with. As soon as it arrived, I was excited to test it out. Although I wasn't suffering from a headache, this product has 3 different settings- including one for stress relief and general well-being! So far, very satisfied. Pretty confident of this products capabilities. Would definitely recommend!"
Review 19 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawkesbury , Ontario
Date:August 31, 2012

Very happy and surprised...

"I get migraines all the time. After research I saw this product and being sooo tired of the dreadful pain and being stuck in the house all the time, I decided to try it. What did I have to lose. At the start of a migraine that usually lasts 3 to 4 days I was very surprised that it lasted only 2 days and half of the pain. It is incredible and to say that I had the Cefaly only 2 weeks but I am sure it's really gonna work...FINALY"
Review 20 for Cefaly® Anti-migraine Device
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC
Date:August 22, 2012

Best Purchase Ever For Headache

Pros: easy to use, very nice sensation
Cons: electrodes are a little pricey
"I was a little skeptical when I bought the unit since I get migraines followed by tension headache. This device is a life saver. It really helps both the migraine and tension headache. It was worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>