Customer Reviews for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener

Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener

Nellie’s oxygen brightener is colour safe, septic safe and environmentally safe which is good news for you and bad news for stains and odors. This chlorine-free oxygen whitener releases a boost of oxygen for bleaching stains, while cleaning and brightening colours and whites. Just like all Nellie’s products, it’s biodegradable and hypoallergenic.   Features: Contains 4 x 32 load tins – enough to brighten approximately 128 loads of laundry   Colour safe   Septic safe   Environmentally safe   Chlorine free   Biodegradable   Scent free   Super concentrated   Hypoallergenic   HE certified   Front loader compatible   Contains sodium carbonate, sodium percarbonate, primary linear alcohol ethoxylate and sodium sulfate Model: NOX
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Review 1 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Date:April 29, 2014

Great Stain Remover

Pros: removes stains, dissolves grease, a little goes a long way
Cons: none
"My grandchild bled on my new wool, dining room rug. He was afraid to tell me so when I found the stain the next day, it was absorbed and dried into the rug. I mixed some Nellie's in warm water, sprayed the area and then waited 20 minutes to dab it up. The area is as good as new. I am very impressed."
Review 2 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lower mainland BC
Date:November 21, 2013

Terrific stuff!

Pros: terrific stain lifting power. a true brightener!
"This is wonderful- my daughter's blankey is a white [ugh!] background with hearts on it, with a light pink back. We are constantly washing it as it's always filthy!
One very disgusting afternoon, the blanket nearly brown with grime, I tossed it into a load and washed, adding this brightener for the first time. On a whim, I stopped the load after a few minutes of agitation, and came back after letting it soak for half of an hour. I turned the machine back on as usual, and then dried... I haven't seen that blankey look so WHITE since about two weeks into her owning it. I am still stunned, this is incredible cleaner!!
"
Review 3 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Medicine Hat, Alberta
Date:September 14, 2013

It brightened my day.

Pros: a little goes a long way., affordable., whitens and brightens, i love the tins it comes in., i don't have to go to the store to get it., it's delivered.
"I noticed a big difference the first load. I've tried it by soaking my whites overnight and then putting them through the laundry. They made my whites so much whiter. You only have to use a small amount compared to other whiteners. I would definitely recommend this to everyone."
Review 4 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:September 10, 2013

Must-have in your laundy room

Pros: 4 tubs goes a long way
"I am happy with my previous purchase so I thought of getting it again. It does brighten up my clothes and gives me the "Clean" effect. Along with the Nellie's Laundry Soda, you can be assured of your clothes being cleaned and is very effective even to sensitive skins such as my kids. Hope it goes on sale too like the laundry soda. Thanks!"
Review 5 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB
Date:May 15, 2013

Best detergent on market

Pros: works like nothing else for stains and brightness, fresh and clean even for he front loader, enviro safe no fragrance
Cons: wish it came in bulk size i use 3 scoops/lg load
"Used with the laundry soda, my preschoolers' clothes have never been cleaner. Tide/Cheer/Sunlight/Woolite even with Shout have nothing on this."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New WestMinster BC
Date:April 9, 2013

Mixed feelings

Pros: i like the concept of this environmental safety
Cons: the laundry detergent need the brightener always, enviromentally good but not superior results.
"The laundry detergent on its own left several white t-shirts looking quite grey within four washes. I have compared the same make of tshirts with Cheer in another home I have. After a few months the Nellies were more drab. I added the brightener, and it helps, but truly only as bright as the Cheer, not better."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:June 11, 2012

Love Nellie's

Pros: i don't need fabric softener
Cons: none
"I have been using this product for several months now and cannot imagine going back to brand name detergents.
I no longer use fabric softener. Perhaps it is for this reason my washer no longer smells funny and after cleaning the rubber seal where the door closes months ago), it is no longer dirty and grimey.
While it does not get out all stains all of the time, not even the best selling brand names I've used did. The laundry is brighter - I was shocked at how bright a worn out, old white sweatshirt became ...it has been years since it looked that good."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ajax, ON
Date:May 7, 2012

Excellent Product

Pros: no smell, clothes bright, clothes soft
Cons: none
"I purchased this with the Laundry Detergent to find out if I needed it for every wash. I found I only need it for clothing with stains.
There is no smell in my clothes after using this product and the clothes are very soft and colours bright. But Nellie's Laundry Detergent also produces bright colours with no smell.
I use a top loading washer and 1 scoop is enough to remove most stains. I had an acrylic + another fiber T-shirt that had been previously washed with OxyClean and a regular liquid detergent without removing a tea stain. The Nellie's Oxygen Brightener lightened the stain but also did not remove it. I wasn't surprised by that. I plan to try again by using a pre-soak with a paste of Nellie's Laundry Detergent and Nellie's Oxygen Brightener and see if that removes the stain.
I am very happy with the way my clothes turned out, very soft, colours bright and none had a smell to them at all."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Albert, Alberta
Date:December 8, 2011

Unbelievable!!

Pros: very economical, great price
Cons: left undissolved powder even in warm water wash., otherwise i'd give it 5 stars
"I have not seen my clothes this clean in a long time! The colored ones are so bright and the whites are so clean. Light stains disappeared considering I only put 1 tbl of the powder (for small load). There is no obvious fragrance after taking them out to put in the dryer. Just a clean, fresh smell.
I am very pleased with this product and will buy it regularly.
"
Review 10 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Hill, ON
Date:October 11, 2011

Better than OxyClean!!

Pros: it works!!!, no horrible chemical smell
Cons: none!
"Although I love how well OxyClean works, I can't stand the smell! Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener is awesome because it does a fantastic job and doesn't have a scent that bothers me. I am so glad I decided to give it a try...along with Nellie’s Laundry Soda. I can't believe I've never heard of these products up until now. Hope they never discontinue making it."
Review 11 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:October 3, 2011

Better than anything else I've tried

Pros: improved whiteness in my he wash
Cons: on the pricey side
"I've been a bit disppointed with the brightness of my wash, after buying a well-rated HE washer. But this brightener, coupled with Nellie's washing soda, has definitely and noticeably brightened my wash and whitened my whites. I am thrilled to pieces! It works like a charm in an HE front loader."
Review 12 for Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC
Date:September 15, 2011

Great job

"It brightens and whitens clothes/towels. And it doesn't have harsh chemicals which is great as we have a young toddler!"