Customer Reviews for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano

Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano

The Casio® CDP220 digital piano delivers high-tone quality, includes powerful functions, and features a helpful lesson function. With hundreds of built-in tones and rhythms plus an extensive song bank, this piano is designed and engineered to help you sound your best! Features: 88 full-size scaled hammer action keys with touch response   48-note polyphonic maximum   700 tones   200 rhythms   Effects: Reverb (10 types); Chorus (5 types)   Acoustic resonance   Pitch bend wheel   Recorder and metronome features for lesson support   4 fingering methods (normal, Casio® chord, fingered, full-range chord)   Rhythm controller: Start, stop, synchro, fill-in   Auto accompaniment   Song expansion: 10 songs maximum   Music presets (305 preset)   Registration (8 banks x 4 sets for 32 setups)   One-touch presets: Recalls settings for tone, tempo, layer, on/off, and harmonize on/off in accordance with rhythm   Scale editor: 16 preset scales, 4 memory scales   Music library: 152 songs   Memory functions: Songs: 5; Recording tracks: 6; Capacity: Approximately 12,000 notes total; Functions: Real-time recording, playback   General MIDI level 1 compatible   SDHC™ memory card slot   USB port   2 speakers: 16 W total output (bass-reflex speakers)   Headphones jack What’s Included: CDP220 Piano   Sustain pedal   AC adapter   Piano stand   Bench Specifications: Dimensions with stand (W x D x H): 133.3 cm x 34.1 cm x 75.7 cm (52 in. x 13.5 in. x 30 in.); Weight: 31.6 kg (69 lb.) Warranty: 1 year For more information about this product or for replacement parts, call the Casio Customer Service Centre at 1-800-370-9083. Model: CDP220RBKC3 (666022)
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Review 1 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, On
Date:February 3, 2014

Great value

"Excellent quality, excellent price. We never expected to find such a wonderful instrument for this price. We were amazed at the quick delivery, too. We were sure it wouldn't be in time for our granddaughter's birthday, since we ordered it late, but it came in 3 days! Exceptional!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fergus, ON
Date:January 23, 2014

Better Than Expected

"Great sound without the hassle of a real piano. The keys are touch-sensitive, so the harder you hit them, the louder the sound. Excellent for our kids who are learning and extremely convenient for those who don't want a piano in the house. Don't know how it compares to more expensive digital pianos, but I was very, very pleased with the quality and the feel of the keys."
Review 3 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:January 17, 2014

Love it!

Pros: compact size, affordable, great sound
Cons: exposed wires - but no big deal
"Read all the other reviews and decided to buy this Piano. I haven't really played in 20 years and wanted to start again. I love it. The keys are a good weight, the options to play with are endless and it comes with two piano books with great songs to learn to play. It takes up almost no room and I love that I can pop in a pair of headphones and practice without waking up the kids."
Review 4 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kemptville, ON
Date:January 11, 2014

Great and doesn't take up too much room

Pros: all the features you need for learning., doesn't take up a lot of room
Cons: exposed wires
"Bought this because I always wanted to learn piano but never had the room or money for a full sized piano. Has all I need to learn and feels pretty much like the piano at my weekly lesson. My only down would be the exposed wires since I have a cat that might decide to chew on them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013

good choice for original learners

"Yes,I am very glad to recommend this product,it's good!The price and the quality.
it's true for a original learner to make the dream of plays piano.
"
Review 6 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013

You Get What You Pay For

Pros: feel of the keys, tonnes of sound options and features, tutorials, small compact size
Cons: no dust cover, loud clanky keys, pedal moves around
"Considering the considerably low cost of this digital piano, I feel as though I should not be complaining. However, I must say that the keys are extremely clanky. When a song is recorded the key clank overpowers the music. This digital piano is good for beginners and people who want to buy a piano just to play for fun. The sound is similar to that of a grand piano but it still has that keyboard sound. The hammer keys are great, though! And there are a lot of fun features to play with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:February 6, 2013

Great buy

Pros: extremely good value for money
Cons: non to report!
"Great first time piano! Weighted keys and a great learning tool."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON
Date:February 4, 2013

Excellent value and quality!

Pros: price & features, piano like keyboard, matching bench and stand, fast delivery
Cons: hard to read display (angle dependent)
"This is an excellent electric piano! I had the Yamaha P95 at much higher price and cannot come close to this Casio piano. The features are almost comparable to the higher end electronic piano with many other functions. I was surprised to see this piano can be used as a keyboard with split function. Also, hundreds of sounds and ryhthms for keyboarding. The keyboard feel is piano like. Sturdy built quality. This is more than a piano!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Marys, Ontario
Date:January 21, 2013

Can't go wrong for this price!

Pros: sounds great!, price is great!
Cons: the clicking noises of the keys, others will hear it if you are playing with a, headset on. (but to me not a big deal)
"As the title says, you can't go wrong with this price.
As soon as I got it all set up and started playing it I was thinking "WOW, this is great!" Yes there is a little clicking noise from the keys if are trying to play it without sound, but who does that lol? The sound is great, sounds so very much like a piano and I think that's awesome for this price. Yeah sure, I'm sure there much better keyboard out there, but not for this price.
I would tell anyone who needs something to learn on or even for people who've been playing for years, this is the keyboard that will not make you go broke.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, Ont.
Date:November 20, 2012

Great value!

"Wanted a full keyboard piano. Got a lot more!
Wide variety of tones (including percussion).
Flexibility to interface with other devices.
Piano stool is better than previous reviews would suggest.
"
Review 11 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2012

Great buy

Pros: good sound quality, like real keyboard, sound effect, build-in lessons for some popular pieces
Cons: only sustain pedal is provided, 3-pedal is not available as option
"I would recommend this piano to anyone who wants to start learning piano. It is great for beginners for its price and sound quality, the keyboard is just like acoustic piano, plus providing a number of sound effects that would make more fun on practicing.
Costco also did a great job, I got the piano delivered in just 2 days after placing the order online."
Review 12 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan
Date:November 13, 2012

Excellent Value

"Our household is enjoying this piano both as a first time player and someone returning after not playing for 25 years. The sound is great for the price, the set up was straightforward.
Costco was excellent in its communication and the keyboard arrived to a remote address only 4 days after it was ordered.
I would recommend this model to anyone looking for good value in a keyboard.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough ON
Date:November 12, 2012

Very satisfied

"We are enjoying this digital piano very much. Delivery was prompt and assembly quick and easy. As well as many 'extra' features, the piano has a very good sound."
Review 14 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:November 8, 2012

Excellent for the price

Pros: lots of features enough for a kid to learn piano
Cons: there is clunk noise when pressing down notes
"For the price on sale, this is an excellent piano to buy"
Review 15 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2012

Great Value

Pros: 88 weighted keys - usb - sounds and rythms
Cons: none
"Cosco shipped the Casio CD220 very quickly and in good condition. The weighted keys feel very much like a real piano plus the other instrument sounds and drum rythums take this beyond just a piano. The USB port allows you to add "garage band" from your I-pad, use the earphone jack for privacy or on-board speakers. The price makes this a great student instrument for those moving up to a weighted key board . Time will tell it's reliability"
Review 16 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:September 25, 2012

Great starter piano

Pros: excellent value, very good sound, lots of features
Cons: audible "clacking" sound when key is released, could use a more sturdy chair
"I ordered this piano after reading a few Internet reviews and reviews on Costco. I ordered it on a Monday, shipped on Friday that same week and I received it on Thursday the following week. It took a little longer than expected compared to what others have experienced.
Anyways, onto the product review. Compared to a Yamaha acoustic upright piano, this Casio sounds very good. It doesn't have quite the same tonal qualities of a true acoustic but it's very good. The other thing I've noticed that other internet reviews have mentioned is the audible "clack" when you release the keys. I was playing a soft piece of music requiring a soft, quiet touch and when I release the keys you could hear the keys "clack". It's not a loud sound but my wife standing next to me while I played could hear it also.
I bought this piano for my 5 year old son that is taking music lessons. I wanted to get something that would simulate a piano very well that would not cost a lot of money and this piano fits the bill perfectly. It's not a perfect piano but it's perfect for what I need it for. We're also having fun with the built-in songs and some of the cool features which more than makes up for the cons I mentioned.
The keyboard is not very heavy (good for moving around) and has a good quality feel, look and touch to the unit. At least for me I find the quality more than what I paid for it so I'm very happy with the piano. It took me about 15 minutes to put it together by myself and is very easy to do so. The included chair is not quite as sturdy as I would like but it does a good job.
All things considered this is an excellent value for all the features you get. You get a very good sounding piano, good touch (with the exception of the clack mentioned above), visually appealing and low cost."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, ON
Date:September 19, 2012

Great buy!

Pros: fast shipping attractive good quality & sound
Cons: i don't know how to play yet!
"Shipped within 48 hours, looks great, easy to setup, sturdy, simple, and attractive!
The features are endless, I doubt I'll ever use them all, but they are very simple to use and the manual (which, by the way, DOES come in English -- at least now it does) describes everything.
GREAT BUY!!"
Review 18 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:May 11, 2012

Great key action and sound

"Always had an acoustic piano until this one, and it is great. The key action is very similiar to a traditional piano, and softs and louds are possible with just a touch. Lots of other possibilities that I have yet to discover. It is difficult to keep the pedal in place, but that is the only improvement needed. Great piano for the money!"
Review 19 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:May 9, 2012

Great product

"My twin boys are using this Piano and it is a great product. They love it to play for hours and hours. Their learning has increased significantly with this Piano."
Review 20 for Casio® CDP220 Compact Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON.
Date:May 1, 2012

Fantastic sound and value

Pros: exceptional tone for the money, very versatile depending on skill of the player, full compact keyboard
Cons: small bench is just so-so. it functions fine.
"Less than 24 hrs delivery!! This was a triple A investment. Unbelievable sound and full 88 keyboard. Very much like the real thing and very easy to assemble. Nicely weighted keys. My sister-in-law is a very experienced and talented pianist. She was very impressed with the touch, the tone quality, the playing options, and versatility. Bought as a gift for my wife who is a new student. She is absolutely thrilled. This keyboard is a winner!"
1 2 next>>