Customer Reviews for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine

Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine

The Marcy® SM 4008 combo Smith machine is built for the ultimate workout. It comes with a removable bench to allow a full range of weight-lifting exercises. Safer then conventional free-weight racks , the Marcy® SM 4008 works all upper and lower body muscles and helps increase muscle mass, stamina and strength. Features: Weights not included Oversized, large diameter square tubing   Steel aircraft cables rated at 907.2 kg (2000 lb.) tensile strength   Durable powder-coat finish   2.5 cm (1-in.) chrome-plated guide rods   Boxed upholstery with high-density foam   Nylon-reinforced pulleys with sealed bearings   Smith style press bar with adjustable safety stops   Contoured foam roller pads   Oversized and adjustable safety catches   4 olympic weight-plate storage posts   Weights not included (sold separately)   Chin-up bar   Fully adjustable seat pad adjust for incline, flat and decline chest press exercises   Included V-Bar, shiver bar, triceps rope, chain link, 2-handles and ankle strap   136 kg (300 lb.) weight capacity for the user 136 kg (300 lb.) weight capacity for the weight on the bars Specifications: Dimensions (L x W X H): 248.9 cm x 149.9 cm x 208.3 cm (98 in. x 59 in. x 82 in.) Weight: 127 kg (280 lb.) Warranty:  2 years For more information about this product, call the Donleigh Sports Customer Service Centre at 1-800-513-3320. Model: SM 4008
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Review 1 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Laval, Québec
Date:March 21, 2013

Very good for the price

Pros: versatile, cheap, relatively compact considering all it offers
Cons: weights have to be purchased separately, changing weights during training takes time, flimsy weights sliding post mechanism
"I have been using this product since a couple of weeks. Overall, I am pretty satisfied especially considering how cheap it is. This is not a commercial grade gymn, but it is suitable for home use. I had no issues assembling it, although it took several hours. There were no missing part. Instructions were very precise and the hardware was very well sorted and identified in the packaging. I had only one issue with a faulty bearing on a pulley. I called the Impex customer service number provided in the assembly instructions and got a replacement pulley delivered at no cost to my home address. It was somewhat difficult to get an answer (I had to try several times) but the service provided was efficient and courteous. After several weeks of using the gymn, it shows no defect. However, I find the sliding post mechanism is a bit flimsy. The weights are gliding on a plastic bushing. I suspect this area is more prone to premature wear. It would have been great to have a ball bearing mechanism there instead. I compensate by using a lot of lubricant (Jig-a-loo does great). I use that same lubricant for the bench press guide posts too. That way, they don't stick (as noted by other customers). When they start to stick again, a little shot of jig-a-loo and they work great for another while.
Warning: The assembled height is 85 inches, not the 82 inches mentioned in the specs!"
Review 2 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, B.C.
Date:April 2, 2012

Great Machine.....Unbelievable Customer Service!!!

Pros: unbelievable price, has the ability to do all the gym workouts
"I purchased this unit 3 weeks ago and am extremely pleased with the quality and the ability of the machine!!! Not to mention the unbelievable price!!! Customer service!!!!! Priceless!!!!
I typically dont write reviews on products but, I gotta say, I am very very happy with the service that I have just recieved from IMPEX!
This is what happened......One of my pull down straps came apart on one of the D-rings....and my bench had some stiching that was coming apart.....now, as you can imagine, as a customer my mind was reeling on how I was gonna call the company and give them my sob story.....meanwhile, I had already taken pictures to prove to them that I have been wronged!!!! So I made the Call!
Here's how the coversation went.
I basically said my machine is coming apart in a couple of places, and..... no questions asked...she said "do you have the part number on hand?", I said yes, and gave them to her along with my address, and she said "okay, they will be there in 5-10 business days"!!!!!!!! That was It!!!!
I have never recieved customer service like this before!!! I will never buy another product if it doesnt say IMPEX on it!!! They just made a customer for life!!!!
Thank you IMPEX"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:February 17, 2012

Satisfied

Pros: quality
Cons: smith bar could have been smoother.
"As others have pointed out, the smith bar needs to be kept perfactly flat for a smooth motion. I cut little over 8 inches of the bar and using the 8`` olympic sleeves (4 came for weight storage) on the smith bar so that it does not stick out too much."
Review 4 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam BC
Date:February 3, 2012

Could be good?

"We purchased the gym 3 weeks ago and went to assemble the gym and a main piece was missing,emailed impex(no answer), phoned next day(told 5-10) business days for delivery, 8days later phoned and was told 6-8 weeks for delivery. Phoned Donnelly and told same thing. Contacted Costco and told them we would return the product if it wasn't delivered sooner and will find out by Monday if we need to do this. It looks like a good product but the service isn't(except for the Costco rep)"
Review 5 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Paradise, NL
Date:January 23, 2012

Good buy, mediocre smith machine

Cons: assembly, smith machine below average
"good bench, cables are smooth and work well. Smith machine is poor, sticks, not enough adjustability-stops are too far apart. Expect too spend 6+ hours to assemble."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:January 21, 2012

Great Value $, but not a High-End Machine

"We were happy to add this Smith Machine to our home gym!
Pros: good quality materials (ie. welds), very versatile machine (supports the ability to do many exercises), it has a good solid adjustable bench, and it's good value for the money
Cons: the pulley system is not smooth, when using the smith bar - if not kept completely level it catches slightly on the low side (we lubed up the guide poles with lithium grease which helps, but it can still catch), the bench is good and solid, but having the leg exercise gear on the front makes it hard to get on and off. Also, the guys with the delivery company should consider using this set - as between the two of them they couldn't lift the boxes and ending up damaging the packaging (thankfully not the product!)
All in all, we enjoy having this machine and are seeing great results!"
Review 7 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:January 14, 2012

What a Workout

Pros: nice pulley system, well made bench, rack to support olympic sized bar/weights, the smith bar
Cons: needs olympic weight plates to function, installation (time + care)
"Like Many of us who has been working out in the gym and paying a monthly membership, I recently started the process to working out in the convenience of my own basement.
With a good understanding of workout routines and the proper ways to do them, This Marcy Combo Smith Machine not only will replace the Gym, It will challenge your body to do just about any workout that works every muscle.
The Pully system works smoothly and is functionally designed to work in any space you put this into. The attachments that it came with will pretty much work for your everyday pulley workouts at the gym.
You can easily adjust the weight resistence with any olympic sized weight plates. However if you dont currently have the weight plates, remember you'll need to purchase them seperately in order to put this Combo Machine to use.
The Smith Bar takes precise installation as for any machine at this size and scale. It works well however without proper calibration you might find vibration or just a slight inbalance in it. However this could be fixed and adjusted easily at installation.
The Bench itself is well made and durable. Multi Position along with the leg developer which you just can't go wrong with.
I would recommend that you get a Olympic Barbell weight set along with this. you'll save some money on the weight places and the barbell comes in handy for many workouts with the bench.
Hope this help and enjoy your new home gym everyone!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Marcy® SM 4008 Combo Smith Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge
Date:January 10, 2012

Great for a Home Gym

Pros: solid quality, looks cool, smooth pulley system
Cons: smith rack sticks a little just work with it.
"If you are going to start building your own home gym, this is the piece of equipment to start with. All your other pieces such as a Powerblock Dumbell Set, Sit-up Bench, TreadMill and a Exercise Bike are really all the pieces that you need to work out at home and not even consider getting a gym membership. I've been going to the gym for approx. 25 years and know with this piece of equipment, I don't need to waste anymore time or energy getting to the gym for a workout. I can comfortably train my entire body in my own home. The quality of this home gym is very good. I am very picky with my equipment and I'm used to training in gyms with really good equipment. I would say that this Marcy Home Gym is great and comparable to anything you would really find in a gym setting. It's not how fancy your equipment is that you train on, it's the intensity that you train at. This set completes and compliments the rest of my equipment that I have at home. I would recommend this home gym to anyone interested in building a good quality gym for themselves in the comforts of their own home. It takes a good work day to set it up, if you take your time and do everthing correctly. It's worth the effort, trust me, I love this gym set. Regards, 'In Training'! :)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.