Customer Reviews for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Features: 142 L (5.0 cu.ft.) capacity   Energy Star® compliant   194 kWh per year   Easily accessible front-mount mechanical thermostat   Front-mount drain for quick and easy defrost maintenance   1 storage basket for smaller frequently used items   Smooth-back design for a flush fit against walls Specifications: Dimensions (W x D x H): 85.5 cm x 56 cm x 83.5 cm; (33.6 in. x 22.1 in. x 32.8 in.) Weight: 43.4 kg (95.9 lb.) Warranty: 18 months in-home parts and labour Model: DCFM142WDD
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
11
6 of 18(33%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Review 1 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:December 13, 2012

Terrible product

Cons: short life, content loss, poor customer service
"I wish I could give this no stars... This freezer COST me money.
At first it worked great - for about a week. Just enough time for me to fill it up and feel confident. Then the compressor went while I was out of town. I returned home to a freezer was still running but not even chilling the food. Everything was luke warm and likely had been for days - had to throw everything out. A huge nuisance and a loss of hundreds of dollars. Then had to load it back up to take back to Costco. And stand in line for nearly an hour to get my money back and file a complaint.
Danby does not 'normally' cover loss of contents. When the rep called to talk to me about my complaint (weeks after filing it) she spun a story about how they had been trying to reach me for some time - yet I had no missed calls and no voicemails on either number I had provided them with. She wanted to offer me a meager $75 credit solely due to the fact that I was a Costco member. When I said I'd rather take the matter up with Costco again she basically hung up on me.
Based on the reviews on costco.ca and other sites selling Danby, the chances of the freezer giving out in the first year or so is about 50%. Save yourself the headache and substantial monetary loss and DO NOT PURCHASE THIS. I know these are cheap, but it's not worth it. Buy a decent brand that stands behind their product.
I'm very disappointed in Costco for selling such a low quality appliance. And I'm surprised they still carry this brand after such a large percentage of terrible reviews. Not what I've come to expect from them."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:July 12, 2011

Pass on this brand

Pros: compact light
Cons: designed to fail
"Our Danby chest freezer from Costco, died just a few months after the warranty expired; the motor/compressor seized. The repair quote was as much or more than a new one. Compared to my mom's Admiral deep freeze purchased in 1968 and still running, I would not recommend this brand. Only lasting about two years??? I say steer clear of this brand! Costco has a "made in USA" Admiral in the store now, we'll get that one!"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014

Great value

Pros: compact with separated side compartment.
Cons: none
"Purchased this for my son at College three months ago.
Works great, no glitches, nice small light freezer that is a great vaule for the price. Adjustable temp and is energy star rated.
No cons to note.
"
Review 4 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Date:February 22, 2012

You will like it for sure !!!

Pros: good storage space, well built, good warranty, quiet performance
Cons: not really !!!
"I recently purchased this item, delivered in 4 business days, set-up was easy, no noise at all, it feels like well built, consistent temperature performance & plenty of storage room for family of four. I really like this Danby chest freezer. It came with 18 months in-home parts & labour warranty, only when purchased through Costco website. I certainly recommend this freezer based on my satisfaction so far."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia
Date:April 5, 2013

Not worth the time

Pros: it is a nice freezer when it works
Cons: short life span, numerous poor reviews
"Purchased in December of 2012, stopped working in March of 2013. The compressor broke and would no longer start up, making only a loud clicking sound before the power cut off. Thankfully I was around when this started, so I didn't lose any food.
I should have listened to the reviews on Costco.ca but decided to give it a try. Don't make the same mistake. The only good thing about this situation is Costco standing behind their products 100%."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, NS
Date:January 2, 2014

Good Freezer, Great Value!

"I purchased my Danby freezer 11 years ago and it is still going strong. The only work required is an annual cleaning/defrosting, which is expected. I would definitely recommend this to others."
Review 7 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Date:November 5, 2012

Failed after two and a half months

Pros: cheap
Cons: limited lifespan, poor reliability, cheap
"Keep your receipt!
This freezer worked perfectly... For two and a half months. Luckily, when we noticed that it wasn't running only one side had defrosted and we were able to save some of the contents. We still had to throw out about $1000 worth of meats and this year's batch of frozen blueberries.
Googling for this freezer returns a lot of stories from others with similar problems. Appears that the compressor overheats and shuts down. If you turn the unit off and let it cool down, then turn it back on again, the compressor will work fine again for a while... Until it overheats, and shuts down. Not the kind of reliability I wanted. Will be returning it, hopefully not having the cardboard box won't be an issue. Glad I kept the receipt!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON
Date:April 16, 2013

2 months shy of a decade

Pros: compact
"She finally conked out and luckily the food inside was still cool enough to move to other fridges. It did get progressively louder and would run longer, but that would be expected. Not the best quality I'm sure, but judging by the other comments I can't complain. Not sure if I would buy another Danby. Costco should consider a higher end manufacturer in addition to the Danby line for chest freezers."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna BC
Date:December 28, 2012

Expensive disappointment.

Pros: quiet
Cons: unreliable.
"Worked great for 4 months, and quit. Light was on but no cooling. We lost a fortune in food, more than the freezer was worth new. Do yourself a favour, spend a little more and buy a better brand."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:September 8, 2012

build quality?

"This chest freezer is a nice size, but unfortunately I have had to replace two of them already because the compressor gave out. Makes you wonder about the build quality. Not sure I would buy Danby again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:July 27, 2011

Bought this a few years ago....

Pros: price is reasonable, quiet, fits in tight spaces nicely
"and haven't had a problem! It is a nice size to store all the gluten free products that you have to buy when you can get them, and tuck away for the appropriate moments. Not a great size for a large family by any means, but for two old people, it is just the ticket!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto Ontario
Date:November 13, 2011

STILL GOING STRONG

"I bought this size of Danby freezer chest over ten years ago. Still going strong. I have had no complaints whatsoever."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:April 22, 2013

Lasted a little over 6 months

Pros: size, quiet
Cons: quality
"Initially, really liked everything about it, the size and function.
Bought in Aug 2012, started using in Sept, and died with no warning mid April 2013. Lost a bunch of food...
Even though its under warranty, not sure when something will act up again.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Halifax
Date:December 1, 2012

Spoiled food will cost more than you save

Pros: none
Cons: everything about it...unreliable
"Lasted 18 months. No signs it was about to die until everything in it was clearly rotten. Fortunately Costco refunded the freezer cost. Everything in it was a loss. Meats alone cost more than the freezer. 1 year guarantee was definitely well thought out considering the quality of the product. Don't buy it's one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON
Date:July 30, 2013

Buyer beware

"Ditto as other reviewers; wish I had read them prior to purchasing. Freezer lasted 4 months; lost hundreds of dollars worth of food and had a huge mess to clean up.
Thank goodness Costco has a great return policy!!
"
Review 16 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:July 31, 2013

Died after 6 months

"Costco should start to read these reviews and consider another supplier. Bought it in December 2012 and the compressor kicked out in July"
Review 17 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:June 27, 2013

lost everything in it

"Lasted only 5 months. Shut down for no apparent reason, leaving a stinking sloppy mess of thawed food at the bottom (hundreds of dollars worth of meat products) and a puddle of water mixed with meat juice on my basement floor. This seems to be happening to most people buying this product recently - why are they still selling this model??"
Review 18 for Danby® Designer® DCFM142WDD 5 cu. ft. Chest Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint John NB
Date:March 16, 2012

Short Time

Pros: good size for apartment
Cons: none yet
"Have had the freezer only a short time, but so far it works well. It runs quietly. It was received in good condition and quite promptly."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.