Customer Reviews for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Features: 13,000 BTU cooling capacity   Recommended for rooms up to 51 sq. m (550 sq. ft.) in size   Auto evaporation system for continuous use without removing water   9.7 EER   3-speed fan   Oscillating air vent   Thermostat control   Auto swing   Auto restart after power outage   Energy saver function   Programmable 24-hour on-off timer   Washable air filter   Quiet operation: 52 dBA   White LCD display panel   LCD remote control   Easy roll casters   Sliding window kit Specifications: Dimensions (W x D x H): 46.9 cm x 39.1 cm x 35.3 cm (18.5 in. x 15.4 in. x 13.9 in.)   Weight: 30.9 kg (68.3 lb.) Warranty: 1 year Model: LP1311BXR
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 of 10(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Russell, Ontario
Date:June 24, 2011

This A/C Unit is amazing!

"I originally purchased the Danby 13k BTU and it was a mess, leaked all over the floor. Costco picked it up and replaced it with this LG unit.
It is sooo sleek in it's design and I love the touch buttons. It's cooling power is very surprising. Very little time to install in a difficult window.
I have it cooling a 1000 sq ft. aptment and the living/dining room it's in gets cold where I have to turn it down a bit.
You won't regret this purchase!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:May 23, 2012

Great Portable

Pros: nicer looking than most
"I had a portable a few years ago and swore, never again, but I now have a situation where it is the only option, so I did some research and reluctantly bought this one. I'm very happy. My space is quite large -- too large for this unit -- but using the curtains drawn on my west facing windows and running a ceiling fan makes a huge difference and helps this machine along. So far, I am very happy. The first one I brought home was defective, but that was just bad luck. Costco accepted the return with no problem at all. It is quieter than the old one. Not silent by any means, but not as loud as some I have heard. It quickly becomes background noise. I am quite pleased with this unit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:May 30, 2012

Not as advertised

Pros: looks good, easy to install on window
Cons: very loud made floor vibrate, cannot cool a small room properly
"We bought this unit to cool down our daughter's room (which gets pretty hot in the summer time), based on all the good reviews here. After the setting up the unit on her window (which is a snap in all fairness, I was ready for trouble in this step), we started the unit. What happened next was the unit started making a tremendous amount of noise and the floor was vibrating. It did however throw out cold air so we let it run for a while (we set it to 20 C on cooling mode). After a couple of hours the room went down from 26 C to 24 C (this is a small 3mx5m room) and stayed at 24 C. All the while doing this very loud humming noise (I measured it at 70 dBA, much higher than the advertised 52 dBA). So we will be returning this unit disappointed, very loud and cannot cool a small room, contrary to what was advertised. Definitely not worth the price tag."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:June 27, 2011

Fantastic Product

Pros: all pros
"We just purchased this unit on Saturday and had the unit running all day yesterday it is by far a superior product. Very nice to operate and works excellently!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bancroft, ON
Date:May 7, 2013

Works well, while it works

Pros: easy to install and use., not too noisy., looks attractive.
Cons: only seems to work for one season.
"We have had two of the same units. The first one worked well for one summer, we stored it for the winter and then it didn't work last summer. I returned it to Costco within the one year warranty and they refunded my money . I purchased a new unit which worked great all last summer. We brought it out of storage over the weekend to make sure it will work this year and it's blowing cool but not cold air. So, I will be returning this unit again but will likely purchase the same unit. It does cool the cottage very well, when it's working and is able to cool the kitchen, dining and living rooms with a fan circulating the cool air. I just wish it would work for more than one season."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:May 24, 2012

Excellent purchase

"I leave in 600 square foot apartment and these Air Condition keep the whole place perfectly Cool.
Excellent Product. Worth the dollar!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. John's, nl
Date:May 26, 2013

DO NOT BUY

"I BOUGHT THIS AND IT WAS GREAT FOR THE FIRST SUMMER BUT THIS SUMMER IT ONLY BLEW WARM AIR. We returned it to Costco and they replaced it. I need to buy another and I am going to Costco Online. If I have a problem with the next air conditioner, I knoe they will stand by there products."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:toronto on
Date:June 25, 2011

Best One I Ever Had

"This was my first air conditioner i had and very quite.This machine can cool large spaces."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto ON
Date:May 28, 2012

Great product

"Works great, nice design, less noise than other ones."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Halifax,NS
Date:May 23, 2012

Damaged in transit?

"Unit made a horrible grinding noise and casing was bent out of shape.
Replacement unit also had a damaged casing.
It ran for 4 hours and only reduced temp in a
540 Sq ft room by 2 deg F.
By the looks of the packaging both had a very rough trip."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.