Customer Reviews for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set

Includes Twist N’ Ride Tube Slide Moveable Picnic Bench
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Review 1 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WS, NC
Date:September 9, 2011

Great set!!

Pros: looks great real cedar sturdy hardware
Cons: long assembly
"This was a fun set to put together. My father (grandpa) and I did it and it took nearly a month. That being said we did have to make some adjustments as our backyard has a dropoff and is completely unlevel. So we built a cedar deck to mount the playhouse on and cemented the whole thing into the ground. It came out awesome!! This set is so sturdy. We did add a couple of support beams to the underside of the second story as another reviewer did. We did not label the parts beforehand...just pre-assembled as much as we could in the garage before bringing it all outside. Some of the measurements are off on some of the pieces and some of the pieces were cracked and/or warped but I called customer service and they gladly sent us replacements. The upstairs bay window is a pain in the neck. We also reversed the way the door opens so that when it opens, you can open it all the way instead of having it stop at a 45 degree angle. Very helpful because of the deck. I was also under the impression that the lower playhouse had a subfloor---it does NOT. The slide is ridiculous. Plan on it taking the whole day to put together (if you're lucky). You could purchase longer screws to make this easier (we didn't) but then you would have to cut off and file the excess for safety reasons. The instructions are very unclear in some places like the playhouse door support and in areas of the crow's nest. I'm also not too fond of the trapeze bar and rings. The way it assembles causes the bar to flip over on itself which has caused my daughter to lose her grip. BUT all in all this is a great playset. It looks beautiful and my daughter LOVES it. Sometimes she is outside all day and doesn't want to come back inside. Hope all this helps."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, BC
Date:September 1, 2011

So nice to look at for me, so fun for the kids

Pros: sturdy, tons of fun
"The play set is extremely sturdy my 210+ hubby was swinging on it, and went down the slide. Very well built. It took a long time to put together, but we were very methodical and watched the video steps when needed (we brought the laptop outside - what a great idea from a previous reviewer). I got up in the morning and pre-labelled all the parts. It took me 1.5 hours by myself. I highly suggest this.
We live in a "controlled" area in regards to what we can/can't have in our yards, colours etc., and all my neighbours love this set, saying how nice it is to look at."
Review 3 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba
Date:August 19, 2011

Heavy and sturdy with some flaws

Pros: looks good
Cons: hours of patience required, nothing is labelled
"My dad and I spend more than 20 hours assembling it and it does not include the time spent labeling all the pieces.
You will need power tools to do this.
Now that we're done, the wind tipped it over and it did not survive the fall. The swing is intact, the house is still standing, but the stairs broke, the main mean broke, the t-brackets bent. Anchor system is not sufficient in windy areas.
"
Review 4 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ritzville, WA
Date:July 18, 2011

Great quality

Pros: directions clearly explained, sturdy construction with quality wood, attractive design, safe, well worth the time and effort needed to assemble.
Cons: need lots of patience to put together many pieces
"This play set is a huge hit in every way. Most importantly the kids love it. The other happy customer is my dad who put it together for his grandkids. He raved many times about how well this set went together. He said the directions were very easy to follow, every little piece was labled and everything was so well organized. As to how long it took, well... he had a 3 year old and a 4 year old "helping" so I don't even want to scare you with the number of days it took.
There's not one thing I'd change about this product. Even the neighbors are asking us where we got it.
"
Review 5 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cow Bay, NS
Date:July 16, 2011

Great Play Set

Pros: great play set very sturdy., the life size pictures of the hardware
Cons: lumber is not labeled
"My kids absolutly love this play set. It was a great purchase. The engineering behind it and all the little details that were included are wonderful. There doesn't seem to be any corners missed.
I agree with other reviews, separate all the hardware into baggies prior to building and have someone stacking the lumber by steps.
This project does take a long time to complete, but it's worth it. READ the instructions and you shouldn't have to redo any steps."
Review 6 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Niagara, ON
Date:July 15, 2011

10-12 hours my eye!

Pros: strong, beautiful
Cons: long build time
"This is one seriously well built piece of play equipment. It is structurally sounds and incredibly safe. It looks gorgeous and the finishing details are beautiful.
The 10-12 hour + 2-3 for the slide is a bit of a laugh however. The DVD does help in solving some of the trickier sections. Even labelling all of the pieces does not put this task into even the 15 hour range.
It took a few days, but the beast is done and the kids love it!
I can't recommend it enough, so long as you have patience and read the instructions carefully."
Review 7 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Albert AB
Date:July 8, 2011

Well worth it

Pros: high quality
Cons: wooden parts not marked clearly
"Take the time to sort out all the pieces by the steps for construction and then bag the nut, bolts and screws for each step. It will make your job much simpler and faster."
Review 8 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:saskatoon
Date:July 4, 2011

very good deal

"Very good purchase, excellent quality. assembly took aprox 13 hours but i had my 7 year old son helping me ."
Review 9 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:White Lake
Date:June 30, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: fantastic design good quality - the kids love it!
Cons: took a long time to put together
"The only reason I did not give this play structure a five star rating is because it took so long to put together. However, that being said, my husband and I did it ourselves over the course of a week. It was worth every minute of putting it together - our children love it! It is a quality product. Definitely not the purchase to make for someone who only owns a screwdriver :)"
Review 10 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Canora, SK
Date:June 22, 2011

Premium it is!!

Pros: swing assembly is extremely sturdy and adjustable, prebuilt walls and roof are soo nice!, super cute design
Cons: the odd knot in the wood, screws are average quality we used decking screws, wood not labelled...., slide is quite steep!
"I researched many play sets and have always compared to this one. It is a large project, would not even consider building without power tools. It did take longer than stated to build but the finished product is extremely well built and absolutley loved. Take your time reading the instructions, get all pieces and hardware together for each step and then proceed."
Review 11 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:June 12, 2011

TAKES WAYYYYY TOO LONG TO ASSEMBLE

Pros: looks great, seems very sturdy
Cons: none of the parts were labeled, instructions are not clear enough in places, instructions estimate of assembly is way off.
"I would have loved to give this 5 stars as I feel the finished product is wonderfully sturdy & looks great too. The three stars is for the 80+ man hours it took to assemble. The thing that made me the most mad is that the company labeled the parts with letter/numbers on the instructions but NONE of the parts had these labels on them.... it took my husband & I over three hours to unpack & label everything. The pictures/instructions were also not detailed enough in many places. I ALWAYS put everything together in our house.... so I assumed when it took so long after we labeled everything that the men were just being men & not reading the directions correctly.... which for a couple things that was the case but it still would have taken waaaayyyyy longer than the high estimate of 15 hours for two people to put it together.... especially considering the three hours it took to unpack & label.
If you have ALOT of help & ALOT of time on your hands it seems to be very sturdy & looks great but just be prepared for the pain in the butt assembly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sudbury
Date:May 30, 2011

take your time and label everything

Pros: sturdy, nice cedar smell, video saved us
Cons: no labelling on wood, cracked pieces of wood, incorrect labelling on hardware
"I was thankful for the previous reviews as I was getting prepared on what to expect. The common advice on most reviews was to take our time. My wife and I spent a total of 3 days, averaging 8 hours a day. Before we got started, we spent 3 hrs using a marker on masking tape to label all wood. The hardware was then separated into zip lock bags. The hardware was incorrectly labelled and I had to use the book to match up the screws, bolts etc.
We brought the video outside and it really helped as the book didn't seem too detailed. I agree the slide was time consuming and frustrating. We got it done with minimal arguments and the kids love it, especially the slide"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, Ontario
Date:May 27, 2011

Recommended

Cons: wood has a little to many knots in it., bought it on line and 2 weeks later went on sale.
"This product is great. I put it together myself might be a little easier with a partner to lift a couple of items but for you handymen you can do it yourself. Took about 12 hours to finish, the play structure is the easiest thing to do, the hardest part was puting the slide together. Overall the kids love it and are having lots of fun, thats what matters the most."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastern Passage, NS
Date:May 25, 2011

Great Quality and Very impressive

Pros: very sturdy and safe
Cons: pieces not marked, no play accessories i.e telescope
"We have looked at many different sets and this by far stood out as the one to buy. The quality of the wood, hardware, and accessories were nothing but top quality and is very sturdy and safe. Even the people helping us put it together were quite impressed. We did as much pre-assembly inside in our garage before hand as well as laid out all the wood pieces in the order they were required. Took 4 of us 7 hours plus the pre-assembly, without doing the pre-assembly we would have tied our friends that helped up for many hours that they didn't need to be. My son just loves it and has played on it non stop rain or shine since we built it . Only down side a few accessories, steering wheel or telescope would be nice if added to kit"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Date:May 24, 2011

Amazing quality for the price!

"I shopped for a while before I landed on this product. This is by far the best price for a set of this size. The quality is outstanding and very rock solid. Fairly simple to assemble.. just very time consuming. Power tools are a must!
I'd also recommend labelling the parts before starting as it'll save a ton of time searching for the correct parts.
My only suggestions to the makers of this set: PLEASE LABEL THE PARTS INDIVIDUALLY! (this is the reason I didn't give this product a 5 star rating)
Otherwise I highly recommended this product! (just pick it up locally and save a few hundred of dollars)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:May 23, 2011

1 man, 12 hours, yeah right

Pros: looks good, strong
Cons: cheap hardware
"My husband and I have been working on this set all weekend. Still not finished, but getting close. He has being doing most of the work himself, I have been getting the steps sorted out so everything is ready. The set looks great so far. We have only had issue with 3 pieces....one had the pre-sunk holes on the wrong side, one had the holes about an inch off and one of the supports had a slight bow to it. Oh and some of the pieces of wood split because they did not line up just right and there were some knots in the wood. Which I expect as it is a factory pre-drilled set. The one thing that I really do not like about it is the quality of the screws that came with the set. They seems to be quite "cheap" and strip too easily.....something I plan to call the company that makes it and complain about. For the cost of this set, I expect top quality hardware."
Review 17 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2011

Best Playset around

Pros: cedar wood - great quality, price, looks, kids love it
Cons: not labelled, quality of some hardware
"I did my research - this is by far the best playset you can buy for the money - especially since it is made from cedar. We didn't sort the wood at first but found that we had to as we got started. My neighbour put together the entire set by himself - It is possible with one person, just find a fantastic one like I did! Definately get the power tools to assist or you will go nuts doing it all by hand. If you are a visual person take your laptop out to the worksite to watch the video step by step."
Review 18 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2011

Great Product - Assembly Not Bad

Pros: really sharp looking, great value
"I didn't have much trouble with assembly. I took my time, and got it done (with a teenage assistant) in a day - about 8 hours. That includes taking some breaks & having lunch. If you google "cedar summit panorama" there is a video explaining how to do it, and that really helped. This is a really nice looking set - looks like it cost double the price. I bought it at the store, which put the price below a thousand dollars."
Review 19 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eagan, MN
Date:May 8, 2011

Very nice and stronger that anticipated

Pros: lookes great and we had plenty of extra hardware, plenty of activities, extremely good price compared to similar models
Cons: difficult to find the correct parts at first, need to be handy or know someone handy to assemble
"Some advice for putting the unit together is before your help arrives take the time to sort the wood by making piles for each step and hardware by step and you will be very happy you did.
If you dont have a quick connect attachment for your power drill or a magnetic tray for the screws/bolts etc spend the money and get them. (nothing would be more frusterating than looking for a screw or nut that was dropped.
If you can print out a copy of the instructions (so you have two copies) it will be helpful also.
There were 4 of us putting it together and all of us work in the construction field. It took us just over 8 hours to get the unit totally together. We used the two people working on just the housing part and one was working on the slide/bench/egress window/getting the mount ready for the swing/rock wall/the frame for the slide crows nest/slide. I was the runner (strongly suggest yourself as the runner if you sorted the wood and screws) I would prep the parts I could and bring them over to the assembly guys on the building and then I would pull the correct hardware and put it in a magnetic tray. I would also help the other guy with the two person parts like with about half the slide assmebly and also some of the one person tasks.
There is plenty of one person work and there is plenty of work that requires multiple people to perform the task safely.
It just takes patience and be careful because there are lots of parts that look very similar and have holes that are slightly off center. It will be well worth all the hard work when you see your child/childrens eyes light up TRUST ME!!!"
Review 20 for Cedar Summit™ Premium Play Systems Panorama Play Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:May 2, 2011

decent quality....but real p.i.t.a

Pros: end product is nice
Cons: underestimated time frame, requires two people to assemble, warped/bowed parts, certain portions of the instructions are poor
"First let me say that it is absolutely rediculous that after paying 1k for a kit that nothing...let me repeat NOTHING is marked! I can go to Ikea and purchase a $10 item and at least all the parts are marked. I called and spoke to "customer service" from Cedar summit. I originally assumed that I just got a bad batch and the parts were not labeled as they were supposed to be. Wrong! I was told that the company was "still" working on a means of labeling the parts so it was "aesthetically pleasing". Hmmm, how about doing what you expect your customers to do and put a piece of painters tape with a part number! It took my wife and I 3 hours to hand pick up every piece, measure, look and hole placement (yes, some parts are so close that you have to physically identify the delta based on hole placement in boards)
**Most** of the parts were of good quality, though certain pieces were severely warped. Specifically the 4x4's that stood from the ground up to the roof were warped to the point that I had to re-cut the angle on the ceiling "rafters" as the angle was completely wrong as a result of the warping of the wood. A few other pieces were warped/bowed but not such a significant piece as the 4x4's.
The individual that stated he put it together in 11 or 12 hours himself alone... you are a machine because it took me and my buddy almost two full days. (I am very handy as is he who has also put 3 others together previously) I have no idea how he could do some of those steps individually... especially the larger pieces and the slide tube.. Moral.. Definitely a two person job and double the "estimated" time to put together.... and lastly, BE PREPARED TO BE INSANELY FRUSTRATED! Certain parts of the instructions are poor and out of order as you will install certain parts, then a few steps later realize that you have to disassemble a previous step as it the instruction did not specify a hole placement or which hole to use...FUN!
The ONLY reason I gave it 3/5 stars is the fact that the end product is nice and my son loves it........."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>