Customer Reviews for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light

Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light

The motion-activated solar LED security fixture provides abundant amount of light without the consumption of electricity.  Its versatile adjustable light sensitivity control ensures optimal performance during night time operation and captures a wide 270° sensing angle. Features:   Brushed aluminium finish   Environmentally friendly solar-powered LED security light   Convenient 270° motion-sensing angle   Versatile adjustable light sensitivity control   Remote amorphous solar panel - 4.7 m (15.5 ft.) of wiring included   Highly efficient 80 x 0.75 W white LED’s   100 lumens   Anodized aluminium construction   Clear plastic lens   Weatherproof   Operates with on/off switch   Easy installation   No AC required   Includes 3 AA ni-hm 1800 mAh rechargeable batteries Specifications:   Dimensions (L x W x H): 21 cm x 19.5 cm x 22.4 cm (8.3 in. x 7.7 in. x 8.8 in.)   Weight: 1.2 kg (2.6 lb.) Warranty:   1 year Model: GL23104SS
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Review 1 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 19, 2011

failed to work after 2 days.

Pros: bright
Cons: quality control
"Ater charging the unit for 3 days, it failed to work after 2 days."
Review 2 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:September 21, 2012

sensor is cheap - doesn't work

Pros: none whatsoever
Cons: poor sensor operation, lamp angle doesnt point downwards enough, flimsy controls
"I installed the light after much pain into brick walls. I actually bought a new ladder as I wanted to install this at a height.
There is a design flaw with this light. the lamp doesn't point downwards enough. So if you want to illuminate the side of a house if you have a narrow passage then you should look at a different product that can be angled downwards.
Further the sensor on this light doesn't work for me. After charging for two days I turned it on and it was working OK. the sensor was detecting motion when i got close and it would turn off after expected time. But then i noticed it stopped working for the next two nights. Tonight I looked at it and now it won't turn off once it lights up. I tried every possible setting and even when i have the daylight setting to operate only in darkness and the sensor set to minimum it lights up and stays lit. never turns off. The dials feel cheap and the housing that rotates the dial to turn the motion sensor direction seem like it is loose. My setup was painful to install due to height and now I have no idea how i am going to remove and install another one.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver
Date:November 9, 2013

Worked for two days

"Worked for two days then the sensor stopped working. Took the batteries out and charged them, but still not working."
Review 4 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:August 23, 2013

I hope its just one bad unit in the batch

Pros: easy to install, set it up and leave it alone
"After reviewing many devices all winter like this and being an electrician myself I finally purchased this fixture in the spring. Charged it for nearly a week and then took it out to our family campground and mounted it in the storage shed. Solar panel up on the roof in direct sunlight. Easy to install. It worked great for about 2mnths but now has stopped working for no reason. If I reset the switch it works again for some time but keeps failing. I will return it and try another one. I want to trust Costco's opinion of whats a good product and of course the price is very reasonable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto ON
Date:May 7, 2012

Great product especially for our shed!

"Hooked it up in no time and was absolutely amazed how much it lit up our new Costco Lifetime shed we bought recently
Definitely will purchased again"
Review 6 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Shelburne, ON
Date:June 23, 2012

Very Pleased, but...

Pros: works perfect when charging
Cons: occasionally the batteries don't charge fully
"Lamp is produces excellent light and the sensor is very responsive. Worked perfectly for a number of months and then had issues with recharging via solar panel. Took out batteries and charged them manually twice and they seem to be keeping a charge now. Hopefully the solar panel will now keep them topped up."
Review 7 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lacombe Ab.
Date:June 13, 2011

Great Deal!!

Pros: great lighting area
"This light works great! We bought it for an unlit 16x24 shed and it lights up the area really quite well. Definately would recomend this product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Val des Monts, Quebec
Date:July 24, 2011

Liked it so much I got a second one.

"This works very well at our cabin for the dock. It works so well and is very bright so we got a second one to light the way to the outhouse."
Review 9 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary Ab
Date:October 21, 2011

A great product

Pros: another great buy from costco!
"The" Solar Sensored Light" is an excellent product. I ordered on line so was interested to see if it matched up to the description.
I installed it my self within minutes after delivery. It was easy to install and gives perfect lighting for our stairs and wheelchair ramp.
"
Review 10 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blind Bay, B.C.
Date:November 22, 2011

Another great buy!

"We made this purchase after seeing how well it worked on a friend's home. We installed it in November (which was easy) and we are absolutely thrilled with how much light it gives off even when there is low sunlight!
A great deal for the price!"
Review 11 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie,ON
Date:November 22, 2011

Works well

"Works well. Easy to install. Bright light and it is working fine in the winter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:December 1, 2011

Excellent Purchase

"Purchase one to see how the quality and the installation would be. Very impressed with both. Easy to install, 15 minutes at the most. Very efficient and powerful enough, I was surprised. After a 2 weeks trial, decided to purchased a 2nd one. Will see how it goes this winter."
Review 13 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton
Date:January 3, 2012

A great purchase

"Both the light and the PV panel are very simple to install and the overall build quality and materials is excellent. The light output of the LED array is very impressive and the controls (motion sensitivity, dusk setting and light duration) allow you to easily tune the setup to your situation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:February 11, 2012

Limitations of the description

Pros: stylish, bright, good deal
Cons: does not work in cold weather
"I gave the light 5 stars as I believe it is a great product - bright, cheap, and reliable source of light for those that don't have electrical outlet handy
There are limitations though that are not on a Costco description of the product, but they are on a manufacture info. THE LIGHT DOES NOT FUNCTION IF THE TEMPERATURE FALLS BELOW MINUS 5 CELCIUS OR SO. In Alberta, this can be a bummer.
Also, it took my husband the entire day to mount it (though it always takes him longer than normal people:)
I would still highly recommend the product!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON
Date:May 25, 2012

Better than I expected

"I bought one last year and it works properly during the winter time, even the temperature is below -20 degree. This guy is very bright, good quality than I expected. So I just bought another one for my the other entrance."
Review 16 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gibsons B.C.
Date:September 11, 2012

Lit up a dark side yard for the dog!

"Quick set up of a few screws and then a little tinkering with the sensitivity. It works well with the light on an exterior wall shining into side yard that used to be black. Very good for letting out the dog before bed. He used to disappear into the darkness but he sets off the light."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:q.west, on
Date:September 26, 2013

Great product next day delivery

"Excellent light display, easy set up, got what i wanted"
Review 18 for Solar Motion Sensored LED Security Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton Alberta
Date:November 12, 2013

Brightest Solar I seen yet

Pros: you can change batteries on this one easy, easy install, thicker wires
Cons: cant turn on continous just on sensor
"I bought 2 and they and at 100 lumens they are brighter then the 850 lumens I bought.
Lights the yard up for the dogs and so far so good.
"