Customer Reviews for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter

Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter

This attractive urn-style rain barrel allows you to easily collect chlorine-free rain water, which your garden will love. The rain barrel is made from a durable UV-resistant plastic with a European textured finish and contains recycled content. The rain barrel is topped off with a planter for the stylish gardener. It also includes an easy screw-on 0.9 m (3-ft.) hose with shut-off valve, hanging clip and elbow, which makes watering and setup easy. Conserving water is not only good for the environment; it can also save you on your water bill. Features: Colours: Terracotta and Charcoal Attractive European design with texture finish Holds up to 205 L (54.2 gal) of water Built-in planter with drainage hole Made from durable UV-resistant plastic with recycled content, which will last for many years Includes: 0.9 m (3-ft.) hose with shut-off valve, hanging clip, mosquito screen and elbow which fits neatly into downspout Made in Canada Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 61 cm x 61 cm x 83.8 cm; (24 in. x 24 in. x 33 in.) Weight: 10.5 kg (23 lb.) Model: US4000
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
16 of 21(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Review 1 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Albert, AB
Date:July 23, 2011

Works well and looks good

Pros: good looking, made-in-canada!, hose could be better/longer
"I am very pleased with this urn-style rain barrel. The clay look is very nice, and the color is spot on to pass as a real pottery. The top planter is large enough for some nice flowers, herbs or, if you plug up the drainage hole, it can even work as a bird bath. I planted an ivy in it, and it looks awesome.
I placed the barrel on a 24x24" paver for stability and level.
I have noticed a leak from the bottom hole where the hose is screwed onto the barrel but, after slight tightening, the leak stopped - hopefully that's all this was, and not a defective assembly.
The hose that comes with the barrel is so so; rather flimsy and short, so I am thinking of replacing it.
As others already mentioned, it does fill up very fast. I tested the pressure by attaching the drain hose to a 50' one with a sprinkler at the other end. There was NOT enough pressure to operate the sprinkler. Again, no big deal as I bought this barrel mainly to water in the greenhouse.
Overall, this rain barrel is by far the most original and nicest looking I have seen. It works well. It's easy to move around when empty, and the clip-in spout made it very easy for a woman to install it to a downspout (that had to be cut, etc.). But, what's really cool is that it is made in Canada which was a big selling point for me. I'm sorry for spelling Canada with a small "c" in the "Pros" section; it won't take a capital letter...
The delivery was very fast; 3 days from the purchase. I am thinking of buying a second one.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 2, 2011

Amazing product and price

Pros: good looks, great price, quick delivery
"We ordered this product to both save water and time when watering an inaccessible area of our yard. First we were impressed with the price, less than half of what we could find similar products in our area. Next we were pleased that it arrived so quickly - about 3 days from the date of the order. Then the real thing looks so much better than it does in the photo, and it looks great in the photo!
When we put it into place, it looks great, filled quickly and the shut off makes using it easy. We tried to hook it up with an automatic timer, but they require much more pressure to operate than a rain barrel can supply. We ended up with a good quality 50' soaker hose and it all works like a charm!
Very pleased, may be ordering another one shortly.
Thanks Costco!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:York Region, ON
Date:April 24, 2014

Didn't work for us...

Pros: delivery time!
Cons: versitility, colour/texture
"We purchased it online... it was delivered within 48 hours! When we unboxed it and placed it where we wanted it; we discovered that there is only one orientation of the faucet/hose (which comes out of the right hand side when you look at it from its front) with no ability to have it discharge from the left side as the top of the barrel must be aligned in a specific way to accept the water from the trough. We thought, being round, looking at the photo, we could orient it any way; but not the case. That was the primary reason for its return. The colour/texture, in our opinion was also a bit cheesy; didn't look as much like stone as we wanted. Service/delivery though was spot on!"
Review 4 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:May 14, 2012

Great Rain Barrel!

Pros: easy to assemble and install, price
"I'm lucky as I have a detached garage that's set behind my home. The eaves downspouts are a few feet from my main veg. garden. So I attached this barrel there. Not worried about overflow, etc. What can I say, it's amazing. For a small to medium sized garden, it's great. Instaleld at ground level, water pressure is strong to fill containers quickly, but not enough to spray water, so your basically filling containers then hand watering. I suppose if the barrel is installed at heights greater than ground level, this will achieve greater pressure. But I'd rather water by hand anyways, so I'm happy."
Review 5 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:toronto
Date:September 16, 2011

Going to return it...

"A great looking and sturdy rain barrel at a good price. However, don't buy it unless you're OK with the overflow water spilling whereever. We've looked at many rain barrels, bought 3 others this summer, and a way to direct the overflow water has been standard. So we were very surprised to find this one doesn't let you do this. We have a patio, like in the advertising picture, and don't want the water spreading all over it. It's a real disappointment that we'll have to return it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:June 8, 2011

Excellent Product!

"Puchased 3 of the Urn-Style Barrels. They were about $20-30 cheaper than anywhere else. All 3 barrels are already full and are used often. It was easy to setup and I do like the fact that you can plant on the top of the barrel. The hose that comes with it is ok for quality, if you want I would suggest getting a more flexible hose and a bit longer. But overall I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a rain barrel."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:July 26, 2012

Great Rain Barrel

Pros: beautiful, saves on the water bill
"We purchased this rain barrel in the spring and set it on a paver for stability. With this year's dry weather it has been a blessing as when it does rain a little, I have enough rain to water plants and flowers naturally. We've had no problems with overflow but I make sure to use much of the resevoir before the next rainfall. Very pleased with the look and love the top planter, it really adds to the look. Thank you Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:August 8, 2011

Had to Return It

"Pros: loved the look and size of the product and you can't beat the price
Con: the overflow is a oval opening on the top level of the urn which would cause any overflow to seep into the ground beside the barrel (and thus beside the house foundation). I replaced the barrel with one that came with an overflow hose which I then attached to my downspout to take any excess water (once the barrel is filled) away from the house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:October 25, 2011

Not bad, better available

Cons: overflows everywhere
"Not a bad rain barrel. Looks decent. I like the flower area at the top. But when the barrel is full of water, the excess runs everywhere. There's no way to hook up a hose to direct the flow to another barrel or to a garden. I also purchased a wood style barrel from this site, same problem. What gives? Is directing overflow really that much of a challenge when designing these things??"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:June 10, 2011

Better than flat back model

Pros: sturdy and has a hose.
Cons: plastic hardware doesn't fit hose perfectly.
"I had purchased another rain barrel with flat back for a low profile on the house, but it didn't stand up in the hot sun all day and leaked.
This model is more sturdy and has the hose connector sealed by manufacturer. Although I had one that the spout that connects to the hose that was not fitting right and also leaked. Not having a lot of luck with Rain Barrels."
Review 11 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:May 16, 2011

Excellent purchase

"We purchased this product a month ago and installed it this past weekend. Even though the product description doesn't mention an overflow opening, it does have one in the front under the lip of the urn. It's in the form of a slot. The urn looks like real clay because it's irregular markings and the watering hose with the on/off switch is very convenient."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2011

Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter

Pros: sturdy nice looking
Cons: first rain barrel leaked. replaced with a good one
"We got the rain barrel and installed it, but it leaked heavily when it rained. I called Costco.ca and got very good service. They sent me another one, and we tested it and it works very well, and UPS will pick up the defective one at no cost from our side. It is pretty, sturdy and in the end we are very happy with it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wasaga Beach
Date:May 28, 2011

Great Price & Great Looking

"We purchased this Urn Style Rain Barrel to catch some of the rain from the downspout at the front of our house and it looks fantastic. We added a nice cascading planter to the top and it looks very attractive. The terra cotta colour goes well with our house. So glad we get we saw this urn on Costco.ca"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:April 10, 2013

leaks everywhere

Pros: looks good with flowers
Cons: does not work as a rain barrel, buy a plantar instead!!
"Got this last spring and throw it away this spring. Needed to buy a diverter ($50) for the downspout. The valve at the bottom of the barrel leaks everywhere, despite me tightening it. Now it has delaminated below as opening this valvae obviously did not drain the barrel so it froze and now is toast."
Review 15 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:May 27, 2011

Happy Customer

"This rain barrel is good looking and has already saved me using city water to keep my plants and flowers watered.
I was surprised to see how quickly the barrel can fill when collecting water from a days rain.
Am planning to buy another later this year for the other side of my roof.
"
Review 16 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:saskatoon
Date:September 26, 2013

looks like cheap junk

Cons: cheap looking, plasticy, does not look like picture
"we bought this, and upon it arriving (the "terracota" style) my husband unpacked and we just started laughing. It was the ugliest junkiest looking cheap plastic bucket ever. It was a bright orange lumpy thing, not at all as it looks in the pictures. We returned it immediately."
Review 17 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON
Date:April 13, 2011

Excellent

Pros: stylish, cheaper at costco than other garden centres
"Saw this product at the Canada Blooms Show in Toronto in March of this year. Really liked the look. Came home from show and ordered it right away on the Saturday and was shocked that it arrived on Tuesday. Very impressed with product and the delivery time"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lachute, QC
Date:June 28, 2011

Great Decoration

"We are very pleased with our rain barrel. It looks great and is solid. Attached a hose to the end easier to water garden. Instead of putting flowers on the top we put herbs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:June 14, 2011

Urn style Rain barrel

"Great, looks good but I agree I don't like the plastic atachments easy to strip, it would be great if it were larger capacity but I'd buy another though!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urn-style Rain Barrel with Planter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fraser Valley.BC
Date:March 25, 2011

Great Value

"I have one of these already but not nearly as attractive. I have seen it recently in a major Building Centre at $20.00 more this a great buy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>