Customer Reviews for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Review 1 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc
Date:March 21, 2011

Remote Not Reliable

Pros: nice finish, small
Cons: remote, no onboard controls, too much bass
"So I bought these speakers 4 months ago. I was initially impressed with the sound for such a small package. Then I started noticing that the bass was over-bearing. Don't get me wrong I LOVE bass & I listen to alot of bass heavy genres (techno, hip hop) but too much bass is not natural. (they weren't placed in a corner or directly to the wall)
I guess they boost up the bass because most people have their mp3s at 192k or less. Lower rate mp3s cut the bass (hence all the 'amazing sound' reviews). I'm a dj, I also own studio monitors & I'm not trying to compare, but I know how my songs are supposed to sound. These color the sound way too much, but the worst has got to be the remote.
What a joke. How long do you REALLY think that remote is going to last 1yr, 2 tops. Then all you got is a volume control cause all the rest is on the remote (which also has a weak range). Mine lasted 4 months, so back to costco it goes.
Nice sound (if u don't mind the bass), beautiful finish, but please let's have some onboard controls and a remote that doesn't feel like an afterthought..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

Simply amazing!

Pros: amazing sound, incredible quality/finish, amazing value for the price
Cons: not as easily portable as i had hoped
"I have recently received these speakers after doing extensive research on the best speakers to buy for my application. I am far from being an expert when it comes to speaker reviews, but will also say that I am far from being an amateur or tone deaf. The momemt I opened the box, I was BLOWN away by the quality of these speakers. The cables provided are of excellent quality and inspires confidence in the product. These were easy to set up and the moment my MP3 player started playing, I was simply floored! I read they were good but could not have expected anything this AMAZING! If you are questionning wether or not to buy these, please, do yourself a favor, just get them!! I was looking at a wide range of speakers from Logitech (2.1 systems), to Bose, to the B&W Zeppelin. The sound of these will simply blow you away! I have full size tower from Monitor Audio with Rotel amplifier so I do know good sound and these are just unbelievable!! I am so happy I purchased these, they have far exceedeed my expectation...no doubt about it."
Review 3 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 10, 2010

I found it!

"If you're looking for a pair of speakers with deep rich and very good sound, but don't really need high power output like tower speakers and spend over a thousand dollars, this Kanto product is the one for you. This is what I've been looking for in the past few years. I wasn't looking for just good but something really make a difference.
These speakers is easy to setup, plug power, put on ipod touch, play songs right away. The sound was so amazing. The same old songs I played, but this time I heard some details that I didn't notice before. When I was playing an old song, my wife said what's that song? I like it, then after a while realized it's just an old she knew. Playing it on this set of speakers made a much better feel.
I found out all my beloved old songs to play on these speakers once again.
Before buying them, I searched reviews on web, this is the first product I only see excellent reviews everywhere. Usually, for most other good speaker product, you would see some good some bad feedback. But for this set, not a single review is negative you can find.
"
Review 4 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, ON
Date:November 24, 2009

Incredible sound for Ipod

"These little speaker have BIG sound. I had mine for 3 weeks and these play extremely well. The other nice thing is the company "KANTO" is Canadian! The functionality of the remote is truly superior than other systems that have similar Ipod docking/remote set ups. These little speaker when you connect a cd or dvd player to the rear RCA hook ups at the back of these speakers truly bring out the soundstage of any good CD player or DVD player above $100.00."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:January 28, 2010

AWSOME SOUND

"I am absolutely pleased with the amazing sound coming of of these speakers. The sound is full, rich and immersive as if I was listening on quality headphones. The piano, bass, guitars and all instruments sound as if I was standing at a live concert. The amazing thing is that these self amplified speakers cost about the same price as a mid range amplifier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, B. C.
Date:February 26, 2010

Great Little System with Big Sound

"I set the system up in 5 minutes. The touch pad on the remote is very well thought out. The cable included with this is 20 feet long, so you have lots of flexibility in setting up the distance between the speakers. Then there is the sound - amazing for the size of the speakers and the price! Clear, crisp high notes and wonderful bass - both are adjustable with the remote. I am very, very satisfied with this system, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It can be set up very easily (cables included) to your dvd player or tv.
Fabulous sound and very easy to change functions on your Ipod with the remote. Music does not distort at higher volumes, either. Also, it charges your Ipod as you use it.
"
Review 7 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Westminster, BC
Date:July 17, 2011

Puzzling

Pros: good sounding
Cons: remote control is garbage
"I purchased a set of these speakers about a year ago. I can't say anything bad about the sound of the speakers however the remote control is very cheaply made and mine broke. Guess what. If the remote breaks there is no way of playing these speakers manually. When the remote did work, there is no way to determine how much bass,treble or volume you are adding/deleting to the sound.
I had no problem returning these speakers to Costco.
I would not buy these speakers because of the poor quality and design of the remote control and inability to manually override.
"
Review 8 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:December 25, 2010

Excellent Sound for the Price

Pros: excellent quality and sound
Cons: on-off switch at the back of the speaker
"I bought the iPair 5 when Costco put them on sale. Before I ordered these speakers, I had tested many other ipod speakers on the market. I thought Bose was the best in this price range until I heard the iPair 5. Not only do these speakers offer excellent sound, they are very sturdy and well made. The only inconvenience is the remote control doesn't have a power button, so it's necessary to turn the speaker around every time to switch the power on/off."
Review 9 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010

Superb!

"I recently purchased the IPair 5 for my office based on the many positive reviews I was able to find. The product definitely lives up to the hype. The sound is amazing. Pure bass. Crisp mids and treble. Set up is a breeze and the remote mirrors iPod functionality very well. In addition, the speakers are aesthetically very appealing. Unless you need portability, don't waste your money on another docking system."
Review 10 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2011

AMAZING

Pros: everything
"By far the best set of speakers for the money......I have done a lot of research for IPOD/IPHONE dock and these speakers have blown the competition. It works great with my IPHONE 4 and it charges it as it plays.......JUST AMAZING"
Review 11 for Kanto iPair 5 iPod® Dock Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2009

powerhouse

Pros: simple / seperate speakers / great remote
"By far the best ipod docking speakers I have heard! I like my music load and clear / these are the ones! Finally"