Customer Reviews for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive

   
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Review 1 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:browns flat, NB
Date:September 6, 2013

Excellent External HD

Pros: easy to use quick
Cons: none
"This has been a wonderful addition to our computer! Finally a simple External Hard Drive that works so easily."
Review 2 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2013

failed after three months

Pros: no problem with return
Cons: failed suddenly
"The item worked OK after configuring it for a Mac, but failed suddenly after three months of use."
Review 3 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rural Alberta
Date:May 24, 2013

Smooth Transfers

Pros: great $/gb ratio, usb3 makes for quick data transfers, looks like a million bucks
Cons: none in my 3 weeks of use
"I confess that I haven't used any of the included software. I plan on using this as a network media server connected via usb3 to my router. I have loaded it almost half full now and have been really impressed with its speed and how quietly it gets the job done. Might just ditch my other backup drives (using 3x500GB) and get another one of these to do that job too. Than I will be able to comment on the included backup software too! I picked mine up in store while in the city to save a few $$$ on shipping, but even if I had shipped it Costco's price was cheaper than 3 other online vendors sale prices!"
Review 4 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanata, ON
Date:May 14, 2013

Excellent Value

Pros: quiet sleek design 3tb
Cons: none so far
"I purchased this item to replace a failed backup drive.
I Reformatted it for my iMac and use it for Time Machine backups. Quiet, sleek design and 3TB. Highly recommended!! Thanks WD & Costco.
"
Review 5 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2012

A Good Product at Reasonable Price

"I have large amount of personal videos, musics, photos that I collected over decades. I store these media on this hard drive and I connect it to the TV via a media player.
I have two of this drives, because I have two TVs. Another important reason to duplicate is in case one of the drive breaks down, I will have a back up. I have been using these drives more than half a year. I am happy with them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2012

Consider it carefully

Pros: cost/size
Cons: incompatibility with some pc bios versions
"A major problem I discovered AFTER buying, is that with some systems, no matter what you do to your PC's BIOS, you may end up with a drive that you have to keep unplugged until AFTER you boot up Windows. Yup. That's WD's final solution if tweaking your BIOS doesn't help. Google "WD Essential Windows Freeze" and you'll see what I mean. I've wasted more time trying to make this drive work seamlessly with my PC than it's worth. I have several other USB externals and they don't cause any problems, but this one by WD, is profoundly crippling if you happen to have a mobo bios version it doesn't like. And frankly for WD to simply say "tough luck" tells me I won't be buying any more WD products."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:April 29, 2012

Good Purchase - Reasonably Priced

"The product was delivered in a timely manner. After looking around, the Costco price was the cheapest at the time of purchase, so good value for your money. Format the Hard Drive first. It works great!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa/Gatineau
Date:March 7, 2012

Returning this one

Pros: size/cost ratio
Cons: not a network drive
"Did a backup of some WIN7 files and looked to be corrupted. I had to run a CHKDSK everytime after I plugged it into my Media Player. Tried a different drive with no problems. Although it is pre-formatted, maybe it needs to be formatted anyway. Not taking a chance. I will return this one and buy the same one again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 29, 2012

Windows 7 Backup will fail must reformat first

"This external HDD has it all but unfortunately one major mistake by WD will cause a big problem for all who decided to use Windows 7 backup.
The drive comes pre-formatted NTFS for Windows so the buyer thinks no need to format ... WRONG!
Unless reformatted before use Windows 7 backup will not work failing on I/O error.
This is a major omission by WD that will cause grief to all who place a large amount of data and decide to do a Windows 7 backup only to realize eventually this data has to be moved so the drive can be reformatted.
I had to call WD drive to find this out. A reformat before use would have been a piece of cake but moving data to reformat a formatted drive can be a problem since the drive was purchased on account of need for HDD space.
Sorry, cannot give this product the stars it would have otherwise received."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:February 23, 2012

Excellent

"We bought several of those drives and we are very satisfied."
Review 11 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK
Date:September 21, 2011

Big and fast

"This was a great price, and although I won't be using the included software, I am impressed by everything that was included for both PC and Mac."
Review 12 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:September 3, 2011

So much faster

Pros: speed
Cons: auto back-up missed many files
"Love the speed. Back-ups of photos and video take a fraction of the time than with my previous WD Book. I'm doing my Back-ups manually as auto back-up feature didn't find all my files located on two internal hard drives."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dundas, ON
Date:August 10, 2011

Easy to go

Pros: quick, easy, has a lock
Cons: havy (~1kg)
"It took just minutes to reformat this hard drive for MacOS and convert it into a time machine. Then, first backup took about 30 min, but it actually depends on size of information you have. Now every time I connect to my Mac it immediately makes backup point (within seconds). Overall, excellent purchase for the price paid."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince George BC
Date:June 2, 2011

Easy to use!!!

"Easy to use included software, was backing up 800 GB of photos within 10 minutes of getting the box! This will hold 5 years of photos for me and I take a LOT of photos.
Quiet running and effortless back up.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WD® 3 TB My Book® Essential™ External Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kelowna BC
Date:May 4, 2011

Good but dated firmware

Pros: big cheap usb3, good automated back-up software for mac, and presumably pc
Cons: firmware is likely out of date
"I've been running two of these external drives since they came out. Only using them through USB2 but they seem to work well. Be sure to check and update the firmware version of the drive before you get going as the three drives that I have dealt with were all out of date and wouldn't stay mounted on my Mac Pro. Once firmware was updated all was well. Relatively easy procedure from Western Digitals support page.
At this price consider buying two and using the second as a back-up with included software.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.