Customer Reviews for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive

WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive

Western Digital®'s My Book® Live™ home network drive allows you to consolidate your media in one central location for everyone on your wired or wireless network to access and enjoy. Automatically back up your PC and Mac® computers to one safe place and stream your media to your entertainment centre. Features: 2 TB storage capacity   Gigabit Ethernet   Centralize and backup media on your network   View your photo collection with your iPhone®   Stream media to your entertainment centre   Western Digital® SmartWare™ software backs up your files effortlessly   Automatic backup settings   Easy to set up and easy to use   Compatible with PC and Mac® What’s Included: Home network drive   Ethernet cable   AC adapter   Quick install guide   Installation and software CD Compatibility: Windows® XP, Windows Vista®, Windows® 7 Mac OS®   X Leopard® or Snow Leopard®   DLNA/UPnP® enabled devices Warranty: 3 years Model: WDBACG0020HCH-NESN
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
11
10 of 24(42%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Review 1 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Courtenay, BC
Date:February 9, 2011

Good buy Good price

Pros: small, easy to install, excellent price, quiet
Cons: mionet is confusing
"I returned my My Book World because I couldn't stand the very large white light going back and forth all the time.
So far I have been satisfied with this purchase. The My Book Live was easy to install and connected wirelessly to my TV with ease. I love the tiny blue light which tells me it is operating. Huge difference from the white light.
One issue I have is I have been unable to connect to WDPhotos through my IPod. I have contacted WD with this issue and haven't received a response yet.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 8, 2011

Poor quality, unreliable

"I bought this drive less than 3 months ago, just after I transferred all my photo and videos to this drive and thought I had a central storage as it was advertised, the drive failed. Note that WD is not responsible for your data loss and they would not do data recovery for you. So I'm stuck with a dead drive that locked all my files in it. Even if I get a replacement, I don't feel comfortable sending this drive back to WD with all my personal files."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2011

Poor network performance

Pros: price
Cons: unreliable on lan
"Good drive which keeps disappearing from the network. Requires reboot to be visible on network again. Very difficult to use with TimeMachine (does not mount automatically). Tried all kinds of connection protocols: smb, afp, browser tcp/ip. NOTHING is stable on the network. Only useful for computer to drive backup via direct ethernet connection.
I am impressed by the support from WD, but the drive still does not do it's job."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:September 28, 2011

Big problem

Pros: easy networking
Cons: not technically reliable
"Like unhappy user, I purchased this product 1 week ago, not problem connecting it to my home network, worked fine backed up my computers, transfered files and photos, 2 days into doing backups the drive started making a mechanical sound like a winning sound that never stops, tried resetting the unit, rebooting it a few times, still same result the drive motor will not shut down. cannot recover acces to the drive, plan to return to costco but very worried about all the personal files that were recorded on the drive and what will Western Digital do with this drive once returned??"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau
Date:March 8, 2012

Go for it!

"Plug and Play - that simple. Some basic settings required but otherwise - a breeze... Connect it directly to your home router. It will provide you with the maximum available speed. I watch my movies stored on the WD on my iPad, through WDTVLive (Costco bought), etc., connect to my PC (Windows) - no problem!
Bought WDLive from Costco about 8 months ago and never been happier! I'm going to get another one soon because the one I got is getting full. Just waiting for the prices to go a bit lower (almost there; you could have seen price rise due to the flood in the production area in the Far East).
Again, if you want to store and access your stuff from a central location without powering up or keeping your PC or laptop always to be available – get it, it’s so handy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:February 15, 2011

Big but pain to install

Pros: good price
Cons: tricky install, slow file transfer
"I bought this to use as a server drive for all the computers in the house. Found that the install for the first computer went really well but for the remainder, the program could not find the drive. Ended up doing a workaround. Have found that the max write speed through the network is about 1.5 mbs fine for photos and music but painfully slow for video files."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:November 11, 2012

1 year crash

Pros: good idea
Cons: not reliable
"I had this working as a network drive and backup system for my to computers. I worked for 1 year and crashed after a factory update of the firmware. I was consered about my old XP and moved most of the data off it to My drive live. All of it lost, what a nightmare. western digial will not help and wanted me to ship it back to then and they would send me new one. Why bother just return it to Costco and get you money back and save the shipping cost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Date:August 25, 2012

Mac Users Beware

Cons: does not work with apple os x mountain lion
"This WD My Book Live does not work with the latest Apple OS (Mountain Lion). So if your a iMac or MacBook Pro user don't waste your time trying I just spent over an hour with the tech support people that tried to make it work knowing that their firmware was not compatible. Geez! get with the program WD!
So, no fault on Costco's part just the manufacture's inability to keep current.
Cheers!
MJM
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo
Date:June 18, 2012

BE WARNED !!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BUY THIS !!!!!!!!

"CRASH within DAYS of using. Tech support not able to help. I may have lost all the data I tried to transfer over. DO NOT BUY THIS. I did not read the reviews first. Wish I did. Wasted hours and hours thinking it was something with my network, or software. Counting on a miracle to get my data back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:February 13, 2012

Do Not Buy

Pros: black, looks nice
Cons: does not work, nothing but problems, no support form wd, will take up to much of your time, so many more reason not to buy
"WD has replace mine twice in the past 6 months. It is garbage. The first time the drive died after 3 months and the second time the drive would not allow to be written too. So you have to keep erasing 2TB of info and then re upload it to the drive. A Lot of work.
Do not buy this it is not worth your time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC
Date:October 13, 2012

Buyers beware

Pros: none
Cons: reliability, customer service
"If the drive fails, and it will fail, you will be responsible for the lost data (up to $1,000). WD offers no assistance in recovering your data, although the drive is still under the warranty.
Very poor customer service.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vicdtoria, BC
Date:December 25, 2011

Unreliable - would not buy again

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: backup software not good, drive is unreliable
"The backup software included with the drive is the pits and if you want control over your backups you need to buy software from a third party source like Acronis.
This drive died after just 6 weeks which is absolutely pathetic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton
Date:October 19, 2012

Great Purchase!

"Not sure what one of the reviewers was saying about this unit not working with OSX Mountain Lion. Obviously that is a case of "user error" and not enough technical knowlege to use this product. I have had this for almost 1 year to the date. It has been fantastic. Works great with my iMac and my wife's MacBook Pro. No issues with the installation or firmware updates. Anything you need to adjust or work on is web based. It connects quickly and easily. Data transfer is also quick and easy. Playing videos from it to my computers at home is excellent and fast.
Any drive can fail at any time, regardless of the company that makes it. I've had some good Western digital stuff and some lousy pieces as well. This one seems to be great and I'm happy with it!"
Review 14 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:August 18, 2011

Excellent Home Data Storage / Media Solution

Pros: drive easily located by windows and wd mediaplayer, stable. working non-stop around 2 years, fast enough to use for video storage, excellent pare for wd media player, can be connected using ethernet (network), good temperature balance, nice design
Cons: none
"Overall this is a very good device for the purpose it's designed. Quality is good. Fast. Easy to install and use. Very stable.
It can be used as data storage for any kind of data including media (video, photos).
Installation is easy. I am an IT specialist but I am sure it is really easy for everyone - at least Windows systems locates a device with no problem at all.
Especially need to point out that it is very friendly pare with WD Media Player - the player locates WD MyBook automatically and they work as one unit.
Thus, this is nice solution for home media centre - WD Media Player that connects to a TV plus WD MyBook storage attached to the network or directly to the player containing your video and photos albums. Perfect solution for reasonable money.
Hardware and software very stable. I use two of these devices (both from Costco) about 2 years if not more with no problem at all though we use it every day and it always on.
Very good solution to build your photo albums and show it at parties or whenever you need it or create your home video repository with easy access to it.
Need to remember that this is not a high-end no fault solution. Your responsible for your data. Anything can fail, and if you have something really important - just make sure you have a good backup, do not rely on one device only. Nobody will recover your data for free, as since this is technically not easy and sometime very time consuming process.
This device is built for consumers and, in my opinion, is a perfect match to what functionality and users it designed for.
The only what I do not like - I would have the price lower, around 119.00 at least.
I would recommend it for home users, NOT MISSION CRITICAL data storage, especially as a part of home media centre together with WD Media Player.
I have one drive, and am going to get another one. I would love to get 4Tb, however in my opinion the 4Tb device is heavely overpriced."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:January 30, 2012

HD failure

"4 months in, drive failed. Dissapointed in WD."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2011
"Easy set-up, small, quiet operation. Needs reboot periodically."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga
Date:February 25, 2012

Wasted Nights

Cons: wasted nights
"I've spent the last few nights downloading software updates, downloading firmware updates. Followed by problems installing software updates, and problems installing firmware updates. The drive is rarely recognized by the computer and when it is, it is VERY SLOW. The WD smartware is also very slow and now my whole wireless network is slower after all the installations. Google the product first prior to purchase and the forums will tell you the same. I've now boxed it up ready for return. WD support was not helpful and you communicate through e-mail. When I tried to phone in (twice) they has system problems."
Review 18 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:November 6, 2012

Good product

Pros: good value for money
Cons: little bit loud
"I had it for 4-5 month and didn't have any problem. Really great product once you figure out how to install add-ons like mediatomb and transmission. Now I have perfect setup: MBL take care of all torrent downloading, serves as DLNA server for Samsung tv, FTP server if I need to access to files remotely."
Review 19 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Central Vancouver Island.
Date:June 1, 2012

Hard Drive Failure

Pros: price at the time was ok
Cons: poor product
"I have had this product for about 6 months and the Hard Drive failed. I had 3 computer systems backed up to this device and have lost all the data. Right from day one I was unable to access this drive from an outside remote connection. Local network only. WD was unable to help me with this problem. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone."
Review 20 for WD® 2 TB My Book® Live™ Network Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton AM
Date:April 30, 2012

Worked well for a while.

"I purchased about 3 months ago, worked well until issue of memory leak showed up. The software for this drive causes a memory leak which slows your whole computer down. It used up me 6GB of memory and makes it impossible to use the computer. I downloaded the latest version of the software, but this did not fix the problem."
1 2 next>>