Customer Reviews for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

1-Touch™ Resistance Levels and Interplay™ Music Port
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 9(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Review 1 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Penticton, BC
Date:January 8, 2012

Perfect Addition to Exercise Room

Pros: cost, easy access, easy assembly
"We had a junk room in our home that we decided to convert into an exercise room. I already had an elliptical which I used often and enjoyed. I just found that I could not go past an hour on the elliptical. I decided to look at recumbent cycles. I purchased the FreeMotion 310R online. It arrived within days to my door. I assembled the majority of the bike myself with only a little assistance from my husband. I use my elliptical until I tire then I switch to my cycle continuing for an additional 40-60 mins. I have a TV set up with an DVD player. I have my TV set up on top of a bookcase so I do not have any issues with being able to view my TV. I have added a standing fan behind my elliptical and bike because I do not find the fans that come with the equipment have enough of a cooling effect. I have had no issues with the spacing of the pedals or with the distance to the pedals. I am 5'6". I have definitely not heard any clunking."
Review 2 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:December 3, 2011

Freemotion 310R

"This is a very solid machine for the price. However, there are a few problems with the design. The pedals are too far apart such that you have to sit bow-legged(spread eagled) to pedal the machine. It is not a natural, comfortable feeling. On a typical road or mountain bike the length of the crankshaft(to the start of the pedal arm) is approximately 3 inches. On the Freemotion 310R the length is approximately 6 inches. To compound the problem the pedal arm flares outward - further spacing the distance between the left and right pedal. There was no reason to design it this way; the arm of the pedal could have run straight up and down which would've decreased the distance between the pedals. I have logged thousands of miles on other bikes and in my opinion this is a real problem with the Freemotion 310R. If you pedal a Precor recumbent bike you will probably notice right away how natural and comforrtable it feels in terms of the pedal spacing.
Another problem is the height of the console and the upper handle bars; they're too high and you can't watch TV. I removed the upper handle bars(easily done) which makes it a little easier to watch TV but the console is still in the way so you have to off-set the TV to the side(not ideal).
The 310R is not designed for use by shorter people. With the seat in the furthest forward position, my wife(who is 5'2") struggles to reach the pedals.
It's really too bad because otherwise the machine is great value for the price.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chatham
Date:November 18, 2011

GREAT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT

"Overall - I would say this is a terrific home option for workout. Highly recommended for both beginner and experienced users alike.
- Assembly: Relatively easy. May require assistance due to weight of device. Recommend placing bike on exercise mats or pad to ensure stable foundation. Stability has never been a problem for us.
- Gearing: Individual settings are a great way to manage bike's resistance and evaluate your performance. Probably means I need to get in better shape!
- Ride: Extremely smooth & quiet.
- Frame Quality: Very good. Feels solid. We've owned it for about 3 mos. and there's been no degradation in performance after consistent use. Took some trial & error but multiple adjustment options allowed us to find a configuration to comfortably meet both our riding positions.
- Seat: comfortable - great for the back
- Pedals: Good quality. We used with no problem.
- Bottom Line: We've been extremely happy with this bike ever since we purchased it from COSTCO.ca. I'm a beginner and believe this bike provides me with a challenging workout. My wife is a pro and she loves this bike as well. We believe the cost of this bike was justified by its value and the quality workout it provides at home.
Good luck and enjoy your workout!"
"
Review 4 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:October 20, 2011

Good...until it breaks.

Pros: comfort convenience
Cons: reliability quality
"Have had it for 3 months. Gets used 3-4x per week. Or it did...until crank started to slide to left out of machine and it became unusable. Another reviewer used the term "clunk". That's what it was. Now it's going back.
But worked well...until it didn't. Good seat, easy adjustment, fairly compact. Shame about the quality."
Review 5 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011

Good Solid Exercise Bike.

Pros: very easy to use control panel well laid out
Cons: should have a manual resistance adjustment, in case of power failure.
"This product right out of the box, reeks of quality.
Locktite on the bolt and screw threads, heavy duty steel and aluminum parts, a good solid feel, a very user friendly control panel, as well as there been no doubt on what parts go where, what attachment screws to use.
Been using this product for about a solid 2 weeks now, would recommend it to anyone.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, Ab
Date:May 23, 2011

Great machine

Pros: great value for the money.
Cons: it should be set up for a smaller person.
"We bought this machine because I had a total knee replacement. My husband was sceptical about it being used enough. He actually uses the machine more than I do, and really enjoys using it. It is easier on his joints than our treadmill. I have used the machine a fair amount myself and it has greatly helped in the recovery of my knee."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:April 21, 2011

Clunk Clunk Clunk

Cons: clunk on every cycle like it jumps about 5 degree
"We bought this and used it for less then a month when it developed a Clunk action/sound on every revolution - like it jumps about 5 degrees of rotation without any tension at all (as well as developing a squeak on every revolution at another point in the cycle).
This renders an otherwise excellent exercise bike into a source of aggravation.
I tried following the instructions on taking it apart and re-adjusting the belt tension. First, it totally does not come apart per the instructions. And second, tightening the belt changed the Clunk and squeak NOT AT ALL."
Review 8 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:st. albert
Date:April 13, 2011

Great buy!

"Was a bit skeptical because of the great price point but it turns out it"s just a terrific buy for a great machine. I purchased a treadmill and eliptical from Costco last year and was very happy with our purchases, so we decided to add more equiptment and decided to purchase with Costco again. You can't go wrong with Costco, great product at great prices!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FreeMotion® 310 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, California
Date:March 20, 2011

Surprisingly good

Pros: superior build quality, easy seat adjustment, should last forever, looks good. reeks of quality., rock solid, good value for dollar
Cons: control panel set a bit too high, seat could be a bit softer
"After 8 years of daily use, we finally wore out our old Schwinn recumbent bike. After loads of research, and test driving new machines, we checked out what Costco had to offer and were pleasantly surprised when we saw this FreeMotion bike. It was significantly less expensive than most of the bikes we had looked at, but the build quality seemed much better. During assembly, when I was able to examine each part closely, I was amazed at how well made it was. I would say it was over-built for home use. I suspect, since the company makes commercial equipment, they might use some of the same parts used on their multi-thousand dollar models. It certainly has that feel to it.
Assembly was straightforward. Took about two hours of slow, pleasant work. No parts were missing or damaged. Everything fit fine. The only tools needed were a philips screwdriver, a crescent wrench, and the supplied allen wrenches. Take your time and read each step carefully, and you should have no problems.
This bike doesn't have a lot of computer bells and whistles. It's simple and straightforward to use. There aren't many built-in customizable features--which I suppose is true of commercial bikes as well. But there are a good selection of pre-programmed workouts. I haven't tried the iFit modes, since it requires a separate module, but I don't think I really need it.
If you're looking for a basic exercise bike that's built to last forever, this one is a good choice. And at the price point, I don't think there is anything else in the same league. All of the bikes I found with the same level of construction were at least two to three times the Costco price for this model. Suggested retail on the 310R is nearly twice what I paid, and would be a good buy at that price in my opinion.
Only a couple of things I would like to see changed. The non-adjustable control panel is set rather high if you are a shorter person. Especially if you want to use the book rest for reading while working out. Plus, you can't look over the top of it if you want to watch TV. (We moved the set a bit off to the side for viewing). Also, the front handle bars are in an awkwardly high position in my opinion. However we usually use the lower set of bars, so it's not a big issue for us. Finally, the seat could be a bit softer.
On the plus side, changing the seat position is incredibly quick, smooth and easy to adjust compared to other bikes in this category. This is very important if more than one person will be using the bike.
No exercise bike will be perfect for everyone. But in my opinion, you get a lot for your money with this one."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.