Customer Reviews for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range

Propane Conversion Kit Included RCS366BCN
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Review 1 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, Ontario
Date:November 9, 2011

I like it better than my Viking

Pros: burner design, super industrial look
"I had a (30") Viking before. Buying another one would have been almost $10,000 more than I paid for this BlueStar.
I cook every day, & I like to do it. I never cook with meat.
I would buy another of these in a heartbeat. The only thing that was better about the Viking was that it had one extra rack, and the racks moved very slightly more smoothly. The BlueStar burners are loads better. Cleaning is easier. Heat is more even because of the star shape.
Believe Costco about the delivery: it's curb delivery. The delivery service when setting up told me they'd get it in the house, but the delivery guy showed up alone, and I had to scramble to get it off the driveway. You are not going to pick up this stove on your own. I did manage to move it around alone using a refrigerator dolly.
I am a very happy customer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 17, 2011

Truly Unique Model

Pros: great value, solidly built
Cons: heavy if you can call that a con
"To correct a previous poster. Yes this model is not a stock retail model. In fact it is a huge UPGRADE from the retail RCS model. That retail model has no convection, has smaller PLASTIC knobs vs the metal ones on this model. As for BTUs, we have found that this model is way more than enough for home use and as some other posters have indicated is even good enough for commercial useage. The BTU rating is somewhat misleading but those who think more is always better are not getting the point. The performance is equal to any Viking or Wolf I have used. As well, if you want to tell your friends you can push 22K BTUS then simply change the nipples on the unit to the ones found on the RNB version..
In truth though, we found that we often had to turn down the burners for day to day cooking even when using thick cast iron pans. Personally, I would run to the hills from any dual fuel product as the concept of heating air by electricity is flawed right off the bat. As well, I have found that complicated electronics often result in costly repairs so I like the simplicity and functionality of this range over any dual fuel unit not to mention you pay over double for a dual fuel but net no benefits. The areas that do not compare to Wolf are PRICE and the pullout tray. Wolf has a ball bearing assembly vs the Blue Star which runs along metal bearing guides. But keep in mind this is like have ball bearing wheels on your fridge. How often are you pulling out your fridge to clean behind. You will need to clean this but likely only once a month unless you are very sloppy so the smother guides seem rather pointless. The gauge of SS is very good and we had no issue with the backsplash. Again, this is not a performance issue and truthfully we found it quite robust, certainly more than robust enough for what it is supposed to do, which is vent heat/steam/fumes from the oven itself. Speaking of the oven, we found the gas oven to be superb with very heavy duty racks and salamander quality infrared broiler. Keep in mind this Costco model has the convection. The higher model of Bluestar line has this feature but a steep price increase. Costco has managed to put all the important things into this version at a price that in comparison to other "pro style" ranges is "cheap" . But you must also keep in mind that true pro ranges also can be purchased for less than this Costco residential model . However those pro models cannot be placed directly beside cabinets and often require some fire suppression . So, while cheaper than a Wolf or Viking, true pro models which sport 30K BTU burners can be purchased for alot less but they often have no oven window and would likely void home insurance policies.
As for Propane conversion, truly this should take this unit to pro status because propane burns over twice as hot as natural gas
All in all, I would say this product provides excellent value for the dollar . Another Costco winner.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Date:August 5, 2011

GREAT VALUE AND PERFORMANCE

Pros: great perfomance and looks great
Cons: nothing
"Excellent bang for the buck with performance on par with Wolf or Viking. We purchased this product for our new kitchen reno and have been very satisfied with look and performance of this stove. Get some strong guys (4 at least) to move it as it is very heavy. To lighten the load we un-packaged it and took the oven door and cast iron tops from the stove. That made a huge difference but you have to be very careful not to scratch or damage the sides."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island
Date:August 3, 2011

Beautiful Stove

"Just redid our kitchen and we went GAS Stove. Can't find anything negative about the stove other than even the lowest setting on the simmer element too hot to slow cook a chili. Performs as well as the professional ranges we looked at that cost 3 times the price. Converted to propane as we have no natural gas in our area so the included conversion kit was a welcome bonus to the purchase. Although big, my wife and I were able to wrestle it into the kitchen (only 2 steps up) with out calling for additional muscle from the neighbours.
My family loves it and we won't be going back to electric."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver bc
Date:February 20, 2011

OMG! I love my Bluestar range!

Pros: power, price, quality, easy to clean, heat output, brand name
Cons: none!!!!
"I have the 4 burner version of this range which performs exactly the same as this 6 burner version. Size is the only difference.
This range is absolutely amazing! It is rare for me even to use a medium burner setting when using my range as it is just too hot!
I am drooling at the prospect of this 6 burner version, but i dont want to do a whole kitchen renovation to accomodate this range.
If you can accomodate this in your home, buy it. You won't regret it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Date:March 17, 2011

Great Price/Great Deal

Cons: heavy!! had to have a few guys lift it in
"I bought the 4 burner range at the Warehouse. It was a great deal-- price and quality wise. The only thing I found annoying was the back simmer burner--it takes a while for it ignite. I called up Blue Star and was told that this was because it takes a while for the gas to reach that back burner, nothing they can do about it. Other than that, I'm totally thrilled with my purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:May 11, 2011

Fantastic Deal

Pros: value performance good looks
Cons: outside gets hot
"Purchased this stove a month ago. What a great deal. Excellent stove - simple, well designed, heavy duty (weighs 400lbs). Best value by a long way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cormac, Ontario
Date:January 6, 2011

Living With Blue Star and Wolf

Pros: best range for the money
Cons: some compromises in build and operation
"We have a 6 burner Wolf range, all natural gas, in Ottawa and a 4 burner blue Star from Costco, converted to propane, in the country. As all reviewers will rightly say, the Blue Star is the most stove for the money that you'll ever see. (Consumer Reports will differ, finding that high end "pro' ranges don't perform better than CR's recommended $900.00 ranges and are more repair prone.) Notwithstanding that, the Blue Star has been great. There are some compromises as my Blue Star and the 6 burner one you're looking at are not the same as the regular Blue Star product. (Which costs almost as much as a Wolf.) This is a special model for discount warehouses. You don't get multiple 25K BTU burners. You do get one 18K BTU though and how often do you need more that one of those at a time? That's slightly hotter than any of the Wolf burners which are, if I recall, around 16K. On the other hand, all six of the Wolf burners will simmer beautifully. On the Blue Star, even the dedicated simmer burner is too hot. We're considering a trivet to raise pots higher or even an electric induction cook top beside the stove for slow cooking. While we're looking at how you just saved $3500. by picking a Blue Star over Wolf, you'll note another couple of compromises. The backsplash on the Blue Star is almost laughably flimsy. The Wolf backsplash is a work of art. Really. The burner controls on the Wolf operate with satisfying precision. (Great colour too.) The Blue Star, not so much. The ceramic broiler on the Blue Star is actually slightly more powerful than the Wolf. It's amazing, and results on 2.5 inch thick rib steaks are restaurant quality. One glitch with conversion to propane is that it's a heavy gas and I have broiler ignition problems unless I heat up the oven before selecting "broil" on the control. I assume that this is not an issue with natural gas. I should also note that you're buying the Blue Star from Costco, who's customer service has been/is excellent. With Wolf, who knows? You'd sure have a harder time taking it back! I saw a comment on an appliance forum that 2 of the 4-burner Blue Stars would make the nicest 8-burner, 2-oven range on the planet, and the cheapest too. The 6 burner Blue Star is the one I would have bought if it was available 2 years ago. (Note to Costco,I'd do a trade-in! 330806792000) One note on "dual fuel". They are really expensive. Better that you install a 24 inch electric euro wall oven. (Miele, Bosch, Ikea etc.) The 30 and 36 inch gas ovens are huge and you'll cook 80% of the time with the wall oven which heats quick, is well insulated and is very efficient. Propane, in particular, is very expensive and we've cut our consumption hugely with our 24" Miele. Buy the Blue Star, you won't be sorry. If money is no object, the Wolf is sublime."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GVA
Date:April 22, 2011

good, solid product

Pros: very well built inside and out, works as advertised, oven size, convection
Cons: needs a strong hood, packaging assumes you are hercules :-)
"We had this stove for a few months now. Like other said, this is the best product you can buy in this price range. We are very happy with our purchase.
The burners are plenty hot, we don't miss a higher BTU count. I occasionally miss a second low power burner though. I think that 2 low and 4 high would be a better ratio.
The convection oven is huge, and the racks are very sturdy. One minor thing there is a bit of gas smell upon turning the oven on, say 1 or two minutes. Baking is very easy.
The cast iron top is very heavy, and makes moving the stove very hard. I had to ask the help of a friend to unpack. Perhaps packing the top separately would make unpacking / installing easier?"
Review 10 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Armena, Alberta
Date:December 1, 2010

Excellent product

"Purchased 3 ranges for industrial use am not sorry. A very good productive product."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 4, 2011

Way above average

Pros: very heavy duty, easy to clean, powerful and accurate temp control, superb broiler
Cons: weighs alot so it needs some muscle to install
"I have looked at the usual stuff.. Wolf and Viking, sealed and unsealed burners. Nothing in this price range comes even close. Dual fuel stuff is more than double and lacks the performance. This unit is quite heavy duty. Installer remarked how it was one of the best ones he had ever put in given the build quality , cast iron parts and serious weight to the unit. Costco managed to get a great deal on this one with upgraded knobs and convection for less money than others that had less features. Only issue is getting it into the house as Costco only delivers curbside."
Review 12 for BlueStar™ Professional 36-in. 6-burner Natural Gas Range
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:January 6, 2011

This is a STEAL of a price

"This product is worth THOUSANDS more, I know as I paid a lot more than this one year ago at another retailer. If you are in the market for a high end stove, forget WOLF, this one is way better at a fraction of the price."