Customer Reviews for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator

Easy to use, the Nesco® square food dehydrator is economical as well as excellent for your health. You can make a variety of dried items; from jerky, herbs and gourmet seasonings to dried fruit snacks. Included are 4 square trays for more drying surface area than traditional round models.   Features:   700 W motor 2,400 RPM fan Uses Converga-Flow® drying action to ensure fast and even heat distribution No need to rotate trays Expandable up to 8 trays for increased versatility Adjustable thermostat ranging from 35º C to 71º C (95º F to 160º F) Includes:   4 square trays Jerky spice Cure packets Recipe book Specifications:   Dimensions (L x W x H): 36.8 cm x 36.8 cm x 24.1 cm (14.5 in. x 14.5 in. x 9.5 in.) Weight: 3.4 kg (7.5 lb.) Warranty: 1 year Model: FD-80
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Review 1 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maynooth ON
Date:May 1, 2014

Having so much fun!

Pros: lots of space, no need to rotate trays, accurate temperature control, fun to experiment!
Cons: must acquire fruit roll up trays seperately, cannot double as yoghurt maker
"I have had a lot fun experimenting with different fruits, fruit blends for fruit roll ups and jerky recipes. This dehydrator works very well. Temperature control means it's possible to use it for jerky. I have had no need to rotate trays. I wish it had come with the trays that make it possible to do fruit roll ups and other wetter recipes... but those were easy to acquire inexpensively elsewhere, along with a jerky gun. Some dehydrators can double as yoghurt makers - those with a formed case and removeable trays. This one does not have that ability since its form is dictatated by the number of trays used (must use all four that come with it, but can expand with up to four more trays). Those with removeable trays are generally far more expensive. This was exactly what I was looking for and I am very pleased with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burnaby, BC
Date:April 14, 2012

Well-used in our kitchen!

"I had been eyeing buying a dehydrator for many months and was so happy to come across this one at Costco. After doing much research into the different brands, I was happy to choose this particular brand/model as it seemed like a good fit for some one who was just starting out, as well as was very affordable. There may be better quality dehydrators out there but they are definitely more expensive. For the price you pay for this one, you get your money's worth over and above.
The product works well, the square design allows for more coverage. I have done fruits, vegetable, raw desserts and cookies. I'm looking forward to experimenting with more savory items as well!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:January 25, 2011

Just what I wanted!

"After much online research, I chose this particular model due to it's larger size in the Nesco models. It has a generous number of trays (I have yet to need more). It works very well, and I couldn't be happier with it! I have walnut-zucchini crackers in it at the moment. I use it often to prepare whole wheat bread for making into bread crumbs (just tear up some whole wheat bread and dehydrate for about an hour). It's great for the raw foodist or the health-conscious: you can make a wide variety of flax crackers. I have yet to really seriously explore the possibilities, but I'm glad to have one at my disposal for the odd time that I use it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:January 28, 2014

Excellent for Chicken Jerky for my Chihuahua

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
"After reading all the terrible reviews of pups getting sick from the chicken jerky made overseas. I decided to take things into my own hands. Defrost the chicken - cut into strips (3/4 inch thick) and flatten with a large blade knife and place on the racks. I usually let it go on the highest setting for 10-16 hours - depends on how thick i cut them. I can usually do about 5/8 of a 2kg box using all racks. Absolutely fantastic - love it. My chihuahua Bentley loves it too - can't keep the treats in the house long enough - seems every second weekend i am making her a batch :)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:June 19, 2011

really useful

"We have a vegetable garden and our mint grows like crazy, so we often dehydrate to make our own tea. So far we dehydrated garlic, strawberries, blueberries, calendula flowers, zucchini, tomatoes, tomato sauce, herbs, apples, apricots and kale, and we're really happy of this purchase. Most of things can be dehydrated over night. Comes with a handy guide that can help you knowing all the different procedures, preparation and time/temperature for most of the food.
4 trays should ensure you enough capability for each batch of food.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, Ont
Date:November 20, 2010

no luck with this product

"First time I ordered it, they sent the wrong model. Wasn't COSTCO's fault..... they come from some other warehouse. I returned it to a store and there wasn't a single issue about a refund. I reordered and recieved the right model.....shipping was fast. This time on the 3rd use (a month old) the heater died. Good thing I caught it as I was making jerky and it would have spoiled. I put it in the oven and saved it."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brantford ON
Date:January 19, 2012

Money Saver

"After reading info about
china made dog chicken Jerky being harmful, we decided to make our own.Final day sale chicken and this machine has already paid for itself. Fast,about 8 hrs. quiet easy to clean. Having the motor in the lid is important.Set it aside and only lean the plastic trays Again, from online order to UPS at my door just over 48 hrs.also with online tracking
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:newmarket
Date:January 8, 2011

Work lika a charm - invaluable

Pros: saves money, works overnight
"what a time a money saver this unit is - i have made 4 batches of jerky so far - my sons consume it like crazy! this has saved us so much money; store bought jerky is very expensive - this makes it for 1/4 the cost and you know whats in it.
i cant wait for spring berrries and harvest season so I can do fruits and veggies as well
tomatoes and bananas are on the menu today!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitby
Date:June 22, 2011

Dehydrator

"After trying a co-workers home made beef jerky I decided to purchase the dehydrator. I tried it with beef and it turned out excellent. I also made a fruit rollup using fresh fruit. It also turned out excellent. The machine works well and I look forward to trying new recipes. If you want to try dehydrating food, this machine seems to work really well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2012

Nice Upgrade

Cons: no fruit leather tray.
"Originally bought a cheap one with one temperature setting and without a fan, had to rotate the trays. Big mistake. So happy to be able to plug it in and ignore it. Makes great kale chips. The low temp setting takes a long time but well worth the wait. The square trays are great for drying items that need to start out on parchment paper."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:April 14, 2014

Great for jerky

Pros: one non-stick tray liner is included
"I've used it twice to make beef jerky. I line the trays with parchment, then lay on my jerky slices. Having the parchment there probably requires more drying time, but means no-mess clean up. My jerky usually takes between 3 - 4 hours to dry at 140 degrees, flipping once. I'm going to try banana chips soon."
Review 12 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc
Date:August 15, 2014

AMAZING

Pros: fast working and quiet. lots of space.
Cons: none whatsoever.
"wORKS WONDERFULLY WELL. I have been drying kale and the results are fantastic. I'm looking for stuff to dehydrate.Very exciting and healthy. I don't like veggies to much, now I eat them like potato chips which I'm addicted to.
Best purchase ever.
"
Review 13 for Nesco® Square Food Dehydrator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc
Date:November 7, 2013

My favourite new kitchen toy!

Pros: compact size very easy to use, expandible
"Love my dehydrator. I used to own a very large dehydrator, too large for a condo. This one is great! I am having so much fun discovering new recipes for dried, healthy snacks!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.