Customer Reviews for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*

Lifetime Traffic Updates** and Bluetooth® Wireless Technology
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
32 of 41(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Review 1 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:August 23, 2011

A Good High End Unit But Not Perfect

Pros: slim body design, vibrant display, 3d building, free lifetime map update
Cons: activate voice command by itself, short battery life, slow recalculation on missed turns, sow acquiring signal from start-up, freezes, a bit expensive, case not included
"Just finished with our 8000kms trip from Alberta to Chicago vice versa and the unit performed excellent as expected. Except, in one location in Bloomington, MN where it freeze when were driving in a street that has many short quick turns under tall buildings while navigating to our hotel. Another annoying thing with this unit, voice command suddenly activated by itself even I was not talking to the unit. And in few occasion, it also activated its voice command when my wife was talking to me.
This unit is loaded with a very comprehensive POI what I liked best. Most of the restaurants we searched were found and routed accurately. There's a lot features that I liked in this GPS. Like the traffic alert that save us time and gas while navigating in the traffic streets of Chicago. And even I experienced freezing and voice activating by itself, I'm still giving this review with 5 star. Because I know the freezing and voice command issues will be fixed by Garmin through firmware update.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Suburban Vancouver
Date:March 30, 2011

Unit gets lost - a lot!

Pros: size, vertical and horizontal use, voice commands, terrain maps
Cons: sometimes poor routing selection, gets confused and needs rebooting occasionally, poor slideshow capability
"I've had a Nuvi 360 for years. It uses the same maps as the 3790. But the 3790 gets lost - all the time! It is in a convertible in flat residential areas, so poor signal isn't an issue. When I'm a few blocks from home, the direct route is 3/4 km, and 1 right turn, then 1/2 km. It would rather make a right, then a left, then another right to get there via a parallel street. The old Nuvi never suggested this route! Last night in Vancouver, I was at least 10 blocks off it's chosen route before it decided to "recalculate". The screen was showing my actual location and its chosen route as I was getting further away - but it didn't update the route! The slide show feature is weak. It will only play the pictures in the order that you input them. If you mix horizontal and vertical, it does not update the image when you turn the unit! If you view a single picture, it does, but very slowly - about 30 seconds for the update!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:September 24, 2010

Top of the Line

Pros: voice command, responsive high resolution glass display, very attractive design, lifetime map and traffic updates
Cons: price
"If you are looking for something that is the top of the line, look no further. This is the best portable GPS units out there for now. I have owned quite a few GPS devices in the past and I just had to upgrade it when I saw this unit. Beautiful design and it is very thin. It looks better than my iPhone! My previous GPS unit was the Garmin Nuvi 775T and the problem I had with that unit was the unresponsive resistive touch display. The 3700 series uses a glass high resolution capacitive touchscreen which looks amazing by the way. It is similar to the iPhone or the iPad (touchscreen).
Not only the screen is responsive, it offers multi-touch. That means, you can zoom in, pan and move the map using the pinch or multi-finger gestures. The maps looks good with the 3D terrain views and it works well here in Vancouver, BC. It does have an accelerometer so you can have it either in landscape or portrait view mode. Speaker is loud and clear (there is a seperate built-in speaker on the dock as well). Traffic feature works decently. The best feature of this unit is the voice command and I bought it mainly for this feature. You don't have to "train" your voice or press a button to talk. You just simply start talking and it will recognize your commands. It works most of the time. The only thing I had to do was turn the volume of the radio/music down when I need to use this function. Hands free calling and hands free navigation operations was a must for me so this unit fits my needs perfectly. I have it plugged in my car all the time because it uses "my Trends" technology. It memorizes my routine routes and tells me how long it is going to take to get to my destination without me inputing the destination. It also monitors my acceleration and braking for my fuel economy. The cool thing is, it tells you how much fuel you've used and how much money you've spent on that perticular trip when you shut the car off. If you are a tech savvy guy, you will love this little device. I will highly recommend this if you are looking for the best portable GPS unit.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:September 22, 2010

A nice unit

"I have been using this for a couple of weeks now. The unit is light and the controls are straightforward. The bluetooth hands free works well enough for most calls.
I dont get 3-d terrain in Edmonton. The voice recognition is going to take some trial and error. I havent had much luck with the traffic updates. It cant tell the difference between congestion and construction.
This is a great deal since the lifetime traffic and maps are included. Other suppliers dont include it and charge the same price.
I might add on the safety camera map as well. The demo version has been letting me know where all the red light cameras are and rings a bell if Im about to speed through it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:August 9, 2011

Excellent Gps

Pros: display radar trap voice command lane assist, fast boot up cradle garmin support, self learning of prefered route
Cons: need firmware update after box openning price, gps fix (startup) longer then average
"This is my third units from Garmin, and it is worth the price if you compare it with the lower end Garmin. ie voice command, quality display, cradle with speaker, multi direction unit, radar trap info.
Please make sure you update the Firmware of the Gps prior to use...many bad reviews are fixed with the firmware update.
The speed limits are starting to show in Canada with the new Map (ie 2011-20).
Few cons but highly recommend the buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:July 29, 2011

It might be the best, but still, think twice

Pros: size super screen definition voice command, traffic info is helpful, can send location point from google map
Cons: no speed limit are showing up in qc!, outdated database
"I tested the GPS for 6 month. In Quebec province, West Coast USA and Paris. I bought ALL the maps and downloaded updates for all my destinations.
Long story short: I strongly believe GPS are outdated compare to cell phone technology (no wonder why Garmin created their own GPS cell phone). Except from a routing point of view for long drive, I'm always working with my Iphone 3GS in parallel who is most of the time faster to locate me, much much faster to find destinations with internet (plus you can get full of info and review of your destination (as long as you have coverage of course)).
-The GPS can sometime take more then 5 min to locate me! (in open area!)
-Do a little typo in the search tool and you will wait for years before you get the "destination not found".
-DATABASE: In QC, on my 4 first routes, 2 gas stations were not in operation anymore (since year by the look of the place), 1 route was asking my to go in a oneway... in the opposite direction! The last one went well...
In USA, the streets were OK but same problem for destination (event sent to non commercial locations when looking for a store).
In Paris (walking), most of the time it took too long to locate me. No choice since I was always closing the GPS to save battery and I couln't finish the day with it. In the car, it was working well (I had all my destinations stored before going)
CONCLUSION:
I would still buy a GPS, but a MUCH cheaper one and keep the money to invest in a good cell phone with GPS software. GPS haven't manage to keep up with Technology so unless you are a professional using GPS everyday, it's not worth that much money.
So think twice :-)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto (the only place that matters)
Date:November 5, 2010

Class Leading GPS

Pros: quick and responsive, amazing graphics, every option imaginable, lifetime maps and traffic
Cons: a bit pricey, mini-usb makes it hard to find computer adaptors, only major roads show up in traffic report
"I recently upgraded to this unit after reading the reviews on this product. It's the best Garmin yet. Don't rely on bad reviews, try it yourself. You will be amazed too.
The lifetime maps and traffic are the key. Don't let the fact that the unit is very lightweight and flashy fool you. There's a lot of processing horsepower under the hood. You can see 3D topography and building easily in the display while scrolling on the map.
It uses many of the finger tricks to navigate the screen that is common to netbook and smartphones.
The voice command, traffictrends, ecoroutes, 3D mapping and high resolution screen top the list.
Includes an external speaker that increases the sound quality tremendously."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2010

Excellent GPS Unit

Cons: a bit pricey
"This Nuvi 3790LMT is the best unit that Garmin has put out so far in this class. It is very easy to use and the voice commands make it virtually a hands free unit. The screen is very bright and also very sensative, which makes it easy to use. The turn by turn instructions are very clear and easy to understand. The windshield mount has the power cable attached to it so you don't have to unplug the power each time you remove the unit.
I am very happy with this purchase.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2010

GPS

"product is easy to use, intuitive!
Loaded with information
while searching for a restaurant it located it, then offered to call for a reservation, amazing!
handles detours with out complaint, doesn't constantly try to get you back to the original plan
lane assist makes travel over new routes much less stressful, gets you in the right place to exit etc
very happy
Costco.ca price is much much lower than the competition
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:September 25, 2011

Not worth the money

Pros: slim, light
Cons: price, doesn't show speed limit, poor positioing, doesn't show custom pois
"For this kind of money I've expected very customizable and full featured GPS. It turned out as a big disappointment.
There is no much difference from it's cheaper cousins. It even doesn't show speed limits in Canada. It showed up when I was driving on 401 Express. Even then it doesn't have warning signals when I drove over speed limit. When I contacted tech support they said that it's not supposed to show speed limits in Canada at all, and what I'd seen on 401 Express is a fluke.
Another disappointment is poor positioning. When I was driving on 401 I couldn't tell if I'm on Express or Collector lanes.
I've tried to setup my home location several different ways, as an address, as a my current position and each time when I was arriving at home it showed neighbors driveway as the destination.
I couldn't make it to show POIs on the map. I've uploaded custom POIs, such as LCBO, and it didn't show them on the map. It turns out that it shows POIs only when you pretty close to them, about 300m. It even doesn't have custom POIs as a separate category.
Traffic receiver seems a very good thing, but when you think about it it almost worthless. It gets traffic updates in about 10 minutes intervals. But in 10 minutes a lot of stuff may happen.
Don't buy it. Buy a cheaper model."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Date:September 6, 2011

Pricey but worth it

Pros: brilliant display, easy to install, updates are easy.
Cons: takes time to learn how to give voice commands
"It does what it promises to do, and, it does it pretty darn well. Brilliant display. Works great it our convertible on sunny days with the top down. Audio is loud enough to hear instructions clearly if you are driving in noisy areas with the windows or top down. Extremely thin and very portable, a great plus for walking or biking.
We drove from to Saskatchewan to Salt Spring Island, B.C. and back and it worked great. Guided us through downtown Vancouver, from Whistler to the Ferry Terminal, during rush hour, and it worked great.
Voice command is a great feature, no keyboarding while you are driving, just talk. You need you spend some time learning how to give it proper voice commands. Also, change the "wake up" command from the factory setting. Ours woke up, a couple of times, while listening to the radio or while we were talking.
The POI (Points of Interest) works extremely well. It never let us down.
Costco price was significantly below other retailers.
We opted for the optional unit that activates the EcoTour feature and other features. That too is, in my view, is well worth the money. It is not available from Coastco . Most good GPS retailers have it, check the web."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:September 25, 2010

I love it !

"It turns on automatically when you mount the unit. Very fast to load the map. Easy to use interface. Super fast response time. Bright and clear display with colourful and detailed map. Audible and visual warnings of red light cameras. Make sure to lower the volume. Easy to put on and remove the power cable since it attaches to the mounting bracket rather than the unit itself. I will try highway driving tomorrow. This is exactly what I have been looking for.
Shipping via UPS was faster than I expected. Just tap the Go Home icon when returing home.
What are you waiting for ? You won't be disappointed !!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:October 18, 2010

Garnin Ultra-Thin GPS

Pros: clear picture and voice, very accurate
Cons: only gives you main roads and intersection, does not include under construction roads
"It is a life saver products and gives you good direction, very clear and understanding voice.
My suggestion, don't leave home without it!
One thing; only gives you main intersections, sometimes is very annoying.
Suggestion: before leaving home, know where you are going, if you have good sense of direction, helps you and recalculate again.
Very negative point is that, won't show you under construction road!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Date:July 16, 2011

Garmin's the Best!

Pros: tons of features, highly customizable, garmin product support
Cons: none
"I installed this unit on an '06 Camray and it works flawlessly. I also got the optional EcoRoute cable to go along and I love it. I now get real-time information from my vehicle' computer, such as fuel consumption and even engine diagnostics.
The voice recognition works very well, and the screen is easy on the eyes. The 3D maps are almost lifelike, and the fact that I get lifetime map updates is nice.
What Make Garmin the best in my opinion, is their great product support. I had a GPSMap 76 a few years ago, that I had lost the battery cover for... my own fault. I contacted Garmin, and even though this unit was three years old, they sent me a new battery cover free of charge... not even shipping. Now that's worth something!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON
Date:November 9, 2010

Best Purchase

Pros: slim., standby and sleep mode after taking out of dock., quick response.
Cons: price too high even with life time maps & traffic, weak battery
"This is my 3rd GPS, everything is fine except Traffic. If traffic is congested it show red sign on map but not rerouting itself. You have to select the alternate route yourself. Trip planning is perfect for multiple destination. Lacking mp3 player and FM transmitter. You can ignore these minor deficiencies but overall this is best GPS so far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie Ontario
Date:October 13, 2010

Best One yet

Pros: voice control
Cons: need to have a variety of voices for direction
"I have had many GPS' however this is the best one to date. It is very user friendly. It is great on highways and around the city. I like change so I am looking for the next best thing always. I love the slim look of it and especially like the Voice control.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Milton, On
Date:October 7, 2011

Does not last

Pros: quick startups; calculations; size; great in usa, quick recalculations;, fairly accurate at times.
Cons: freezes; gets really hot; doesn't learn your route, ;the mount falls off at times;voice commands don't, work all the time and comes on when you don't, want it to.
"This is my 3rd GPS of this exact model. I have own several different types of GPS from all make and models. The main problem that I have is that it crashes a lot. Sometimes it would reboot on its own, other times it would turn off and don't come back on for a while. It is also not that accurate at times, which is puzzling. Sometimes it would navigate to my destination fairly accurate, and other time it would try to send me on a wild goose chase. The traffic updates are not accurate at all (although this is not the fault of the GPS itself, but the amount of traffic towers in Canada), but on the other hand, I have notice that the traffic update feature would not appear all the times. Other time it would appear. Overall this unit is a hit and miss type of unit. When it works, it works great, no complaints. When it doesn't it doesn't work at all. For the amount of problems that I experience, I do not think it is worth the price. I had this unit (well multiple ones) starting when it first came (around $500 -$600) to now. If you do still decide to get this model, I would not update the software, but just the maps, as I think I started having most of the issues when I upgraded the software... I hope you have better luck them me."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:MEDICINE HAT
Date:October 29, 2011

ROUTING ISSUES AND SCREEN ISSUES

Pros: nice multi touch screen
Cons: slow processor text laggs when entering locations, price is a bit much, gamin not good a navigation for some reason
"OK we all know GARMINS are not routing KINGS so this product might take you in circles. THE BEST ROUTING GPS WAS A CHEAP LG 735 BELIEVE IT FOR 100bux
Problem the first one I got in 8hrs of using it 1 dead pixel in the middle of the screen I returned this and got another one that works thanks COSTCO A+ RETURN POLICY
My second one the screen gets bubbles under the edges these bubbles come and go for some reason I did contact garmin and they said they will service it for me but I never sent it off.
THE PRICE IS BRUTAL FOR THIS PRODUCT"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:July 24, 2011

Interesting features but no great performance

Pros: lots of very good features, thin, lite, nice screen
Cons: lack of precision, lack of batteries, lack of sensitivity, lack of speed to refresh screen, disappointing
"Used it for 3 weeks so far.
Great features but accuracy, precision and speed are really not great.
Used to have a NUVI 350 for years. The 3790 is far less acurate and far less rapid to refresh screen than my previous one.
When disconnecting the unit from the windshield adapter it looses the satellite signal. Recalculation takes double the time. Tells me to take a road that I passed seconds ago.This NEVER happened with my 350.
At high speed difference with car speedmeter is about 4 km/h which used to be about 1 km/h with previous 350.
Will probably return the unit.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanata Ontario
Date:January 18, 2012

Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT

Pros: too many to describe here
Cons: can't think of one
"This Garmin is amazing...This is not just a find your way somewhere toy...It does so much more. It automatically transferred all my contacts that were in my cell to the Garmin and receiving calls is so easy when driving. Also really love the red light camera warnings and having the road map on all the time so I know exactly where I am and what streets are coming up and when address punched in it calls out street names etc ...Awesome! Everyone should have one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>