Customer Reviews for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*

Lifetime Traffic Updates** and Bluetooth® Wireless Technology
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
32 of 41(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Review 1 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:February 16, 2012

Excellent GPS

"I often use GPS to fly my plane... although the Garmin aviation is a wee bit different, the technology in this little gadget is amazing. Yes it took time to download the updates but few GPS's don't and some without the ease of this model. Has good graphics, traffic warnings, traffic FM, actual photos of interchanges, etc....
Great product!!"
Review 2 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:February 3, 2012

My Worst Purchase Ever!!!

Pros: sexy looking
Cons: not worth it
"If you want to travel extra miles to get to your destination - This is the one you get.
I have travelled both out of town (Eastern Quebec) as well as Montreal city limits and the GPS guided me to travel out of my way to get to my destination.
Unfortunately, this is my first GPS and no previous experience with any others and cannot offer alternatives.
I am so greatly disappointed I cannot describe my feelings."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:January 30, 2012

Less than expected

Pros: easy to use. portable.
Cons: having to purchase maps for city walking., downloading updates take several hours.
"Was disappointed that you have to pay more money to download maps for walking, as there was no indication on the package. Also it's not always accurate, so don't think you can depend on it taking you to where you want to go. A fuel station was over 24 miles away in reality, and it said it was only 10!"
Review 4 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:January 26, 2012

Garmin 3790LMT

Pros: features looks
"So far the best GPS on the market. I compared several models of Garmin (including 2012 line ups) and other brands. (bought and returned a few).
It is definitely the best unit for the money if you want the best features and design.
"
Review 5 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanata Ontario
Date:January 18, 2012

Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT

Pros: too many to describe here
Cons: can't think of one
"This Garmin is amazing...This is not just a find your way somewhere toy...It does so much more. It automatically transferred all my contacts that were in my cell to the Garmin and receiving calls is so easy when driving. Also really love the red light camera warnings and having the road map on all the time so I know exactly where I am and what streets are coming up and when address punched in it calls out street names etc ...Awesome! Everyone should have one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:MEDICINE HAT
Date:October 29, 2011

ROUTING ISSUES AND SCREEN ISSUES

Pros: nice multi touch screen
Cons: slow processor text laggs when entering locations, price is a bit much, gamin not good a navigation for some reason
"OK we all know GARMINS are not routing KINGS so this product might take you in circles. THE BEST ROUTING GPS WAS A CHEAP LG 735 BELIEVE IT FOR 100bux
Problem the first one I got in 8hrs of using it 1 dead pixel in the middle of the screen I returned this and got another one that works thanks COSTCO A+ RETURN POLICY
My second one the screen gets bubbles under the edges these bubbles come and go for some reason I did contact garmin and they said they will service it for me but I never sent it off.
THE PRICE IS BRUTAL FOR THIS PRODUCT"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:October 15, 2011

Kinda Love It!

Pros: display, speed, graphics
Cons: price. but you get what you pay for.
"I've been using an older Garmon for a few years and it was time to upgrade. Love this new unit. Boots up fast, reasonably good voice command, much nicer display. What's not to love?"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Milton, On
Date:October 7, 2011

Does not last

Pros: quick startups; calculations; size; great in usa, quick recalculations;, fairly accurate at times.
Cons: freezes; gets really hot; doesn't learn your route, ;the mount falls off at times;voice commands don't, work all the time and comes on when you don't, want it to.
"This is my 3rd GPS of this exact model. I have own several different types of GPS from all make and models. The main problem that I have is that it crashes a lot. Sometimes it would reboot on its own, other times it would turn off and don't come back on for a while. It is also not that accurate at times, which is puzzling. Sometimes it would navigate to my destination fairly accurate, and other time it would try to send me on a wild goose chase. The traffic updates are not accurate at all (although this is not the fault of the GPS itself, but the amount of traffic towers in Canada), but on the other hand, I have notice that the traffic update feature would not appear all the times. Other time it would appear. Overall this unit is a hit and miss type of unit. When it works, it works great, no complaints. When it doesn't it doesn't work at all. For the amount of problems that I experience, I do not think it is worth the price. I had this unit (well multiple ones) starting when it first came (around $500 -$600) to now. If you do still decide to get this model, I would not update the software, but just the maps, as I think I started having most of the issues when I upgraded the software... I hope you have better luck them me."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:September 30, 2011

Amazing

Pros: voice activation, response, detail
Cons: can miss your fav. on voice commands
"This is awesome. The voice activated commands keep my hands on the wheel. The detail, road signs, and response is awesome"
Review 10 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011

Everything I hoped for

Pros: compact pocketable
"Beautifully designed, like a chic cellphone. Has a great screen. A big step up from my old one."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:September 25, 2011

Not worth the money

Pros: slim, light
Cons: price, doesn't show speed limit, poor positioing, doesn't show custom pois
"For this kind of money I've expected very customizable and full featured GPS. It turned out as a big disappointment.
There is no much difference from it's cheaper cousins. It even doesn't show speed limits in Canada. It showed up when I was driving on 401 Express. Even then it doesn't have warning signals when I drove over speed limit. When I contacted tech support they said that it's not supposed to show speed limits in Canada at all, and what I'd seen on 401 Express is a fluke.
Another disappointment is poor positioning. When I was driving on 401 I couldn't tell if I'm on Express or Collector lanes.
I've tried to setup my home location several different ways, as an address, as a my current position and each time when I was arriving at home it showed neighbors driveway as the destination.
I couldn't make it to show POIs on the map. I've uploaded custom POIs, such as LCBO, and it didn't show them on the map. It turns out that it shows POIs only when you pretty close to them, about 300m. It even doesn't have custom POIs as a separate category.
Traffic receiver seems a very good thing, but when you think about it it almost worthless. It gets traffic updates in about 10 minutes intervals. But in 10 minutes a lot of stuff may happen.
Don't buy it. Buy a cheaper model."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:September 15, 2011

Very impressed

"I did lots of research and this unit had everything I wanted. I updated the firmware and applied new maps on day one and as a result experienced no issues. Love all the features, speed limit, actual speed, red light camera locations, voice interaction etc.
Got a great price from Costco."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:September 14, 2011

Good Voice Command

Pros: good voice command
Cons: map is outdated even with latest one
"Good Product"
Review 14 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:September 13, 2011

Great product

Pros: light weight, super thin, highly responsive touch screen
Cons: none
"This is my 2nd Garmin. I upgraded to this model because I wanted the Bluetooth function. It works great and the lifetime map and traffic is worth the cost. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Date:September 6, 2011

Pricey but worth it

Pros: brilliant display, easy to install, updates are easy.
Cons: takes time to learn how to give voice commands
"It does what it promises to do, and, it does it pretty darn well. Brilliant display. Works great it our convertible on sunny days with the top down. Audio is loud enough to hear instructions clearly if you are driving in noisy areas with the windows or top down. Extremely thin and very portable, a great plus for walking or biking.
We drove from to Saskatchewan to Salt Spring Island, B.C. and back and it worked great. Guided us through downtown Vancouver, from Whistler to the Ferry Terminal, during rush hour, and it worked great.
Voice command is a great feature, no keyboarding while you are driving, just talk. You need you spend some time learning how to give it proper voice commands. Also, change the "wake up" command from the factory setting. Ours woke up, a couple of times, while listening to the radio or while we were talking.
The POI (Points of Interest) works extremely well. It never let us down.
Costco price was significantly below other retailers.
We opted for the optional unit that activates the EcoTour feature and other features. That too is, in my view, is well worth the money. It is not available from Coastco . Most good GPS retailers have it, check the web."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Date:August 23, 2011

A Good High End Unit But Not Perfect

Pros: slim body design, vibrant display, 3d building, free lifetime map update
Cons: activate voice command by itself, short battery life, slow recalculation on missed turns, sow acquiring signal from start-up, freezes, a bit expensive, case not included
"Just finished with our 8000kms trip from Alberta to Chicago vice versa and the unit performed excellent as expected. Except, in one location in Bloomington, MN where it freeze when were driving in a street that has many short quick turns under tall buildings while navigating to our hotel. Another annoying thing with this unit, voice command suddenly activated by itself even I was not talking to the unit. And in few occasion, it also activated its voice command when my wife was talking to me.
This unit is loaded with a very comprehensive POI what I liked best. Most of the restaurants we searched were found and routed accurately. There's a lot features that I liked in this GPS. Like the traffic alert that save us time and gas while navigating in the traffic streets of Chicago. And even I experienced freezing and voice activating by itself, I'm still giving this review with 5 star. Because I know the freezing and voice command issues will be fixed by Garmin through firmware update.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:August 9, 2011

Excellent Gps

Pros: display radar trap voice command lane assist, fast boot up cradle garmin support, self learning of prefered route
Cons: need firmware update after box openning price, gps fix (startup) longer then average
"This is my third units from Garmin, and it is worth the price if you compare it with the lower end Garmin. ie voice command, quality display, cradle with speaker, multi direction unit, radar trap info.
Please make sure you update the Firmware of the Gps prior to use...many bad reviews are fixed with the firmware update.
The speed limits are starting to show in Canada with the new Map (ie 2011-20).
Few cons but highly recommend the buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kuskanook - Kootenay Lake, BC
Date:July 29, 2011

Nice unit

Pros: easy setup, voice command
"Relatively intuitive for initial setup. The full manual didn't come in the box but could be easily located online from Garmin's website.
The mount is easy to use and install.
Love the voice command - makes it hands free.
"
Review 19 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:July 29, 2011

It might be the best, but still, think twice

Pros: size super screen definition voice command, traffic info is helpful, can send location point from google map
Cons: no speed limit are showing up in qc!, outdated database
"I tested the GPS for 6 month. In Quebec province, West Coast USA and Paris. I bought ALL the maps and downloaded updates for all my destinations.
Long story short: I strongly believe GPS are outdated compare to cell phone technology (no wonder why Garmin created their own GPS cell phone). Except from a routing point of view for long drive, I'm always working with my Iphone 3GS in parallel who is most of the time faster to locate me, much much faster to find destinations with internet (plus you can get full of info and review of your destination (as long as you have coverage of course)).
-The GPS can sometime take more then 5 min to locate me! (in open area!)
-Do a little typo in the search tool and you will wait for years before you get the "destination not found".
-DATABASE: In QC, on my 4 first routes, 2 gas stations were not in operation anymore (since year by the look of the place), 1 route was asking my to go in a oneway... in the opposite direction! The last one went well...
In USA, the streets were OK but same problem for destination (event sent to non commercial locations when looking for a store).
In Paris (walking), most of the time it took too long to locate me. No choice since I was always closing the GPS to save battery and I couln't finish the day with it. In the car, it was working well (I had all my destinations stored before going)
CONCLUSION:
I would still buy a GPS, but a MUCH cheaper one and keep the money to invest in a good cell phone with GPS software. GPS haven't manage to keep up with Technology so unless you are a professional using GPS everyday, it's not worth that much money.
So think twice :-)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin® nüvi® 3790LMT Ultra-thin GPS with Lifetime Maps*
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:July 24, 2011

Interesting features but no great performance

Pros: lots of very good features, thin, lite, nice screen
Cons: lack of precision, lack of batteries, lack of sensitivity, lack of speed to refresh screen, disappointing
"Used it for 3 weeks so far.
Great features but accuracy, precision and speed are really not great.
Used to have a NUVI 350 for years. The 3790 is far less acurate and far less rapid to refresh screen than my previous one.
When disconnecting the unit from the windshield adapter it looses the satellite signal. Recalculation takes double the time. Tells me to take a road that I passed seconds ago.This NEVER happened with my 350.
At high speed difference with car speedmeter is about 4 km/h which used to be about 1 km/h with previous 350.
Will probably return the unit.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>