Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Steam Mop

Dirt Devil Steam Mop

The power of steam paired with the innovation of Dirt Devil! This remarkable steam mop features a continuous steam generating system that distributes steam across the entire pad surface; let the steam do the scrubbing for you. The smooth, even steam helps reduce pad soaking for fewer smears and streaks. The unit uses regular tap water and is ready in only 30 seconds. The product is designed to clean most hard floors including ceramic tile, sealed laminate, marble, stone and sealed hard wood.                            The unit is environmentally friendly as no chemicals are necessary. It cleans only with hot steam so no toxic residue is left behind. You can clean and revitalize carpets with the carpet glide attachment and the lightweight yet durable design makes it easy to manoeuvre and use. The rugged steel-handle construction is built for everyday cleaning and the pivoting EdgeWedge™ steam head and the “V” shaped steam head will get into every corner.   Features:   Ready in 30 seconds Easy-fill water reservoir with water level indicator Power-on and steam-ready display light Adjustable-length telescoping handle Contoured loop grip handle Quick-release cord wrap On/off power switch 5.5 m (18-ft.) power cord 1500 W Accessories Included:   1 machine washable microfibre shaggy dusting pad 2 machine washable microfibre cloth pads Funnel Fill cup Manual Specifications:   Dimensions (L x W x H): 30.5 cm x 21.6 cm x 127 cm (12 in. x 8.5 in. x 50 in.) Weight: 2.2 kg (4.9 lb.) Warranty: 1 year Model: PD20000BK
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:May 11, 2014

A used one

"I was first excited when I opened the package. Guess what..., a used steam mop! I can see the water still in the tank, some steaming mark on the base of the unit. A big disappointment! Take it back to Costco. My advice to you, please check!"
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:February 3, 2014

Great job

Pros: great value for the money
Cons: none
"Used this product on laminate floors and it did a great job; areas that appeared flat came out shiny and clean. The water residue was minimal and the floors dried quickly.
Though the water tank is very small, had enough water for two rooms with some to spare."
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, British Columbia
Date:February 7, 2013

Great Cleaner

"Great little steamer that steams fast, cleans and sanitizes large area with little effort, and the price is super."
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salmon Arm, BC
Date:January 27, 2013

Died after 9 months of use

"Loved this steamer until one day it stopped steaming. Purchased the steamer 9 months ago, used it once every 3 weeks until one day it just stopped working. The unit turns on; however, no steam is created."
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:July 29, 2012

Worked great at first

"I loved this mop for the first two months. It arrived quickly and was easy to put together and wasn't packaged in a ton of styrofoam. Now, I am not so happy. I plugged it in today and nothing. The light goes on but it doesn't heat up. I really did love it when it worked...be sure you save your receipt."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:July 21, 2012

A great Steam Mop

Pros: works well, price
"Effective, light.
I've used another leading brand for over a hundred dollars-this works better.
Easy to find more mop covers.
I use mine 1-2x a day and it has been working well for over a year"
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London
Date:May 8, 2012

great and easy

"Hello, I most recently purchased the Dirt Devil steamer, and it has been great. It is easy to use and very effective. I like that it came with three different clothes that one can use and wash. They are easy to put on and take off. I have used the steamer on our linolium floor and carpet. It was especially effective on the hard surface. btw: the Dirt Devil was delivered within two days."
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Date:April 26, 2012

Very good purchase

"First I did not know whether to shop the steam mop online or not. I am glad I did it. I tried it on all my floors, tiles, linoleum and carpets and I am really happy with the results. Easy to assemble, easy to use, really a good purchase. Exactly what I expected."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton,Ab
Date:March 6, 2012

Exactly what I wanted

"Excellent product. Fast delivery. Easy assembly. No mess use. No streaks. Clean and easy to use. I have tile and laminate. The micro pads are washable, so its easier on the environment. I would like to get my mom one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:January 26, 2012

Great if switch worked

"The steam mop took a long time to arrive, which seemd unusual for Costco online products.
The steam mop worked great. Loved the results on my floor. I tried it on linoleum, tile and a little bit of carpet. Seemed to work very well on all surfaces.
Only problem is that it kept turning off and on. I didn't seem to have much control over this. Called Dirt Devil. Waited a very long time, then had to leave a message. By the end of the day still did not hear back, so called again - waited a long time again. Finally, an agent tells me that it's probably the switch so return to Costco.
Well that was an drag. Haven't purchased another one yet fearing the same problem.
"
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:November 4, 2011

Good product at a great price.

Pros: microfiber cloths are great, cleans great
Cons: no trigger on the handle to control steam, no removeable resevoir
"This is a good product that I purchased for my mother; but, have tested it out to make sure it's sufficient for her. It cleans well and did a good job on the hardwood floors and helped refresh the carpet. I found that using the carpet tool in combination with the steam brightened the colour of my rug. It's not like a steam cleaner; but, it manages to intensify the colour. A couple considerations (especially for older customers like my mother) are that there is no trigger on the handle to control the steam and if you want to turn the steam on or off you must bend-down and manually shut it off or on. This could be a problem for those will back problems or other ailments. Also, there is no removeable resevoir to pour water into it and it comes with a cup and funnel that does the job. The water fill indicator is visually smaller than I would have liked; but, one full cup of water in included with the mop is sufficient to fill the tank, so you wouldn't even really need the water-fill indicator. The microfiber cloths are great and clean-up well in the laundry. The mop is also quite lightweight and easy to manuver. All in all, it's a great product for the price. I think my mom will be very happy with it!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB.
Date:August 22, 2011

Quite satisfied with my purchase.

Pros: no bucket or chemicals. easy and fast.
Cons: leaves floor a bit wetter than i was expecting.
"Received my Dirt Devil promptly. Very easy, one snap and it was assembled...filled it up with water, plugged it in and poof...it worked fine.
If anything, I find it almost releases too much steam. The floor is quite wet when I am done with it. Also...it works well on my sealed hardwood floors, almost streak free, however, not quite 100%, but you must look closely.
I think that it works much better than I was expecting it to work for the price range. I purchased another steam cleaner a couple of years ago and this one is MUCH, MUCH better.
Simple, light weight and a great product for the price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chatham Ont
Date:June 13, 2011

Dirt Devil Steam Mop

"Must explain, I am Purchaser and we have a cleaning lady whom asked us to buy a steam mop . Did not know was such a thing till checked around and this is Real Mckoy. You must know this is for Ceramic Tiles Only. I checked with our Flooring Supplier as we have mostly Hardwood Floors and They Said "No " to Using any Steam on Hardwood Floors so this is Just for Ceramic Floors . Cleaning Lady is Happy and if she is Happy We are Satisfied"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ontario
Date:April 21, 2011

Light duty appliance

Pros: light easy to use, great for quick cleaning
Cons: low steam output, cleaning head much smaller then expected.
"This steam mop offers satisfactory performance for the price. It is a good substitute for a mop and bucket for quick cleaning job. I bought this to clean my kitchen floor which always looks dirty, I can now clean it up quickly without having to take out the bucket; it is convienent. It does not have a very high steam output, I think I will try it on my hardwood floors with the thicker pad. I suspect it will not leave any more water then the mop does."
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:January 29, 2011

Adequate for the price

Pros: quick cleanup no chemicals
Cons: flimsy be careful using
"After what seemed like an exceedingly long time for my product to arrive (3 weeks) the item arrived with a hole in the box. The contents were not damaged, thankfully. Assembly was easy. The unit is quite flimsy when assembled. I have read many reveiws online indicating the unit quits after 3 uses or just after the 1 year warranty expires. I'm satisfied with the amount of steam generated, and it is handy for quick cleanup of dog footprints and spilled juice. I use reverse osmosis water, hopefully it will avoid some steam related issues later on. It's a relatively inexpensive item and I'd say I got what I paid for."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Steam Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Albert, AB
Date:January 4, 2011

Does the job

Pros: affordable, easy to use, no chemicals
"My Dirt Devil Steam Mop arrived promptly and was well packaged. Since it was subzero that day, I unpacked it and let it reach room temperature (electronics should not be used while "frozen").
After that, I put it to work.
The steam mop was easy to assemble and get started with. I do not have carpets but have plenty of tile and laminate flooring throughout the house. I used the steam mop as per instructions, on the tile and some laminate flooring as well, but found it to be performing much better on the tile. The laminate seems to have had a bit of a haze after the steaming; there were never any wax applied to it in the past but I have used natural oils product for cleaning. I presume the haze might have been the result of the oil-cleaner.
The mop performed quite well on the tile in the kitchen and bathroom. Although the tile was a bit more wet than anticipated, it dried relatively quickly, and was much cleaner than when cleaned with the use of regular mop, or Swiffer wet pads.
To me, a major selling point of this appliance is no chemicals used in the cleaning process, a very important point for myself and my 3 dogs and a cat. The mop takes a very small amount of water but I was able to clean the fair size kitchen, and a bathroom, with one fill. The pads wash easily in any washing machine and, as per instructions, I air-dried mine.
This steam mop also cost much less than the Shark one, which I originally wanted to buy online. So, if it keeps working like it does, I will be very happy with this appliance.
Another very important thing is that, should the mop quit working, I can return it hassle-free to any local Costco. The only one thing I would change is the length of the power cord; a tad short but I have outlets everywhere so it's no big deal. The instructions say not to use the extension cord - not exactly sure why but I don't think it would "break" if one was actually used.
The steam mop did the job well and with ease, and without chemicals. I'd like to rate it at 4.5 out of 5. Thank you."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.