Customer Reviews for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser

Our Black & Decker® bottom-loading water cooler is the finest of its kind. You will no longer need to lift that heavy water bottle on to the dispenser unit! This water dispenser has a cleaner sleeker look with the added benefit of the bottom compartment hiding the water bottle. With water that is as cold as 3-degree Celsius, you can enjoy the fresh taste of a nice glass of icy-cold water. Instantly-hot water temperatures will allow you the convenience of hot tea and soups, immediately! It looks great and works even better! Features:   Stainless steel and black   No more lifting, flipping or spilling   No more bottle exposure   Energy Star® compliant   Dispenses hot and cold water twice as fast as competitors   Uses 11.36 or 18.93 L (3- or 5-gal) bottles (not included)   Convenient piano-key type controls on top   Ramp to allow easy installation of bottle   Child safety switch on hot control   Automatic shut off   Dual LED night-lights   Cold output: 3.79 L (1 gal) per hour at 4°C to 10°C (40°F to 50°F)   Hot output: 3.79 L (1 gal) per hour at 85°C to 92°C (185°F to 199°F)   Specifications:  Dimensions (L x W x H): 38.1 cm x 32 cm x 102.9 cm (15 in. x 12.6 in. x 40.5 in.); Weight: 16.2 kg (35.7 lb.)   Warranty:   1-year limited, parts and labour Model: 10-026
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
29
85 of 126(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Review 1 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St-Hyacinthe, Qc
Date:August 1, 2012

Very disappointed

Pros: nice looking design
Cons: bad tasting water, noisy
"Received the cooler by UPS, so far so good. Delivery time was excellent. When we opened the box, the first thing we noticed was that the top of the machine was detached (totally off - not normal). After re-attaching and cleaning (as recommended by Black and Decker) we plugged in the machine and the nightmare began. Awful noise that just would not stop, awful tasting water no matter how many rinses and gallons of waters we ran through it. Then we took a closer look at the machine. It looked as if it had been used (scratches, dirty, fingerprints on the bottom front and sides, the top of the machine had unusual marks on it (like knife cuts). It was probably a refurbished machine, we'll never know because B&D never returned our calls. So we took the machine back to Costco's who graciously refunded our money and explained to us that these online orders were shipped directly from the manufacturer and not from a Costco warehouse. I guess they didn't want us to think it was their fault (and we didn't) . As usual, Costco gave us excellent service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cochrane
Date:January 11, 2012

Nice Product

Pros: quality product water comes out fast looks great
Cons: pain to rinse out plastic taste, probably not suitable for seniors or arthritics
"We did read a lot of reviews before purchasing so knew what to expect. There was a bad taste to the water and so I did go through the sanitizing process outlined in the manual - don't bother, it doesn't work - instead, prepare a water/vinegar solution and run it through. I rinsed it twice and everything is fine. We really like how the machine runs, we never notice the noise (when it's pulling up water, it does sound like a pump but you no longer have the glug glug sound). Cold water comes out 2x faster than our last water cooler and the hot water is hot and you can call B&D to adjust it to make it hotter. I can see elderly people having problems with the set up as you have to basically get down on your hands and knees to unload and load the water and the tap that screws on to the bottle can get really tight with the suction that gets created. Also, you have to take off the top to your water bottle to screw in the tap (which may seem obvious but may also be a pain in the butt). We like that there is no longer a bottle on top and this has created a nice little storage space and it looks sleek."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:July 10, 2013

Works great for me

Pros: easy to load
Cons: loud when it runs (but not very often)
"I am a single woman living alone, with fibromyalgia. There is no way that I can load a top loading water cooler unless I buy very small jugs of water. This water cooler has a small ramp so I never have to lift the jug of water.
I did not have any problems with set up, smell, mess, or taste. But I bought mine a few months ago. Maybe something has changed since then. There seems to be a lot of bad reviews lately.
NOISE: It works by pumping air into the bottle to create pressure that feeds the water up tubes into the refrigeration tank. So when you fill a glass of water there is a small air compressor (or something) that runs for a few seconds to pump air into the bottle. It is loud, but not disruptively loud, and does not last long. Occasionally the bottle may lose some air pressure naturally and the pump will run for a few seconds seemingly out of the blue. If the pump is running a LOT, its probably because there isn't a good seal on the cap. You can adjust the seal. Sometimes if the seal is too tight it can create an air leak too, so don't go too crazy tightening it.
The water chilling and heating part of the machine is extremely quiet.
To give you an idea of how quiet it is, and how infrequently the pump runs... I have fibromyalgia, and with that comes insomnia. I am a light sleeper. This unit is right outside of my bedroom door and I don't think it's ever woke me up.
I've seen people complain about the beeping alarm that sounds when the water bottle is empty. It doesn't really bother me much. I just unplug it until I change the bottle.
SMELL/TASTE: I did not run any type of cleaning solution through the system when I first opened it. I just ran a few litres of clean water through it. The water tasted fine right from the start.
QUALITY: I don't find the quality of the materials and construction to be amazing, but it's not junk either. It's about what I expect from this brand name. Maybe I have low expectations. Seems like everything is cheap junk these days.
COOL: It has switches on the back so that you can turn off the heater or chiller. I think it's great to have that option.
UNCOOL: My only complaint - you can't turn off the night light.
PRICE: I thought the price on this was fair, and I'm pretty sure I bought it at full price. I found it to be a nicer unit and around the same price as cheap looking plastic top loaders."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint John, NB
Date:September 15, 2012

Great So Far

Pros: easy to use, nice looking, quiet, non odor or odd taste to water
Cons: shipped by ups
"So I have had this water cooler for almost a week. Its near my bedroom so noise is important. I was worried when I read some reviews about it being loud, but I thought, why not try it. Its a good brand name and it has some good reviews as well. Once I got it, (warning: its shipped UPS) the box was pretty beat up, but the machine looked great. I only did the one cleaning and the water tasted normal, so I was happy. It was noisy at the start, but if you open and close the door, the noise went away. Now it is rarely noisy, but if you just touch the door, the noise goes away. The cold water is at a good temperature. I don't use the hot water, I have no need for it. This is the first cooler I have had that was bottom loading and the difference is great. One, you don't see the bottle, secondly the girlfriend can change the water bottle too, not just me (haha). All and all, I am happy with this product and am glad I bought it."
Review 5 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:November 24, 2010

Great Water Cooler

"I purchased this product as a replacement for my 15 year old water cooler that still works. I purchased this one as I liked the idea of not lifting the bottle onto the cooler. I have had no problems with this product and it is easy to keep clean. I have read the other reviews and some say this cooler is noisy. Mine is not noisy or loud, in fact I hardly hear it run at all. The only time I really hear it is when I am getting a glass of water and the pump is working to refill the resevoir. I also like that you can turn the hot or cold water off if you do not need them. I only have the hot water on when I know I will be using it therefore saving energy. All in all this is a good product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012

BEST WATER COOLER EVER

Pros: beautiful, space saver, great tasting water, hot and cold water, easy to change water
"I'm absolutely in love with this water cooler, everyone should have one, in fact I wish I had one in every room of my house. Before we purchased it we read the reviews about people saying the water tasted like plastic or had an odd taste. So when we bought it we did the cleaning with the bleach, like it says in the manual, before even knowing if ours would taste like plastic. We figured might as well clean right from the start so we wouldn't have to deal with it later. Well the water taste PERFECTLY fine. The first few glasses I thought I could smell bleach but that could of been just the smell lingering in my house. I love my water cooler, it does not taste odd, no parts have broke, it isn't noisy at all and it's beautiful. The best purchase we have made in a long time. If you just clean it right from the start I am sure you will not have an issue with the plastic funny taste other people were writing about."
Review 7 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON
Date:November 18, 2012

Great idea, good looking, low quality item

Pros: looks great. hidden bottle.
Cons: poor quality.
"I've received the cooler in great condition, no problems with the package. I've set it up according to the instructions and the plastic-like taste was gone after that. I looks quite nice with the stainless steel, the black casing and the hidden bottle. I liked that the buttons are quite high, too high for toddlers that want to play with them. It leaked after 10 days, so I ended up returning it. The water was leaking from somewhere near the cool water tank that's on top, so I don't think it had anything to do with the water bottle or how I installed it.
If you're replacing a one spout cooler, be aware that this one has two, one for each water temperature. I was also expecting that it would be easy to replace the bottle compared with the regular coolers, but you're just replacing the bottle lifting with ensuring a tight seal. In fact, it was probably harder to replace the bottle on this one for my wife."
Review 8 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC
Date:February 16, 2012

Water Cooler

"A very good water cooler for the money. Looks great and well made. After the initial
cleaning,there was no after taste of plastic or metal.The cold water is cold enough, but I wish the hot was a bit higher in temperature.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB.
Date:December 4, 2012

Great Water Cooler!

Pros: sleek design - outside is very easy to keep clean, easy to find space for even in a small kitchen, safety lock on hot water button for little ones, great loading..just need your foot !
Cons: none
"I forgot to review this until I looked it up online again to purchase 2 more for our adult children for Christmas. That's how pleased we've been with this item. We have had ours for almost a year and have been very pleased with it. Our kids love it so much when they come over, they'll each be getting their own.
The looks are great, it's super easy to load with the lower ramp, the soft night lights are very nice to have in the middle of the night. The cold water is very cold and the hot water is nice and hot and fine for my tea or hot chocolate. The 'seconds' brief low hum after pouring a glass of water has never, ever been an issue or bothersome to us. I'd rate it on the same level as the 'glug-glug' noise of a conventional top loading one and only makes the sound after a pour or briefly when the water is almost done. Otherwise, it's completely silent.
There is a constant small beep-beep-beep telling you when to refill. If you don't have a spare jug on hand, just open the bottom door until you throw another jug in and the beeping will subside.
We followed the directions for set-up as per the instruction manual and have enjoyed fresh, clean tasting water from day one.
The water jug probe can't possibly suck every last drop of water out near the end the way that most water jugs are designed at the bottom, so we just simply pour the remainder in a small refrigerator water jug or put it in our Keurig.
We love ours and have for nearly one year. It's been a wonderful asset to our home and would highly recommend it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Coquitlam, BC
Date:August 17, 2013

Poor Quality. All show, no go.

Pros: great aesthetics, child safe top mounted buttons, convenient bottom loading
Cons: often arrives dented (ours did), the cooling pump / compressor was noisy!, the pump is loud(only cycles on during dispensing), really poor quality control
"Well darn. I wanted to like this water cooler, I really did! Unfortunately, like so many other reviewers, the unit I received had a few flaws that were too much to accept. This unit was returned to the store.
- Dents: after unpacking, we found one small dent in the front panel / door. Not a deal breaker, but not very cool.
- Poor taste: after rinsing out the cooler with vinegar and flushing again with water, we did not have any issues with poor tasting water.
- NOISE! this unit is a bit noisy for about a minute when water is being dispensed. The pump is fairly loud, but for us it wasn't a deal breaker.
- NOISE! in our case, the unit's compressor was horribly noisy. Every time it would chill the water, the unit would vibrate, the sheet metal sides reverberated and it sounded like the cooler might wind itself up and fly away.
- I shimmed the side of the unit to try and reduce the noise, but it continued to get louder.
It seems Black & Decker has some real quality control issues. I've never seen so many polar opposite reviews on Costco's site.
Bottom Line: If you decide to buy this unit, just be aware that you're rolling the dice and you may have to return it."
Review 11 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:moncton nb
Date:November 5, 2010

great product

"very good looking unit, easy to clean, and to load refills.i like the option of being able to shut off the hot water when not required saving energy. runs very quiet. excellent buy"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Date:July 9, 2012

Great Cooler

Pros: lower bottle placement, led lighting, easy push button dispenser, stainless finish
Cons: noisy if not leveled properly
"Cooler arrived and was easy enough to set up. Didn't get a chance to pre-rinse with bleach or vinegar just ran the hot and cold taps and removed a liter or two of water then tasted a glassful. No funny odor or taste. The lower front panel had two dents from shipping which i requested a replacement panel sent and it arrived within two days. It came faster than the cooler funny enough. Noticed that the cooler was a little noisy if not placed level on the floor. Just leveled it out and it was good to go. I would recommend this cooler for the lower hidden bottle placement and the LED lighting is great at night to grab water without having to turn on the lights."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:March 12, 2012

Don't listen to bad reviews!

Pros: easy to load water, nice looking, quiet
Cons: press down button a bit tough for younger kids
"I love this cooler!! I had a Sunbeam cooler for 8 years, loved it, except the water bottle was always the issue with having to lift it up and place it on top. This new cooler is awesome! So much easier. And to all the bad tasting reviews, yes, it did have a platicky taste, after cleaning it with bleach twice, and vinegar, you just have to let it run through about a week and the taste will eventually go away. I did call the toll free number and they said use half a cup of baking soda to a gallon of water, but I didn't do that, it just went away on it's own. I love this cooler, and hopefully this will last just as long as the other one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norwood, Ontario
Date:September 27, 2011

Works Great!

Pros: look, bottom loading, no heavy bottles to lift chest high for my wife, really hot water, fast shipping
Cons: lights could be brighter or different settings
"Ran into some water issues at the new house so I was looking for a water cooler when I came across this one. Great idea with the bottom load! We have ran 3 bottles through now and it works great. Hot water is really hot and my sceptical wife was impressed. No more boiling water in a kettle for her tea.
I ordered this product on-line and it was sitting at my door in only 2 or 3 days. I followed the instruction for cleaning for the first time and that was it. Water tastes great.
Someone from the the company even followed up with a phone call to makesure we received the product and it was working fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam, BC
Date:February 25, 2013

Looks great, well designed

Pros: bottom loading of bottle
Cons: kind of noisy when empty
"This was delivered very quickly. The packaging is very good and kept the unit in excellent condition. Pretty easy to set up (my kids cooperated on setup) and very simple to use. There was a slight plastic taste until about 3/4 of the way through the first bottle in spite of following the instructions to the letter, but it has now disappeared. A very useful feature is the subtle lighting in the spigot area, which makes it very easy to see in low light."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Date:November 10, 2013

not impressed, not recommended

Pros: cold water is ice cold, hot water is scourching hot, overall style is easy on the eyes
Cons: very noisey, pump is erratic, always leftover water in the old bottle, new bottle needs to be drained a bit before instal, very poor loading design, requires much up keep to run correctly
"Initially I wanted a bottom load water cooler because seeing a 20L jug sitting on top of a machine in the kitchen isn't very appealing to the eyes. You live and learn because if/when I buy a new water cooler, it will definitely be a top load. The heating and cooling of the water can be heard throughout the day and seeing as how our bedroom is right beside the cooler, this makes it even more annoying. Often times, the pump cycles for very long periods trying to pump up the water into the internal reservoir. At times this pumping goes on for hours and when I check the water bottle to make sure there's adequate water, the bottle always has more than 1/3 remaining. When I unscrew the pump cap that has to be mounted to the water bottle, there's a loud hiss and then the water will pump up again. It is as though a vacuum lock is created. This can happen 5-8 times between each bottle change which becomes a nuisance. Not only does the unit run noisy but it also vibrates quite a bit. This is obviously a concern to other consumers or to B&D because they went to the extent of including a foam pad to install under the unit. My last complaint about this unit is that there is always about 1.5L of water left over in the bottle because it is a bottom load. So every time you switch bottles you'll need to drain out that left over water into a jug. The same can be said when installing a new bottle. The suction cap has a long tube which needs to be inserted into the bottle. By doing so, the new bottle of water is already filled to the top so if you insert the suction cap/tube the water over flows onto the floor. You'll be required to lift up the jug and drain out 1/2L or so into the sink before you can install the new bottle. This completely defeats the purpose of a bottom load water cooler. That means for every 18.9L bottle your wasting 2L of water which equates to 0.52 cents per bottle"
Review 17 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

Not great

"Very loud and not that great looking (as opposed to a on line photo). Very poor finishing - sharp edges, bent metal pieces. Quite loud."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:welland.on
Date:May 8, 2013

watercooler

Pros: none
Cons: way to loud
"this cooler is way to loud ,sounds like a coffee pot percolating but a lot louder(every 5 minutes) .what a piece of junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

All Show and No Go

Pros: looks good.
Cons: poor construction awkward and unmanageable, noisy, water not cold enough
"This was a big disappointment. The water never gets very cold and the difficulty level of disengaging the water jug from the cooler's assembly every time it needs refilling is ridiculous. My husband is the only one strong enough. I regret buying it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC
Date:October 4, 2013

Nice Product

Pros: cold and hot water on demand, bottom loading, nice looking
Cons: none
"Ordered this on Sunday and had it on Tuesday! This is the second of these coolers I have purchased. We liked it so much we got one for the kitchen. I love the bottom loading, fast hot water and very cold drinking water. With reference to the noise this machine makes, the only thing I hear is when the pump charges the reservoir, or the refrigeration kicks in. These are normal sounds IMHO."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>