Customer Reviews for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser

Our Black & Decker® bottom-loading water cooler is the finest of its kind. You will no longer need to lift that heavy water bottle on to the dispenser unit! This water dispenser has a cleaner sleeker look with the added benefit of the bottom compartment hiding the water bottle. With water that is as cold as 3-degree Celsius, you can enjoy the fresh taste of a nice glass of icy-cold water. Instantly-hot water temperatures will allow you the convenience of hot tea and soups, immediately! It looks great and works even better! Features:   Stainless steel and black   No more lifting, flipping or spilling   No more bottle exposure   Energy Star® compliant   Dispenses hot and cold water twice as fast as competitors   Uses 11.36 or 18.93 L (3- or 5-gal) bottles (not included)   Convenient piano-key type controls on top   Ramp to allow easy installation of bottle   Child safety switch on hot control   Automatic shut off   Dual LED night-lights   Cold output: 3.79 L (1 gal) per hour at 4°C to 10°C (40°F to 50°F)   Hot output: 3.79 L (1 gal) per hour at 85°C to 92°C (185°F to 199°F)   Specifications:  Dimensions (L x W x H): 38.1 cm x 32 cm x 102.9 cm (15 in. x 12.6 in. x 40.5 in.); Weight: 16.2 kg (35.7 lb.)   Warranty:   1-year limited, parts and labour Model: 10-026
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
(out of 126 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
29
85 of 126(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Review 1 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Date:November 10, 2013

not impressed, not recommended

Pros: cold water is ice cold, hot water is scourching hot, overall style is easy on the eyes
Cons: very noisey, pump is erratic, always leftover water in the old bottle, new bottle needs to be drained a bit before instal, very poor loading design, requires much up keep to run correctly
"Initially I wanted a bottom load water cooler because seeing a 20L jug sitting on top of a machine in the kitchen isn't very appealing to the eyes. You live and learn because if/when I buy a new water cooler, it will definitely be a top load. The heating and cooling of the water can be heard throughout the day and seeing as how our bedroom is right beside the cooler, this makes it even more annoying. Often times, the pump cycles for very long periods trying to pump up the water into the internal reservoir. At times this pumping goes on for hours and when I check the water bottle to make sure there's adequate water, the bottle always has more than 1/3 remaining. When I unscrew the pump cap that has to be mounted to the water bottle, there's a loud hiss and then the water will pump up again. It is as though a vacuum lock is created. This can happen 5-8 times between each bottle change which becomes a nuisance. Not only does the unit run noisy but it also vibrates quite a bit. This is obviously a concern to other consumers or to B&D because they went to the extent of including a foam pad to install under the unit. My last complaint about this unit is that there is always about 1.5L of water left over in the bottle because it is a bottom load. So every time you switch bottles you'll need to drain out that left over water into a jug. The same can be said when installing a new bottle. The suction cap has a long tube which needs to be inserted into the bottle. By doing so, the new bottle of water is already filled to the top so if you insert the suction cap/tube the water over flows onto the floor. You'll be required to lift up the jug and drain out 1/2L or so into the sink before you can install the new bottle. This completely defeats the purpose of a bottom load water cooler. That means for every 18.9L bottle your wasting 2L of water which equates to 0.52 cents per bottle"
Review 2 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC
Date:October 4, 2013

Nice Product

Pros: cold and hot water on demand, bottom loading, nice looking
Cons: none
"Ordered this on Sunday and had it on Tuesday! This is the second of these coolers I have purchased. We liked it so much we got one for the kitchen. I love the bottom loading, fast hot water and very cold drinking water. With reference to the noise this machine makes, the only thing I hear is when the pump charges the reservoir, or the refrigeration kicks in. These are normal sounds IMHO."
Review 3 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ancaster, Ontario
Date:August 31, 2013

Very Satisfied!

Pros: attractive unit.
Cons: sometimes a bit loud.
"I was leery about ordering this cooler after reading the negative reviews, but I really liked the look of it and thought I would give it a try. Costco has a good return policy, and I knew that if I wasn't satisfied, I could easily return it to a Costco store.
We have had the cooler now for about 3 months, and I am very happy with the water quality and ease of use. I would recommend this product.
"
Review 4 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2013

Excellent water cooler

Pros: easy bottom loading, compact size, perfect water temperatures
"I purchased this water cooler after a family member had purchased one and I really liked it. The bottom loading is a real plus. It was easy to set up and the cold and hot water are both at the perfect temperature! We are loving this product and would definitely recommend it to anyone."
Review 5 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Date:August 24, 2013

Looks great but is terrible

"I ordered this online because I thought it would be great for my office - looks nice, bottom-loading, etc. I had to return three separate units and eventually gave up. Here were the issues:
Unit #1 - The cold water refrigeration did not work
Unit #2 - It was super wobbly and there were some random loose screws in the box. I think a piece was broken.
Unit #3 - The switch that recognizes that the loading door is closed was broken and the plastic part that holds it was completely broken off and loose in the box.
Do not waste your time with this unit."
Review 6 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:vancouver BC
Date:August 22, 2013

Total waste of time

Pros: looks good
Cons: doesn't work
"Read some mixed reviews on this product. Still decided to give it a try, what a big mistake. Upon receipt of the product which was in great condition. Spend more than 2 hrs trying to set it up and get it going, an't working!
I was being nice to follow the instruction and call their service dept instead of returning the product. Called twice and was promised a technician will call back, never did. Returned the product, good thing i bought it from Costco.
"
Review 7 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Coquitlam, BC
Date:August 17, 2013

Poor Quality. All show, no go.

Pros: great aesthetics, child safe top mounted buttons, convenient bottom loading
Cons: often arrives dented (ours did), the cooling pump / compressor was noisy!, the pump is loud(only cycles on during dispensing), really poor quality control
"Well darn. I wanted to like this water cooler, I really did! Unfortunately, like so many other reviewers, the unit I received had a few flaws that were too much to accept. This unit was returned to the store.
- Dents: after unpacking, we found one small dent in the front panel / door. Not a deal breaker, but not very cool.
- Poor taste: after rinsing out the cooler with vinegar and flushing again with water, we did not have any issues with poor tasting water.
- NOISE! this unit is a bit noisy for about a minute when water is being dispensed. The pump is fairly loud, but for us it wasn't a deal breaker.
- NOISE! in our case, the unit's compressor was horribly noisy. Every time it would chill the water, the unit would vibrate, the sheet metal sides reverberated and it sounded like the cooler might wind itself up and fly away.
- I shimmed the side of the unit to try and reduce the noise, but it continued to get louder.
It seems Black & Decker has some real quality control issues. I've never seen so many polar opposite reviews on Costco's site.
Bottom Line: If you decide to buy this unit, just be aware that you're rolling the dice and you may have to return it."
Review 8 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON
Date:July 26, 2013

WASTE OF TIME

Cons: very poor quality.
"We loved the unit, at first, but within 6 months of purchase the unit stopped producing cold water. After several tries and days of trying to get through to customer service, we finally did and were told to return the unit to the store even though the documentation says not to. We ordered another one and this one came in damaged! What a waste of time."
Review 9 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:July 10, 2013

Works great for me

Pros: easy to load
Cons: loud when it runs (but not very often)
"I am a single woman living alone, with fibromyalgia. There is no way that I can load a top loading water cooler unless I buy very small jugs of water. This water cooler has a small ramp so I never have to lift the jug of water.
I did not have any problems with set up, smell, mess, or taste. But I bought mine a few months ago. Maybe something has changed since then. There seems to be a lot of bad reviews lately.
NOISE: It works by pumping air into the bottle to create pressure that feeds the water up tubes into the refrigeration tank. So when you fill a glass of water there is a small air compressor (or something) that runs for a few seconds to pump air into the bottle. It is loud, but not disruptively loud, and does not last long. Occasionally the bottle may lose some air pressure naturally and the pump will run for a few seconds seemingly out of the blue. If the pump is running a LOT, its probably because there isn't a good seal on the cap. You can adjust the seal. Sometimes if the seal is too tight it can create an air leak too, so don't go too crazy tightening it.
The water chilling and heating part of the machine is extremely quiet.
To give you an idea of how quiet it is, and how infrequently the pump runs... I have fibromyalgia, and with that comes insomnia. I am a light sleeper. This unit is right outside of my bedroom door and I don't think it's ever woke me up.
I've seen people complain about the beeping alarm that sounds when the water bottle is empty. It doesn't really bother me much. I just unplug it until I change the bottle.
SMELL/TASTE: I did not run any type of cleaning solution through the system when I first opened it. I just ran a few litres of clean water through it. The water tasted fine right from the start.
QUALITY: I don't find the quality of the materials and construction to be amazing, but it's not junk either. It's about what I expect from this brand name. Maybe I have low expectations. Seems like everything is cheap junk these days.
COOL: It has switches on the back so that you can turn off the heater or chiller. I think it's great to have that option.
UNCOOL: My only complaint - you can't turn off the night light.
PRICE: I thought the price on this was fair, and I'm pretty sure I bought it at full price. I found it to be a nicer unit and around the same price as cheap looking plastic top loaders."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 2, 2013

Very bad quality

Pros: the only pro is i can send this back to costco!!!
Cons: too many to list.
"Where should I start? I bought this product because I like the idea of not looking at the bottle. When I got it home I put it right in my kitchen. I put a new water bottle in it and ran many glasses of water through it to clean it out a bit. I have had it for several weeks now and the water tastes terrible, like a chemical taste. It is also very loud. So I can't stand the taste of the water and it is noisy in my kitchen. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this thing. Why would Black and Decker put their name on a low quality think like this?"
Review 11 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

Not great

"Very loud and not that great looking (as opposed to a on line photo). Very poor finishing - sharp edges, bent metal pieces. Quite loud."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:welland.on
Date:May 8, 2013

watercooler

Pros: none
Cons: way to loud
"this cooler is way to loud ,sounds like a coffee pot percolating but a lot louder(every 5 minutes) .what a piece of junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:April 11, 2013

Might have been good?

Pros: bottom loading
Cons: didn't work - even on the second order, got oil all over our clothes and floor
"I was excited to get this cooler because of the nice appearance it has as well as the bottom loading feature. When I received it and opened the box we got "oil" all over us. We think it was oil or freion (sp). There was a copper tube busted in the back which got fluid all over us and our floor. We sent it back (which was no problem) and got another one. Which was also broken. This time it kept doing a banging noise which we thought would pass or was because of the connection/set up. We called the number and they told us it was broken and would need to be sent back. We sent it back and got a culligan. Which works great but is top loading."
Review 14 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alliston, ON
Date:March 15, 2013

Excellent Choice

"We ordered this product for our office and are so pleased with it. The cold water is ice cold and the instant hot is amazing. The design is very pleasing to the eye and fits in well in any area of our office."
Review 15 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

All Show and No Go

Pros: looks good.
Cons: poor construction awkward and unmanageable, noisy, water not cold enough
"This was a big disappointment. The water never gets very cold and the difficulty level of disengaging the water jug from the cooler's assembly every time it needs refilling is ridiculous. My husband is the only one strong enough. I regret buying it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:March 9, 2013

Very Loud

"The noise that comes out of the cooler is crazy!!!!"
Review 17 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MTL
Date:March 8, 2013

good choice

"I like the Dual LED night-lights. Modern design. Hot water for heating up the milk of my baby. I would recommend my choice to you in such low price."
Review 18 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam, BC
Date:February 25, 2013

Looks great, well designed

Pros: bottom loading of bottle
Cons: kind of noisy when empty
"This was delivered very quickly. The packaging is very good and kept the unit in excellent condition. Pretty easy to set up (my kids cooperated on setup) and very simple to use. There was a slight plastic taste until about 3/4 of the way through the first bottle in spite of following the instructions to the letter, but it has now disappeared. A very useful feature is the subtle lighting in the spigot area, which makes it very easy to see in low light."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON
Date:February 14, 2013

Love it

Pros: it is so nice not to have to lift the heavy jugs
Cons: none that i can think or.
"I bought the bottom loading water cooler last month and so far I love it. It is a lot easier to add the water bottle. I followed the directions that came with it and it all worked well immediately. I did not find any bad taste to the water and my husband likes the convenience of having hot water at his fingertips. I would definitely recommend this product. One of the reasons for buying it was that my husband hurt his back putting a jug on the other cooler recently."
Review 20 for Black & Decker® Bottom-loading Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:edmonton
Date:January 23, 2013

brand new but not functioning well

"i purchased this unit 5 days ago, i did everything according to the manual for setup,after waiting 24 hours for the water to get cold ,did not happen. Called the technician for help, he tried to help but still nothing changed...i have to return it. very diasspointing.."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>