Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier

Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
7 of 12(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 1 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:October 6, 2011

Poor design, took it back

Pros: looks sleek and sharp
Cons: poor design and operation
"Bought 3 for the family, tried them all for 2 nights & took all 3 back. Comes with lots of features that are not relevant to me like the humidity measure, timer and clock. Controls are at floor level so it is hard to see which black button you need to press, plus when you unplug to refill or clean you lose all that programming. The steam is ejected so weakly that it just drops to the floor in front of the machine - the floor get sopping wet while the room stays dry. Hard to see what the water level in the reservoir tank is."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Coquitlam, BC
Date:May 6, 2011

Good product for the cost

Pros: quiet, progammable
Cons: no easy way to fill
"Nice design, quiet. Works well for small-medium size room"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:February 25, 2011

Defective design?

Cons: not reliable, not powerfull enough
"There is something wrong with the design. Sometimes, the base is getting flooded with water, and then the water leaks out to the floor, while there is very little water output from the top hole. I could not find any reason for that. Maybe it is effect of ultrasonic waves? It happened 3 times during 5 days of working.
Besides, it is not powerful enough for a middle-sized office room with two desks. The maximum humidity I could get is 30%, after running non-stop for two days. The room is almost air-tight.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerHousewaresMarch 9, 2011
Thank you for your review.

There are several easy steps which can be taken to avoid water leaks from the tank. Start by removing the tank and replacing or repositioning the gasket - this will fix any gasket issues. You can also make sure to place the unit on a flat or leveled surface and to tighten the cap after each refill. Lastly, filling the unit with cool water only. To help with reduced or no mist coming from the unit, please refill the tank and increase the setting to high. If you are still having issues, you can also clean the transducer. Please refer to your manual for cleaning instructions. If any problem persist, please contact the Bionaire customer service department at 1-800-667-8623.
Review 4 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 19, 2011

Leaked two nights in a row - it's going back!

Pros: quiet
Cons: leaks
"Caution - use a drip tray! The machine was very quiet and did increase the humidity, but it also leaked the first two nights we used it. I'm taking it back and looking for something else."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:February 12, 2011

Hit and Miss

"I have had 3 units of this same model. One of them works, and it works well. However, the other two just didn't work properly. They stop intermittently."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:February 8, 2011

Excellent Humidifier, Great Price

Pros: humidifies well, cheaper @ costco than anywhere else, looks sleek
Cons: refill once a day
"Humidifier is really great, and is cheaper at costco than anywhere else. Doesn't last up to 36 hours - lasts about 15 but filling once a day isn't that big of a deal. Was having problems sleeping before purchasing this, now the room feels great! Also looks really good compared to most."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peace River Alberta
Date:February 4, 2011

Bionaire Ultrasonic Humidifier

Pros: automatic
Cons: none
"This is a wonderful product, with automatic shutoff, room humidity display, water level indicator and warning, change filter indicator. Maintenance is very easy and the operation is so quiet.
Its been a long time since I have had such a sound sleep. During the day, I leave it on for my plants to enjoy some humidity
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 3, 2011

Quiet Humidifier

Pros: quiet, lasts long once filled
Cons: not as powerful as i would like
"I shopped around and this was an excellent value for price. It is a very quiet unit and once filled it lasts for over 24 hours. I only wish it was a bit more powerful so that it would do more rooms, which at this point is the only fault I can find."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 31, 2011

In the beginning, it was so fantastic...but then..

Pros: virtually silent
Cons: no filters/carteridge
"I bought this humidifier three months ago and was so excited when I started using it. It was absolutely silent and did the trick! However, three months later, I'm incredibly disappointed. There's no filter on this model and no way to clean it. So now it has that stale gross smell when it's running and there's no way to get rid of it. I've even tried using bottled water to see if I could get rid of the scent, but it didn't make a difference. As much as I hate the added cost of filters or wicks, in this case, I wisht his humidifier had it because I just hate the smell that comes on when it's on now. Would definitely not recommend unless anyone knows how to clean it :( I cannot find any instructions on how to do so..."
Review 10 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:January 20, 2011
Pros: looks ease of use
Cons: incomplete instructions
"Very good unit. The only problem is the instructions mention filters and cleaning but this model does NOT have a filter. Nowhere do the instructions mention that little detail."
Response from Costco:By BuyerSmall Appliances February 7, 2011
Thank you for your review.

Please refer to the Cleaning and Maintenance section of the instruction manual which details how to clean and disinfect the humidifier base and tank.

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the Costco.ca call centre at 1-888-426-7826.
Review 11 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:December 14, 2010

best humidifier ever

Pros: quiet, auto shut off, humidity control, digital
Cons: no heated mist
"just logged in now to buy another one.
this is a great deal. excellent price for this superior humidifier. works great, so quiet, easy maintenance. love the first one so had to buy another.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bionaire® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC
Date:November 29, 2010

Great humidifier

Pros: multiple features sleek looking
"It's hard to find a humidifier with the features I was looking for: programmable, humidity sensor, timer, anti-bacterial feature, and sleek looking. This one fits the bill. It's made a big difference to my bedroom with improvements to my breathing and dry skin. I'm buying a second one for another bedroom."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.