Customer Reviews for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator

2000 Peak Watts 1600 Running Watts
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Review 1 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:August 28, 2010

Great generator

Pros: lighteweight easy start, can be hooked up in parallel with another., price compared to competition, ultra quiet
Cons: no 12 volt outlet, need bigger model for commercial power tools, would not power an air conditioner if required.
"I was looking for something portable in the 2000 watt range for a while now. I do own the Champion 4000 watt and love it but did not know this new one even existed. I was stuck on the Hyundai generator which seemed to meet the specifications I required. When it went on sale last June at our local big box store, I purchased it. Well the generator was defective out of the box. It went straight to a shop to be repaired. The mechanic gave me an exchange credit saying that it was beyond fixing so back to the store it went. The second one lasted 2 weekend camping trips and then refused to start. I have the blisters to show for it in my attempts to do so. I'm an engineer by trade and after trying in vain to troubleshoot it, back to the store it also went in disgust. To their credit, the big box store issued a full no hassle refund on the generator.So, I started a search on the internet for a replacement.
This is when I found this unit at Costco. I've had excellent reliability out of my 4000 watt so without hesitation I ordered the 2000. The unit was at my door in 3 days. I unpacked it, added oil and gas. It started on the second pull and purrs like a kitten. I hooked up power tools and heaters to it and it performs as rated. No more pulling multiple times to start a generator. This unit starts on half a pull with no choke when warmed up. I love it. I can lug it around like nothing and the modern look on it is great. Great purchase as it fulfills my camping needs."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond BC
Date:January 3, 2012
"I bought this generator in June of last year and got a chance to try it camping. At first I was apprehensive of running a generator and to my surprise, my neighbours were very accepting to it. Even they were surprised how quiet it ran. The park host ran a 2000 watt generator and it was much louder than mine. The fuel efficiecy for this gen was very good. I would buy another one along with the connect kit when I upgrade to a new travel frailer this summer"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops BC
Date:April 23, 2011

Great Purchase!

Pros: quiet, parallel kit, price
"I bought two of these when on sale. What a great deal! The reason for purchase is to use with a travel trailer.
They both fired up after about 3 pulls and I was very impressed with how quiet they are, especially in econ mode.
Just tried out the parallel kit, was able to start and run the 13.5k AC as well as run the microwave at the same time.
Very impressed so far. A great price alternative to the red or blue ones."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Innisfail, AB
Date:July 11, 2011

Good Purchase But

Pros: very quiet, easy to start, reliable, good company support, company committed to improving the product
Cons: susceptible to altitude, advertised watts and amps not as advertised
"They are very susceptible to altitude. I spoke with Champion Power Equipment tech support because my two paralelled inverters would trip my GFCI circuit when my A/C started. They were amazing to deal with and researched my problem thoroughly. They explained that I was losing 500-600 watts to mother nature just based on my elevation. That was also a factor in the severe voltage drop when my A/C kicks. In short they suggested I replace the GFCI circuit and if that doesn't work then a hard start capacitor might be what I need. Great company to deal with and aside from their rated wattage and amperage not being 100% accurate outside of California where they were tested all their other specs are true. Very quiet even when running two at the same time. I can confirm they will run for 13 hours at 25% load."
Review 5 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:May 15, 2011

Great Buy

"Bought this little generator about 3 months ago and have used it almost every weekend. Pros..Very quiet,easy on gas,light and easy to carry around,starts easy...Con..Have to take out back panel to check the oil. Highly recommend and I'm thinking of getting another one AAA+"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2012

Great Little Generator

Pros: good price
"Purchased this unit to power a small travel trailer. I was looking for something fairly chaep as I will only be using it several times a year. Friend also has the same generator and has stated that he has never had an issue with his. Was delighted when it was delivered to my door three days early.
Took it out of the box and read through the instructions which were easy to understand.
The only complaint I had was that I had to run to the gas station to purchase a bottle of oil. I have heard that many other companies have a bottle of oil included with there generators. Not really a complaint, more that I wanted to fire this thing up now, lol
I followed the instructions and added the oil, note when they say it only takes 0.4 litres of oil, that is all it takes. Made a little mess but that is part of the learning curve of buying a new toy.
Took it outside for it's first start up. Followed the directions and did three of four slow pulls on the cord to cycle some oil then gave her a good pull and off she went puring like a kitten.
I have plugged a few tools into it to test it and have not had any problems powering them at all.
Would reccomend this generator for the folks out there that are looking a decent and cheaper generator"
Review 7 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kamloops
Date:April 19, 2011

Great product so far

Pros: price for what you are getting.
Cons: non yet..will wait and see
"Bought it on Costco.ca. This was a great process very easy and simple to use. Tracking of the order was great. Product arrived on time and in perfect shape.
The unit is light and ready to go. Filled it with oil and gas as per the instructions. Followed the starting instructions and fired up with one pull. Hooked up an electric heater and worked very well. The unit is quiet. Looks well built.. no problems so far.
The proof of how well it operates will be when we use it camping.
Will have to wait to see how reliable it is. If this works out I will most likely purchase another one with a parallel kit to run my RV AC.
For the price and what you get you can't beat it.
Every things work as advertised. Good price for the quality and what I am using it for.
"
Review 8 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC
Date:April 17, 2011

Champion Inverter Generator - First impressions

Pros: light easy to carry, started on first pull, nice colour, quiet
Cons: none so far
"We haven't had the occasion to use the generator yet but the first trial run went very well and it performed as I believe it should.
Added gas and oil, prep'd it for starting and 1 pull later it was purring like a kitten.
The noise volume was reasonably quiet, very similar to others I've seen demonstrated. The rubber base keeps the generator still when it's running.
I powered a number of hand tools to test the current and it was fine. I haven't used it on the 5th yet.
All in all, I am satisfied so far. I'm looking forward to hitting the road and finding some quiet, out of the way places to enjoy."
Review 9 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:January 18, 2012

Pretty Darn Good !

"I sold my Yamaha 2000 watt generator to buy 2 Champions to run in parallel. This generator is every bit as good as the Yamaha or the Honda. Don't let anyone try to make you think otherwise. But....there are 2 things I feel could be improved. The Champion should have a battery charger like the Yamaha and Honda, and in parallel, the wattage is 3000 watts where the Yamaha and Honda are 3600. Although these issues may make you think of purchasing a different generator, think of the price difference. The fact that these are stackable really makes them easy to store, use, and looks great."
Review 10 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Eastern, Ontario
Date:April 19, 2011

Very pleased with purchase so far.

Pros: light weight quiet and stackable.
Cons: nothing so far.
"Purchased two generators along with the parallel kit. The gens, are quiet and light weight, so can be lifted out of the truck easily and set up. Two (with kit) are required to start our 13500 air conditioner in the 5th, and they did this quite easily. Being seniors, we do not want to lug around a big gen, these work well so far, and if we do not need the air then we only need one gen. running, and it starts our microwave fine. New this season so not sure on long term."
Review 11 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, B.C.
Date:March 26, 2011

Good value in an inverter generator

Pros: very quiet in econo mode; quiet even under load!, light weight;, starts and runs great;, good design: indicators switches controls;, excellent value compared to other twinables.
Cons: it's a bit overstated at 2000 watts -, it's more easily overloaded than competitor units
"I was looking for inverters that I could twin to run the A/C in our RV. I have used a 2000 watt Kipor but it will not run A/C. I have a big 5500 watt Honda industrial unit that does but it's too heavy, noisy and expensive to use conveniently. I saw these at Costco so I bought two and I'll give them a try. I have ordered the parallell kit and I'm hoping it all works for this application. If not, Costco is always great for accepting returns."
Review 12 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Date:December 9, 2011

Did not disappoint, impeccable timing.

Pros: easy starting, easy on gas, quiet, only ~54 lbs when full, runs a 12 volt battery charger/starter
Cons: none so far
"This little Gen set arrived a few days before our area had a nine hour power outage which started shortly after 3:00am. I hadn't even unboxed it yet! It took me about 15 min to unbox, fumble through the quick start guide, fill with oil & gas, and pull the starter cord twice before it started purring. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet is was? I let it warm up for a few minutes then onto priority number one, from my deck I ran an extension cord through the window into the kitchen to the Keurig coffee machine (1500 Watts) Plugged it in, I could barely hear the generator from about 20' it rev'd a bit when the heating coil & pump on the coffee maker kicked in. I could not hear the gen set while the coffee maker was running :) It's easy to carry, so after coffee I turned it off and moved it just outside the garage, one pull to start again and then plugged in the double garage door opener, it worked like a charm. Next, (back to the coffee machine ;) After coffee, I plugged in the power bar that runs the PC and peripherals, powered up no problem, Shaw however is affected by power outages outside the home(local sub station???) No problem, I played few games :) After realizing the power wasn't coming on anytime soon I Plugged in the refrigerator, (LG 27 cu ft) the generator had no problem running it. In fact once it was started I switched to econo on the generator and it would rev on its own when the compressor kicked in. Perfect! Now I'm thinking I'll get a second (when they go on sale) and the parallel kit. Then I can run the coffee machine, refrigerator or microwave and a few lights without having to switch out plugs. All in all I'm very happy with this purchase, it is well built, quiet, and easy to move around."
Review 13 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB
Date:April 8, 2011

Didn't cut the mustard

"Wouldn't run simple things such as small power tools or a microwave so not 2000 Watts as compared to a Honda 2000 watt inverter. Nice and quite, but not for my RV so returned"
Review 14 for Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:st.john's newfoundland
Date:July 24, 2011

Champion™ 2000 W Inverter Generator

Pros: very easy to start, super quiet
Cons: no 12 volt outlet
"wow started first pull ,super quiet in econ mode ,very clean looking , runs our microwave easily ."