Customer Reviews for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot

For In-ground Pools
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
13 of 18(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2011

No Support in Canada

"Great product until it needs work, closest is Toronto who will take weeks to repair if at all....BEWARE"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna BC
Date:June 21, 2011

Would not work

"bought this and tried everything, calls & emails into the help line. Starts for 2 seconds then kicks out. There is a warning in the packaging to call the help line before you return the product where you bought it, this must happen all the time....
Costco is great, this product is not, should not have to fight for hours to get it to work"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON
Date:June 27, 2011

Not In my Pool

Pros: cost for robot pool cleaner
Cons: did not clean pool
"The Aquabot Jr. did not clean my pool. After opening the pool, I have a fine layer of dirt, the aquabot would not clean the dirt from the sides or bottom of the pool. I ended up vacumming by hand to clean the dirt. After the pool was open for the season I tried the aquabot again and still would not clean the pool. The Robot would not cover the pool bottom and would not climb the walls. I really wanted this vacuum to work but it just did not work in my pool."
Review 4 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal,qc
Date:June 30, 2011

Poor quality

Pros: none
Cons: poor quality
"When i plugged the robot the fuse on the powersupply blew off. I bought a new fuse to replace on the power supply. Replugged and turn on the power supply. The fuse blew again. Probably a short circuit. This is an indication of a poor quality product. They should make sure the product work before it leaves the plant, its called quality control."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hepworth, ON
Date:July 13, 2010

Sent it back

"I bought this online and had it delivered in record time as always from Costco. Unfortunately it simply didn't do what it was supposed to. It wouldn't climb the walls and didn't seem to pick up the debris very effectively. I took it back and bought the iRobot version which is more money but worth every extra penny."
Review 6 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg Manitoba
Date:September 4, 2011

Cleans Well, Electric connection tricky

Pros: cleans very well
Cons: instructions not great
"I had the same problem with the electrical shorting out of the transformer experienced by most other reviewers. The US customer support is unhelpful and wanted me to ship the unit back to them for repair. When I called the Canadian distributor they were much more helpful and sent me out a new unit (well refurbished I think) immediately. This unit cleans the pool well but be very careful to line up the electrical cord from the cleaner to the transformer correctly. If you look very closely there are tiny numbers on the prongs which show you where to connect it. The instructions are terrible on this point."
Review 7 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Date:July 16, 2010

Cleanest Pool Ever!

"I bought this Aquabot Jr after returning the Kleen Machine Robotic Pool Cleaner (the Red one). The Aquabot is 10x better. No comparison.
It's solidly built and looks like it will last for years. And, it does a better job of cleaning my 16x32 in-ground pool than any of the many auto-cleaners I've tried over the years. In fact, this does a better job in 3 hours than I can do by hand in an or two!
Also - my pool's old and has wrinkles in the liner that would hang-up other cleaners. There's no stopping this one! It crawls over everything. It also does the vertical sides and both shallow and deep ends consistently.
I don't see how anyone could be dissatisfied with this cleaner."
Review 8 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:May 11, 2010

Wish I had bought it 2 years ago!!!!!

"This is the most amazing cleaning machine I have ever seen. Installed a pool 2 years ago and spent more than $400 on a Hayward skimmer type cleaner....nothing but headaches!!! Couldn't bear another summer suffering with that thing so we gave in and purchased the Aquabot Jr. and couldn't be happier. Nothing to install. Dropped it into the pool, turned it on and voila....my pool is clean without all the fuss of dealing with a skimmer, backwashing, etc. It doesn't even get stuck on top of our main drains like the old cleaner!!!! Totally headache free!!! We are telling all our friends about this little baby. Our pool is 16 x 36, L-shape and this junior model works perfectly!!! Don't know why anyone would need to spend more!!! Honestly, we wish we had just spent the extra a couple of years ago and bought this instead of the skimmer version cleaners. Also, although Costco quoted a 7 - 10 day delivery period, we received it in 2 days!!! Couldn't be happier with our purchase!!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:EDMONTON, AB
Date:June 16, 2010
"Fantastic!
Had the Verro IROBOT, FOR THE MONEY, AQUABOT IS A MUCH BETTER DEAL. TRULY CLIMBS WALLS AND CLEABS EXCEPTIONALLY WELL. NOT AS PRETTY TO LOOK AT AS THE IROBOT, BUT WHO CARES."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON area
Date:June 27, 2010

I Bought This and It Bought Me Time

"First of all, it took less than 48 hours from purchase to delivery which was unexpected and excellent.
The Aquabot Jr. is doing a bang up job keeping the pool clean (after I figured out it works best with the regular pool filter off).
It climbs walls and sucks up a huge amount of stuff I never guessed was even floating through the pool.
This is a great time saving product that works really well as advertised."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Date:July 12, 2010

LOVE it!

"Finally broke down and bought a pool cleaner, and wonder WHY did I not do this sooner?!? Easy to install. Very efficient. Doesn't do stairs but otherwise the pool sparkles! Dare I say it could replace my husband?"
Review 12 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:July 16, 2010

Excellent Value

Pros: saves time, less backwashing of sand filter
Cons: parts are expensive, canadian based suppliers are limited
"Have been using the cleaner for a month now and despite some small hiccups (mice love eating the filter bag), we have found the unit works effectively and we are completely satisfied. Our pool is surrounded by greenery which was one of the reasons we made the purchase and it is the cleanest it has been since it was installed 15 years ago!
Perfect match to our needs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:April 12, 2011

Absolutely awesome

"Keeps the pool extreamely clean every time.... easy to operate... plug it in, pick a program/timer, let it go to work...."
Review 14 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:May 21, 2011

Buy This One!

Pros: built to last, under $500.00, powerful
"Really did not want to spend more money on yet another pool cleaning machine - tested the other red one kleen machine which was junk - not wanting to drop a thousand dollars I ordered the Aquabot Jr - excellent machine - does not do the stairs but gets the pool perfectly clean everwhere else. Large basket for leafs and stuff - very powerful and moves the water around real well. I wish I had picked one up way before this - excellent machine"
Review 15 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON
Date:May 29, 2011

BIG Time Saver

Pros: climbs the wallsdoes a bang up job on cleaning
"This thing is AWESOME, It allows me to get my other odd jobs done without having to check on it all the time. I throw Wally {thats what my kids call it} and I work on other chores and odd jobs...or I sit by the pool with a cold one and watch it....it picks up all the debris, leaves, bugs and worms,[ I have a farmers field behind me and trees to the side of the pool} it climbs the walls and it tries to do the stairs...even it it gets stuck on the stairsfor a minute it will back up and continue cleaning the pool....well worth the money. big time saver...delivery was super fast"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK
Date:July 18, 2011

True Time Saver

Pros: easy to setup and use., improves water circulation, cleans walls even on the rounded parts, easy to clean filter bag
Cons: does clean stair but not a big deal
"We've had our inground pool for 16yrs. Large Kidney shape (appr 19x40). I'm very fussy and it would take an hour and half to clean, more if I did the walls, at least once a week. plus backwashing after cleaning. Burnout every couple of weeks. We have about 15 trees in our yard, so plenty of seeds and leaves. Since this purchase, three weeks ago, my cleaning time for the pool is 5 minutes to set it in the pool and push the start button. (runtime two hours) If we're not using the I leave it in and just push the button. I haven't need a burnout and only needed to backwash once. This cleaner work very well cleaning the pool and greatly increases the circulation of the pool water, hence less chemicals are needed. I wish I found this a lot sooner. I can multi-task now, cleaning the pool and cutting the grass!!!Recommending to all that I know who have pools. Anyone adult could handle the setup. Put it in the water push two buttons. Don't think it could be any simpler."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:July 21, 2011

A solid value

Pros: leaves my pool as clean as a hand vacuum in 3 hrs, phenomenal customer service, my wife can use it too (!)
Cons: won't do my stairs
"Based on reading the reviews here I was skeptical about this product but, since Costco provides no hassle returns I bought it to try it out. I made the purchase about a month ago.
Similar to one of the recent reviewers, when I plugged it in, the power supply immediately went dead. The connection between the power supply and robot is a tricky one, you have to take care aligning it and I'm not actually sure I did that the first time. Could it have been my fault? Maybe, not sure.
Nevertheless, since there was a number to call for help included with the unit, I called it (unlike the other reviewer apparently) ... on a Friday ... on a long weekend ... at 730 pm ... and to my surprise there was actually someone (from Canada) who picked up the phone, knew the product, went through the troubleshooting steps with me, concluded that there was probably a fuse blown in the power supply, noted that it could be a defective power supply with a short in it or the robot ... and immediately offered to courier me a new unit, power supply and robot. _That_ is good service.
The unit arrived within 2 business days, I set it up and it's been working flawlessly ever since.
I have a 16'x32' irregular kidney-shaped pool, max depth 8', steep grade bw the shallow and deep ends and stairs in the shallow end. It holds about 80-90000 litres.
The robot will clean it to the point that there is no visible dirt in about 3 hours. It takes me about an hour to vacuum by hand.
If you dive in with goggles on and carefully survey the bottom, is there any residual dirt left behind? Yes you can see a bit here and there is but that is also true following a hand vacuum, and I am _very picky_ about getting the pool clean with a hand vacuum.
So the pool is as clean as when I hand vacuum but I can drop this thing into it every day if I want and my wife loves it, she will do that herself (and she never vacuumed the pool prior to this).
Anything it won't do? Well it does climb the walls but not as reliably as cleaning the bottom. If I left it running for 5-7 hours it would probably get the walls done just as well. But then, I never routinely had to vacuum the walls by hand in the past anyway unless there was visible algae/dirt on them. It will not climb my stairs (there is a plastic ridge between the liner and the stairs that it cant get over).
So this is my routine now. Before I drop the unit in, I have a look at the stairs and walls and use my long handed brush to push/scrub any visible dirt/debris into the pool (takes me maybe 5 min). Then I drop the robot in, plug it in and forget about it. I come back and the pool is clean.
So far this is the best $500 I think I've ever spent. The company that makes it stands behind it and is very responsive if you have to call for help.
Combine that with the fact I could bring it back to Costco for a no hassle return any time? This is a no brainer."
Review 18 for Aqua Products Aquabot Jr. Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:July 22, 2011

Saves Time +

Pros: saves time, less backwash = treated water stays in the pool, easy to clean the unit itself, climbs walls and even my stairs, pretty good value
Cons: none yet
"After researching diffrent brands of pool cleaners Aqua products seemed to have a pretty good record for reliability. The Aquabot Jr got good reviews and price seemed fair. I've been using it approx twice a week for the past month and can say it does a very good job. All the reviews say it doesn't do stairs but mine climbs 3 out the 4 stairs. The beauty of having this as a cleaner aside from saving time is that you don't have to backwash the pool filter as often saving on water and the salt that is in it (salt water chlorinator). Just remover the bag and hose it off. 2 hours seems to be enough for my 15 x 25 inground pool. Very happy with it so far."