Customer Reviews for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat

Tough, light and economical: the Typhoon is the ideal boat for friends and family to discover the joys of boating for pleasure in complete safety. It is simple and quick to set up, and small enough to fit in the trunk of your car. Once on the water, it can go anywhere and come alongside any kind of shoreline! Features: Inflatable keel   Non-skid wooden floor and aluminium stringers with tie-down rail   Aluminium motor mounting plate   1 self-bailer   Buoyancy tube: 1100 decitex fabric   Bravo-type semi-recessed valves   Lifeline   Rubbing strake with outlined profile   1 bow handle strap   2 carrying handles   2 towing rings   2 reclining oar supports   Reinforced cone ends seat   Maximum capacity: 4 adult passengers   Maximum payload: 500 kg (1,102 lb.)   Maximum HP: 10 HP Included Accessories: 1 carrying bag with utility pockets   2 reinforced aluminium oars   1 foot pump   1 repair kit   Bench   Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 3.1 m x 1.6 m x 57 cm; (10.2 ft. x 5.4 ft. x 22.4 in.) Weight: 45 kg (99.2 lb.) Warranty: 2 years Model: Typhoon 310S
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
12 of 16(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Review 1 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Date:June 8, 2014

Pure Joy

Pros: light weight durable fast and easy set up., easy to control at all speeds.
Cons: can't think of any have not had any issues as, some other reviews have mentioned.
"This lil boat is one of the best things we've ever purchased for camping. Small enough deflated that it easily fits into any vehicle, yet can be set up and water ready in 20 minutes. Not what I would really call a 4 person boat, but comfortable for my wife and I along with our large dog, it can fly on plane with a 9.8 outboard motor. Water inside the boat quickly drains away on plane through the self bailing valve in the transom, any splashing we've experienced has only occurred during certain speed and wave conditions and can easily be eliminated by slight alterations to speed or angle of approach to waves. As for storage of accessories, we solved that by purchasing a seat bag that fits the area beneath the seat and is secured by velcro keeping everything organized and dry, and not sliding around on the floor. All in all, this is one fantastic light weight inflatable. We are into our second season with it and look forward to each time we take it out."
Review 2 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Date:June 3, 2014

Good value dinghy

Pros: lightweight, easy to transport, great carrying capacity for size
Cons: can fit maximum of 3 adults, cannot plane with 3 adults, bumpy ride on somewhat choppy water
"Terrific small boat. Planes easily with my 9.9 hp Suzuki with just me (220lbs). With another 220 lbs, takes 10-15 seconds to get to planing speed. Anymore (200 kg +) and the boat will not plane. I have tried few different settings and so far no luck. Once planing, the boat flies. My GPS showed about 60 km/hr for top speed with about 450lbs weight (and 100 lbs for the motor). The ride is very bumpy on choppy water and that may also be a matter of working with trim settings on the outboard. All in all- terrific pocket rocket."
Review 3 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sechelt, BC
Date:April 7, 2014

Great value

Pros: light weight easy to launch and handle
Cons: oar locks a bit flimsy - replaced 1 in year one
"great price, great value. At 99 lbs easy for my wife and me to handle. Very maneuverable with a 5hp Honda. Perfect for 2 passengers but we have managed with 4. We have used for 2 summers now, and still in great condition, other than a few scrapes from the beach."
Review 4 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Albert, Ab
Date:May 21, 2013

Good for the price

Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: oarlock support tube is poor design
"This was my first outing with the new boat. The oarlocks are a problem, I'm hoping that replacing the little screws with a pin or machine screw and nut will fix support tube from falling out. If it does not workout, Costco's return policy makes all the difference."
Review 5 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario.
Date:April 26, 2013

Geat boat!

Pros: small safe and fast. satisfied!
Cons: carry bag??
"I ordered this boat during the Christmas season of 2012 and I received it within 12 days and I was ok with that. I have been around boats from a young age but this was my first inflatable experience. Over the holidays I set the boat up in a spare room to confirm all of the pieces were there, and to make sure there were no air leaks. From out of the box to ready to float took just over 30 minutes, no muss no fuss.
In early January we were treated to a 16 degree Saturday afternoon here in southern Ontario, so I took it to the lake. I was in the water test driving the boat within 40 minutes and wow was I surprised, yes the bow will rise but it will plain quickly and reward you with stability. I was amazed how there was no rocking back and forth and the steering is precise at all speeds. I use a 9.9 2-stroke motor and gas consumption is very low because of its light weight, and the power available allows you to stay on course when it is not so calm on the water.
The only down side is the carry bag, you will surely loose some bits and pieces along the way, plus the package is a two person lift if you pack everything in it. I purchase a heavy duty soft shell keyboard carry bag from a large Canadian musical instrument retailer, and I use it pack all of the accessories. It has pockets for the oars, oar supports and repair kit. The main cavity holds all of the floor boards, stringers, oar shafts , plus the bench seat and pump. All is contained and protected and I can fit the motor in the trunk and the boat n the back seat of my compact car.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rothesay, NB
Date:August 3, 2012

Good Value for the Money

Pros: excellent value for the money. good construction., really fast shipping!, able to plane with a 4hp motor
Cons: can't think of anything.
"I had an 8ft Zodiac for 15 years when it get a hole in it that I couldn't repair. I shopped around locally for a new one and the local dealer of Zodiacs was very expensive. I found this one on the Costco site and ordered it because it was a bit larger than my last one and the price was so good. It said 7-10 days for delivery but it arrived 2 days after ordering it. I got it put together in a half hour and was surprised to see that it was actually shipped by the company I previously looked at that was so expensive. Costco must have some deal with them to acquire and sell them much cheaper. It saved me about $700 from what it would have cost. I am happy with the boat and was able to get it up to plane with a 4hp motor. I am very please with my purchase and like it better than the one I bought 15 years ago."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2012

floor is not good

"The quality of the PVC and inflatable parts are good but the floor is not going to last long. I bought the boat two weeks ago and I used it a couple of times. If the floor gets wet then it starts to damage since it is made of plywood. The floor must be inflatable or made from aluminum, not wood."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Trenton ON
Date:August 25, 2011

Best price for any inflatable

Pros: well built easy and fast to assemble great boat.
Cons: none.
"We have been looking for a boat like this for a few years. And Zodiac is one of the best out there. This typhoon 310 is small enough to fit in the back of a pickup or on the swim platform of a cruiser. My wife loves how stable it is for its size, and I have a 9.9 on it and it flys.
It was easy, and fast to put together, and the supplied foot pump had it inflated faster than I expected.
We have had it in and out of the water since the day we got it, and have had no problems. We are very satisfied. We have recomended it to our boating friends.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:British Columbia
Date:July 30, 2011

Oar Lock

"Speedy delivery right to my door. Easy set up and looked good. Fabric isn't as tough as on the Mercury and on mine the oar lock would not fit on one side of the boat.
I enquired at a Dealer about ordering the Access Pressure Indicator as suggested in the instruction book and was told Zodiac is slow to fill orders or respond to E mail enquiries as they are in France. Because of the oar lock not fitting and hearing about slow delivery from Factory for parts and also reading on internet that Bombard who makes this boat is a Test Wing of Zodiac I returned my boat for a refund and will instead look at purchasing a Mercury model inflatable boat made in Canada.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC
Date:July 21, 2011

Expected More from Zodiac and Costco!

Pros: spacious
Cons: design
"This boat should have arrived with a waterproof cover and a place to store the pump on board.
Its poor design or manufacture allows the seat to drop off almost everytime you turn the boat over (rainwater entry prevention)."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2011

underwhelmed

Pros: rides okay once planing (minus the splashing), setup is easy, can throw it in your trunk
Cons: splashes operator from inside the boat, bag tears easily, scary to take up to speed, doesn't feel very rigid, not confidence inspiring
"Set up is simple and quick. Looks fantastic, its once you try to get it moving that it goes a bit down hill. Had my 8hp Honda short shaft connected to this thing and it was unnerving trying to get the boat to plane. The front end points up at the sky like crazy while the boat is approaching planing speed. Even with both of us moving towards the centre of the boat it was unnerving. Once it is planing it rides better but we found that once water get inside the boat it constantly splashes the operator from the back corners of the boat. I tried all the different tilt settings for the motor to tune out these issues but couldn't find a single setting that would fix all issues simultaneously. Also it would not plane at all with four people on board.
Perhaps a 9.9hp would be better but I don't think it would remedy the sky high planing, or splashing. I wish I could return the boat but it has a slight tear in the bag already! I will not use it again."
Review 12 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON
Date:June 27, 2011

Very nice boat, but...

"Everything was great - fast delivery. Very nice boat, easy assembly, fast inflating but .... After first 15 minutes in the water and test ride on oars the oar's support got broken. Broke the plastic tube which holding the nest. In my opinion there suppose to be a metal tube instead of PVC one. I have chosen the boat because of the Zodiac name and I expected much better quality not for just 15 minutes. Now I am wondering how fast it can be fixed."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta,Canada
Date:April 6, 2011

excellant purchase

Cons: had a problem with one of the inflation valves mi
"Was all good, prompt delivery and quite an upgrade from other inflatables. Up and ready to run in about ten minutes. Hard floor is a real bonus. Can't wait for the ice to go and get the typhoon 310s on the water."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria BC
Date:March 28, 2011

Excellent little craft

"We live near small lake whichis stocked with rainbow trout and is electric motor only for boats. We had use of an older model which was the next size up. Great boat but was heavier and needed a trailer to get to the launch point. This 310S model can be lifted onto the roof of my small SUV by two people and off again with ease. Sometimes bigger is not better. My 14 year old son goes out fishing with his buddy (both have their operator's licenses) and I don't worry about them. This is perfect for our needs. Plus, when was the last time you had a new boat delivered to your front door by a courier driver?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Date:February 11, 2011

Very nice boat

"I had a Typhoon 420 last year, It was just too big. The Zodiac 310s is just the perfect size durable inflatable boat. I have a Mazda 3 and I can easily fit it in to my trunk or back seat. I would definitely recommend it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Typhoon 310S by Zodiac 3.1 m (10.2-ft.) Inflatable Boat
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Date:February 8, 2011

Best priced ZODIAC

Pros: perfect size
Cons: there are no cons!
"This was an upgrade for me from an 8 ft. ZODIAC.I use a 4 hp Yamaha and it pushes it fine even with 2 adults and 2 chidren(I can just imagine the speed with a 10 hp!).It is very tough and easy to handle and the hard floor is a real bonus.You will not find a better priced NEW zodiac BRAND zodiac anywhere.I definetly recomend this product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.