Customer Reviews for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 26(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clyde River, Nova Scotia
Date:April 9, 2011

I love this Vacuum Cleaner!

Pros: it's all good!
Cons: none
"We have tile and hardwood flooring with a few area rugs scattered throughout the house. We also have 3 dogs, live out in the country on a gravel road and heat our home mostly with wood. The dust/dirt level is high and I put this baby through it's paces on a daily basis. It has not let me down.
This little Miele is a real workhorse. It's easy to maneuver and gets under the sofa's, beds, etc., without any problem. The attachments are easy to put on and take off - they're small but do the job. This is a great little machine!"
Review 2 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2011

very happy

Pros: lightweight, agile, great suction, bags do hold a lot of dirt
Cons: a bit plasticy, a little tough to tell how full the bag is
"this is a very good vacuum. i did scratch my laminate floor, but only because i had it on the rug setting, and the floorhead was directly in contact w/the laminate.(for hard floors, the brush on the head should be showing) this setting should be used for carpet or rugs. once remedied, i've been very pleased. it's a pleasure to walk barefoot again!"
Review 3 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:April 2, 2011

amazes me with every use

Pros: everything!
"When I received the product, I thought how could something so small clean my 2,300 sq. ft. house? Well, the suction and power is incredible!! Its like this vacuum was made for my multi-level house! So light and easy to carry up stairs and around corners. This vacuum grabs all the dirt from inner corners unlike my past $600.00 vacuum. It also glides easily across the hardwoods(does NOT scratch), tiles, carpet(theres no extra weight of a big powerhead) and fits under furniture. LOVE IT!!"
Review 4 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rosseau, ON
Date:March 16, 2011

Will Return

"I was mislead by all the positive comments. This vacuum is not good for hardwood floors as it scratches the floor. The suction is so strong that it is difficult to slide the tool across the floor and I have tried all levels of suction. I will return this vacuum immediately and I am very dissapointed."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener,ON
Date:January 16, 2011

Excellent One

Pros: strong suction very quiet light weight
"I purchased the S2 after reading reviews. It works like a charm. Very quiet, much quieter than my current vacuum. The Brush works great on blinds too. Every one in my family likes it!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:December 28, 2010

Great suction and very quite.

Pros: great suction, very quite
Cons: small attachments
"Had this vacuum for 6 months now and it’s great. Originally was concerned because it doesn’t have a powerhead but the suction of this unit means you don’t need a powerhead. (+ we have burber carpet & your not supposed to use a powerhead on burber) It’s quite and has fantastic suction the adjustable motor speed is helpful. Our first bag filled up quick because it was getting all the stuff our old vacuum left behind. Con is that the attachments are bit too small."
Review 7 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton Alberta
Date:December 22, 2010

great vacuum

"I've gone through many vacuums over the years, this one is the best. I have berber carpets, hardwood and tile this vacuum works great on all surfaces including my wool area rugs. Suction is fantastic, bags last a long time and great for allergy sufferers!"
Review 8 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leduc, AB
Date:December 4, 2010

Very Impressive

Pros: excellent suction and filtration
"We have a trucking business so there is huge amounts of dirt and dust flying around our office. We have gone through 1 - 2 vacuums ($100 each) annually because the filters get clogged with the fine dirt and dust and they lose their suction within 10 minutes of using. I figured I would take my chances and buy a more expensive brand and was shocked when after cleaning the office 2 times, there was not one spec of dust in the bag department or on the filters. I'm talking about dust, not dirt. I have never seen a vacuum that doesn't have some dust seep through the bag!! We are absolutely sold on this product. We have only had for several months and it seems to be working just wonderful. The only impovement would be it if could vacuum the offices itself like a roomba! haha"
Review 9 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:December 2, 2010

Great Suction

Pros: great suction power, light and compact, easy to move around the house, long cord, great filtration
Cons: fills its bags rather quickly, "floppy" feel of the main tool
"This vacuum reminded me of why I was afraid of the awesome power of the vacuum when I was a kid. It sucks up anything in its path. Our cats now respect the vacuum cleaner again. It has adjustable power levels which it really needs because its raw power may be a bit too much for some jobs. It has good accessories and great filtration. The only thing I have not been able to look past is the feel of the main vacuum tool. It just feels floppy and like it doesn’t adhere tightly to the carpet when you are vacuuming. It makes me think that it requires more passes to get everything. But, let me say it again-fabulous suction! I would definitely purchase this again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, On
Date:November 13, 2010
Pros: amazing suction
Cons: doesn't work well on even low pile carpets
"I bought this with high expectations; however, it has been a bit dissapointing. It is very difficult to push on carpet with no power head or wheels, which make vacuuming a VERY time consuming job. I would reccomend this to anyone who plans on using it primarily on hardwood. My house has half dardwood and half carpet and this wasn't the right choice for us. We have also had another problem where the vacuume shuts itself off during use and will not power on again for at least 24 hours. I will be returning mine today :("
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary,AB
Date:October 6, 2010

Had to return it

Pros: powerful
Cons: no motr beater bar, no extend bar, filters expensive, vacum expensive for features
"Without the extend bar you pretty much have to kneel down to vacum. There is no motored beater bar to be able to roll on carpet or pick up dust. Very hard to push. Even Costco staff were surpriused at this.
Having said this usually Costco carries real good stuff!
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By Costco_BuyerSmall AppliancesOctober 14, 2010
Thank you for your review.

Miele is a high-end brand that stands for quality and design. They have been making vacuums for over 80 years. Every component of the vacuum is made in Germany and tested to last 20 years or more. The wand actually does extend. There is a very simple button that extends perfectly to provide the ideal ergonomic height for each and every user. The model that is sold at Costco is for hard surfaces and mid to low pile carpets, not for high pile wall to wall environments. Therefore, a beater bar is not necessary. The HEPA filter included is for serious allergy sufferers. If you demand ultimate filtration you can still receive similar benefits with the free Super AirClean filter that comes in the box of replacement filter bags.

We hope that the above has helped address some of your concerns. However, if you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact our Costco.ca call centre at 1-888-426-7826.
Review 12 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:October 6, 2010

Very well built machine

"I cannot say enough about Miele. Excellent product. quiet and powerful. I only wish that you could order the beater bar from Costco."
Review 13 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:September 25, 2010

Great vacuum!

Pros: powerful, lightweight, compact, sealed bag - no messy emptying of a bagless model
Cons: not for wall to wall carpeting
"We bought this with our hardwood floors in mind and were surprised and pleased to find how well it worked on our area rugs too - even with pet hair. We are very glad we went with this vacuum!"
Review 14 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, BC
Date:September 13, 2010

Good for bare floors only

"This vacuum had pretty good suction for bare floors BUT did not perform well at all on carpet. Does not come with a beater head. With the increase in hardwood and/or laminate flooring this would be a good product."
Review 15 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:September 8, 2010

Light & Powerful

Pros: very quiet, powerful, great retraction on cord, lightweight and easy to move, smart & simple design
Cons: hepa filter replacements pricey, no motorized head, not bagless
"We've had the S2 for a couple weeks now and we really like it. Prior to purchase we had read some reviews that said the motor was powerful and they were correct. It is perfect for us because we only have a couple rooms with carpet and they're low pile - if we had more we would need something with a motorized head. Would definitely recommend this product to shoppers with mostly bare floors. The cord retraction is fantastic - might be one of my favourite features considering how much of a pain the cord was on my last vacuum. We did consider the more expensive Dyson but decided that we would rather not deal with emptying a dusty container every now and then - sealed bags were preferable for us and an acceptable expense (maybe not for everyone.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2010

Great for Pet Hair!

"This is a great little vacuum. We were considering one of the cyclonic baggless versions out there. Glad I went with this one. Its light, very powerful, gets all the pet hair on the carpet and the hardwood. Best of all you don't have to empty the plastic hair covered container. HIGHLY recommended!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Summerland, B.C.
Date:August 26, 2010

Great Vacuum!

"Works great on tile and wood floors! Love how small and compact it is.
I highly recommend this vacuum!
"
Review 18 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Date:August 7, 2010

Miele S2 Vacuum Cleaner

"Great product with good value. I purchased this unit in July 2010 for use in my condo. It is better than any units that I have purchased in the past. The unit is very light weight with strong suction. It does an excellent job for both laminated flooring or carpets. It also does a good job in filtering all the dirt and dust in the system."
Review 19 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver BC
Date:July 6, 2010

I've waited for this!

Pros: lightweight, powerful
"I have wanted a Miele for years and have struggled with cumbersome uprights from low (Eureka) to high (Electrolux) and a few frustrating cannisters too. Dragging these over 20 lb behemoths up and down stairs is a workout in itself. Dealing with bag-less is just plain messy and I think I ended up breathing more dust when dumping. Have replaced the silly powerpaw on the Eureka three times and very $$$ - vac + 3 attachments = cost of current Miele!. I love the lightness of the Miele, and the ability to hook the hose to the cannister for storage as well as the multiple settings and maneuverability.
So glad the price dropped - they have the competitive edge!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Miele S2 Contour Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GTA
Date:July 5, 2010

buy this vaccum

"do not waste your time looking around....simple, very quiet, light weight, and highly effective!! Have had many vacuums over the years, no more. Cant wait to buy my next Miele product if this is any indication."
1 2 next>>