Customer Reviews for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda

Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda

Discover the true smell of naturally clean clothes with Nellie’s laundry soda. It’s hypoallergenic and leaves your clothes soft, fresh and residue free. It’s also super concentrated, so only one tablespoon per wash is needed, even in large loads. Contains sodium silicate, coconut oil-based surfactants. Features: Scent free   Super concentrated   Hypoallergenic   HE certified   Front loader compatible Model: 165kgsoda
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 73
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
71 of 75(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Review 1 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:February 3, 2014

Awesome for Cloth Diapers and EVERYTHING else!

Pros: great for cloth diapers, great for technical clothing, lasts a very long time
"I bought Nellie's originally for laundering my cloth diapers, but we've moved my household over to using it exclusively for all our laundry. My husband loves it too - we just finished our first bucket, which we bought 2.5 years ago - and this is after having a newborn in the house, with a lot of laundry! It is amazing - I never have to worry about sensitivities, and it works wonders on technical (sports) clothing as well, since it doesn't leave residue like other detergents do. It's the best laundry soap ever!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MANITOBA
Date:March 23, 2014

Best gentle laundry detergent ever!!!

Pros: cleans well /unscented
Cons: not carried in store
"Been using Nellie's laundry soda for over 2 years now
And love it! We are a family of four with sensitive skin and scent issues. Love the fact that my HE machine no longer smells like it did with tide and other non natural brands. No build up on clothes or machine just a clean fresh smell! Still need to pre- treat tough stains as with all detergents.... Costco please don't stop carrying this product.... It would be nice if you carried it in-store as well!!!
"
Review 3 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:March 13, 2010

Love this soap!

Pros: excellent for sensitive skin
"Excellent laundry detergent, and I'm very happy to find it at costco! I was previously buying it from a somewhat local retailer which worked out to around 20 cents per load, and at this price it's way cheaper than ordering it online through the company itself (almost $40 cheaper)! It doesn't have a scent, rinses clean, and has no optical brightners which can be a problem for sensitive skin. I occasionally do miss the smell of "chemical clean" laundry... but you get used to it very quickly (clothes smell like... clothes!) It is also compatible with HE washers. Look forward to trying this on my soon-to-be newborn's clothes. I will be ordering from costco as soon as my current stock runs out!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northeastern Ontario
Date:March 14, 2014

An excellent product

Pros: see above
"We were given a sample of Nellie's Laundry Soda by a co-worker about 1 1/2 years ago and based on that experience we bought a small quantity. Now that we have used all that we have purchased the large pail of the product. We like that it is all natural, unperfumed and because it is hypoallergenic clothes laundered in it do not irritate our skin. And a little goes a long long way. And at the price we paid it will work out to no more than about $0.10/load."
Review 5 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:August 17, 2010

Question and curious

Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
"I did purchase this laundry detergent. I quite like it. I also have a new Front Loading Washer and Dryer HE. It only takes 2 Tbsp of this detergent to clean my loads of laundry. I am delighted. I did ask when they delivered my machines which deterent I should use, as a certain brand of liquid came as a sample with the team. It was recommended to me to not use the liquid as it can cause a film under the lip of the front loader washer causing a smell. I had already purchased this detergent and was happy to know I purchased what was appropriate. My question..finally is that with the 2 Tbsp I find that there is some ... on occasion...(if I do not remove, rinse and dry the wash cup with a paper towel, it cakes into a hard shell that is easily removed and discarded. Is that normal. I do love the results of my laundry! Smells clean, no scent. Natural. I enjoy it so much I doubt very much that I would ever switch to a liquid soap for my team. All comments re Pro and Con are listed in my review.
L9UR92"
Review 6 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pointe au Baril, ON
Date:March 1, 2014

Solved our problem

Pros: a small amout goes a long way., clothes are clean without a perfume smell
"We had used different liquid HE detergents in our new upper end front load washer but could not get away entirely from a grey sludge appearing occasionally on whites. Even with very small amounts of high end liquid detergent being used, the problem would reappear. The complete washer drum was replaced under warranty, but the problem came back.
A small container of Nellies Laundry Soda was purchased to get away from the liquid soap as a last resort. The washer's clean-out filter now runs sludge-free and no grey spots are appearing on whites. This is a great product !
"
Review 7 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC
Date:February 27, 2014

Highly recommend product & hope Costco carry more

"I am highly allergic to scent and this product is so great. I hope Costco also carries Nellie's dishwashing products (if any) coz boy do I need that badly."
Review 8 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Date:February 24, 2014

Excellent value, fresh scent

Pros: great valuefresh scent long lasting
Cons: no cons really may need stain fighter at times
"Provides excellent value, leaves your laundry smelling fresh without harsh perfumes. Our HE front load washer used to smell with our previous liquid laundry detergent, that has since disappeared. We will definitely continue to use this product."
Review 9 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 18, 2014

Extreme Value !!

"We are now on our second bucket of Nellie's Laundry Soda and it is amazing. Everyone in the house loves it - scent free, hypoallergenic and cleans the best of any product previously used. 1100 wash loads for this price is incredible....Get It !!! 100% money back guaranteed...you have nothing to lose."
Review 10 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Aurora, ON
Date:October 28, 2012

Really wanted to love this product...

Pros: simple natural ingredients
Cons: kills dark fabrics
"Like the overwhelming majority of people here I really wanted to love this product. The premise of the product and even the company is what I've been waiting for - simple, pure ingredients rather than an entire lab of unpronounceable chemicals.
But, while I agree with all the PROS everyone has listed this product failed me in one regard - it destroyed the colour on just about all darker fabrics. Blues, greens, blacks, reds... After two washes they looked like they were 10 years old.
Though we have a great Miele washer I recognize that it could be our water or any number of things, but even after reducing the amount of soda used per load the same thing kept on happening. Too bad... We were looking so forward to a back-to-basics cleaning product with simple ingredients."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:January 26, 2014

Great for sensitive skin

Pros: light non-irritating scent, makes clothes soft, dissolves quickly
"Such a great product for everyone but especially for those that are sensitive to scents. There's a very light smell to the detergent but it's not irritating. I was so surprised by the small tablespoon that each load uses, yet still gets your clothes clean. This will last me a long time! Clothes definitely feel softer, especially my cotton blend garments."
Review 12 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Exeter, ON
Date:January 9, 2014

Great Detergent!

Pros: cost, eco-friendly, unscented and natural, great for cloth diapering
"Have used for three months and only positives. Clothes are scentless and clean. We do not have sensitive skin but enjoy the cost per load and simplicity of ingredients ex. no harmful chemicals.
This product is highly recommended for cloth diapering."
Review 13 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastern Ontario Farm
Date:January 2, 2014

This is my Brand for Life

Pros: natural and smells just plain clean & fresh
"Love it ..the smell, the clean ...I use a little ozyclean additive if bad soiling, but does a great job without all the chemical. GREAT VALUE .. on the same bucket I bought 2years ago , getting lower now, will need to buy before too long"
Review 14 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Innisfail, AB
Date:June 6, 2010

This stuff works and is safe and natural

"I tried the sample pack of Nellie's products that I ordered off of the Costco website and loved the products so much that I am now placing an order for this Bulk Laundry Soda. Safe, Natural and Effective with huge cost savings by purchasing in Bulk from Costco."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Owner of B&B and Restaurant in Marmora, Ontario
Date:May 1, 2012

Best laundry soap

Pros: gets almost all the stains out of my white laundry, only have to pre-soak if someone spills an entire, glass of red wine or cup of coffee, on the white linen, customers spill olive oil red tomato sauce and, all kinds of other food spills, and this product gets them out, great that i don't have to buy a different product, for my dark clothes
Cons: can't think of one
"We have a 5 bedroom B&B and a Restaurant and I have two washing machines going constantly. I noticed this product on-line and read the reviews then decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised when I took the tablecloths and napkins out of the washing machines and all the food staines had been removed. I only used 3 tablespoons of the laundry soda and 2 tablespoons of Nellie’s Oxygen Brightener in a very large (5.0) Maytag front load washing machine on the sanitize setting. Previously I was using another very high end laundry soap, plus bleach, plus a stain remover plus adding a dishwasher detergent and sometimes this did not even work and I would have to wash some of the items again. I am very happy with this product. It gets my tablecloths very white without using a lot of products that are harmful to the environment and to my bank account. Definitely recommending it to anyone that will listen."
Review 16 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC
Date:December 13, 2013

Works Good!

Pros: very reasonable cost per load
Cons: not in our costco now
"This soap works. I am glad that its unscented and it works. It hard to stop from overdosing the wash when you add the soap. (Compared with traditional soaps)."
Review 17 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Date:January 29, 2011

wouldn't be without

Pros: super clean, uses very little
"We have tried EVERY brand and this is the first that cleans the clothes and leaves the washer (front load) clean and residue free as well. We wash our hockey gear that will fit into the washer with this and it comes out very clean and fresh. Bought it originally at a home show in a little tin to try it and was thrilled to find it on Costco.ca the next month."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:November 27, 2013

Very good, especially for a green product

Pros: great value, green, no perfume, cleans well, local canadian company
Cons: somewhat harder on fabrics
"Gets clothes and baby diapers clean. Fabrics smell nice and clean without any perfume. No residue evident in our Samsung front load HE washer. It does seem harder on fabrics than some other national brand detergents I've used though. Great value. Made in North Vancouver!"
Review 19 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crossfield, AB
Date:May 7, 2012

Cleans Teen Age Boys Socks!

Pros: price, lack of perfume, brightens whites, ease to purchase
"I was told about this product from a friend and figured I might as well plunge head first in and buy the big bulk pail because I have a house with three teenagers and we do laundry every single day to keep up. The biggest surprise for me was when I washed my teen boy's white gym socks. They came out BRILLIANT white and clean. The lack of perfume scent makes my boys VERY happy too. I could not figure out what the smell of the clothes reminds me of until I read another review... it reminds me of clothing off of the clothes line.. just FRESH and CLEAN... not perfume or flowers or anything else. In addition to the product itself, the ease in ordering this online and having it delivered directly to my door three days later was AMAZING!! I am now a confirmed believer when I used to be a dedicated Tide user. Nellie's is what will be used for now on."
Review 20 for Nellie’s Bulk Laundry Soda
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2013

Best All-Natural for highly allergic child

Cons: very rarely but occasional grease spot
"I've been using this detergent after searching long and hard for an all-natural laundry soap that would not cause my highly allergic son to break out in rashes. Not only did this do the job, it did it better than the leading popular brands would (when we used them way back when). It cleaned the cloth diapers beautifully, all our clothes seemed lighter and with the lack of perfuming smells, laundry just smelled "clean" like when you'd hang clothes to dry on a line outside... just plain ol' fresh. With six kids, you can imagine how much laundry gets down in this house and I won't use anything else anymore. I've had this tub for two years now and that's with giving out baggies of samples to anyone who comes over looking for an alternative laundry soap!"
1 2 3 4 next>>