Customer Reviews for Danby® Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Danby® Dehumidifier

This Danby Premiere® dehumidifier will remove up to 28.4 L (60 pints) of moisture from the air per 24 hours, creating a cleaner, healthier living environment. Features: Programmable humidity settings for a comfortable environment 28.4 L (60 pints) capacity per 24 hours Up to 334.5 sq. m (3,600 sq. ft.) coverage depending on conditions Non-ozone-depleting refrigerant Electronic controls Remote control and easy to use digital key pad with LED display Auto restart after a power outage Low temperature for system operation to continue to until 5º C (41º F) temperature reached Auto de-icer prevents ice build-up on coils 2-speed fan for air circulation Direct drain for continuous operation Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 38.9 cm x 28.2 cm x 59.9 cm; (15.3 in. x 11.1 in. x 23.6 in.); Weight: 19.5 kg (43 lb.) Warranty: 2 years, parts and labour Model: DDE6009REE
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby® Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:June 27, 2011

Overall, it does the job

Pros: the 60 pint version can keep a large basement dry
Cons: the humidy estimator is not very accurate, does not remember settings after a power outage, fan runs all the time
"This is a powerful dehumidifier, and can easily keep an entire basement dry. Power consumption seems to be around 600-700 watts when on and working. The bucket needs to be emptied at least once per day, but connecting the hose to a drain is a better idea. It does remove the stated 60 pints per day if the area is moist. The bucket holds less than half that.
On the downside, the humidity control isn't very accurate, so you have to lower the setting to under 40% if you want the unit to keep working continuously. Unfortuntately, after a power outage (or putting it on an electrical timer), it resets to the default 60% setting. This makes using it on a timer useless. And because the fan runs continuously, it would be nice to put it on a timer so it shuts off at night. The unit has a built-in timer, but you'd have to set that up every day because it only works once (it's like a TV's sleep-mode timer).
Overall, it does its job, but fixing the above annoyances would make it a much better unit. I rate it 4 stars if the annoyances aren't important to you, otherwise, 3 stars."
Review 2 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:July 7, 2011

Good job

Pros: very good at lowering humidity
Cons: too much heat generation with the fan always runni
"This unit works extremely well. I bought a unit that was slightly too large for the area that needed coverage. It holds the exact hunidity needed. The bucket does need emptying everyday as described, but can be put into a drain if close by.
I find the biggest issue with this unit is that it generates a huge amount of heat. The temperature in my basement is 19 degrees and after running this for a few hours it goes up to 22 degrees. It seems with the fan always running, the unit gives off a lot of heat. I find the best way to use this unit is cycling it every couple of days and it has been working excellent."
Review 3 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:September 6, 2012

Works Great

"We had an older Maytag Dehumidifer that we thought worked well. I needed a second one for our main floor, and read the reviews, and purchased this one. Well - this dehumidifier works great. It is considerably more quiet than our old one, and I am shocked by how much water it collects. Easy to dump out (haven't used the hose yet). Easy to operate. I don't run it all day (our area does not require it) but I like that there is a timer feature. I would highly recommend it. I'm thinking of getting another one to replace our old model."
Review 4 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010

Avoid this one

"Warning - this appliance leaks water if moved after turning off! It has stained carpet and flooring wherever it's been used.
I e-mailed Danby for clarification to when this thing is suppose to automatically turn off, as it wasn't turning off at the selected humidity. I found out, with experience, that it starts cycling at 5% below selected humidity. However I received no reply from Danby to my question. Poor product + no support = no more Danby products for me.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011

Does what it says

Pros: removes a lot of water
Cons: a little loud
"I don't have any issues with this product. It removes a full tank of water from my basement in one day. What a huge improvement! When you have to drain the tank, you do need to wait about 15 seconds to ensure the tubes have emptied completely, but you can hear when it stops. I have carried this unit from my second floor to the basement after it was used and it has never leaked. It is important however to vacuum the filter every two weeks."
Review 6 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:July 21, 2011

Don't buy if you are using direct to drain

Pros: works well if draining to the bucket
Cons: does not drain via hose, poor customer service
"The unit did not drain via the direct drain hose. I called the company and they told me that I require a plug (this is not mentioned in the instructions) that is not included. They mailed me the plug and it still did not drain to the hose only to the bucket.
It works great if you don't need to direct drain.
On further conversations with the company (takes forever to get through via phone) they admitted that it was a manufacturing flaw.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2011

Wroks well but a few problems

"The dehumidifier definitely does its job to take the moisture out of the air. I am emptying it every day, however when I take the tank out to empty, the machine keeps running and water runs out onto the ground. The old Danby I had would shut down right away when you went to empty it and start beeping until the tank was back in. Right now I have an unfinished basement, but if it were hardwood flooring I would not be happy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On
Date:November 16, 2011

Excellent prdocut at unbeatable price!

"Costco did it again! This dehumidifier does the job reliably. No leaks if you switch the unit off and wait 10 or 20 seconds before removing the bucket. The direct drainage works also very well. The unit is quit. I have used it for three weeks and I am satisfied with the result. I hope to better control the indoor humidity level this winter and avoid the moisture on the windows.
The Costco pricing is the best.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal QC
Date:June 7, 2010

Terrific dehumidifier

Pros: extremely efficient and quiet
Cons: none
"Purchased this product last year. Excellent no complaints. No dripping as mentioned by other customer except if you take the reservoir out immediately. Interestingly just watched a consumer watch show from Toronto on CTV and they rated 17 different humidifiers and this Danby Premiere was the top rated"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island
Date:November 22, 2011

Does the job

Pros: helps heat space
"This baby is a workhorse. Have an uninsulated crawlspace at this time and have the unit going for several days. Not using direct drain so emptying the tank about 2 times a day and has dropped humidity 12 % so far in crawlspace. It is not that noisey and sounds like a small AC unit at low speed."
Review 11 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Date:July 25, 2011

C00L

"This is a compact little unit that is easily portable with wheels, not too heavy, love that it has a hose to drain into a larger bucket/drain. Home feels much less humid/sticky. Easy to control buttons, timer and convenient remote control. Did not like that UPS left it on my front door."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CBS, NL
Date:October 19, 2010

A little loud

Pros: works great
Cons: loud
"The unit seems to work as indicated. The digital thermometer and humidity gauges are a great addition. However, the fan runs continuously when the unit is turned on and is a little loud. Not recommended for a quiet room. It would be fine in the laundry room or unoccupied basement."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:May 7, 2011

How does this qualify for Energy Star?

Pros: programmable
Cons: fan never shuts off
"Inside the box (but NOT mentioned on the outside) is a sticker that says: "Important Note: The fan on this dehumidifier operates continuously ... To turn the fan off, the dehumidifier must be in the Off position." I'm taking it back to the store today."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Barrie
Date:June 30, 2011

Does what it says

Pros: works exactly as intended, good build quality
Cons: does not remember settings after power outage, generates a lot of heat.
"This unit is quieter than the last brand I had and it does everything it's supposed to. The only draw backs is that it seems to generate a lot of heat and does not remember the settings after a power outage."
Review 15 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill
Date:October 26, 2011

It does the jobs what it says

"Pros: Small unit and portable.Displays current temperature and humidity so convenient. Can change fan speed.
Cons: Once on the fan always run. Need more speed choice (5 will be better). Noisy"
Review 16 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto ,Ont
Date:June 22, 2011

GREAT BUY

Pros: fast setup quiet
Cons: fan is constantly on
"Fast Delivery , the unit is Qiuet .
Being used in the furnace room but quiet enough to use in any living space. Easy to set up and love the feature of the the direct to drain function.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby® Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Masham, QC
Date:June 3, 2010

Energy Savings

Pros: comes with hose and connection for cont. drain
Cons: none
"The Danby Model DDR6009RE dehumidifier is very well made and very efficient in its operation. We expect considerable energy savings over the 20-year unit it replaced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.