Customer Reviews for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera

Completely wireless and portable, this video surveillance system provides numerous options for all types of security or safety uses. Use the 3.5?in. colour monitor to digitally zoom and scan – vertically and horizontally – from up to 152 m (500 ft.) from the camera. Expand up to 4 cameras to the system for even greater options and security. The included bonus Uniden® surveillance software provides scheduled recordings, smart motion detection and alarm.   Features: 3.5-in. colour display (640 x 480 VGA) Lithium polymer rechargeable battery: Up to 4 hours camera operation, up to 10 hours base operation Night-view camera AV out to TV monitor 1 camera included (expandable up to 4 cameras) Digital zoom/tilt capability Quad, auto-scan, or full-screen view Camera transmits up to 152 m (500 ft.) (subject to environmental conditions) Portable and discrete Built-in microphone Optional features with included PC software (for Windows® XP and Windows Vista®) Detection sensitivity Playback feature Smart motion detection and alarm Scheduled recordings to your PC Specifications: Dimensions (W x D x H): 27.9 cm x 7.6 cm x 20.9 cm; (11 in. x 3 in. x 8.3 in.) Weight: 0.9 kg (2 lb.) Warranty 1 year Model: UDW10003
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Review 1 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ONTARIO
Date:July 5, 2010

great buy

"Well, ordered this little package to replace a horrible video baby monitor that my wife bought......it looked like a 1970's TV set!! Funny thing was, this product was the same price. Received it in 4 days, very easy set up, basically plug it in an go. Great picture and great sound. The range is not bad. It is great indoors, covers the entire house with full strength (even with WIFI on, which some other reveiws were complaining about interference, non issue here). The range outside was not bad, once you clear the outter wall you get about 50m past the house. We live on a large property and have an alluminum sided shop which completly blocks the signal. But for the price very pleased. Again, purchased this as in impromptu baby monitor and it is great for that. For security purposes, may want to pay a little more, as the picture quality on recording may leave something to be desired in ID of suspects and court purposes. I still gave this a 5 star rating based on why I bought it and how it did at that goal!"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:August 11, 2011

Priceless feature monitoring baby

Pros: quality of picutre and sound, range, battery (mobile) + ac adapter
Cons: price, camera stand no easy to point/place camera
"Though I find it bit expensive for baby monitoring reason; however, to able to see (to know when to run) in addition to the sound feature/concept is priceless.
We call it Crib Cam!!
This is really helpful when baby is sleeping upstairs and we are on different level.
The range works pretty good too, tested up to 100 feet (did not go any far) with no pic quality loss.
One feature would have been good to have is intercom (talking from main/monitor unit to the camera unit) - so you can shoot the baby, or talk back to the baby.
This would allow this unit to use for other purpose, e.g. monitor/attend main door.
Another enhancement would be, some sort of Velcro belt or some type of hook on the camera unit to place it in a desired place/angle. The back stand is only good to put it on a flat surface and no way to point the camera to desired direction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:February 10, 2011

So great, I bought another one

Pros: super clear image even in pitch dark, long battery charges, portable
"I researched and looked at a lot of video monitors to use as a baby cam and they were all terrible quality, grainy and useless. I came across this in the store and I picked it up. Amazing! The infrared night vision was amazingly clear. The image is sharp. I've bragged about this to all my friends. We even pack it when we travel, go to the grandparents or visit friends. I put a tiny pocket camera tripod on the recorder unit for a portable stand when traveling. We have a 2nd child on the way and I was searching for another unit - luckily I found this on the website, but not in stores. You can also use 1 display to view up to 4 cameras, so now we've got 2 displays that can both watch each room we set the cameras in. Worth every penny - much better than inferior products that are charging as much or more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

Great quality picture

"Like several reviewers, I bought this for my son's nursery as a baby monitor. Both my husband and i were very surprised at how clear the picture is, even at night with the lights off. It was basically ready to go right out of the box, which was nice.
Haven't tested the range on it yet, but am so far very pleased with the product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:March 14, 2011

Works great!

Pros: good build quality, good video and sound, no interference, includes metal camera mount, rechargeable monitor and camera
Cons: can only buy one camera in this kit, no two way communication, battery life in monitor could be better
"I bought this as a baby monitor and it has been working great for almost 3 months now. Compared to conventional video baby monitors this system has better video and build quality. The range is good and battery time is also fine (although the monitor only lasts about 4 hours if not plugged in). The infrared is quite good when used at night and the microphone is very sensitive so even faint sounds can be clearly heard. I bought two more cameras for the system (available elsewhere) and it makes the system even more verstatile. So far, no intereference from other wireless devices at all. Would love to see future versions with a bigger monitor and/or a standalone wireless/internet enabled version. A 'must-have' for parents!"
Review 6 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, B.C.
Date:March 22, 2011

How did I do without it?

Cons: should come with 2 cameras
"This little unit is allowing me some peace of mind that nothing else could. With a good picture and clear sound - I know if our guy is having breathing trouble. It's probably going to save his life. Thanks!!!!!
However - within the first week I've had to purchase an additional camera so that I can capture the whole bedroom. AND a little deflated to see that it's now $5. cheaper than when I bought mine March 7th. Oh well...
"
Review 7 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:October 15, 2010

Great Product

"This is the second one I picked up as the first one was defective and the monitor batterey died on me after a few months but costco accepted the return with no issues. Other then that I love the product and already recommend to all my friends who are having babies as i use it as a baby monitor.. =)"
Review 8 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:August 14, 2011

Awesome Purchase

Pros: night vision, quality product
Cons: little pricy
"We were on the fence about purchasing this product...since it was a little pricey. However as soon as we started using it, we loved it. We are currently using it as a baby monitor. Very pleased with this product. Wish Costco sold additional cameras."
Review 9 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, ON
Date:April 20, 2011

Great product

Pros: interference free, good battery life, light weight
Cons: would be nice to have a clip on stand
"I bought this camera to be used as a baby monitor.
It works great, no noisy connections or loss of signal like other baby monitors I've tested.
The battery life is really good and night vision is great.
"
Review 10 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL
Date:July 20, 2011

Bought this as a baby monitor.

Cons: none so far.
"Bought this to replace a video baby monitor that broke after 3 months of use. This camera is so much better than the one I replaced. Clear image, zoom option, great battery life. I love this system."
Review 11 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:November 30, 2010

Clear sound and image

Pros: clear image and sound, li-on battery for both the camera and monitor unit, can add more camera later, hook up to a computer for various recording option
"I need a good baby monitor and this is probably the best I have tried so far. The sound quality is good, and the image is quite clear."
Review 12 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Date:May 9, 2011

Great bundle

"We are using it as a baby monitor and works great till now. Hope this helps."
Review 13 for Uniden® Portable Video Surveillance System with Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:July 14, 2011

Good baby monitor

Pros: camera also has battery!
Cons: sound volume could be higher
"It delivers - no interference."