Customer Reviews for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater

Walnut Finish
Average Customer Rating:
2.786 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
7 of 14(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Review 1 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:April 4, 2011

No Good

"Only used it five times, and by the fifth time, it started buzzing and making all kinds of very loud noises. On a positive note, Costco took it back with no problem.
Hope something better comes along for next year!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerSmall AppliancesApril 11, 2011
Thank you for your review.

The buzzing noise as described has not been an issue in the past with our product. We are not sure why a buzzing noise has occurred but please feel free to contact our Costco.ca call centre at 1-888-426-7826 if you have any further questions or concerns. We will be happy to offer you a replacement unit.
Review 2 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:March 17, 2011

Don't bother...

"My previous (negative) review was removed. This is the second time this has happened when I didn't like a product!?
This draws the same amperage as any other 750-150Watt heater except that it costs nearly 4 times as much (1500W parabolic heater). Also, the thermostat doesn't work properly and once it reaches temperature does not restart itself. Am taking it back.
"
Review 3 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2011

Don't buy for a garage.

"Bought this to heat a small 2x6 insulated and boarded garage to prevent the fridge from freezing in the winter. Discovered it is costing over $100 a month in electricity. What a waste of money. Very disappointed."
Review 4 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:airdrie, AB
Date:February 14, 2011

Did not work properly

Pros: relatively small, quiet, appeared to heat well when it worked
Cons: would not work automatically, could not calibrate heater temperature reading
"- The heater worked when initially started, but after reaching the indicated temperature the heater would not restart by itself when the room temperature dropped. The heater would have to be manually turned off and restarted.
- The manual was not very user friendly when it came to what would/should appear on the heater read-out. For example, 'time' would only show when the 'time button' was pressed, and then only for seconds.
-Instructions on how to calibrate the heater temperature setting with a room thermostat were vague at best. My heater would not show the ambient temperature so it was impossible to calibrate the heater. Perhaps this was why the heater would not work properly.
"
Review 5 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia
Date:January 22, 2011

Happy but worried

"I purchased this heater for my daughter's bedroom and was very satisfied with the job it did at night with her door closed. However after only three months of using it just in the overnight hours it died. We brought it back and are looking to order another one right now. I'm concerned we will run into the same problem again now that I read one other person's review of the same thing happening but I think we'll take our chances."
Review 6 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC
Date:January 22, 2011

Is not a good product for heating areas

Cons: is not able to do what the description says
"I tested this product and used it als additional heating source. It should heat an area of about 700 sq feet. I set the thermostat of 22 degres celsius, which is not a high room temperature. It run for 3 hours !!! and was not able to wearm up this area to 22 degres celsius my room thermostat showed still 21 degres celsius. The heat what this product produces is too low and the fan is not strong enough and does not produce a high airflow, therefore it cannot heat up the large air volume of a larger room or area. The product does not do what the description says, I returned it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerSmall AppliancesJanuary 26, 2011
Thank you for your review.

The Dynamic Heater must be on "HI" function to heat a single room up to 1000 sq. ft. Properly insulated windows and walls will assist in the performance of the Dynamic Heater. The displayed ambient temperature on the control panel of the Dynamic Heater will not be the same as the displayed temperature on the home thermostat, due to the variance of the temperature between the two different locations. The temperature sensor on the Dynamic heater is located on the rear of the heater.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate our Costco.ca call centre at 1-888-426-7826.
Review 7 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairview, AB
Date:January 21, 2011

keeps the basement warm

Pros: warms quickly, timer
Cons: controls aren't very intuitive
"We got this before Christmas and put it downstairs to keep the playroom a little warmer and it works great. I can feel the difference as I walk down the stairs. It's a fairly large room and it's made the basement much cosier. I really like the timer so that it goes off automatically and isn't on all night!
My only complaint is the controls. The temperature always defaults to Fahrenheit and it seems like up and down should be switched. But you get used to it."
Review 8 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern Alberta
Date:January 16, 2011

Great little heater when it works

Pros: child safe, effective heating, quiet
Cons: quality/longevity, not sure about the 40% reduction in energy usage
"Bought two of these to help cut down on our gas usage. Both do an effective job but they did increase our electricity usage 250kwh per month. These do a much better job than the oil filled heaters they replaced, the air circulation is as advertised.
One of them already died after less than 3 months of use. They do dry out the air as another poster observed."
Review 9 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sturgeon Falls, Ontario
Date:January 16, 2011

so far so good

Pros: nice unit
Cons: none so far
"Bought this unit before Christmas, and so far I am very satisfy. I use it in the living room where I spend more time, and I enjoy
the warm atmosphere.
Just waiting for my first hydro bill, so that I can compare, If I realy save, but the heat is nice.
"
Review 10 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON
Date:January 13, 2011

Great product

Pros: cost effective method of supplementing heating, size of unit & portability, wood finish, remote: ease of use and format
Cons: a few dings on the unit i received, default temp should be set to celcius for canada
"This thing blasts a lot of heat in no time. There are two heat settings on the unit (750 and 1500 watts) which provides an option to heat up the place in no time (approx. 800 sq ft in my case) and another lower setting for maintaining the temperature and helping lower your hydro consumption.
Unit looks great and the quality of the product is obvious at first sight. After testing my first unit for the main floor, I bought a second unit for the upper floor. I have been using both units for 6 weeks now with no issues. I am recommending this product without any hesitation.
"
Review 11 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:dartmouth, NS
Date:January 6, 2011

Doesn't heat like it says it does

Pros: nice looking, quiet
Cons: dries the air, doesn't effectively heat the room
"Although this is a nice looking unit & is quiet, I found that it took a very long time to heat an area unless you were sitting right in front of it. Also I found it made the air extremely dry in the room. I returned mine."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerSmall AppliancesJanuary 11, 2011
Thank you for your review.

Dynamic Heaters unique design is intended to be used as a supplemental heating system. Once it is used as primary heating source, its effectiveness is significantly reduced. Furthermore, the Dynamic Heater uses infrared technology which produces a soft, cozy heat that warms objects through absorption. The filtered air that passes through the heater actually makes the room environment more comfortable rather than drying out the air.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our Costco.ca call centre at 1-888-426-7826.



Review 12 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:moncton, nb
Date:January 5, 2011

Looks Great

Pros: very quiet, accurate thermometer, even heat, safe to touch, numeric display is easy to read
Cons: temp setting not retained after powering off, defaults to 72 and fahrenheit, timer cannot be preset to start
"This unit looks great as a piece of furniture too, sturdy wood cabinet can have items placed atop of it. The dual function remote takes getting used to as you have to press the temp or time before the up / down arrows to change the number"
Review 13 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Albert, AB
Date:December 24, 2010

Great for Basements

Pros: very quiet works well for lower ceiling rooms., great for basements, small and portable
Cons: not good for vaulted ceilings or large open-areas
"I bought two units, one for our downstairs finished basement, and the other for our vaulted ceiling family room.
Very quiet unit, small, compact, looks good.
I give this heater 4 stars because it works well for basement use. I wouldn't recommend this unit for a vaulted ceiling, as all the heat rises up and not out.
The heater does not impact the household thermostat. I keep my house thermostat at 20C, and this heater does not increase the overall house temperature, even if I jack the unit up to 30C.
Overall, I would recommend this unit for small rooms, low ceilings, and basements."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynamic Infrared Quartz Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver BC
Date:January 29, 2010

Really a great heater

Pros: easy to operate, quiet
"We have used this heater for a few weeks and are very impressed with the performance. We use it to heat the living room which opens to our kitchen/dining area. We never use our baseboard heat except at night. I can tell this is going to really save us money. The remote is a great feature and the unit is very quiet. This produces a very soft even heat which really gently warms the area. It also looks really nice as well"
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.