Customer Reviews for Single Induction Cooker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Single Induction Cooker

Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Single Induction Cooker
Review 1 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, bc
Date:April 19, 2012

Will not work with pots over 6"

Pros: worked well
Cons: will not work with pots over 6"
"Products worked great for small pats
Will not work with pots over 6" bottem
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Creston, BC
Date:July 13, 2012

Check Pots First!

"I love almost everything about this induction heater - speed, heat control, stability, weight, easy to clean, sleek look. The only problem - and it's a big one for me - is that it doesn't work on 8 of my stainless steel pots, anyone of which is being used daily! The unit just shuts down after 5 seconds. I spoke with a Costco rep (thanks for getting back to me Costco!) who suggested that I test my pots with a magnet on the bottom of the pots. If it adheres, the pot will work but otherwise it won't. Sure enough, pots have to be magnetic. Mine are all 18/10 stainless steel with thick bottoms (Lagostina/Kinox, Costco 'spagetti' pot', various). Perhaps there is copper or something sandwiched between layers of some pot bottoms??
It worked on a 9" pot that I have so perhaps an earlier reviewer has a problem with the magnetism and not the size.
I would easily have given this product 5 stars if it worked on stainless steel, as advertised on this site and in the manual. I also think this Costco ad should mention using a magnet to determine if this heater will work on your pots so you can decide if this product will work for you.
I am keeping the product because it works well on a few of my pots, is cool to operate and will work as an extra burner when needed."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park
Date:April 13, 2011

Great value and flexibility!

Pros: portable/110v
"Took a few trys to realize there is a temp setting, and a 1-10 intensity? setting. Works good so far, fan noise is there, but then you know its on. Looking forward to using it on the deck for Chinese hot-pot!"
Review 4 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Date:January 13, 2011

Induction Cooker

Pros: great buy!
"Very pleased with this product. Performed exactly as described, love the timer to shut off automatically. great product, want to buy another one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Ontario
Date:March 10, 2011

Great Product

"We purchased this to determine if we would like to buy an induction range. This product has been pefect for our needs. After reading induction ranges share power from front to back and only max at a temperature of 300 degrees on most models, we have decided to just buy a flat top range and use this as our induction burner. Its light weight and works excellent makes it mobil and usabale anywhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC.
Date:May 16, 2011

BUY BUY BUY AND BUY !

Pros: everything
Cons: none except maybe make a 30 inch unit please ?
"This product is too good to be true.
If at all handy I would set it into my countertop and use that in lieu of our ceratop....this is da bomb !
It heats up VERY fast, fater than a microwave. It warms up equally all over the pot, no hot spots no burned bottoms.
This is a great purchase at an unbelieveable price and nab one while you can cause it will go up eventually."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Okanagan Valley
Date:December 15, 2011

An Induction Cooker for an Excellent Price

Pros: excellent unit excellent price
Cons: there are no cons.
"I have made several meals on this induction cooktop. It does cook different from an electric cooktop, it gets hot very fast, temperature is so easy to control though.
I am very happy with my purchase.:)
"
Review 8 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wpg, MB
Date:January 12, 2012

Well worth the money

"I bought this to try induction as we will be changing our cooktop in the near future and the current one is an old ceran top which takes FOREVER to heat/cool. This induction cooker not only gave me the opportunity to confirm I love the induction, it also showed me the limitations. It will only work with pots/pans labelled "induction" or you can do the magnet test and see if a magnet sticks to the bottom of the pot/pan. Most of my frying pans will be going out the door because they don't work with induction. It will also only work if the pot/pan is the same size or smaller than the element "drawing" on the surface. My big stock pot doesn't work because the bottom is too big for the element. The cooking is even, very quick to heat up, and if you turn it down even 1 number setting, it responds immediately. I am very impressed with this element. There is a quiet fan noise when it is on. It is very light and easy to sit anywhere to use. It cools VERY quickly after it is turned off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:February 13, 2012

Great Product

"Very satisfied with this product; price point, good; very efficient.
I've used this product for about a month now; it's great. Was recently visiting friends who have a complete stovetop with this technology; was amazed at the speed of boiling water and it's cooking ability. Came home, checked out Costco and found s single unit; thought this would be great. It now sits on my countertop full time and is used daily; quite often in lieu of my regular stove because of the energy efficiency. Like the timer feature; and yes, there are 5 minute intervals, but, they can be adjusted with the plus minus very easily. It is a different type of cooking; which, does take a bit of time getting used to, but, well worth the effort. I like the safety features; if you remove a pot, the unit will shut off. Personally, I unplug the unit when not in use; just to ensure I'm not using more hydro than I need to (the on/off button is illuminated when plugged in).
Definitely like the product and would recommend; just make sure you're willing to sacrifice some counter area, it's about 12" x 15". Would also suggest, ventilation over (or as close to) the unit as possible.
"
Review 10 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury
Date:February 15, 2012

In Love

Pros: never got more for my money!
Cons: the manual
"This is by far one of the finest cooktops I have had the pleasure of using. The manual is useless. It is worthwhile taking a pot of water and try the different levels to get aquainted with this fabulous product. I wrecked one brand new pot already. It is so quick I burnt it! LOL. I used to have a corning top stove and hated it! I spent my evenings cleaning the crazy thing. These clean so well it is hard to believe. I loved it so much I bought 3 more! It is cheaper than buying a stove and incredibly efficient.
It is great when your friends are entertaining and need more space to cook, or when you go to your cottage, take your cooktop, they are portable.
One thing about Costco, they sure get some awesome products. Don't miss out on this one. As everyone knows, if you see some great products at Costco, buy today, good chance tomorrow it will be gone. I've kicked myself many times!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quadra Island, B.C.
Date:February 17, 2012

Works Great

"I purchased the Induction cooker to have on hand when the electrical power goes out due to storms, which happen fairly often on our Island on the B.C. Coast. It will operate on power from our backup generator.
Boils water very fast and cooks great.
"
Review 12 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:June 19, 2012

Bought four since Christmas!

"I received this last Christmas and have found every excuse to buy four more units to give as gifts! Fantastic heat control, power and speed. No heat given off by actual unit and it is perfect for an RV too. it can be put out on my 'wood' patio table for carefree cooking without fear of burning anything or children burning themselves on it. . I rarely use my main cooktop in the kitchen anymore and simply slip this light weight unit out of the cupboard. Easy to clean with a wipe and a buff. My huge and powerful gas burner unit outside on the patio is now gathering cobwebs. With the fantastic and instant heat control, stir frys and low simmering sauces are worry free now. Drawbacks? Hmm..I now have a humongous hanging pot rack full of shiny stainless pots and pans just for looks now. Took me years to collect, but no longer useable for this unit. The induction is so good that I don't even care. I bought more pots and pans that will work with the magnetic technology. It was well worth it. Highly recommended."
Review 13 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg MB
Date:July 2, 2012

Love my Single Induction Cooker

Pros: inexpensive quick & light weight
Cons: none
"We have had it a couple of months and just started using it a couple of weeks ago, very happy with it. Be careful of the type of pots you have, some stainless steel will not work on the cooker. We have it especially for our summer trailer and it works perfectly outside on the picnic table..."
Review 14 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 21, 2012

Excellent !

Pros: very portable and safe
Cons: can only use limited cookware.
"Great product. Boils water fast. Very safe."
Review 15 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:August 14, 2012

A fantastic buy

Pros: heats up extremely fast., accurate temperature control
Cons: none that i can think of.
"I've been using this cooker for a little over a week now and absolutely love it. Boils water extremely fast and having the temperature controls (in farenheit) are fantastic as I can't wait to deep fry some chicken wings now. I'm surprised on how fast it heats up the frying pan for cooking eggs and I only have the heat setting at "5'. Haven't used the timer setting and probably won't but it's a nice feature to have. If you're in the market for a portable induction cooker, buy this. You won't regret it.
UPS kinda damaged the heck out of the outer shipping box as the side was crushed and torn. Thank goodness for the styrofoam peanuts otherwise I think the unit would have been damaged."
Review 16 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leamington, Ont.
Date:September 12, 2012

I like it!

Pros: fast - impressive temp settings
Cons: a small cook book or instructions would really hel
"I am impressed! One big problem is finding cookware that works on the unit. I bought a 3.5l enamelled cast iron dish which works fine - have not found anything else in a reasonable price range.
Counter space is a problem. If there was room I would buy another.
"
Review 17 for Single Induction Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, B.C.
Date:December 29, 2011

Save & Safe

Pros: fits pots small to huge., timer, heat controls, fast & efficient, costco service & delivery
Cons: timer is only in 5 minute chunks., fan is louder than i'm used to but not bad., manual is not great.
"I've used a propane gas stove for too many years & an electric & with my wanting to be more green & conserve both the environment & my hard earned money, I purchased this induction cooker.
It has proven to be an excellent choice. It heats foods VERY quickly compared to gas & electric burners. It boils water MUCH faster & at lower energy settings, & it is MUCH more convenient than a microwave oven for similar performance.
Due to it's speed & adjustable temperature settings in either degrees or 10 levels, I save energy due to time & dialed in wattage.
It is MUCH safer than gas & electric burners due to sensors that know when a pot has boiled dry. Or I set the timer to prevent problems, which is what I normally do.
It simmers very well under 2 levels or several temperature choices.
The active zone fits & works with all my pots, from a 3" diameter espresso brew pot to my larger 10" soup pot.
Easy clean up & no baked on crud & no electrical or gas elements or nozzles to get clogged. I'm no great cook so accidents happen."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.