Customer Reviews for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station

National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station

This unique touch-screen home weather station with PC is a complete unit to measure and monitor the local weather around your home. Features:   Indoor/outdoor temperature and relative humidity   Wind chill   Wind speed and direction   Barometric pressure and trend   Forecast icon   Rain fall   Programmable alarm functions for certain weather conditions   Max/min temperature memory   PC weather software compatible with Windows® XP/Vista®   Outdoor data:    Transmission distance in open field: 135 m (450 ft.)   Frequency: 915 MHz (North America)   Temperature range: -40°C to 65°C (-40°F to +149°F)   Resolution: 0.1°C (0.2°F)   Measuring range relative humidity: 10% ~ 99%   Rain volume display: 0 to 9999 mm (show if outside range)   Resolution: 0.1 mm (if rain volume < 1000 mm) and 1 mm (if rain volume > 1000 mm)   Wind speed: 0 to 160 km/h (0~100 mph) (show - if outside range)   Measuring interval thermo-hygro sensor: 48 sec.   Water proof level: IPX3   Indoor data:    Measuring interval pressure/temperature: 48 sec.   Indoor temperature range: 0°C to 50°C (32°F to + 122°F) (show if outside range)   Resolution: 0.1°C (0.2°F )   Measuring range relative humidity: 10% ~ 99%   Resolution: 1%   Measuring range air pressure: 700 to 1100 hpa (27.13 in. Hg to 31.89 in. Hg)   Resolution: 0.1 hpa (0.01 in. Hg)   Alarm duration: 120 sec.   Power consumption:    Base station: 3 x AA 1.5 V LR6 alkaline batteries   Remote sensor: 2 x AA 1.5 V LR6 alkaline batteries   Battery life:    Minimum 12 months for base station   Minimum 24 months for thermo-hygro sensor    Specifications:   Dimensions (L x W x H): 40.6 cm x 37.3 cm x 14.5 cm; (16 in. x 14.7 in. x 5.7 in.)   Weight: 2.5 kg (5.4 lb.)   Warranty:   1 year Model:  265NC
Average Customer Rating:
3.606 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
26 of 33(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Review 1 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southshore, NS
Date:November 8, 2010
Pros: useful meteorological information, costco return service
Cons: signal intermittent
"Purchased the unit on-line November 2009 for the cottage; returned to store September 2010. Unit was easy to set-up and offers a lot of value. As a professional pilot it provided a great amount of useful meteorological information. Only problem was that the signal was intermittent and finally completely failed. I reluctantly returned to the store as the warranty was about to end. This was my first return in many years and products with Costco and was very pleased by the service. I will order a new unit for spring 2011 and configure with inexpensive solar rechargeable batteries as suggested by various on-line forms."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK
Date:July 16, 2012

Poor quality

Pros: displays all the info you want when working.
Cons: doesn't work all the time
"I received this about 10 days ago. Installation was simple and easy. Mounted it on my garage about 50 feet away with clear view through window to receiver.
Communication was immediatley established and all was working well.
After one day comunication stopped. On the third day it restarted and worked fine for a week. Two days ago rain began and communication stopped again. This morning comunication was re-established and reported that I had received 4165 mm of rain in the last 24 hours. I looked out the window and saw no fish swimming by. I dismantled the system and returned to Costco.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:January 25, 2012

Excellent amateur weather station

Pros: price, service from the manufacturer, battery life
Cons: none
"I bought one of these weather stations in September 2009 for home and it's been working flawlessly since installation. I purchased a second unit in 2011 for our vacation property. I had a problem with the rain sensor shortly after installation. I contacted the manufacturer and within a couple of weeks they replaced the defective parts without any problems, prompting me to submit this review.
The unit itself works quite well. Battery life is excellent, the measurements are consistent with other stations around me once it's calibrated. Overall a great buy.
"
Review 4 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:July 19, 2012

National Geographic touch screen weather station

Cons: unreliable, manual sparce in info.
"Rec'd weather station,set up and programmed as per instructions.
After 1 hour lost wind speed,outdoor temp,and wind direction.
Reset on three consecutive times and each time all data was re established,but failed to display again after 1 to 2 hours.
Removed all batteries and reset one final time,whereby lost all items display as described above after 1 - 2 hours.
Original area installation was aprox. 30 feet from receiver,in a yard free of all electronic /electric interferance's.
I am disapointed as this product failed to perform as described.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laval, Quebec
Date:January 2, 2013

Very good

Pros: good buy
Cons: i would like to move to a better unit.
"I’ve had this product operating for the last 2 winters.
During the Fall, I disconnect the Rain measuring unit in order to avoid freezing Rain which could damage the receptacle.
This year, the wind direction and speed indicator were subject to a few “free games” because of freezing rain and high frost level in the air at morning time.
I find it interesting that the batteries seem ok and are not starting to falter yet. I will be changing them in the spring.
Over all, very I’m very happy with the unit.
Oh yes, it's -14.7C in Laval, Qc today.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland
Date:February 8, 2012

Good Starter weather station

Pros: price, can connect to wunderground, nice produce to learn about weather, great customer service
Cons: signal intermittent, instructions for setup could be better
"The first one from the time of setup the outdoor humidity wasn't working, so I called the company and they were going to send me a replacement monitor but there were none in stock. So they suggested I call costco.ca for a complete replacement.
I now have my replacement but the outdoor humidity, temp, wind direction and speed sometimes go blank but the barometric pressure remains.
It's a good station to learn about the weather, but judging from the reviews on here, you might or might not get a good working one.
"
Review 7 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Essex, ON
Date:September 30, 2010

2 Duds in a row

Pros: great price
Cons: not working
"I was really excited for this product.
With the 1st one, everything but the outdoor relative humidity was working correct. It was always stuck at 99%. So I called the company, they sent me a new monitor, but that didn't solve anything. So I'll return the 1st one and purchased another, must have just got a dud.
2nd one arrives and I can't get any readings from the outdoor unit, just indoor readings from the monitor. So now I have 2 duds, I dunno? Do I try a 3rd time?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blind Bay, BC
Date:May 10, 2010

Great little system connected to internet

Pros: works right out of the box like it should, easy connect to wunderground(download required), seems very accurate
Cons: plastic components look a little cheap.
"I got this about a month ago and it worked right out of the box. Good wireless connection although I am not pushing the distance. Downloaded some free software(Cumulus software) from the internet and now it's updating at the weather underground and another personal weather station site. This download and install on an old laptop and then updates to the weather sites was quite simple to do.
I have a web site with display showing current conditions.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:toronto,ontario
Date:August 4, 2011

reasonably good

Pros: relatively inexpensive
Cons: poor temperature reading, no base for mast set up
"first, there doesn't seem to be a base to set up the mast.you have to have a t.v. post already, or buy one.
the screen is hard to read, even when adjusted to the max setting.
you want to set it out in the open to get wind speeds and rain settings, but this gives a false temperature reading during hot summer days.not so bad during overcast, or winter days i suspect.
for the price it is not too bad.
"
Review 10 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL
Date:September 29, 2012

Not very durable

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: not up to the job in the long term.
"I purchased and gave one of these stations as a gift for Christmas 2010. At first it worked quite well but over the past 1.5 years it has gradually deteriorated.
The display seems to have become more difficult to read and some of the sensors have ceased to work correctly. Just recently it lost a wind cup. I would expect a weather station to last and be reliable for considerably longer than this.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:August 4, 2011

Very entertaining product.

Pros: good weather parameters indicated, interesting looking instrument, quite accurate readings
Cons: better explanations for functions needed in manual, wind speed/direction reading slight lag.
"I've mounted this weather station at the top of a 25' flagpole in my backyard. To date, it has worked very well, although it hasn't rained so can't tell if the rain gauge is any good. It was simple to assemble and the instructions were good. It gives a very good indication of outside temp, humidity, wind direction. My only beefs is in the "cons". For the lack of 4.5 stars, I give it 5."
Review 12 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Stoney Creek,ON
Date:July 4, 2012

Good weather station for the money

Pros: good looking unit
Cons: intermittant operations
"My wife bought me this weater station for Father
day. Installation went ok. Accuracy is ok.
PC software is good. I like this unit. It looks
good and it teaches you something about
the weather. It would be much better if reliability would be improved. the transmitter
is intermittant. Screen not bright enough
Manuals very short in explanations. Instructions
need to be more complete.
"
Review 13 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Claresholm, AB
Date:October 11, 2010

Not bad for the price

Pros: inexpensive, easy setup, uploads data to internet
Cons: temperature affected by solar radiation.
"Assembly and setup went without a hitch. Included software is lame but fortunately I read other reviews and downloaded Cumulus from the net. Temperature reading is affected by direct sunlight on solar shield (reads higher than it should). Found it easy to setup corresponding Personal Weather Station on Weather Underground so that I could access weather station data away from home."
Review 14 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Winterpeg
Date:June 14, 2011

OK, but

Pros: fun to keep track of local weather
Cons: temperature sensor needs improving
"This is my second one. The transmitter failed on my first one after a couple of months use and now on my second one. Costco was very good in returning the first one with absolutely no hassle. There is also a problem with outside temperatures if the sensor is in direct sunlight (reads higher than actual temp). I'm going to try to move it into a shaded spot to see if this helps.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB
Date:March 3, 2011

Great Weather Station

Pros: very reliable
Cons: not the most sophisticated weather station
"Received this unit in October and it has worked great since then. It is now March and I have yet to re-charge the batteries. The unit has worked perfectly through many long periods of -25C to -30C.
I recommend downloading Cumulus software rather than using the software provided with the unit. It's just better.
This is an excellent weather station for the novice user.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Hazelton, BC
Date:May 7, 2012

touch screen weather station

Pros: the accurate data
Cons: reception.
"Good product, everything works fine. I live in a log home and to have reception from weather station to base it has to be in staight view or else it does not receive the signal. It is less then a 100 feet from the house. My next step will try to mount it on the roof and see how that works. Cool produdt."
Review 17 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Black Diamond, AB.
Date:August 16, 2010

Decent unit

Pros: easy setup with no hard wiring
Cons: they could have supplied better mounting hardware
"Overall i'm very pleased with this unit and enjoy the info it provides me with everyday! Seems accurate however the program it came with for monitoring seems to screw up especially the rain accumalation sensor however once I downloaded cummulas as the other reviewer it seems to be more accurate!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC
Date:September 10, 2011

Good Deal

Pros: great price quite accurate looks good
Cons: screen is dim and quite touchy but still good
"Good deal for the price. We live on the north side of the valley and not far from the airport where the official weather site is but the tempeture and wind are always different than reported. Since we go for a walk everyday it is nice to get the actual weather for our area."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:EDMONTON
Date:June 14, 2011

VERY GOOD AT A GREAT PRICE

"A PRODUCT OF GOOD QUALITY, EASY SET UP ALL WENT WELL. ENJOYABLE KEEPING TRACK OF WEATHER AND ITS FORCAST SEEMS TO BE SPOT ON. I LOOKED AT OTHER SITES AND PRODUCTS BUT NOTHING COULD MATCH PRICE OR QUALITY. I SUGGEST
IT FOR ANY ONE WHO WANTS AN EDUCATIONAL GAGET.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for National Geographic™ 265NC Touch-screen Home Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ajax, On
Date:August 7, 2011

Good buy for the the price

Pros: the price
Cons: no bluetooth and very poor display
"Good buy for the price but the display is not clear enough even with the brightess set up. It could have been very usefull to have bluetooth connection to work with laptop. For the rest very good and seems to be accurate. Screen could have been in color"
1 2 next>>