Customer Reviews for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano

with Bench and Stand
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Review 1 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:February 13, 2011

Great starter electric piano

Pros: great sound, quality
Cons: confusing step-by-step instructions
"We purchased this piano just before Christmas for our daughters who recently started taking piano lessons. This was also our first purchase online ever but I'm sure there will be more. Instrument was delivered in less than seven business days which positively surprised us as we expected six weeks. Assembly was simple, it took us an hour to put everything together, however step-by-step instructions were poorly written and chaotic.
In general:
- This piano is a high quality product which well satisfy our expectations.
- We are no musicians, but the sound produced by this instrument is natural and deep. The feature we really enjoy is two headphone jacks.
You can't go wrong with this piano if you are looking for a quality product but not a professional-studio type of equipment.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010

Worth the money IMO

Pros: sound quality through headphones is good, classic and modern grand sounds are nice, doesn't need tuning easy to move
Cons: built in speakers are pretty sad, keys just don't feel the same, sustain not as good as upright
"I bought this for my apartment after moving out from home. We have an upright acoustic at home, and I wanted one I could play in my apartment.
The headphone jacks are 1/4 inch, so you will probably need an adapter for most headphones.
After going home for a bit over easter, and playing the upright I feel I can gauge the differences.
I should note, I've never played a grand piano before, so all my comparisons are just between this and an upright.
Overall, I think this is worth the money. It is good for me, I am not a professional or anything, but I enjoy playing and learning pieces to relax. For that purpose, this works fine. It lacks the features of an expensive keyboard, but if you are interested in that you should be looking at something other than a digital piano."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal West Island, QC
Date:November 19, 2009

Very Realistic Sounding

Pros: responds just as a real piano would
Cons: the look of this piano is kind of cheap looking
"I purchased this digital piano because I did not have the room for a ''real'' piano. I was not sure if I would like playing on it. However, this one sounds and feels just like the piano I learned to play on. The notes respond well to touch, I can easily play very softly and gradually go very loud. The pedals are also quite nice. All in all I am very satisfied and would gladly recommend it to anyone who does not (or can not) have a real piano."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Date:February 5, 2010

Great First Piano Awesome Value

"Not all of us can afford to buy a $2000+ digital piano off the start but if you have a child begin piano lessons this is a fabulous little piano! Well worth the money! It also is a very nice addition to my living room. Assembly was very easy and everything was very well packaged."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sask
Date:December 10, 2010

Bang for the buck

"Unless you are truly demanding, I don't believe there's a better unit out there for the price. I've had mine for almost three years now and it continues to play and sound just fine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON
Date:March 22, 2011

My First, and I'm in Love

"This is my first digital Piano. My review in simple terms
- It was very easy to setup, and feels solid, with a small footprint.
- The sound quality is amazing for learning and for performing in a small to medium size room.
- Keys feel like a grand piano, and move like a grand piano
- Piano sound is wonderful. Plays all notes perfectly, and you never have to tune it.
- Excellent variety of sounds/effects for a starter piano"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:montreal qc
Date:December 18, 2009

Good for the price

"the quality of this piano is adequate considering its price. it does look beautiful. but i noticed that the keys would budge around a little and doesnt seems so solid....i was kindda disappointed with the piano sounds at first but after awhile i got used to it. wearing headphones would solve the problem . i think its bcuz the speakers are located below the keyboards so the sound is blocked and therefore a little stuffy``"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:June 3, 2010

Very happy with this purchase

"As an adult just starting piano lessons, I am really pleased with this keyboard. While not identical to the upright that I am taking lessons on, the keys have weight, it sounds great, and it's even got a metronome built in. It was easy to put together, and since a used upright starts at $2000, there was no contest. No complaints whatsoever here!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:November 23, 2009

Very good purchase

Pros: sleek look, plays like a piano
Cons: bench cushion is hard, keys make slight tapping sound when pressed
"For the price, this is a great purchase. It's slim and looks looks nicer than most DPs in this segment. The stand construction is a little cheap, but overall it looks fine. Cover for the keys really helps since it's irritating to clean dust from piano keys.
Plays really well and sounds realistic. Pedals work really well too. Recommended buy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2012

Excellent Piano

"We bought this in Sep 2011 for our 9-yr old son who is in Level 2 in Piano. I remember it took my husband almost 2 hours to set it up but it was worth it. It sounds identical to an acoustic piano. We're very happy with our purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Date:December 8, 2009

Very nice quality keyboard piano.

Pros: sounds like a real piano, usb connecting is convenient
Cons: bench is hard, hard to hear the pedals effects
"This piano has a very good pitch and sound to it. It plays like a real piano. It's nice for college students but for performances I wouldn't recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:December 14, 2009

Not bad for a first piano, but not good overall

Pros: cheap.
Cons: sounds like a cheap one. there are better options.
"This digital piano is really cheap comparing to the others in the segment. BUT... here is a catch - it is not of a good quality. Not only it feels cheap, but also, when played on, feels like a digital in a bad way. Keys are not very responsive as they should be. Overall, it might be good practical choice for a beginner pianist, but definitely not a good one for an advanced learner. There are better (thus, a bit more expensive) ditial pianos, such as Yamaha Clavinova (I have one myself). Decide for yourself, but if you want something that would last for years, look elsewhere."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton, New Brunswick
Date:March 11, 2011

I can't believe it's a digital!

Pros: super value for the money!, streamlined and doesn't take up loads of space.
Cons: some assembly required but hey thats all!
"I recently purchased this item and am absolutely thrilled with it! My daughter and I are both learning to play the piano and I was thoroughly impressed with how the keys and sound are just like a piano! Yes, it has a multitude of functions (which are awesome), but I was more interested in the piano look and feel so we can learn on something "authentic". The extras are a bonus, but the quality is great and the foot pedals are an awesome touch! I would highly recommend to anyone."
Review 14 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, AB
Date:December 11, 2011

What a wonderful surprise

"I placed an order on Wed and the product arrived on Thurs! The piano parts came in wonderful condition and the assembly instructions was very user-friendly. All the parts were wrapped separately so not a single piece was scratched. The piano itself is wonderful. The touching is fantastic just feels like a normal piano. It also came with a 60 song music library piano scores! What a wonderful surprise this christmas!"
Review 15 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:March 28, 2011

Excellent Product

"Have had for 3 weeks. Bought for my daughter (6) who is starting piano lessons. Extremely easy/quick to put together. Sound is great. Only downside so far are the books/manuals that came with it. The one about putting it together was great. The others are not."
Review 16 for Casio® Privia PX-730 Digital Piano
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, On
Date:January 30, 2012

Can't play dynamic

"I bought this 2 years ago for my kids. All of the sudden, there is no hammer-action and can't play dynamic. Just like other digital Piano with same level of sound. Not sure if we mess up any setting. Does anyone knows how to reset it? Please help"