Customer Reviews for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine

The DeLonghi Magnifica espresso machine ensures quick, easy drink preparation and clean up, every time. A smart choice for entertaining, this machine features a patented professional-quality frother that creates exceptional result for cappuccino or latte.   Features: 15-bar pump-driven machine Digital programmable menu settings (start time, temperature, strength and size) Patented single-touch cappuccino and latte system frother with automatic cleaning function Patented Direct-to-Brew system with thermo block technology Conical burr grinder Instant reheat function Decalcification system to indicate when to clean machine Cup warmer 1 to 3 hour adjustable automatic shut-off Height adjustable spouts Removable used coffee container and drip tray Removable water tank: 1.8 L (60 oz.) Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 38.1 cm x 27.9 cm x 35.6 cm; (15 in. x 11 in. x 14 in.) Weight: 9.5 kg (21 lb.) Warranty: 1 year For more information please call 1-888-335-6644 or email customerserviceca@delonghiusa.info Model: ESAM3500
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
11 of 18(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Review 1 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary AB
Date:January 23, 2012

Best bang for the buck

Pros: value, reliability, taste, basic cleaning is quick
Cons: through cleaning takes time
"I bought this unit almost a year ago and ater 13 months, it still performs great.
In terms of value, there's no other machine in the market that can beat this unit. Every other full featured units costs more, and they do exactly same thing as this unit. Buying K-cups or T-discs may be cheaper initially but I figured I’d be spending lot more money in a long run.
I usually refill water tank every second day with my usage. For most users who only makes 2-3 drinks a day, it should be a non-issue. It could get annoying if you use lots but it's neither a design fault or engineering issue - this is designed for home usage!
I’ve done three descaling functions so far, first with supplied Durgol swiss formula then alternating with Dezcal and Durgol after that. I confirmed using Dezcal with a specialty equipment retailer and they said it is ok.
Milk container did get sticky after few months - it can be resolved by either applying small amount of oil or thoroughly cleaning the milk container in my case.
It already paid for itself by saving me from going out for a coffee. I make about 3 to 5 drinks a day and I rarely get craving for coffee in mid-day with this wonderful machine at home. When I have friends over, I can offer espresso shots before going out for drinking."
Review 2 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:YVR
Date:April 25, 2011

So far so good

Pros: true 1 touch easy cappuccino, no need to manually steam milk
"I've been wanting to get a true "one touch" bean to Cappuccino machine for awhile, but somewhat wary of taking the plunge after reading all the online reviews of reliability when it comes to super automatic machines.
Finally decided to take the plunge since Costco was carrying this machine, and so far it's been great.
3 simple tips to keep in mind:
- DONT force the milk container or you'll tear the small orings. Instead, simply apply a drop of vegetable oil around the orings, and it will slide into place with zero effort.
- Take care of the machine and it'll take care of you. Meaning use the CLEAN button after using the milk frother, and rinse out the fuser when emptying the grounds container.
- A lot of people get confused with the preground function. Simple rule of thumb: choose your coffee strength, pour in the grind, etc. and as the LAST step, press the preground button AND then the brew button. If you press any other button in between it'll switch out of the pregrind mode and you'll end up with a bunch of grind dumped inside the machine, which will require vacuuming/cleaning."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:December 3, 2012

Use thermometer

"I have a Jura but have seen complaints about milk temperature on Jura and all the machines so I want to share... Get a food thermomter and measure the temperature of the milk and coffe as its poured into your cup. Milk Temp seamed or frothed by pro baristas is between 65 and 70 degrees Celsius when done manually not any higher. My Jura produced both foamed and steamed milk at 67-68 Deg and produced shots at over 70 C when I tested this weekend on my 2 year old machine. North Americans are used to scalding coffee but you cant produce the qualities and taste of steamed/frothed milk if you exceed 70 C as the sweetness gets burned off above that. If you milk is reaching 65 then your maching is working as designed to produce the same temp milk as the professional baristas. So ifyou want hotter you dont want a true latte or cap and just nuke your milk. I dont know what this product heats the milk to but measure the temp fisrt and do some research. There are plenty of videos and explanations of ideal milk frothing"
Review 4 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON
Date:November 16, 2011

Excellent!

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: price.
"This machine is easy to use. Makes great coffee, latte or cappuccino. Kids can make their own hot chocolate. They just put some hot chocolate powder in a cup and use the milk frother. Then just push the clean button, to clear the spout, and store the milk container in the fridge; it's very convenient. Buy light roast beans if you like lighter coffee. This machine delivers coffee any way you like it, you can program it to make your perfect brew. Read the instruction to enjoy all the features.
Nothing beats fresh ground coffee.
Costco delivered it promptly. We used a ceramic cooktop cleaner to wipe out some scratches on top. We had a good experience with DeLonghi people, great customer service!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC
Date:February 3, 2011

Poor quality

Pros: great coffee
Cons: see my review
"I've had this machine for over 1 year. Initially the knob for the milk frother broke.I had to drive it 50km to a warranty shop , leave it , and drive back a few weeks later to pick it up. Was fixed under warranty.
One month after the warranty expired , the boiler started leaking. Back to the repair shop. Serviceman informed me that it would cost $250 to repair.
I've now been waiting 8 weeks and get the same story each call -part hasn't arrived yet.
Called Delonghi and no satisfaction.
Sorry I purchased this expensive unit.
Unit was not overused - wife and I a couple of cups a day.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 8, 2011

Excellent purchase

"I bought this coffee machine about 10 months ago. It makes wonderful coffees and is very easy to use. Easy maintenance too. I love it. I had problems at first with the milk container jamming. I figured out how to fix the problem. I just have to run the lid under hot water to warn it up first. It never jams any more. I drink more coffee now than I ever did. People thought I was crazy spending so much money for a coffee machine, but I never regretted it. It's worth the money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint Albert, Alberta
Date:February 19, 2012

Not so hot

Cons: doesn't heat milk to a hot temp
"I bought this machine and ended up returning it. Even after several attempts to try to make the milk hotter, it didn't work. If you like hot lattes, this is not the machine for you. I had read that before I bought it, but thought maybe the people were doing something wrong. Not so. I even contacted Delonghi for help and they had nothing to offer. I have owned espresso machines from this company before and loved them, but not this one."
Review 8 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:February 13, 2012

Best Espresso Machine Ever

"I had Delonghi Magnifica Espresso Machine prior to this one. There is no comparison with the two! I am glad the old one broke so I was forced to order this newer model. Once set up, this machine is the easiest to use, delivering perfect coffees, no matter which type you select.
Just a note, be sure to follow the regular cleaning, decalcification instructions! Regular maintenance is a must, and really no big deal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:May 31, 2010

ESAM3500 for great coffee

"This machine works great. You need to clean the insides on a monthly basis not just emptying the used coffee. If you use the milk container for the cappucinos or latte, you will need clean the nozzles after each use. After awhile the container becomes difficult to insert/remove. Just use a little butter or mineral oil on the rubber gaskets of the nozzles to lubricate it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thornhill, Ontario
Date:December 3, 2009

Great Machine

Pros: easy to use
Cons: missing parts
"Very good machine. Makes excellent cappucinos and lattes. Very simple to use.
Machine came without the coffee measuring spoon. Repeated calls to Delonghi Canada resulted in nothing but headaches and no spoon. Costco organized for a spoon to be shipped. Hopefully there are no problems with the machine as my impression is that the Delonghi customer service is terrible.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ajax
Date:September 11, 2011

Amazing coffee!!!!

Pros: easy to set up, easy to clean, sharp looking machine, very hot cap / latte
Cons: espresso could be a bit hotter
"This has to be the best espresso machine I have seen at this price range. The ulta easy functionality makes amazing espresso / caps /latte. Very simple to clean and maintain. I would truly recommend this machine to all coffee lovers....you will not regret it!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2012

waist of money

"this machine will last you 3 years at most, it will not work after that, the problem with the heater, and the after sales service is really very bad, I had to pay close to $400 to fix it
and it is broken again. do not waist you money
"
Review 13 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:June 24, 2011

Delightful machine, I'm envious of myself

"Never thought café au lait could be this easy. Once you've adjusted the proportions and saved them, delicious coffee is yours at the touch of a button. Pity you can't teach the machine to clean itself though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:December 13, 2009

Best cappucinos but...

"This machine is fantastic and makes great lattes and cappucinos but after only three weeks the milk container was already jamming and would not fit properly.
I was very frustrated and sent it back"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:toronto, On
Date:October 26, 2012

worst esspresso maker ever

Pros: nothing
Cons: worst esspresso machine
"I thought this machine would be extra easy because of the way it steams and foams the milk. However, the milk consistently came out luke warm at best. DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE !!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Coquitlam BC
Date:March 11, 2010

I bought a second one

"We bought one for work and our staff love it, fresh coffee at the push of the button, no waste, buy our beans and creamers at costco. Liked it so much I bought one for home."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DeLonghi® Magnifica Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, Ont.
Date:July 19, 2012

so far thew best

"I had few expresso mashine and so far this one is the best ( I had nesspersso, lattissima )
you just have to find best coffee beans you like..
"