Customer Reviews for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

T-Fal® Actifry Fryer

This innovative technology uses only 1 tablespoon of oil for 1 kg (2.2 lb.) of crispy French fries. Perfect for those who want a healthier alternative with the same great taste of fried foods.   Features: Prepare 1 kg (2.2 lb.) of crispy French fries or delicious meat, seafood, vegetable or fruit dishes   Removable cooking pan featuring T-Fal®’s scratch-resistant ceramic   60-minute timer with indicator beep to let you know when your meals are ready   14-ml measuring spoon for perfect measurements   Stirring paddle to coat food with sauces or oil for even cooking results   Transparent lid with automatic open button to safely and easily monitor food during cooking   Removable filter   Lid, stirring paddle and cooking pan are all removable and dishwasher safe   Cool touch body for safe and easy manipulation   Full-colour recipe book with 32 recipes for great meal ideas   1450 W Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 43.1 cm x 35.1 cm x 25 cm; (17 in. x 13.8 in. x 9.8 in.)   Weight: 4.9 kg (10.7 lb.) Warranty: 1 year Model: FZ700051
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Review 1 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:December 2, 2009

Expensive but worth it!

Pros: great healthy fries!
Cons: would like bigger portions!
"I originally tried this Actifry in the UK and wanted one of my own. Yes, it is expensive but I use it regularly and we have french fries which are much healthier. The fries cook in about 30 minutes and use only a spoonful of oil (I use olive oil) and are delicious. Only downside is that it only just makes enough for four people unless you just have a small portion. Still, it is just enough or I make an extra portion. Just started to use it to cook red peppers, mushrooms and they were great too. We love having fries at home sometimes and they are now a reasonably healthy option!
I will try cooking chicken in it next as I would like to use it for more than just fries!
It is very easy to use and quick. I love the fold down handle which pops out when you need to serve. Makes it easy to serve the food up.
The fries taste better than deep fat fried fries. They are crispy outside and soft inside. My kids absolutely love them.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON
Date:April 10, 2011

Oxymoron come true!

Pros: tasty low-fat fries, easy to operate
Cons: delicate construction
"This pulls off the miracle of crispy, tasty fresh low-fat fries. Follow the instructions and use the recommended type of potatoes cut to a right size and voila! Even does freezer fries well. The concept seemed impossible but since this was sold by Costco we gave it a try and we're sure glad we did. The construction is delicate so it needs TLC but the result is worth it if you want fries without the killer high fat."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:December 7, 2010

GREAT SMALL APPLIANCE

Pros: crispy food
"I bought this as a way to start making french fries for my family again, but in a healthy way. We are very pleased with the machine. I have made "fries", potatoes, spring rolls, nuggets, wings, drumsticks, stirfry, risotto, etc. etc. My son says the fries and wings are the best and the spring rolls on asian night are so crisp and not greasy. We buy frozen items from Costco and if they have added fat we do not add any additional nor do we add oil/fat to chicken dishes or meat dishes that are already fatty. Overall, we love the machine and you can't beat Costco's pricing but, for a family of more than four it may be a bit on the small side unless you are prepared to make more than one batch...it is quick too!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton AB
Date:November 5, 2010

Love it!!!

"I am amazed!!!
I was skeptical at first, but having read the reviews and having done some research, I decided to buy.
I am thrilled with the results. I have tried cooking everything from chicken wings to baby potatoes with excellent results.
Most things, like frozen french fries, I don't even need to add the tablespoon or so of oil they recommended.
One thing I did learn is some types of batter do bettter than others. We tried zucchini sticks that ended up a little mashed.
Clean up is a breeze since the machine comes a part super quick and the non- stick surface really is NON STICK!!
Very happy with this purchase and have already told 3 friends!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, On
Date:May 31, 2010

Excellent Machine

Pros: very easy to use, easy to clean
Cons: timer should turn machine off
"We bought this fryer not knowing too much about it. Got it in two days and started to use it. Well we did chicken wings in it and they are the best that we have ever made. Uniformly crisp and tender on the inside. Makes great fries with one spoon of oil. We cut the bacon in half, and it cooked great no mess. Chicken nuggets, crispy and tender. Makes great home fries for breakfast too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON
Date:April 5, 2011

Underrated versatilty

Pros: no cooking oil smell to linger!, easy clean up
"I have read some of the reviews, and the negative ones lead me to believe that the buyers have not explored the appliance fully.
Let me get one thing out of the way quickly; I come from a family who ran a successful, typical, British Fish and Chip shop, in England. This machine will NOT fry chips (French Fries) That being said, it will make wonderful roasted potatoes, and that is what you are getting when the appliance is used correctly. If you follow the instructions to the letter; - i.e. place your cut, rinsed and paper towel dried, potato pieces in the bowl, with the appropriate measure of olive oil (preferred,) and sprinkle them with coarse salt, you will get a mouth watering treat. I say potato pieces, - about one inch cubes, - (french fries will tend to overcook and burn on the tips) they are not chips, but as a healthier, (and yet every bit as tasty!) dish you will be pleasantly surprised. We also cook chicken wings, the same way, but NO oil, just clean and rinse the wings and sprinkle them with salt, (or your preferred seasoning,) and within 25 to 30 minutes they are done. When cooking for two only, we mix the chicken wings and potatoes and add no oil, just seasoning, and in half an hour a delicious treat is waiting. It is healthier, (we only use a little salt,) and very convenient. You really need to experiment and give the unit a fair trial. The appliance is very easy to clean - an added bonus.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON
Date:February 22, 2010

Great fries

Pros: hands free, easy to use, makes good food
Cons: needs more recipes
"Got this as a Christmas because my husband loves deep fried food and I am trying to keep our family healthy. We tried fries first and they were surprisingly good. They had more of a potato taste than deep fried fries but that was a good thing. You could actually taste the food! We tried sweet potatoes next and they were great. Since then I have tried a few recipes in the book and they turned out very well."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, Ontario
Date:April 18, 2010

Wow - I love this machine

"Fantastic - mushrooms in this is the best I've ever had - I highly recommend this - very easy clean up - fries are fantastic, sausages so tasty. I am definitely getting my money's worth out of this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:October 25, 2010

Not Great

Pros: interesting concept
Cons: too small, loud, french fries taste like oven cooked
"I had high hopes for this appliance and was disappointed. The concept is to cook food with convection heat and in the case of French Fries it delivers results more akin to oven cooked fries, as opposed to the tasty deep fried ones. You can obtain similar results to this appliance by cooking French Fries in a regular convection oven.
The other issue for a family like ours with three boys, is it is too small, you cannot put a lot of food in this cooker and to make a meal for 5 your would need two of them.
The cooker is also fairly loud when operating and the quality of the materials used in it's construction are not the best, durability may be an issue."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Thomas, ON
Date:December 13, 2010

Smart way to cook

Pros: home fries are crispy and very tasty, cookbook has good recipes, almost any frozen food can be cooked in it, easy to clean
"We had our Actifry for about a month now, and are really enjoying cooking with it. Home-made fries are AWESOME, storebought fries are great. We did chickenballs, meatballs, chickenwings, bananas (from the cookbook), and even spiced nuts in it.
For a family of 4 the portion of fries is just barely enough, but I consider it portion control.
Sometimes I wish, I could have bought 2 to cook wings and fries at the same time.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:British Columbia
Date:November 15, 2010

Use it all the time

Pros: cooking for one or two it is great
Cons: it isn't good for a larger family
"We stopped making home fries for health reasons, this has allowed us to enjoy them again. Previous rating says you could do the same thing in a convection oven, I have a convection oven, and that isn't true. The constant movement of this item is what makes it work and keep things crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. Great for many other things as well. It isn't any noisier than a convection oven."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, BC
Date:December 18, 2010

Amazing!

Pros: almost fat free cooking
"I was doubtful that this "fryer" would be as good as real deep fried french fries, but it was amazing!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, Ontario
Date:March 25, 2010

Excellent!

"Southern-fry chicken without the fat. You can't tell the difference."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:April 7, 2011

Top purchase if you care for your healt

Pros: healthy
Cons: expensive
"You like fries and hate the oven fries because of the pre cook in bad fat and the terrible taste. This is a revelation in cocking fries. You only need one table spoon of good healthy oil to cook fries for 4 persons. It’s also a cheap after school snack for starving adolescent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Stoney Creek , ON
Date:December 29, 2010

save your money

"I love anything that makes my life easier but this is the worst gadget that I have ever bought. The fries where absolutely tasteless and it was like eating wood chips. Oh they where not greasy but the amount of salt and ketchup we had t o use to obtain flavour was way above what we would use on the norm"
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:March 28, 2011

Amazing

Pros: it makes more than just fries!
"I LOVE this fryer! My husband got it for me for Christmas, and we've been enjoying sweet potato fries weekly ever since without the guilt. We've also tried one of the chicken stir fry recipes from the book and it was so good we're going to try the rest of the recipes. I'm really happy with this purchase, it was worth the price. I recommend it to everyone!"
Review 17 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:July 8, 2011

Great Product

Cons: can't make too much
"It also works really well to reheat take out like eggrolls and chicken balls. They taste fresh like you just ordered them.
The roasted potatoes are my favorite. I use half the oil they say and they come out crispy on the outside and like butter on the inside!! So yummy!
"
Review 18 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT
Date:June 29, 2011

Great product!

Pros: best online price w/shipping incl., crispy tastey fries!, easy to clean, fast shipping
Cons: doesn't auto turnoff, expensive
"Cuts down on the use of oil but you still get great tasting crispy fries, even wedge fries. I searched various websites and this is easily the cheapest source and it includes the shipping which hands down beats the competitors."
Review 19 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moose Jaw, SK
Date:March 31, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"I was a little skeptic when I was buying this product, but have never been sorry. It makes amazing french fries that are so much healthier than deep frying. Well worth the money!"
Review 20 for T-Fal® Actifry Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010

Awesome fryer

"This appliance does what it says it's supposed to do! How refreshing! The very best fries I have ever made and much healthier to boot."
1 2 next>>