Customer Reviews for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light

Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
(out of 36 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 36(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Review 1 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie
Date:November 16, 2013

I don't believe in it.. but I think it works?

Pros: it seems to work?, small size, blindingly bright, cordless /portable /rechargable
Cons: blindingly bright!!!!, pricey
"An old employee/friend once told me he became so depressed he couldnt leave his house. One day he started sitting infront of a light and it changed his life.... a light... ummmm.... Okay? (what happened, he use to be so rational?)
Every year as the days get shorter I get run down. Driving to work in the dark and leaving work in the dark, I find myself dozing on the drive and sleeping when I get home. I saw this come on sale a couple years and thought of my old employee/friend... I don't believe in it but I had the money and thought why not. First day I blasted myself full intensity while I watched tv for 30 minutes. I saw dark spots. It was so bright my my pupels shut and the rest of the world was dark (never claimed to be a smart man). After... I felt... Better? I was in a better mood, less short with people... Baaa I was just in a good mood cause my team won, it wasn't the light.
The next day did it again and had a headache that killed me. I read the instructions after that. Over the next week I reduced the intensity of the lite and duration to 15 minutes when I get up. I was less tired? I was... happy? I wasnt fighting to stay awake on the drive home? I was sleeping better and waking up awake, not hitting the snooze. I was getting up before the alarm! Ba. It was the time change.
Then my wife took it into her office and I couldnt find it for week.... I was back to normal. Irritable, tired, miserable, no energy... Does this thing really work???? 3 people I work with have gone out and bought them after hearing my story and seeing the difference in me. They say they feel better too? My wife wants her own.
I dont believe in this voodoo alternative stuff.... But I wish I listened to that old employee/friend who put this in my head years ago. I'd like to thank him and wish I would have been more open minded and bought a stupid light sooner."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Date:January 19, 2013

Results are positive

Pros: compact, cordless or corded, led does not generate heat, adjustable
Cons: none so far
"I was a little sceptical about the claims that these lights can alter ones mood over time i.e. the winter blues? I'm pleasantly surprised at the results. I bought this for my wife to use in the morning before she starts her daily commute to work, she gets up at 3:50am, she's been using it for two weeks now and I must say I've notice a big difference in her morning routine, she doesn't hit the snooze on the alarm?!?, it's as if she can't wait to get downstairs :) She turns on the GoLight, grabs breakfast, coffee, reads on her iPad for about 20 minutes before heading out the door. She says she feels more refreshed, enthused about the day. It's Saturday, she was up early and used the light for about 30 minutes before heading out the door, whistling on her way to her winter golf league. I've tried it for about a week, hmm... I don't feel much different? But I don't think I suffer from that S.A.D. as my wife definitely did!"
Review 3 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:November 19, 2013

Placebo or actually works?!?

Pros: easy to use, non-invasive
"I'm usually fairly skeptical about anything relating to products that are supposed to be beneficial to health. I don't know if it's just a placebo effect or the science behind this is actually true, but this thing seems to be working so far!
I typically go to work in the dark and return home in the dark in the winter months and that usually results in a lot of periods of the "winter blues".
After about a week of use of this machine, energy levels have been great throughout the day at work and I've had no problems with it affecting sleep after taking a quick 15 minute session immediately after work.
Would definitely recommend for anyone that suffers from a lack of sunlight exposure in their daily life."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort McMurray, AB
Date:November 16, 2009

Excellent Product

Pros: less invasive on your body than pills, a one time investment that is non-consumable.
"I checked with a number of friends that had used similar lights and everyone said it would be a great investment. Well, they were right! It makes me happy and content at the beginning of the day. As it is getting dark around 3 pm now, I will probably begin using it for a longer period of time. I love that it is small enough to pack and take with me on trips. I have invested in many vitamins and other products to try and help the winter blues and this was the wisest investment yet. It works wonderfully when used according to instructions and I have already recommended it to many of my friends."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:November 24, 2012

Can't stand the blue light

Pros: lightweight, portable, programmable, timer, alarm
Cons: blue light, ineffective (for me), more expensive than some other options
"I've used these kind of lights before so I wanted one that I could afford because I knew they helped me. While this one has some GREAT features - light, portable, easy to program, alarm, timer - I just couldn't for the life of me get used to the blue light. My brother effectively described it as feeling like you're about to be abducted by aliens. Doesn't mimic natural light at all. I didn't see a significant change in my mood either, despite using it several times a day for a couple weeks. In the end I'm taking it back and bought the HappyLight instead, which I LOVE."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:November 15, 2011

It has been great

Pros: great light to see first thing in the morning, it works, great price compared to other stores
Cons: none
"I bought this at Costco last Thursday, November 10th as I have heard that it is great and the price is right. My boyfriend's mom using it and doesn't have the winter blues anymore. I use to get the winter blues and am not a morning person. Now that is dark in the morning, it has been hard to get up. I have only used it for 15 minutes in the morning at 25% intensity in which I have noticed a difference in how I wake up and stay awake on the bus ride to work. It is great to wake up the blue light. I will increase the intensity in 2 weeks and may even use it more often."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitby
Date:March 1, 2014

Only 200 LUX rating

Pros: cheap (but not good for "best bang for buck", portable (but other higher lux products can be)
Cons: only 200 lux ( versus recommended 10000 lux), blue light (green or white light are ideal), phillips does not specializes in this kind of prod, try verilux brand (here at costco.ca)
"Get a 10,0000 LUX (light therapy rating) device. This one is only 200 LUX. (Reference Product Specs)
Verilux brand specializes in this kind of therapy. At moment, Costco.ca carries such a product.
Verilux Happy Light liberty Item#: Item #344257
(10 000 LUX*)
Also, there is an awesome alarm clock by same company "Verilux Verilux Rise & Shine Serenity Natural Wake-up Light" Item #373987
Also, This Phillips product uses a blue light (not ideal)
I have done my research & will be purchasing the two Verilux products I just mentioned based on my research."
Review 8 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:October 7, 2013

Works Surprisingly Well

"While I was initially a little bit skeptical, I decided to give the goLite a try because of the good reviews. I work a schedule that runs 14 days on and 7 days off with a 12 hour work day. In the past, I would typically become pretty drained by the 9th or 10th day. After using the goLite consistently for 2 weeks (20 min everyday at 6 am after getting to work) I can confidently say that it works. I wake up and get straight out of bed, I'm energized all day, and I seem to be sleeping better. It's day 13 right now and I feel GREAT!"
Review 9 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Campbell River BC
Date:November 10, 2011

surprised

Pros: its does have an alarm when the light comes on.
Cons: its advertised wrong.
"Looking at the advertising I thought I was getting something a lot bigger, I was so disappointed in the size of this light. I have had lights like this pocket size is what you call them.. If you go to a special shop selling aids for people you will find a much bigger light .. Look at the advertising the model is actually hugging the light... when in fact is 3" x 4.5" The advertising was misleading."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, BC
Date:November 6, 2012

Bye bye rainy day blues

Pros: rechargeable battery carry case easy to use
"My boyfriend and I recently moved to Vancouver Island from MB and were feeling crummy from the lack of sunshine (generally tired, unmotivated, feeling depressed). We've been using the light for about 10 days or so now and both of us have noticed a change in our energy levels. It's so easy to fit it into your daily routine. I'd recommend this for sure to anyone who suffers from the winter blues."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:November 9, 2011

Serves as an alarm clock, too!

"The feature that I find the most useful in this product is the alarm clock function.
Only one previous reviewer mentions it: "Nothing better than waking up to a bright light." And rather loud chimes, I might add.
But they are quite pleasant, the chimes.
I only wish one could choose their tone and volume. Then I would give this thing the full 5 stars rating, which it probably deserves anyway...
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:November 16, 2009

Excellent product!

"I got this product five days ago and have used it on daily basis. It's been very helpful in getting my energy levels up, especially in the last four sunless, rainy days in Vancouver.
The feature that I like the most is being able set up the alarm clock and the light to go off at the same time. Nothing better than waking up to a bright light (especially with more gloomy winter days ahead)."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quebec, QC
Date:December 5, 2011

Excellent product

"I have used the product for less than 2 weeks and I like the results so far. I feel alert and awake all day long. The battery life is excellent between charges. The various settings are easy to understand and to use. The carrying case is well designed and perfect for traveling. Information on the website for personalized use is excellent and easy to access."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northern Ontario
Date:November 9, 2011

WOW

"So portable and easy to use.
I felt the effect the very first day. I use it about 30 minutes in the morning with my coffee while I read my emails.
I might use it in the early afternoon if I feel very tired.
So far, I have not had a migraine since I've started using it...I wonder if this could help with that also.
Wish I had invested in this long ago.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guildwood
Date:November 20, 2012

I'M A BELIEVER!

Pros: lightweight easy to use and it actually works!
Cons: none
"Was very skeptical making this purchase. Now am totally 'sold'. Upon receiving this one might look at this as 'what possibly can this little light ever do?', but believe me, it does work. It is small, compact, light yet delivers a full dose of 'sunshine' each and everytime. Just 20 minutes a couple of times a day, and I already feel the difference."
Review 16 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:September 23, 2011

Intense

Pros: powerful
"I replaced an old white led lamp, and this seems many times better. In 15 minutes, you have too much. Blue light knocks down the melatonin by 15%, do some exercise after for another reduction. Never get exposed to blue or full-spectrum white light at night - some of those desk lamps are killers. You want melatonin at night. Only use warm bulbs."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jasper, Canada
Date:December 26, 2010

No more winter blues

"I was skeptical before buying this product but now I am convinced about it`s benefits. It work well for me even if nothing changed in the first few days now after a month I just realize that I did not have the winter blues lately. This is portable for traveling, very light and easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:May 11, 2011

GREAT!

"IT DOES HELP!
... It came with a small damage with its LCD panel, which I assume refrushed...
But the product itself does help.
I used to be sleepy afternoon, but ever since I started using this product in the morning, I feel so energetic for the whole day.
Five star plus!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Halifax NS
Date:February 4, 2014

Not sure

Pros: glad it does help others
Cons: i was hoping it would
"I tried this light for a month but it did nothing for me. I was hoping it would. I think you have to be on no meds, that affect your mood. I'm taking a lot of meds so I think that's why it didn't work for me, I wonder if any one had the same affect?"
Review 20 for Philips® goLITE BLU Energy Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC
Date:November 26, 2010

Works Excellent!

Pros: compact, integrated alarm clock, rechargable battery
Cons: really really blue!
"I bought this because of the ZERO sunlight during the winter. A co-worker and I share it, and we both feel revitalized and much more chipper after a few treatments. Make sure you don't use it too late in the day or for too long; it won't work!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>