Customer Reviews for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer

Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer

When you need extra freezer storage, but you haven’t got much room, the Danby® Designer® DUF408WE can help. With 120 L (4.2 cu. ft.) of storage space, this energy-efficient upright model is ideal for cottages, trailers, apartments or even the office. Features: 120 L (4.2 cu. ft.) capacity upright freezer White finish with integrated door handle Energy Star® compliant   2 quick freeze shelves   3 door shelves   Manual defrost Easy-to-program mechanical thermostat Scratch-resistant worktop Reversible door hinge for left or right hand opening Specifications: Dimensions (W x D x H): 60 cm x 62.3 cm x 91.8 cm (23.6 in. x 25.5 in. x 36.1 in.) Weight: 48 kg (105.6 lb.) Warranty: 18 months in-home parts and labour Model: DUF408WE
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 of 13(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Review 1 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:April 13, 2014

Quit after 3 1/2 years

Cons: failed without warning...
"I purchased an upright Danby freezer in November 2010. It failed without warning in April 2014. I now have to replace the freezer, replace all the spoiled food and pay to get the freezer hauled to the dump. I'm out over $700. My advice, spend a few extra bucks on a reliable product, it will be worth it in the long-run..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:toronto, on
Date:August 26, 2013

Took 3 units to get a working one

Pros: good size for a condo
Cons: hit and miss quality control
"A chest freezer isn't practical for my home so I was happy to find this uptight unit.
First one worked for two months but it had started leaking some kind of lubricant a little over one month in.
After most of the fluid leaked out food stayed cold but it ran 24/7. One month was the replacement threshold passed so I paid for a replacement that was delivered in 2days. That one was DOA with a big dent in the side.
I ordered another with came two days later... it is working still after 2 weeks no signs of leakage.
You can imagine the hassle of unlpacking the two replacements and dealing with the thawing food (unscheduled chili cookoff?) and repacking the defective units for pickup but it was the only upright freezer in that compact size, and of course Costco service is great... this is what happens when appliance manufacturing is all offshored."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:March 22, 2013

good for 2 months.... big paperweight after that

Pros: it is out of my house now
Cons: poor customer service from danby
"Worked ok for 2 months and then died. It is not fun to open a freezer of spoiled food. Danby is difficult to deal with and I would not recommend their products. Dissappointed with the lack of communication from Danby (said they would call back and failed to do so after a week)."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 29, 2012

Simply works!

Pros: easily balanced using both front legs, small wattage/amperage, manual dial to adjust internal temperature
Cons: no door lock, no light inside
"This front opening Danby 4.2 cu ft freezer worked like a charm from the moment it was plugged in. It has a lot less room than the chest freezer it replaced, but has plenty of room for extra "Costco" items bought for our decreasing family. It has no light; the door spaces hold items with horizontal "bars" that let frozen items slip under the bars if not carefully placed, and the very lowest shelf is only half as deep as the other shelves AND is a drip tray to catch water when you manually defrost the unit. As with other smaller Danby freezer and refrigerators, the outside-sides (left & right sides) get warm &/or very warm, so tight spaces are the wrong placement for this freezer (it needs space left and right of it)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON
Date:January 14, 2012

Nice little freezer

Pros: quiet, efficient
Cons: door a bit too tight
"The only downside is that the door is a bit too tight. Thus, it moves every time I try to open the door. Maybe a little rubber on the feet would have solved that."
Review 6 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:December 11, 2011

Good mid-size freezer

Pros: large capacity, fast freezing, fast shipping, quiet
"Just purchased this freezer a few days ago. Super fast shipping! Ordered on thursday and it arrived on Friday afternoon! Plugged it in to test out and you can feel the coolness starting right away. Looks like it has quite good storage capacity, but i haven't started filling it up yet. The only complaint was it came with a small small dent on the side. I am using this in basement storage room so no big deal to me. So far i am pleased with purchase."
Review 7 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton, New Brunswick
Date:December 1, 2011

Great Value

Pros: lots of room and freezes quickly.
Cons: none so far
"This is a great upright freezer that fits anywhere. Really impressed at how much you can put in it. It holds more than I thought it would and freezes quickly.
Best purchase I have made in a long time.
NOTE: I did have to get 2 freezers as the first one was smashed on the inside. Must have been dropped during delivery. Costco service sent a new one and I got it 3 days later. No hassle. Shout out to Costco service for sure!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS
Date:September 8, 2011

hmmm

"Well I have had this freezer for only a few weeks and first of all it was dented in the side, now it is dripping water and already the top shelp already needs to be defrosted, I will be contacting the manufacturer to see about replacing it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON (cottage in Québec)
Date:March 30, 2011

Works with solar system

"We've been using this freezer since March 21, 2011. It works well with our solar electric system at our off-grid cottage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:November 29, 2010

Stopped working after only 2 months

"I was very satisfied until it stopped working after only 2 months after I've purchased it...losing all my food"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockyview, AB
Date:November 10, 2010

Very Happy finally...

Pros: compact yet lots of space
"Costco shined with this purchase. Order # 1 the box was damaged and costco took back no problem. Ordered #2 and the unit was defective. I called manufacturer and they were very helpful and suggested rather than getting repaired to return. Again Costco took back no problem. I now have the third one. I love this little freezer. It has lots of space and fits nicely in my kitchen."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:September 27, 2010

Great little unit

Pros: super efficient, compact
Cons: cheaper elsewhere
"We bought this model over a year ago. Compact but big performance. Too bad it can be purchased elsewhere for MUCH less at a place that rhymes with "fall heart" for less than $175 in 2009.
Super quiet operation. You can only ever hear it click off if you're listening for a sound. Even standing beside it, you cannot hear it running. Ours is set below half and the biggest meat freezes quite well."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby® Designer® DUF408WE 4.2 cu. ft. Upright Freezer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:July 8, 2010

Excellent Freezer

Pros: very large storage area for size of unit, really like the easy access to items
Cons: a little expensive
"I've only had the freezer a week, but so far I'm quite pleased with the performance. I set the freezer to the mid temperature range and it seems to be keeping the items inside quite cold.
I have it in a storage room without much ventilation, but it doesn't seem to be producing a lot of heat so I think that it must be quite energy efficient.
For anyone with a "Betty Crocker" sized apartment fridge/freezer (which most apartments in Vancouver have), this is the freezer for you. Lots of extra space to shop at COSTCO for frozen items. :)"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.