Customer Reviews for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

with Built-in Dehumidifier DPAC13009
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 23
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 24(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Date:August 11, 2009

excellent

Cons: there is just a little noise that comes with it.
"We have put this product in our patio door at one end of the house and a 5000 BTUs conditioner at the other end of the house in window. There is a frontroom, dining room, bathroom, kitchen and 3 bedrooms in between these two conditioners. The 13,000 BTUs works so well that we have to turn it off every once in awhile. It is every bit a good as central air for keeping house comfortable. We have split level and the other level down also stays cool."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Date:April 8, 2011

Best out of many!

Pros: cools fast!, not as noisy as most!, remote control!, looks nicer than most!
Cons: heavy (if you have stairs lol)
"I went through 3-4 A/C units before I found this one, and now I am very happy! This A/C is great, and cools fast and keeps the house cold on the hottest days! Also, can run continuously for days without needing to be drained (depends on humidity and temp, as it can go for months without emptying if low humidity). If you do need to empty, I would suggest putting it on a raised surface so you can easily drain into a bucket or tray. I have had this now for 2 summers and it is still going strong! I VERY MUCH SUGGEST THIS A/C UNIT! Plus it is costco, return it if you find I am wrong! (but you wont need to, lol)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:July 25, 2009

Excellent A/C Purchase

Pros: cools well
Cons: heavy. this thing weighs about 83lbs unpacked.
"This A/C unit cools very quickly. Brought a 160sq ft room from 27C down to 21C in 1 hr. Had to increase the temp to 23C because 21C is way too cold. Feels like the supermarket dairy section."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanata, ON
Date:May 10, 2010

Great Product

Pros: great price, easy to use, mobile, great extended warranty
"I originally purchased the Danby Premiere 9,000 BTU unit from Costco about 3 weeks ago but failed to meet my expectations due to a large room. I returned that unit and purchased the Danby Premiere 13,000 BTU unit. The unit was easy to assemble and easy to program. I like the fact that this unit has a manual opening for the vent rather then automatic compared to the 9,000 BTU unit."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey,B.C.
Date:May 13, 2011

Very Impressed !

"Third times a charm,this is the 3rd a/c unit [Delonghi twice]in the last year that ive had and without a doubt this Danby has been the best,Great price for a 13000 btu model, so well worth the money.You won't be dissapointed.Returned a Delonghi twice,never again."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oromocto, NB
Date:July 29, 2010

Happy Customer

Pros: love the extended warranty
Cons: a little noisy
"I purchased this item in early July and it has been wonderful. It keeps my sun room very cool (my family calls it cold). We have the unit in our patio door which doesn't fit all that well, but it isn't the fault of the unit it is the door itself. My husband is going to use plexiglass to fit it to the exact measurements of the door and that should work perfectly. My room is just over 150 sq ft and it keeps this room at a perfect temperature for me (72) it even spills in to the kitchen next door. So far I am very pleased with my purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint John, NB
Date:July 3, 2010

So far so good

"So far we haven't had any issues with this air conditioner. I previously purchased the Sovereign 13000 BTU AC, but had to return it due to multiple defects. So far, this unit has been so much quieter and it cools the room down faster. It comes with a great warranty and you have the option to purchase a 2 yr or 4 yr extended warranty through Danby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:April 30, 2010

Great cooldown, controls don't operate

"This unit is great for cooling down a room quickly; use it in the living room, 20' ceilings, approx 700 sq ft. and cools the room quite quickly.
The only drawback is the controls only work on temperature. Even putting the fan on low doesn't matter, it goes full blast when the cooling kicks in.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC
Date:July 29, 2010

Beyond Happy

"This was easy to install and I have it in an area almost twice the size they recommend for the AC and it has been wonderful in this blistering heat. I couldn't be happier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Manitoba
Date:July 9, 2012

Excellent product

Pros: good engineering, efficient, looks great
Cons: bulky
"I've been using this product for only a week so I can't comment on its longevity, but this air conditioner is far better than the others that I've tried. It's extremely efficient and powerful and cools a room faster than most (due partially to the dual hose venting). I've got the direct drain hose on it so I don't have to empty the machine - the water drains very well outside, and is minimal for an A/C of this size.. The unit is very unique-looking and although it is bulky and a bit noisy, it's an acceptable size and moves easily, and is quieter than most. It was 33C today with the sun beaming in my 1978 west living room windows, and this kept my living room, kitchen, entrance, and hallways cool (around 500-600 square feet) at around 22C."
Review 11 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, Ont.
Date:July 21, 2012

Acceptable

"Had to take as the LG 13,000 BTU unit I received was damaged in shipping (another story) and no more available.
Pros - Price was good , cools as about what I had expected but no more (not great but acceptable), good controls, at this point have had no water issues so evaporative system works good, moves very easily on hardwood floors, installation not difficult.. Also, the two year warranty (in home) is great as long as they live up to it.
Cons - much noisier than some I have heard, VERY heavy for a portable unit (much heavier than the LG that I returned, VERY much bulkier than others I have seen (again, much bigger than LG - bear in mind that LG also was 13,000 BTU with dehumidifier), as with previous reviewer I found the upper hose stretched to the extreme limit (if you blow on it, it would probably disconnect), a major issue is that it is advertised both on Costco and Danby's own website as having handles moulded into the cabinet for easier moving. They are not there. Considering the extreme weight of this unit they are a must. If anyone has found them, please advise me.
Overall, I would recommend to a friend as I am aware of other brands that are inferior to the Danby but some of the cons should and could be appropriately addressed, eg. size, weight, ADVERTISED HANDLES."
Review 12 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc
Date:June 26, 2012

Very good AC so far

Pros: good cooling unit, easy to set up, no need to empty water in cooling mode
Cons: heavy and hard to move around on carpet., remote control fades over time, on startup it sometimes triggers 15 amp breaker., a bit pricy vs window acs
"Purchased this exact unit in june of 2010 and it's working fine 2 years later. I have it setup in the bedroom of my big 1 bedroom condo and use a fan near bedroom door to circulate cool air to rest of condo. Have it set to 20C and condo maintains a 22-24 degree temp overall. Would recommend this product. Considering its price vs window mounts however, I hope the unit lasts another 2 yrs.
Have not used the dehumidifier mode and like that you can simply attach a hose to drain the water but find the drain plug too low on the back of the unit to empty easily into a pan or container.
Overall, very satisfied
"
Review 13 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan
Date:July 20, 2012

Works well, but SHORT exhaust hose!!

Pros: cools large area, fairly quiet, easy to set up (for the most part), easy to operate
Cons: short exhaust hose 4-4.5ft long at best., may have to build stand
"So I have no complaints in how this item runs, it cools half my house, nearly 1000sq ft basement, not too loud, given it's a massive unit. My only complaint is in the exhaust hose, it sits DIRECTLY below my basement window, which is not a high window, maybe 4.5ft-5ft off the floor.Both the warm air intake & exhaust hose are same length, but since my window is setup for vertical exhaust, the exhaust hose is higher on the window than the intake. Therefore needs to be just a few inches longer to reach. It BARELY reaches, and I mean, look at it the wrong way and it'll likely come loose. I tried calling Danby warranty - they sent me to Parts, Parts... what a joke.. believe it or not they don't sell a longer exhaust hose... I was told I'd have to build a platform to place my "Portable" (hahahaha) 200lb air conditioner on if I wanted it to reach properly... not impressed. I was even willing to take the "hit" on loss of efficiency per foot for the exhaust hose.. (as the warranty dept warned me would/could happen for each extra foot of hose that I added - assuming I had that option apparently) So Yes, the unit works well, and assuming your windows are not too high, (sadly that window is actually the LOWEST in my house... ) this unit will kick the butt out of a hot summer... but be prepared to make modifications or build a stand if you have windows higher than 4ft off the floor...."
Review 14 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:surrey bc
Date:July 8, 2010

inadiquate

Cons: doesn't cool as it should
"Bought this machine a couple of months ago before high temperatures. It is july now and the heat wave is here! It is 30 degrees outside and this unit is struggling to reach 24. I took it back to Costco where they gladly took it back and i purchased another one from Costco incase the first was defective, same thing. I am only trying to cool 380 sq ft.! I phoned the help line and they said "not to expect any lower temp when it's so hot outside". Hmmm........isn't that the reason you would by an air con? I am quite dissapointed with this under-achiever. I feel perhaps a window mount unit may be better."
Review 15 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:June 22, 2012

Good value & service - don't hesitate

"Received this just before our big heatwave, thank goodness! So much easier to install than a window unit! It's very effective at cooling the space. the unit itself is a bit large for my area, but I'm not complaining at how comfortable the house is. As yet, no need to empty water drawn from the air, it seems to be evaporating as the unit functions. The price was certainly right, and you have to love the free delivery and great return policy."
Review 16 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB
Date:July 7, 2010

Another Great Danby Product

Pros: great cooling power great value
Cons: just a little noisy on high
"I initially ordered this unit online because I trusted the brand -- I already had one in my bedroom. The one I ordered was a DUD and I had to return it to Costco for a new one. Well, the this one performed like I expected. Cools nicely. The noise is a little loud on High but it is acceptable -- I just raise the volume on my TV to compensate. Overall very happy with it and so far I recommend the A/C."
Review 17 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, Ontario
Date:July 7, 2010

Very Impressed

"The unit cooled my extremely hot attic bedroom in less then 1 hour. The room is approx. 180 sq. feet and very difficult too cool. It was no problem for the Danby tho. I also have the 10,000 BTU unit on my 1200 sq. foot main floor and find it is way more then enough. I often shut it off cause it just plain get too cold. I would highly reccommend both of the air conditioners."
Review 18 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:July 24, 2012

Best Yet!

Pros: extra large window kit, not as loud as other units
Cons: window kit required cutting
"I have been using this air conditioner for 2 weeks in my office. It has been great so far. Much quieter than I expected.
Before this unit, I had purchased (and returned) two units from different companies. Both of those units were loud and broke down after 2 months."
Review 19 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Port Moody B.C.
Date:August 7, 2012

Good conditioner

"Cons: Sliding door kit does not fit sliding door and three request to Danby for help brought no replies. Fan always operates at "high" in cooling mode hence more noise than necessary. Can't get room temperature below 27 degrees.
Pros: Easy assembly."
Review 20 for Danby Premiere® 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:July 6, 2010

EXTREMELY EFFICIENT

"We purchased two units for our two thousand square foot apartment and we've installed at opposite ends. We close doors to rooms not being used and the results are great! At 32 Celsius (40 with the humidex) the apartment is very comfortable."
1 2 next>>